DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claims 34, “the lower width is no greater than 40% of………”; claim 45, “the lower torso width is at least 65% of the lower width……..”; claim 46, “……more than 20 degrees of freedom” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The objection applies to all other claims with similar limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(g)(1) during the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
A rejection on this statutory basis (35 U.S.C. 102(g) as in force on March 15, 2013) is appropriate in an application or patent that is examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA if it also contains or contained at any time (1) a claim to an invention having an effective filing date as defined in 35 U.S.C. 100(i) that is before March 16, 2013 or (2) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time such a claim.
Claims 31-60 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(g) as being anticipated by Miyamoto (US 7054718).
Regarding claim 31, Miyamoto discloses a robot (figs. 1-4; col. 6, lines 36-65; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 8) comprising:
an upper region including a head, a torso, and a pair of arms coupled to the torso (figs. 3, 4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
and a central region coupled to the upper region (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10) and including:
(i) a spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly configured to pivot the torso about a yaw pivotal axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
(ii) a first upper electrical rotational actuator assembly having a first upper actuator axis, positioned above an extent of the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly, and being operably coupled to the torso and configured to move the upper region relative to the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10); and
(iii) a second upper electrical rotational actuator assembly having a second upper actuator axis, positioned above an extent of the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly, and being operably coupled to the torso and configured to move the upper region relative to the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10),
wherein, when the robot is in an upright, standing position, the first and second upper actuator axes are aligned in a plane that is parallel with a coronal plane of the robot (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 32, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein the upper region is configured to pivot about a roll pivotal axis in response to coordinated movement of both (i) a portion of the first upper electrical rotational actuator assembly in a first direction (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and (ii) a portion of the second upper electrical rotational actuator assembly in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 33, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein the upper region is configured to pivot about a pitch pivotal axis in response to coordinated movement in a first direction of both (i) a portion of the first upper electrical rotational actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and (ii) a portion of the second upper electrical rotational actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 34, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein the central region further includes a first hip actuator and a second hip actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein the robot has a lower width defined between a first point located at a first lateral outer extent of the first hip actuator and a second point located at a second lateral outer extent of the second hip actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein a lower end of the torso has a lower torso width defined between a third point located at a first lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso and a fourth point located at a second lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and wherein an absolute difference between the lower torso width and the lower width is no greater than 40% of the lower width (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 35, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 34, wherein the lower torso width is at least 65% of the lower width (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 36, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, further comprising:
(i) a hip pitch actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
(ii) a hip roll actuator directly coupled to the hip pitch actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10); and
(iii) a hip yaw actuator directly coupled to the hip roll actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 37, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 36, wherein the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly, the first upper electrical rotational actuator assembly, and the second upper electrical rotational actuator assembly are kinematically decoupled from the hip pitch actuator, the hip roll actuator, and the hip yaw actuator such that the torso is configured to lean forward at an angle relative to both the coronal plane and a sagittal plane of the robot without actuation of any of the hip pitch actuator, the hip roll actuator, and the hip yaw actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 38, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein the head is configured to convey a current operating state of the robot to nearby humans without using human-like features (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 39, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein each of the first and second upper electrical rotational actuator assemblies includes an actuator housing having a plurality of fins configured to dissipate heat generated during operation of the respective upper electrical rotational actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 40, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 39, wherein the actuator housing of each of the first and second upper electrical rotational actuator assemblies provides a load-bearing path, and wherein the robot lacks a load-bearing exoskeleton configuration surrounding the actuator housings (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 41, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 31, wherein the end effector includes synthetic tendons that transverse an extent of the one arm to enable actuators associated with movements of individual components of the end effector to be positioned within the one arm (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 42, Miyamoto discloses the robot (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10) comprising:
an upper region including a head, a torso, and a pair of arms coupled to the torso (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and a central region coupled to the upper region and including:
(i) a spine yaw axis and a spine roll axis, wherein both the spine yaw axis and the spine roll axis are positioned within a sagittal plane of the robot (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
(ii) a hip pitch actuator having a hip pitch axis, wherein, when the robot is in an upright, standing position, a plane that is parallel to a coronal plane of the robot does not intersect both the hip pitch axis and the spine yaw axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
(iii) a hip roll actuator directly coupled to the hip pitch actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10); and
