DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,738,384. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the limitations of claims 1 – 20 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1- 19 of ‘384.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 8 of ‘384 teaches a setting tool for setting by crimping a blind fastener including a head and a shank partially defining an axial bore including an internal thread (claim 1, preamble), and the setting tool comprising: a tool housing (claim 1, first paragraph of the body); a screw tool including an external thread that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (claim 1, second paragraph of the body); a first electric motor including a first drive shaft (claim 1, third paragraph of the body); a second electric motor with a second drive shaft (claim 1, fourth paragraph of the body); and a clamp movable relative to the tool axis and operable for clamping the shank of the blind fastener for engaging with the screw tool (claim 8).
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claim 11 further teaches that the clamp includes a first jaw and a second jaw radially opposed to each other and radially movable from an open position to a closed position (claim 9), wherein the first jaw and the second jaw each comprise a catching surface including a first segment and a second segment, the first segment being angled relative to the second segment, wherein the first segment is flat and the second segment includes a bulge adapted to create a dissymmetrical profile operable for orienting the blind fastener within the clamp (claim 11), wherein the first jaw and the second jaw are configured such that as they move to the closed position, the blind fastener is aligned with the flat first segment of both the first jaw and the second jaw for clamping (claim 8).
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 10 further teaches a retaining lever operable for holding the blind fastener axially retained in the clamp before clamping (claim 10).
Claims 1 – 12 and 14 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,121,954 in view of Young (U.S. Patent Number 5,031,489).
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 1 of ‘954 teaches a setting tool for setting by crimping a blind fastener including a head and a shank partially defining an axial bore including an internal thread (claim 1, preamble), and the setting tool comprising: a tool housing (claim 1, fourth paragraph of the body); a screw tool including an external thread that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (claim 1, fifth paragraph of the body); a first electric motor including a first drive shaft (claim 1, sixth paragraph of the body); and a second electric motor with a second drive shaft (claim 1, seventh paragraph of the body). However, claim 1 of ‘954 does not teach the setting tool further comprising a clamp. Young teaches a setting tool for setting a fastener including a head and a shank (abstract), and the setting tool comprising: a tool housing (figures 1 and 2, element 32 being the ‘tool housing’; column 3, lines 24 – 28); and a screw tool that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (figure 2, element 28 being the ‘screw tool’; column 3, lines 6 – 12). Young further teaches a clamp movable relative to the tool axis and operable for clamping the shank of the blind fastener for engaging with the screw tool (figures 2 and 3, elements 36 being the ‘clamp’; column 3, line 49 – column 4, line 11). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the setting tool of claim 1 of ‘954 with the clamp of Young, because one skilled in the art would have appreciated that the clamp of Young provides the benefit of further securing the fastener to the setting tool of claim 1 of ‘954.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 3 of ‘954 further teaches a retaining lever operable for holding the blind fastener axially retained in the clamp before clamping (claim 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 8 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsel (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2016/0114383, cited in IDS) in view of Young (U.S. Patent Number 5,031,489).
As to claim 1, Honsel teaches a setting tool for setting by crimping a blind fastener including a head and a shank partially defining an axial bore including an internal thread (abstract), and the setting tool comprises: a tool housing (figure 1, elements 31 and 27 being the ‘tool housing’; paragraphs 31 and 33); a screw tool including an external thread that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (figure 1, elements 10 and 15 being the ‘screw tool’ and element 37 being the ‘external thread’; paragraphs 31 – 37); a first electric motor including a first drive shaft (figure 1, element 12 being the ‘first electric motor’; paragraph 35); a second electric motor with a second drive shaft (figure 1, element 11 being the ‘second electric motor’; paragraph 32).
However, Honsel does not teach the setting tool further comprising a clamp. Young teaches a setting tool for setting a fastener including a head and a shank (abstract), and the setting tool comprising: a tool housing (figures 1 and 2, element 32 being the ‘tool housing’; column 3, lines 24 – 28); and a screw tool that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (figure 2, element 28 being the ‘screw tool’; column 3, lines 6 – 12). Young further teaches a clamp movable relative to the tool axis and operable for clamping the shank of the blind fastener for engaging with the screw tool (figures 2 and 3, elements 36 being the ‘clamp,’ see below; column 3, line 49 – column 4, line 11).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the setting tool of Honsel with the clamp of Young, because one skilled in the art would have appreciated that the clamp of Young would provide the benefit of further securing the fastener to the setting tool of Honsel.
