DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 02/18/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Patent No. 12121393 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Examiner notes that the previously set forth 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims, however, new 112(b) rejections are set forth herein in view of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding prior art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 2, 8, 9, 12-14, and 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. Examiner notes that new teachings of Tsutoaka are relied upon to teach the elements regarding adjusting the depth of field to extend an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging of the patient’s prostate and Angelsen as relied upon previously teach the aspects directed toward the second frequency or frequency range being different than the first frequency or frequency range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 17 recite the limitation “a scan depth distinct from the depth of field”. It is unclear what the nature of the scan depth is. For example, the scan depth would appear to be the same as or at least be included as part of the depth of field, however, by reciting that it is distinct from the depth of field it is unclear what the distinction between the two is. For examination purposes, it has been interpreted that the depth of field corresponds to the size/area of the in-focus region and the scan depth corresponds to the position of the in-focus region or similar, however, clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20190099160 A1), hereinafter Choi in view of Tsutaoka (US 20210219941 A1), hereinafter Tsutaoka and Angelsen et al. (US 20060052699 A1), hereinafter Angelsen.
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20,
Choi teaches a system (see at least fig. 1A) comprising:
An ultrasound probe (at least fig. 1A (110) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0028]) comprising:
A first ultrasound transducer (at least figs. 2B and 2C (275 and 285) which are transducer arrays thus would comprise a first ultrasound transducer); and
A second ultrasound transducer(at least figs. 2B and 2C (275 and 285) which are transducer arrays thus would comprise a second ultrasound transducer); and
A controller unit (at least fig. 1A (120) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0032]) configured to:
Obtain an ultrasound image of a patient’s bladder area by controlling the ultrasound probe (see at least fig. 1B depicting an ultrasound image of a patient’s bladder area. See also [0035] which discloses Ultrasound probe 110 may transmit ultrasound signals 180 through bladder 165 and may receive reflected ultrasound signals. The reflected ultrasound signals may be processed into images that are displayed on display 122);
Determine an aiming zone to image the patient’s prostate ([0019] which discloses An ultrasound system may be configured to select an aiming mode for an ultrasound probe, selecting a first aiming mode plane, and select at least one additional aiming mode plane without a user having to change the position of the ultrasound probe. Examiner notes that the selection of the aiming mode planes is considered to mean determining an aiming zone and [0090] discloses that other organs such as the prostate can be scanned or imaged in other implementations);
Adjust the ultrasound probe to transabdominally image the patient’s anatomy based on the determined aiming zone ([0024] which discloses the ultrasound probe may include a two-dimensional (2D) array of ultrasound transducers and toggling between the aiming mode planes may include controlling the 2D array of ultrasound transducers to generate ultrasound images in different ultrasound imaging planes. Examiner notes that toggling between the aiming mode planes/controlling to generate ultrasound images in different ultrasound imaging planes is considered adjusting the ultrasound probe based on the determined aiming zone (i.e. aiming mode planes)) by selecting a first frequency or frequency range for the first ultrasound transducer and selecting a second frequency or frequency range for the second ultrasound transducer ([0028] which discloses one or more ultrasound transducers configured to generate ultrasound energy at a particular frequency and/or pulse repetition rate and to receive reflected ultrasound energy (e.g., ultrasound echoes) and convert the reflected ultrasound energy into electrical signals and [0046] which discloses 1D transducer array 275 may convert electrical signals to ultrasound signals at a particular ultrasound frequency or range of ultrasound frequencies and [0049] which discloses 2D transducer array 285 may convert electrical signals to ultrasound signals at a particular ultrasound frequency or range of ultrasound frequencies); and
Obtain a transabdominal image of the patient’s prostate using the adjusted ultrasound probe ([0024] which discloses the ultrasound probe may include a two-dimensional (2D) array of ultrasound transducers and toggling between the aiming mode planes may include controlling the 2D array of ultrasound transducers to generate ultrasound images in different ultrasound imaging planes and [0090] which discloses the prostate may be scanned/imaged in other implementations), wherein the obtaining the transabdominal image includes driving the first ultrasound transducer using the first frequency or frequency range and driving the second ultrasound transducer using the second frequency or frequency range ([0028] which discloses one or more ultrasound transducers configured to generate ultrasound energy at a particular frequency and/or pulse repetition rate and to receive reflected ultrasound energy (e.g., ultrasound echoes) and convert the reflected ultrasound energy into electrical signals and [0046] which discloses 1D transducer array 275 may convert electrical signals to ultrasound signals at a particular ultrasound frequency or range of ultrasound frequencies and [0049] which discloses 2D transducer array 285 may convert electrical signals to ultrasound signals at a particular ultrasound frequency or range of ultrasound frequencies).
