DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 12-17 in the reply filed on 07-21-2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examining all pending claims would not impose a serious burden; and that the Requirement does not sufficiently explain how the asserted alternative process would produce the claimed composite structure as a whole. This is not found persuasive. As mentioned in the Requirement, the two groups are classified in different areas, and the search for one group does not require a search in the other. As stated in MPEP § 806.05(f), if the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, then the groups related as process of making and product made are distinct. As shown in the Requirement, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process, such as using adhesive for bonding, instead of thermal bonding. Such alternate process would produce the claimed composite structure as a whole.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 15, lines 3-5, “the electrical paths” should be changed to --the electrically conductive paths--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (9215801) in view of Song et al. (2011/0057991).
Takahashi et al. discloses a composite structure comprising a layer of a ceramic-based material (10) that includes electrically conductive paths (20) formed of an electrically conductive metal and extending through the ceramic-based material and solid portions positioned between the conductive paths (re-claim 12). Takahashi et al. also discloses that the conductive metal includes at least one of copper, tungsten, or molybdenum (col. 3 lines 5-14) (re-claim 13).
Takahashi et al. does not disclose the composite comprising a first layer of an electrical insulator material positioned over the layer of ceramic-based material and bonded to first ends of the solid portions; and a second layer of the electrical insulator material positioned under the layer of ceramic-based material and bonded to second ends of the solid portions (re-claim 12).
Song et al. discloses a composite structure comprising a layer of ceramic-based material (20a), a first layer of an electrical insulator material (10a) positioned over and bonded to upper side of the ceramic-based material, and a second layer of the electrical insulator material (30a) positioned under and bonded to lower side of the ceramic-based material (re-claim 12). Song et al. also discloses that the electrical insulator material includes at least one of glass or silicon ([0041]) (re-claim 14); and the ceramic-based material includes a LTCC material ([0041]) (re-claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide the first layer (10a) and the second layer (20a) of silicon as taught by Song et al. respectively over and under the ceramic-based material (10) of Takahashi et al. to protect the conductive paths from the surrounding environment.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use LTCC for the ceramic-based material (10) of Takahashi et al. since it is taught by Song et al. that the LTCC material has little difference in thermal expansion coefficient in comparison with the upper and lower silicon layer. This may allow for stable bonding at a bonding interface ([0043]).
It is noted that since the modified composite structure of Takahashi et al. comprises structure and material as claimed, the CTE of the ceramic-based layer (LTCC) is greater than that of the electrical insulator (silicon) and less than that of the conductive metal (copper, tungsten, and/or molybdenum) (re-claim 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841