DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 4 are presented for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 120 is acknowledged.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/112654, filed on06/21/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2024 was received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the first exchange cell stream". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation " the second exchange cell stream ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first subset". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second subset". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1 – 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,213 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 12,143,213
A transmission device comprising:
A transmission device comprising:
a processor that, in operation, performs error correction coding to generate a first codeword and a second codeword;
to perform error correction coding and mapping on the first frames to generate first cells consisting of a first initial cell and first remaining cells following the first initial cell; to perform error correction coding and mapping on the second frames to generate second cells consisting of a second initial cell and second remaining cells following the second initial cell, and
generates a first symbol sequence from the first codeword and a second symbol sequence from the second codeword; and
exchanges a first subset of the first symbols with a second subset of the second symbols to generate a first exchanged symbol sequence and a second exchanged symbol sequence; and
to exchange a first subset of the first cells with a second subset of the second cells to generate a first exchanged cell stream and a second exchanged cell stream; and
a transmitter connected to the processor that, in operation, transmit the first exchanged symbol sequence in a first frequency band and the second exchanged symbol sequence in a second frequency band.
a transmitter connected to the processor to transmit the first exchanged cell stream in a first frequency band, and transmit the second exchanged cell stream in a second frequency band, wherein the first subset includes the first initial cell and the second subset includes the second initial cell.
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 12,143,213. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 12,143,213 discloses: A transmission device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the transmission device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 12,143,213. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the transmission device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 12,143,213, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 2 – Application 18/904365
Claim 2 – Patent 12,143,213
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 3 – Patent 12,143,213
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 12,143,213
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,632,192 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 11,632,192. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 11,632,192 discloses: A transmission device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the transmission device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 11,632,192. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the transmission device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 11,632,192, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,632,192
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,632,192
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,632,192
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,075,714 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 11,075,714. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 11,075,714 discloses: A device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the reception device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 11,075,714. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the reception device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 11,075,714, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,075,714
Claim 2 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,075,714
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,075,714
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 11,075,714
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1 – 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,693,588 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 10,693,588. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 10,693,588 discloses: A transmission device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the transmission device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 10,693,588. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the transmission device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 10,693,588, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 2 – Application 18/904365
Claim 2 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 3 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 1 – Patent 10,693,588
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,666,385 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 10,666,385. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 10,666,385 discloses: A transmission device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the transmission device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 10,666,385. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the transmission device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 10,693,588, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 2 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 2 – Application 18/904365
Claim 5 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 2 – Patent 10,693,588
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 2 – Patent 10,693,588
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 8, 13 ,and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,258,083 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize independent claim 1, of application 18/904365 is an obvious variation of the claimed subject matter of independent claim 1, of patent 9,258,083. Specifically, both claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, and claim 1, of patent 9,258,083 discloses: A transmission device, comprising such steps as “error correction coding”, generating symbol sequences (mapping), and a transmitter connected to the processor.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device disclosed by claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as a broad recitation of the operations performed by the transmission device disclosed in claim 1 of Patent 9,258,083. A device performing the operations and a device capable of performing the disclosed operations would be recognize by one of ordinary skill in the art as obvious variants of each other.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the transmission device of claim 1, of the current application 18/904365, as performing the operations of the transmission device of claim 1, of U.S. Patent 9,258,083, and as such are obvious variants of each other.
Claim 1 – Application 18/904365
Claim 8 – Patent 9,258,083
Claim 2 – Application 18/904365
Claim 17 – Patent 9,258,083
Claim 3 – Application 18/904365
Claim 13 – Patent 9,258,083
Claim 4 – Application 18/904365
Claim 8 – Patent 9,258,083
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a0(1) as being anticipated by Roh et al., U.S. Publication 2011/0033001 (herein Roh).
Regarding claim 1, Roh discloses: A transmission device (figure 5B) comprising: a processor that, in operation, performs error correction coding to generate a first codeword and a second codeword (paragraph 0084; figure 5B, element “codeword 1”, “Codeword 2”); generates a first symbol sequence from the first codeword and a second symbol sequence from the second codeword (paragraph 0116); and exchanges a first subset of the first symbols with a second subset of the second symbols to generate a first exchanged symbol sequence and a second exchanged symbol sequence (figure 5B, element “Stream antenna mapping”; paragraph 0298 – 300; table 24); and a transmitter connected to the processor that, in operation, transmit the first exchanged symbol sequence in a first frequency band and the second exchanged symbol sequence in a second frequency band (figure 5B, element 1, 2).
Regarding claim 2, Roh discloses: the transmitter comprises a single antenna through which the first exchanged cell stream and the second exchanged cell stream are to be transmitted (figure 5B, element i “Antenna 1”).
Regarding claim 3, Roh discloses: the first symbol sequence includes a first initial symbol and first remaining symbols following the first initial symbol, the second symbol sequence includes a second initial symbol and second remaining symbols following the second initial symbol, the first subset includes the first initial symbol, and the second subset includes the second initial symbol (figure 5B, element “Stream antenna mapping”; paragraph 0298 – 300; table 24).
Regarding claim 4, Roh discloses: A transmission method performed by a transmission device (figure 5B), the transmission method comprising: performing error correction coding to generate a first codeword and a second codeword (paragraph 0084; figure 5B, element “codeword 1”, “Codeword 2”); generating a first symbol sequence from the first codeword and a second symbol sequence from the second codeword (paragraph 0116); and exchanging a first subset of the first symbols with a second subset of the second symbols to generate a first exchanged symbol sequence and a second exchanged symbol sequence (figure 5B, element “Stream antenna mapping”; paragraph 0298 – 300; table 24); and transmitting the first exchanged symbol sequence in a first frequency band and the second exchanged symbol sequence in a second frequency band (figure 5B, element 1, 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Moon; Sangchul et al. US 20130272448 A1
PICCHI; Ottavio et al. US 20110307766 A1
Cheng; Jung-Fu et al. US 20110274062 A1
Liu; Jin et al. US 20110107174 A1
Measson; Cyril et al. US 20110085620 A1
exchanges a first subset of the first symbols with a second subset of the second symbols to generate a first exchanged symbol sequence and asecond exchanged symbol sequence; and
a transmitter connected to the processor that, in operation, transmit the first exchanged symbol sequence in a first frequency band and the second exchanged symbol sequence in a second frequency band.
/Daniel F. McMahon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111