Choi fails to explicitly teach wherein adjusting includes adjusting a depth of field of the ultrasound probe to extend an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging of the patient’s prostate.
Tsutaoka, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches a controller unit (at least fig. 1 (3) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0032]) configured to obtain an ultrasound image of a patient’s bladder area (at least fig.4 (S1) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0057])
Determine an aiming zone (at least fig. 4 (S6) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0062]) to image an organ below the bladder;
And adjust the ultrasound probe to transabdominally image the organ below the bladder based on the determined aiming zone, wherein the adjusting includes adjusting a depth of field of the ultrasound probe to extend an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging of the patient’s organ (see at least fig. 6 in which the depth of field of the ultrasound probe is adjusted and an in-focus region is extended across the width of the ultrasound image at A2 using transmission/reception condition adjustment as disclosed in [0075]. Additionally/alternatively “to extend an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging of the patient’s organ” is considered an intended use limitation where it is noted that limitations directed towards intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to distinguish over the prior art. In other words, the structure must merely be configured to adjust a depth of field such that it is capable of extending an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging of the patient’s organ. Examiner notes that since Tsutaoka teaches adjusting the depth of field as depicted in at least fig. 6 and disclosed in [0075] that it would therefore be capable of being used to extend an in-focus region for the transabdominal imaging accordingly)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi to include determining an aiming zone as taught by Tsutaoka in order to allow for acquiring an image focused on a desired region of interest so that the anatomy in the region of interest is clearly depicted (Tsutaoka [0065]). Such a modification further allows for the effort of the user to be reduced and the examination can be easily performed regardless of the skill level of the user (Tsutaoka [0020]).
Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach the second frequency or frequency range being different than the first frequency or frequency range.
Angelsen, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches selecting a first frequency or frequency range for a first transducer and selecting a second frequency or frequency range for the second ultrasound transducer, the second frequency or frequency range being different from a first frequency or frequency range by a frequency difference ([0067] which discloses the LF1 band (used by aperture 235 as disclosed in [0066]) is used to image at deeper depths with corresponding deeper focus for example operating at 2.5 MHz and the HF band (used by aperture 236 as disclosed in [0066]) is used to image at lower depths for improved resolution with focus at these depths for example, operating at 10 MHz).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi as currently modified to include a second frequency or frequency range offset from the first frequency or frequency range by a frequency difference as taught by Angelsen in order to further optimize image quality (Angelson [0067]) throughout an extended field depth (i.e. shallow and deep portions)
Examiner notes that in the modified system the controller selects frequencies or a range of frequencies to be output by the transducer, thus adjusting the field of depth to extend an in-focus region in the modified system is done by selecting the first frequency and second frequency (i.e. frequencies output by the transducers) as disclosed by Angelsen.
Examiner further notes that the modified system of claim 1 would perform the method of claim 13 having corresponding method steps and could comprise the device of claim 20 having corresponding processor functions and a memory storing instructions that cause the processor to perform such functions (Choi [0054] which discloses memory storing instructions for execution by the processor and [0059] which discloses the software instructions stored in memory 330 cause processor 320 to perform processes described herein).