(iv) a hip yaw actuator directly coupled to the hip roll actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 43, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the hip yaw actuator includes a tube formed in a center of the hip yaw actuator, and wherein electrical wires are routed through the tube in order to electrically couple a lower actuator with a battery pack (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 44, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the head is configured to convey a current operating state of the robot to nearby humans without using human-like features (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 45, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the central region further includes a first hip actuator and a second hip actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein the robot has a lower width defined between a first point located at a first lateral outer extent of the first hip actuator and a second point located at a second lateral outer extent of the second hip actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein a lower end of the torso has a lower torso width defined between a third point located at a first lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso and a fourth point located at a second lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso, and wherein the lower torso width is at least 65% of the lower width (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 46, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, further comprising an end effector coupled to one arm of the pair of arms, wherein the end effector includes more than 20 degrees of freedom (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 47, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the hip pitch actuator, the hip roll actuator, and the hip yaw actuator are kinematically decoupled from a torso articulation arrangement that includes at least three actuators such that the torso is configured to lean forward at an angle relative to both the coronal plane and the sagittal plane without actuation of any of the hip pitch actuator, the hip roll actuator, and the hip yaw actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 48, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, further comprising an actuator housing configured to provide a load-bearing path (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 49, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the robot lacks a load-bearing exoskeleton configuration surrounding every actuator housing contained in the robot (figs. 3; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 50, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, further comprising a first shoulder actuator assembly and a second shoulder actuator assembly configured to move the pair of arms relative to the torso about a first shoulder axis and a second shoulder axis, respectively (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein, when the robot is in the upright, standing position, each of the first and second shoulder axes is arranged at an angle relative to the yaw pivotal axis that is within a range of about 25 degrees to about 50 degrees (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 51, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 42, wherein the end effector includes synthetic tendons that transverse an extent of the one arm to enable actuators associated with movements of individual components of the end effector to be positioned within the one arm (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 52, Miyamoto discloses the robot (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10) comprising:
an upper region including a torso and a pair of arms coupled to the torso (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
a lower region including a pair of legs (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10); and
a central region operably coupled between the upper region and the lower region (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), the central region including:
(i) a left hip actuator assembly and a right hip actuator assembly configured to move the pair of legs relative to a pelvic housing of the central region (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and
(ii) a torso articulation arrangement including a first actuator arrangement configured to pivot the upper region relative to the lower region about a first pivotal axis extending generally in a side-to-side direction of the robot (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and
a second actuator arrangement configured to rotate the upper region relative to the lower region about a second pivotal axis extending generally vertically when the robot is in an upright, standing position (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10),
wherein the torso articulation arrangement is kinematically decoupled from the left and right hip actuator assemblies such that the upper region is pivotable about the first pivotal axis and rotatable about the second pivotal axis without actuation of either the left hip actuator assembly or the right hip actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 53, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein each of the left and right hip actuator assemblies comprises:
(i) a hip pitch actuator configured to rotate the respective leg about a hip pitch axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10);
(ii) a hip roll actuator directly coupled to the hip pitch actuator and configured to rotate the respective leg about a hip roll axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10); and
(iii) a hip yaw actuator directly coupled to the hip roll actuator and configured to rotate the respective leg about a hip yaw axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 54, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 53, wherein, for each of the left and right hip actuator assemblies, the hip yaw actuator is not directly coupled to the hip pitch actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 55, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 53, wherein the robot does not include a front support frame directly coupled to the left hip yaw actuator and the right hip yaw actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 56, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein the upper region further includes a head, and wherein the head is configured to convey a current operating state of the robot to nearby humans without using human-like features (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 57, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein at least one actuator contained in the left and right hip actuator assemblies includes a plurality of fins coupled thereto (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and wherein the plurality of fins are configured to dissipate heat generated during operation of the at least one actuator (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 58, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein the central region further includes an articulation member having a pitch pivotal axis and a roll pivotal axis that is oriented orthogonal to the pitch pivotal axis (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), and wherein the second pivotal axis is oriented orthogonal to both the pitch pivotal axis and the roll pivotal axis when the robot is in the upright, standing position (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 59, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein the robot has a lower width defined between a first point located at a first lateral outer extent of the left hip actuator assembly and a second point located at a second lateral outer extent of the right hip actuator assembly (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10), wherein a lower end of the torso has a lower torso width defined between a third point located at a first lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso and a fourth point located at a second lateral outer extent of the lower end of the torso, and wherein an absolute difference between the lower torso width and the lower width is no greater than 40% of the lower width (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 60, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, further comprising an articulation member positioned vertically between the spinal electrical rotational actuator assembly and the first and second upper electrical rotational actuator assemblies, wherein the articulation member establishes a pitch pivotal axis and a roll pivotal axis that are oriented orthogonally to one another (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Regarding claim 61, Miyamoto discloses the robot of claim 52, wherein the end effector includes synthetic tendons that transverse an extent of the one arm to enable actuators associated with movements of individual components of the end effector to be positioned within the one arm (figs. 2-4; col, 6, lines 36-51; col. 7, lines 40 to col. 10).
Conclusion
The prior art (US 20220015840 A1; US 20200039064 A1) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, shows joint motors with heat dissipation. Also see (US 7072740 B2) showing other aspects.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657