Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are presented for examination on the merits.
Priority
Applicant's claims of priority to U.S. patent application No. 17/036,228, filed on 9/20/2020, under 35 U.S.C. § 120, and benefit from U.S. provisional patent application No. 62/908299 filed September 30, 2019 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) are acknowledged.
Objections
Specification
The specification and Claims include a header stating “PROVISIONAL PATENT APPLICATION.” Please clarify on the record, this statement (whether it is in error, or if not what is intended by its inclusion in the instant filing).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-14, and 16-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125106 (“the parent application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader instant claims recite the same limitations and encompasses the scope contained in the narrower claims of the parent application. For example, broader Claim 1 of the instant application maps narrower clam 1 of the parent application (and the like, sequentially). As such, the instant claims are obvious in light of the parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, because they recite non-patentable subject matter under MPEP § 2106 (e.g., the 2019 PEG, October update). The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (e.g., an abstract idea, etc.) without practical application or significantly more.
More particularly, when considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Broad categories of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices, certain methods of organizing human activities, an idea itself, and mathematical relationships/formulas. See, generally Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. __ (2014) (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc.,132 S. Ct. 1289, 1294, 1297-98 (2012)); Federal Register notice titled 2014 Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (79 FR 74618), which is found at: http:// www. gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf; 2015 Update to the Interim Guidance; the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, Fed. Reg., Vol. 84, No. 4, January 7, 2019; and associated Office memoranda.
Under MPEP § 2106, Step 1, the claimed invention, taking the broadest reasonable interpretation, recites a process (i.e., a method), machine (e.g., system, etc.), article of manufacture (e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium) or composition of matter, and as such, is patent eligible.
Under the 2019 PEG, step 2a-prong 1, Claims 1-20 recite a judicial exception(s), including a method of organizing human activity (e.g. fundamental economic principle). More particularly, the entirety of the method steps is directed towards assessing rideshare drivers. This is a long-standing commercial practice previously performed by humans (e.g., business operators (such as Uber, Lyft, etc.), insurance companies, etc.) manually and via mental steps. Rideshare companies have long monitored their drivers, e.g., for safety considerations. (See, e.g., Safety Transparency Report (2020-2022). Lyft. (2022). https://assets.ctfassets.net/vz6nkkbc6q75/ 3yrO0aP4mPfTTvyaUZHJfJ/f77d145864edc540aa9f7fe530c6bcec/Safety_Transparency_Report_2020-2022.pdf). Driver assessments for insurance purposes have long included rideshare determination (i.e., whether or not a prospective driver/insured was actively sharing his/her vehicle). Moreover, Insurance companies have long kept driver profiles/scores during driving trips (see, e.g., Geico Safe Driving Plug-In®). As such, the inventions include an abstract idea under the 2019 PEG, and Alice Corporation. Under step 2a-prong 2, the claims fail to recite a practical application of the exception, because the extraneous limitations (e.g., the structure –computer memory, telematics server, telematics mobile application, TNC platform, cloud-based vehicular telematics system, etc.) merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g), generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)), and/or generally instruct an artisan to apply it (the method) across generic computing technology. In this case, all of the technology/structure is pre-existing and is recited generically (a specialized machine is not recited nor disclosed in the specification). A claim does not cease to be abstract for section 101 purposes simply because the claim confines the abstract idea to a particular technological environment in order to effectuate a real-world benefit. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 222; BSG Tech LLC v. BuySeasons, Inc., 899 F.3d 1281, 1287 (Fed. Cir. 2018); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2014). “[I]t is not enough, however, to merely improve a fundamental practice or abstract process by invoking a computer merely as a tool.” Customedia Techs., LLC v. Dish Network Corp., 951 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (citations omitted). More particularly, the claims fail to recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or technology (under MPEP § 2106.05(a)), the use of a particular machine (under § 2106.05(b)), effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article (§ 2106.05(c)), or apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (§ 2106.05(e)).
More particularly, the extraneous limitations of Claim 1 are set forth below in bold:
1. A vehicular telematics system configured to automatically generate rideshare-based risk profiles of rideshare drivers of a transport network company (TNC) platform, comprising:
one or more processors; and
a computer memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors and storing instructions that when executed cause the one or more processors to:
receive, via a computer network, telematics data from one or more sensors traveling with a rideshare vehicle during an operating segment of the rideshare vehicle; receive, via the computer network, rideshare data indicating a rideshare application mode of a rideshare application associated with the rideshare vehicle for each portion of the one or more portions of the operating segment, the rideshare application mode indicating whether the rideshare application is active or inactive;
determine a plurality of operating states of the rideshare vehicle during the operating segment of the rideshare vehicle, including determining a first operating state associated with a first portion of the operating segment and a second operating state associated with a second portion of the operating segment based upon at least a portion of the telematics data; and
generate a rideshare driver score of a driver of the rideshare vehicle based upon the telematics data and the rideshare data associated with at least one of the first operating state or the second operating state.
Under part 2b, the additional elements offered by the dependent claims (e.g., an electronic representative, mobile electronic device, computer processor, airport/geographic considerations, etc.) either further delineate the abstract idea, recite insignificant extra-solution activity, or instruct the artisan to apply it (the abstract idea) across generic computing technology. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because no one claim effects an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself, or move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular, albeit well-understood, routine and conventional technological environment. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Under Alice, merely applying or executing the abstract idea on one or more generic computer system (e.g., a computer system comprising a generic database; a generic element (NIC) for providing website access, etc.; a generic element for receiving user input; and a generic display on the computer, in any of their forms) to carry out the abstract idea more efficiently fails to cure patent ineligibility. See, e.g., Content Extraction, 776 F.3d at 1347 (claims reciting a “scanner” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea); Mortg. Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Serv. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324–25 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (claims reciting an “interface,” “network,” and a “database” are nevertheless directed to an abstract idea).