Regarding claims 2 and 14,
Choi further teaches wherein the first ultrasound transducer corresponds to an outer transducer element and the second ultrasound transducer corresponds to an inner transducer element (See at least figs. 2B and 2C depicting inner and outer ultrasound transducers)
Additionally/alternatively, Angelsen further teaches wherein the first ultrasound transducer corresponds to an outer transducer element and the second ultrasound transducer corresponds to an inner transducer element (see at least fig. 8a)
Regarding claims 3 and 15,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 2 and 14 as previously stated. Choi further teaches wherein the outer transducer element and the inner transducer element form a convex parabolic surface in a plane perpendicular to a direction of the transmitted and received signals associated with the ultrasound probe (see at least fig. 2B).
Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the outer transducer element and the inner transducer element form a concave parabolic surface in a plane perpendicular to a direction of the transmitted and received signals associated with the ultrasound probe.
Nonetheless, Angelsen further teaches wherein the outer transducer element and the inner transducer element form a concave parabolic surface in a plane perpendicular to a direction of the transmitted and received signals associated with the ultrasound probe (see at least fig. 8a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as currently modified, to include an outer transducer element and inner transducer element as taught by Angelsen in order to provide for further optimized image quality (Angelson [0067]) throughout an extended field depth (i.e. shallow and deep portions) while taking into account a specific array design to take full advantage of the basic physical effects needed to provide such optimized image quality (Angelsen [0154]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 13 as previously stated.
Angelsen, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, further teaches wherein a second frequency or frequency range is offset from a first frequency or frequency range by a frequency difference ([0067] which discloses the LF1 band (used by aperture 235 as disclosed in [0066]) is used to image at deeper depths with corresponding deeper focus for example operating at 2.5 MHz and the HF band (used by aperture 236 as disclosed in [0066]) is used to image at lower depths for improved resolution with focus at these depths for example, operating at 10 MHz).
Regarding claims 8, 17, and 21,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 13 as previously stated. Tsutoaka, as applied to claims 1 and 13, further teaches wherein the controller unit is further configured to: adjust an acquisition parameter of the ultrasound probe based on the determined aiming zone, wherein the acquisition parameter includes at least a scan depth ([0046] which discloses the transmission/reception conditions of the ultrasonic waves include a transmission focus position. Examiner notes that the focus position is considered distinct from the depth of field (i.e. the entire region of interest focus field))
Regarding claims 11 and 19,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 13 as previously stated. Choi further teaches wherein the controller unit is further configured to:
Obtain an ultrasound image of the patient’s bladder area ([0029] which discloses For example, probe 110 may be positioned on a pelvic area of a patient and over the patient's bladder and [0035] which discloses ultrasound probe 110 may transmit ultrasound signals 180 through bladder 165 and may receive reflected ultrasound signals. The reflected ultrasound signals may be processed into images that are displayed on display 122.);
Identify a bladder in the obtained ultrasound image ([0020] which discloses a segmentation processing performed on captured ultrasound data. For example, in a segmentation map ultrasound image, different body structures may be displayed in different colors (e.g. bladder yellow, background tissues in gray, etc.);
Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the determining the aiming zone to image the patient’s prostate is performed using the identified wall of the bladder.
Nonetheless, Tsutaoka further teaches the controller unit (at least fig. 1 (3) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0032]) configured to obtain the ultrasound image of a patient’s bladder area (at least fig.4 (S1) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0057])
Identify a wall bladder in the obtained ultrasound image (at least fig. 4 (S2) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0058])
Determine the aiming zone using the identified wall of the bladder (at least fig. 4 (S6) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi to include determining an aiming zone as taught by Tsutaoka in order to allow for acquiring an image focused on a desired region of interest so that the anatomy in the region of interest is clearly depicted (Tsutaoka [0065]). Such a modification further allows for the effort of the user to be reduced and the examination can be easily performed regardless of the skill level of the user (Tsutaoka [0020]).
