This action is in response to the application filed on November 27, 2024
Claims 1-15 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 1030/2024, 02/14/2025 and 02/11/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 12-20, 28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 18/524895.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by RYU et al (USP: 2022/0124507 A1).
As per Claim 1 RYU teaches a puncturing information indication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) comprising a preamble, wherein the preamble comprises location indication information and preamble puncturing information, and wherein the location indication information indicates a frequency domain location of a first content channel, the location indication information is located in a universal-SIG (U-SIG) field, and the preamble puncturing information is located in an extremely high throughput signal field (EHT-SIG) field after the U-SIG field (Paragraph 0127, 0171, 0213 For example, the EHT standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure, content channel which is indicated by HE-SIG-B common field in this case. Preamble puncturing may be signaled from a Bandwidth field in the HE-SIG-A field of an HE MU PPDU. A field indicating a length of an L-SIG field of an uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame or information for controlling content of a SIG-A field (i.e., HE-SIG-A field) of the uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame may be included. In addition, as common control information, information related to a length of a CP of the uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame or information related to a length of an LTF field may be included. FIG. 18, for example, EHT-SIG-A or one control symbol may be inserted. A symbol contiguous to the RL-SIG (i.e., EHT-SIG-A or one control symbol) may include 26-bit information and may further include information for identifying the type of the EHT PPDU. );
wherein the preamble puncturing information is carried on the first content channel, and a bandwidth of the first content channel is less than a bandwidth of the PPDU (Paragraph 0127, 0135, 0214 User fields in the HE-SIG-B content channel which is indicated by HE-SIG-B common field in this case. For example, a field indicating a length of an L-SIG field of an uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame or information for controlling content of a SIG-A field (i.e., HE-SIG-A field) of the uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame may be included. In addition, as common control information, information related to a length of a CP of the uplink PPDU transmitted in response to the corresponding trigger frame or information related to a length of an LTF field may be included. );
determining the preamble puncturing status based on the location information and preamble puncturing information (Paragraph 0015, 0213 The first channel is a channel excluding a preamble-punctured channel from the full channel. The second channel is the preamble-punctured channel. a method and apparatus for transmitting a C-OFDMA PPDU, by a multi-AP, based on a preamble puncturing method in a wireless LAN system.).
As per Claim 2 RYU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the preamble puncturing information includes a bitmap that indicates whether a subchannel in the bandwidth of the PPDU is punctured (Paragraph 0236, 0237 The information may be indicated as bitmap information related to each 20 MHz channel. For example, a specific index value may indicate a 20 MHZ unit resource allocation size and position in a resource allocation index format. For simplicity in the description of the present disclosure, it will be assumed that the resource allocation information is 20 MHz unit information, and that the information is being indicated in a bitmap format).
As per Claim 3 RYU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first content channel is distributed on one or more subchannels of bandwidth of the PPDU (Paragraph 0003, 0155, 0171 The A plurality of channels may be configured within the 5 GHz band, and a bandwidth of each channel may be variously set to, for example, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or the like. EHT standard may use an increased bandwidth, an enhanced PHY layer protocol data unit (PPDU) structure).
As per Claim 4 RYU teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein a bandwidth of the subchannel is 20 MHz (Paragraph 0155, 0158 the 20 MHz channel of FIG. 17 may be defined starting from 5.940 GHz. Specifically, among 20 MHz channels of FIG. 17, a bandwidth of each channel may be variously set to, for example, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or the like. For example, 5170 MHz to 5330 MHz frequency domains/ranges within the UNII-1 and UNII-2 may be divided into eight 20 MHz channels. ).
As per Claim 5 RYU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the bandwidth of the PPDU is 80 MHz, 160 MHz, 240 MHz, or 320 MHz (Paragraph 0155 a bandwidth of each channel may be variously set to, for example, 20 MHz, 40 MHz, 80 MHz, 160 MHz, or the like. For example, 5170 MHz to 5330 MHz frequency domains/ranges within the UNII-1 and UNII-2 may be divided into eight 20 MHz channels. ).
Claims 6-15 are apparatus and chip claims corresponding to a methods claims 1-5 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-5. Claims 6-15 are rejected under the same rational as claims 1-5.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See form 892).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ASAD NAWAZ can be reached on (571) 272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463