Courts have recognized the following computer functions to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations, receiving, processing, and storing data, electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, electronic recordkeeping, automating mental tasks, and receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, MPEP 2106.05(d), wherein the italicized tasks are particularly germane to the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 1-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2015/0187019 to Fernandes et al.
With respect to Claims 1, 11, and 16, Fernandes teaches a vehicular telematics method (FIGS. 2,11,19), a tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium (FIGS. 1, 16, 17A,B), and a vehicular telematics system configured to automatically generate rideshare-based risk profiles of rideshare drivers of a transport network company (TNC) platform (Abstract), comprising: one or more processors (FIGS. 1, 18); and a computer memory communicatively coupled to the one or more processors (FIG. 18) and storing instructions (FIG. 1) that when executed cause the one or more processors to: receive, via a computer network, telematics data from one or more sensors (Abstract; FIGS. 16-18); traveling with a rideshare vehicle during an operating segment of the rideshare vehicle ([0084]); receive, via the computer network, rideshare data indicating a rideshare application mode of a rideshare application associated with the rideshare vehicle for each portion of the one or more portions of the operating segment ([0084]), the rideshare application mode indicating whether the rideshare application is active or inactive ([0084], whether owner is driver, borrower is driving, etc.); determine a plurality of operating states of the rideshare vehicle during the operating segment of the rideshare vehicle, including determining a first operating state associated with a first portion of the operating segment and a second operating state associated with a second portion of the operating segment based upon at least a portion of the telematics data ([0084], whether driver/owner/autonomous driving are different states, driver signatures are based on telematics); and generate a rideshare driver score of a driver of the rideshare vehicle based upon the telematics data and the rideshare data associated with at least one of the first operating state or the second operating state ([0047];[0084]).
With respect to Claims 2, 12, and 17, Fernandes teaches wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: (a) generate a risk model of a non-rideshare entity that lacks control of a TNC platform based upon at least the telematics data or the rideshare data, the risk model configured to generate the rideshare driver score of the driver ([0084]); or (b) transfer the telematics data to the TNC platform of a rideshare entity, the TNC platform configured to generate a proxy risk model based upon the telematics data or the rideshare data, the proxy risk model configured to generate a proxy rideshare driver score of the driver, and the proxy rideshare driver score corresponding to the rideshare driver score ([0003];[0047];[0076]; FIG. 19).
With respect to Claim 3, Fernandes teaches wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is a machine learning-based model trained with the telematics data or the rideshare data. ([0147])
With respect to Claims 4, 13, and 18, Fernandes teaches wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is configured to determine, from the telematics data or the rideshare data, a driver sub-score of the driver, the driver sub-score comprising any one or more of: a qualitative driving model score of the driver, a quantitative driving model score of the driver, or a credit risk index (CRI) model score of the driver, and wherein the driver sub-score comprises a least a portion of the rideshare driver score of the driver ([0047], “set of scores”).
With respect to Claim 5, Fernandes teaches wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is further configured to generate the rideshare driver score based upon a driver characterization dataset corresponding to the driver, the driver characterization dataset including one or more of: driver tenure, driver rating, driver motor vehicle report (MVR), geography, type of car, number of passengers, passenger ratings, types of trips, weather conditions, or road conditions. ([0047], “characteristics”, rating equal “type”)
With respect to Claims 15, and 20, Fernandes teaches wherein the telematics data comprises geographic position information defining a geographic location of the rideshare vehicle. ([0093])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 6-10, 14, 19 are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Fernandes in view of US 2016/0364678 to Cao.
With respect to Claims 6, 14, and 19, Fernandes fails to expressly teach, but Cao teaches wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is further configured to determine a rideshare per-mile insurance rate ([0037-38];[0261]), the one or more operating states selected from: (a) an airport state indicating that the rideshare vehicle is within a proximity to or within a property of an airport [0016], or (b) a geographic boundary state indicating that the rideshare vehicle is within a proximity to or within a region of a geographic boundary ([0069], region [0269], geographic). Cao discusses several advantages offered by its system, including better utilization of the car. [0021] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fernandes to include an insurance rate based on one of the operating states so as to better utilize the car.
With respect to Claim 7, Fernandes fails but Cao teaches wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is further configured to adjust an insurance premium based on a first active insurance policy corresponding to the rideshare vehicle and a second active insurance policy corresponding to the rideshare vehicle. [0260-68] Under the same rationale as Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fernandes to include this limitation.
With respect to Claim 8, Fernandes fails but Cao teaches wherein the first active insurance policy is associated with the TNC [0260-268], and wherein the second active insurance policy is associated with the driver. [0260-268] Under the same rationale as Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stefan to include this limitation.
With respect to Claim 9, Fernandes fails but Cao teaches wherein the second active insurance policy is adjusted based on the first active insurance policy. [0260-268] Under the same rationale as Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Fernandes to include this limitation.
With respect to Claim 10, Fernandes fails to expressly teach, but Cao teaches wherein the rideshare app mode further includes a sub-group travel mode, and further wherein each of the risk model and the proxy risk model is further configured to determine an alternative insurance premium or an additional insurance premium based on the sub-group travel mode. [0260-268] Under the same rationale as Claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Stefan to include this limitation.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J JACOB/Examiner, Art Unit 3696