DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022).
Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) an injection molding machine comprising a first cylinder (10) to which a molding material is inherently supplied. Takanohashi teaches a first injection member (12) provided in the first cylinder (10) (Figs. 4-6). Takanohashi teaches a first motor (16) configured to advance and retract the first injection member. Takanohashi teaches (Fig. 2) a second cylinder (20) to which the molding material extruded from the first cylinder is supplied (Fig. 4, arrow in 75). Takanohashi teaches a second injection member (22) provided in the second cylinder (20) (Figs. 4-6). Takanohashi teaches a second motor (26) configured to advance and retract the second injection member. Takanohashi teaches a control device (80) that would inherently contain, or obviously be provided with, control circuitry configured to control operations of the first injection member and the second injection member. The Takanohashi controller controls a measuring step for supplying the molding material to the second cylinder by driving/advancing the first injection member (Fig. 4, arrow on 12) with the first motor (16), and wherein the circuitry drives/retracts the second injection member in accordance with the advancing of the first injection member in the measuring step (Fig. 4, arrow on 22) with the second motor.
As to claim 2, Takanohashi provides a control device (80) (inherently or obviously including circuitry) that would drive/retract the second injection member as the first injection member is advanced in the measuring step (Fig. 4, for example).
As to claim 3, Takanohashi teaches an injection molding machine with a control device (80) (inherently or obviously including circuitry) which would stop driving/retracting the second injection member in accordance with the first injection member stopping advancing in the measuring step (“second plunger 22 retracts to a predetermined position”).
As to claim 5, Takanohashi teaches an injection molding machine wherein the first cylinder is configured to supply the molding material to an internal space of the first cylinder from a front side (74) of the first cylinder to accumulate the molding material in the front side of the first injection member, and configured to discharge the molding material from the front side of the first cylinder (74) by advancing the first injection member. Takanohashi’s second cylinder (20) is configured to supply the molding material to an internal space of the second cylinder from a front side of the second cylinder (54) to accumulate the molding material in the front side of the second injection member, and configured to discharge the molding material from the front side of the second cylinder by advancing the second injection member (Fig. 6).
As to claim 6, Takanohashi’s first injection member (12) is a plunger that slides (arrow on 12 in Fig. 4) relative to the first cylinder(10) and extrudes the molding material accumulated in the front side of the first injection member (Fig. 4, arrow in 75).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022). Takanohashi teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claim 4, Takanohashi does not expressly teach that the circuitry sets a retracting speed of the second injection member to be equal to (or lower than) an advancing speed of the first injection member in the measuring step.
However, because the same quantity of molding material is being transferred from the first cylinder to the second cylinder, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the second injection member would be retracted at a speed equal to the advancing speed of the first injection member in order to transfer from one cylinder directly to the other.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Farrell (US 4,749,536). Takanohashi teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claims 7 and 8, Takanohashi teaches the first cylinder (1) and discharges the molding material from the front side of the first cylinder by advancing the first injection member (Fig. 4, arrow on 12). Takanohashi further teaches a second cylinder (20) and supplies the molding material to an internal space of the second cylinder from the front side of the second cylinder (Fig. 4, arrow in 75) to accumulate the molding material in the front side of the second injection member and discharges the molding material from the front side of the second cylinder by advancing the second injection member (Fig. 6).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying the molding material to the first cylinder at a rearward position relative to the distal end (instant claim 7) and the first injection member being a screw with a spiral flight on its outer peripheral surface configured to rotate in the first cylinder and accumulate molding material at the first side of the first injection member by the rotation (instant claim 8).
Farrell teaches an injection molding machine. The hopper (12) supplies molding material to a rearward position (near 10) of the first cylinder (16) and accumulates molding material at the front side of the first cylinder by rotation of the spiral flight screw (Fig. 1, item 24; 2:56-60) and discharges the molding material from a front side (32) of the first cylinder (16). Like Takanohashi, the Farrell injection member also reciprocates (2:57).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Farrell into Takanohashi because the Farrell features are obvious interchangeable substitutes for parts already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder and using a reciprocating plunger. Therefore the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a rearward supply of molding material and the use of a reciprocating (instant claim 1) and rotating screw (instant claim 8), but provided the same functions. However, the substituted components and their functions – Farrell’s rearward molding material supply (12) with a reciprocating and rotating screw (24) with an accumulation chamber (38) – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with alternative components).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanohashi (JP2022027158A, published February 10, 2022) in view of Shimizu (US 20020011682)). Takanohashi teaches the subject matter of claim 1 above under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103.
As to claims 7 and 8, Takanohashi teaches the first cylinder (1) and discharges the molding material from the front side of the first cylinder by advancing the first injection member (Fig. 4, arrow on 12). Takanohashi further teaches a second cylinder (20) and supplies the molding material to an internal space of the second cylinder from the front side of the second cylinder (Fig. 4, arrow in 75) to accumulate the molding material in the front side of the second injection member and discharges the molding material from the front side of the second cylinder by advancing the second injection member (Fig. 6).
Takanohashi is silent to supplying the molding material to the first cylinder at a rearward position relative to the distal end (instant claim 7) and the first injection member being a screw with a spiral flight on its outer peripheral surface configured to rotate in the first cylinder and accumulate molding material at the first side of the first injection member by the rotation (instant claim 8).
Shimizu teaches an injection molding machine (Fig. 2). The hopper (Fig. 2, connected through 23) supplies molding material to a rearward position of the first cylinder (22) and accumulates molding material at the front side of the first cylinder by rotation of the spiral flight screw ([0020]) and discharges the molding material from a front side (21) of the first cylinder (22). Like Takanohashi, the Shimizu injection member also reciprocates (using piston 26).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing to incorporate these features from Shimizu into Takanohashi because the Shimizu features are obvious interchangeable substitutes for parts already disclosed by Takanohashi. The Takanohashi injection molding machine has the functions of introducing molding material to the first injection cylinder and moving the molding material from the first cylinder to the accumulation chamber. In Takanohashi, this is achieved by injecting material into the front side of the first cylinder and using a reciprocating plunger. Therefore the prior art contained a device which differed from the claimed device by the use of a rearward supply of molding material and the use of a reciprocating (instant claim 1) and rotating screw (instant claim 8), but provided the same functions. However, the substituted components and their functions – Shimizu’s rearward molding material supply with a reciprocating and rotating screw (20) with an accumulation chamber (12) – were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable (a machine that would operate in substantially the same way as Takanohashi with alternative components).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Takanohashi does not drive any motor to retract the second plunger (page 6), and therefore does not anticipate or render obvious claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this position. It is clear that item 26 in Takanohashi is an “advance/ retreat motor”, as discussed in the reference. Examiner does not see why an advance/ retreat motor would be inactive/inoperable during the retreat of the second injection member/plunger. It is noted that this application appears to be assigned to the same Assignee as the Takanohashi reference. If Applicant/Assignee maintains the view that advance/retreat motor 26 is inactive/inoperable, then further discussion should be provided as to why a motor clearly provided in the reference is not active or used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742