As to claim 2, Young teaches that the clamp includes a plurality of jaws (figure 3, elements 37 being the ‘plurality of jaws’; column 3, lines 58 – 61).
As to claim 3, Young teaches that plurality of jaws includes a first jaw and a second jaw radially opposed to each other and radially movable from an open position to a closed position (figure 3, elements 37; column 3, line 49 – column 4, line 11).
As to claim 8, Honsel teaches that the setting tool includes an anvil sleeve coaxial with the screw tool and movable axially relative to the tool housing (figure 1, element 18 being the ‘anvil sleeve’; paragraph 36).
As to claim 9, Honsel teaches that the anvil sleeve is adapted to contact the clamp during crimping of the blind fastener (figure 1, element 18).
As to claim 10, Young teaches that the clamp is operable for holding the anvil sleeve against axial movement while the screw tool is moving axially toward the retracted position for crimping the blind fastener (figure 3, elements 37; column 3, line 49 – column 4, line 11).
As to claim 11, the setting tool of Honsel is configured such that spinning of the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft at different speeds drives an axial movement and a rotationally movement of the screw tool, such that the external thread on the screw tool can engage or disengage the internal thread of the blind fastener (figure 1, elements 12, 11, 15, and 10; paragraphs 31 – 37).
As to claim 12, the setting tool of Honsel is configured such that spinning of the first drive shaft while not spinning the second drive shaft drives an axial movement without rotation of the screw tool along the tool axis from the extended position and toward the retracted position for crimping the blind fastener (figure 1, elements 12, 11, 15, and 10; paragraphs 31 – 37).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsel in view of Young as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Albright (U.S. Patent Number 5,733,089).
As to claim 4, Young does not teach the shape of the two jaws. Albright teaches a setting tool for setting by crimping a fastener (abstract), the setting tool comprising: a clamp movable relative to a tool axis and operatable for clamping the fastener for engaging with a screw tool (figure 15, element 216 being the clamp; column 8, lines 51 – 58), wherein the clamp includes a plurality of jaws (figure 15, elements 242a and 242b being the ‘plurality of jaws’; column 8, lines 51 – 58), wherein the plurality of jaws includes a pair of two jaws radially opposed to each and radially movable from an open position to a closed position (figure 15, elements 242a and 242b; column 5, lines 51 – 58). Albright further teaches that each of the two jaws comprises a catching surface including a first segment and a second segment, the first segment being angled relative to the second segment, and the first segment is flat, and the second segment includes a bulge adapted to create a dissymmetrical profile operable to orienting the blind fastener within the clamp (figure 15, inner surface of elements 242a and 242b being the ‘catching surface’ and element 266a being the ‘second segment’, see below).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honsel in view of Young and Albright.
As to claim 13, the discussion of claims 1, 3, and 4 are incorporated herein. Albright further teaches that the first jaw and the second jaw are configured such that as they move to the closed position, the blind fastener is aligned with the flat first segment of both the first jaw and the second jaw for clamping (figure 14, elements 242a and 242b). Examiner notes that this can be found because Albright teaches the, when the first and second jaws are in the closed position, the flat first segments of the first and second jaws are aligned with an axis or longitudinal centerline of the blind fastener (figure 14, elements 242a and 242b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 3, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues, on page 10, that Applicant has filed a terminal disclaimer in response to the double patenting rejection set forth in the previous Office Action. Examiner notes that Applicant has not filed the terminal disclaimer.
Applicant further argues, on pages 11 – 12, that the clamp of Young is not configured for ‘clamping a shank of a blind fastener’ as recited in claim 1. Examiner disagrees. Young expressly illustrates the clamp clamping the shank of a blind fastener (figures 2 and 3, elements 36 being the ‘clamp,’ see below; column 3, line 49 – column 4, line 11).
Applicant finally argues, on page 12, that the prior art does not teach the limitations of claim 13. Examiner disagrees and refer to the rejection of claim 13 over Honsel in view of Young and Albright above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J. BESLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726