Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 8/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden among different groups of invention, the inventions overlap in scope and are obvious variants and the inventions can not have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect. This is not found persuasive because,
The invention groups require a different field of search (e.g., employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention group would not likely be applicable to another.
Further the question as to whether or not inventions overlap in scope is not whether the groups share some limitations. In fact, if such were the case, no restriction between groups with a linking or generic claim would ever be proper. Clearly, such an interpretation would not be consistent with restriction practice or double patenting practice as a whole. Rather, related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention, MPEP806.05. And if partially overlap inventions are considered as obvious variants, all dependent claims will be rejectable if the corresponding independent claim is rejected over prior art, which would not be consistent with current patent law practice. Examiner notes continuing to assert the obviousness by Applicant, including in the instant and future patent applications of lens, is likely to void the patentability of the instant application and the future applications over prior art of any lens patents as being at least one lens in common (the applicant's admitted prior art).
Further the inventions, which are defined by the claims not an embodiment, can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect as described in the restriction requirement dated 6/4/26.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6-8,10-14 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Lin (US 20210181479).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches (Fig. 13, Table 13) An optical imaging lens comprising a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element, and an eighth lens element sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, wherein:
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave (as seen in Fig. 13);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (r<0);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (r>0);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave (as seen in Fig. 13);
lens elements of the optical imaging lens are composed of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element;
a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is less than a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis (0.391<0.675);
an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, an air gap between the seventh lens element and the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G78, a thickness of the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T6, and the optical imaging lens satisfies:(G34+G78)/T6≥1.800 (as seen in Fig. 13); and
an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by G23, a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T5, a thickness of the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by T7, and the optical imaging lens satisfies: either an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex or (G23+G34+T5)/T7≤1.800 (as seen in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 2, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a sum of the thicknesses of eight lens elements from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by ALT, an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by G67, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: ALT/(G23+G67+G78)≤3.200 (as seen in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T4, a thickness of the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T8, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality:(T6+T7+T8)/(T4+T5)≥2.100 (2.2/0.8).
`Regarding claim 6, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T8, an air gap between the first lens element and the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by G12, a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to the image-side surface of the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by TL, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality:
TL/(G12+T6+T8)≥5.000 (~ 5.9).
Regarding claim 7, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by T2, an air gap between the first lens element and the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by G12, an image height of the optical imaging lens is represented by ImgH, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality:
ImgH/(T1+G12+T2)≥4.000 (8/1.434).
Regarding claim 8, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by G67, a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to an image plane along the optical axis is represented by TTL, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: TTL/(T1+G67+T7+G78)≤4.000 (as seen in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 10, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a system focal length of the optical imaging lens is represented by EFL, a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T4, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: EFL/(T1+T4)≥4.000 (7.861/1.228).
Regarding claim 11, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T8, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality:
(T1+T7)/T8≤3.300 (1.869/0.644).
Regarding claim 12, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by AAG, a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T4, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (AAG+T4)/T6≥5.100 (~ 8).
Regarding claim 13, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by G67, a system focal length of the optical imaging lens is represented by EFL, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: EFL/(G23+G67)≥6.300 (7.861/0.551).
Regarding claim 14, Lin further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, an air gap between the first lens element and the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by G12, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T1+G12)/T7≤2.000 (1.129/1.032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 110456490, as evidenced by the translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches (Fig. 5, Table 5) An optical imaging lens comprising a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element, and an eighth lens element sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, wherein:
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (r<0);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (r>0);
a periphery region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave (as seen in Fig. 5);
lens elements of the optical imaging lens are composed of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element;
a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is less than a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis (0.2955<0.3);
an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, an air gap between the seventh lens element and the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G78, a thickness of the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T6, and the optical imaging lens satisfies:(G34+G78)/T6≥1.800 (as seen in Fig. 5); and
an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by G23, a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T5, a thickness of the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by T7, and the optical imaging lens satisfies: either an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex or (G23+G34+T5)/T7≤1.800 (0.9728/0.5999).
Zhou does not explicitly teach a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of having a smaller Fno by reducing entrance pupil diameter and/or improving production by allowing some manufacturing errors (so the region near the edge can be slightly concave if the region in Fig. 5 is not already concave).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Zhou by having a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave for the purposes of having a smaller Fno and/or improving production.
Regarding claim 5, Zhou further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by T3, a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by AAG, a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element to an image plane along the optical axis is represented by BFL, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (AAG+T3)/BFL≤3.700 ((2.943+0.3)/1.0866).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G56, a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by AAG, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: AAG/(T1+G56)≤3.000 (2.943/1.5).
Claim(s) 1,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jhang (US 20190204560).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches (Figs. 14-16) An optical imaging lens comprising a first lens element, a second lens element, a third lens element, a fourth lens element, a fifth lens element, a sixth lens element, a seventh lens element, and an eighth lens element sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, wherein:
a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave (as seen in Fig. 14);
an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (r<0);
an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the sixth lens element is concave (r>0);
lens elements of the optical imaging lens are composed of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth lens element;
a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is less than a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis (0.329<0.471);
an air gap between the third lens element and the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, an air gap between the seventh lens element and the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G78, a thickness of the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T6, and the optical imaging lens satisfies:(G34+G78)/T6≥1.800 (as seen in Fig. 13); and
an air gap between the second lens element and the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by G23, a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T5, a thickness of the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by T7, and the optical imaging lens satisfies: either an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex or (G23+G34+T5)/T7≤1.800 (1.72).
Jhang does not explicitly teach a periphery region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave.
Absent any showing of criticality and/or unpredictability, having a periphery region of the object-side surface of the seventh lens element is concave would have been known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purposes of having desired image size by selecting/cropping the central portion of the image.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Jhang by having for the purposes of having desired image size.
Regarding claim 4, Jhang further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by T3, an air gap between the fourth lens element and the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G45, an air gap between the fifth lens element and the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G56, an air gap between the sixth lens element and the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by G67, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T1+T3)/(G45+G56+G67)≥1.500 (as seen in Fig. 14).
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234