Regarding claim 12,
Choi further teaches wherein, when obtaining the transabdominal image of the patient’s prostate using the aimed ultrasound probe, the controller unit is further configured to at least one of:
Obtain a set of three-dimensional (3D) ultrasound scan images of the patient’s prostate ([0067] which discloses 3D scan manager 440 may instruct image generator 430 to generate ultrasound images for a particular set of planes in a particular sequence)
Obtain a B-mode ultrasound image of the patient’s prostate ([0020] which discloses the ultrasound images generated while in aiming mode and/or during a 3D scan may correspond to B-mode ultrasound images), or
Obtain a Doppler ultrasound image of the patient’s prostate ([0020] which discloses moreover, the 3D scan may be performed using P-mode ultrasound images, Doppler mode ultrasound images, harmonic mode ultrasound images, M-mode ultrasound images, and/or any other type of imaging modality that uses ultrasound data).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Tsutaoka, and Angelsen as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Reilly et al. (US 20040064043 A1), hereinafter Reilly.
Regarding claims 4 and 16,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 16 as previously stated. Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second frequency or frequency range includes a harmonic of the first frequency or frequency range.
Rielly in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging teaches wherein a second frequency or frequency range of a transmitted signal includes a harmonic of a first frequency or frequency range ([0001] which discloses more particularly, the invention relates to a system and method that utilizes a transmit beam comprising both the fundamental frequency and harmonics of the fundamental frequency and [0035] which discloses That is, varying amounts of second harmonic may be added to the transmit beam on a per element basis, thus creating a transmit beam which is independent of the non-linearly generated second harmonic to create a more continuous transmit harmonic beam).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as currently modified to include a harmonic of the first frequency or frequency range in the second frequency or frequency range as taught by Rielly in order to provide an improved imaging system for harmonic imaging of an object in the medium (Rielly [0023]). Such a modification would provide improved imaging resolution with an extended depth of imaging.
Claims 6 and 16 (alternatively) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Tsutaoka, and Angelsen as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Kakee et al. (US 20050133106 A1), hereinafter Kakee.
Regarding claim 6 and 16 (alternatively),
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 13 as previously stated. Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the second ultrasound transducer is configured to receive echo signals corresponding to twice the first frequency.
Kakee, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, wherein an ultrasound transducer is configured to receive echo signals corresponding to twice a first transmitted frequency ([0004] which discloses when an ultrasonic wave of a center frequency is irradiated to a patient, a second harmonic component at twice the center frequency is newly generated and is received by the ultrasound probe).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as currently modified, to include receiving echo signals corresponding to twice the first frequency as taught by Kakee in order to provide for tissue harmonic imaging, hereby allowing a high resolution image to be obtained by reducing generation of a side lobe which causes artifact on the ultrasonic image (Kakee [0004]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Tsutaoka, and Angelsen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hu et al. (US 20210077078 A1), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding claim 7,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Choi, as modified, further teaches wherein the first ultrasound transducer is configured to transmit ultrasound pulses at the first frequency, wherein the second ultrasound transducer is configured to transmit ultrasound pulses at the second frequency (See corresponding disclosure of Angelsen ).
Choi fails to explicitly teach wherein the first ultrasound transducer is further configured to measure echo signals at a third frequency corresponding to the difference between the first frequency and the second frequency, and wherein the second ultrasound transducer is further configured to measure echo signals at a fourth frequency corresponding to twice the first frequency.
Hu, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein a first ultrasound transducer is configured to transmit ultrasound pulses at the first frequency, wherein a second ultrasound transducer is configured to transmit ultrasound pulses at a second frequency first ultrasound transducer ([0019] which discloses An f.sub.1 generator 42 produces the f.sub.1 transmit signal component and an f.sub.2 generator 44 produces the f.sub.2 transmit signal component. The generators can generate the signal components algorithmically, for instance. The generators produce their respective transmit waveforms in response to input control parameters such as f.sub.1 Sel. and f.sub.2 Sel. shown in the drawing which select the f.sub.1 and f.sub.2 frequency components for the transmit beams. Other variable input parameters (not shown) may be intensity or apodization parameters a and b, and phase or polarity parameters for inverted transmit signals. Alternatively, the output waveforms produced by the generators 42 and 44 may be varied in amplitude and phase or polarity before or after being combined by a summer 46 into a composite transmit waveform which contains the multiple transmit frequency components. In FIG. 3a the waveforms produced by the generators are weighted by digital weighting processor circuits 43 and 45 which apply the amplitude or apodization weighting factors a and b to the generated waveforms. The weighting circuits can take the form of digital multipliers and the sign of the weighting factor (+1,−1) can be used to control the polarity of the output waveform. The composite transmit waveform is applied to a D/A converter 48 for conversion to an analog signal, which may be further amplified and filtered as desired and used to drive a transducer element 12′ of the transducer array) and wherein the first ultrasound transducer is further configured to measure echo signals at a third frequency corresponding to the difference between the first frequency and the second frequency, and wherein the second ultrasound transducer is further configured to measure echo signals at a fourth frequency corresponding to twice the first frequency ([0013] which discloses the transducer array 12 receives echoes from the body containing a full spectrum of different frequencies, including the fundamental frequencies f.sub.1 and f.sub.2, harmonics of these two frequencies, and the sum and difference frequency components which are within the transducer passband and [0021] which discloses In the top portion 4a of the drawing the ultrasound system additively combines the echo signals 84e and 86e which have been acquired and stored in the two line buffers 20a and 20b. The additive combining by summer 22 separates out the nonlinear difference, second harmonic and sum signal components f.sub.2−f.sub.1, 2f.sub.1, respectively)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as currently modified, to include a first transducer and second transducer configured to transmit respective ultrasound pulses and receive respective echoes as taught by Hu in order to allow enhanced image resolution and penetration over the full depth of an image by selective combined use of both linear and nonlinear echo signal components (Hu [0025] and [0029]).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, Tsutaoka, and Angelsen as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Choi (US 20180330518 A1), hereinafter Choi (2018).
Regarding claims 10 and 18,
Choi, as modified, teaches the elements of claims 1 and 13 as previously stated. Choi further teaches wherein the controller unit is configured to perform a segmentation process on the obtained transabdominal ultrasound images of the patient’s prostate to identify a boundary of the prostate in the obtained transabdominal image of the patient’s prostate ([0020] which discloses a segmentation map ultrasound image may correspond to an ultrasound image with segmentation processing performed on captured ultrasound data). Choi, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller unit is further configured to perform the segmentation process on the obtained transabdominal image of the patient’s prostate using a machine learning model.
Nonetheless, Choi (2018), in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches wherein a controller unit is configured to perform a segmentation process on an obtained transabdominal ultrasound image of a patient’s prostate using a machine learned model to identify a boundary of the prostate in the obtained transabdominal image of the patient’s prostate ([0063] which discloses the based unit may use the probability map (using the CNN autoencoder unit [0032]) to segment the target region via a binarization process and [0074] which discloses for a prostate scan measurement of the width and heigh of the prostate may be needed… measurements may be generated using the machine learning processing described above. Thus, examiner notes that the machine learning may be used to identify a boundary of the prostate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Choi, as currently modified, to include using a machine learned model as taught by Choi (2018) in order to improve accuracy with respect to generating output data (Choi (2018) [0032] and [0083]). Such a modification would allow for a probability map to be generated indicating the probability that a pixel belongs to the target organ and further allow for binarization and post-processing to remove noise and provide a more accurate representation of the organ (Choi [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LYN KLEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797