DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US Patent No. 10,636,260) in view of Piazza et al. (US Patent No. 11,009,959).
Regarding claim 1, Young discloses a wearable haptic device comprising [see Abstract; wearable device for providing haptic stimulations is provided. The wearable device includes: (i) a wearable structure attachable to a portion of a user's body; (ii) a plurality of bladders, integrated with the wearable structure]: a fluidic circuit comprising [see col. 4, lines 5-10; (i) an inflatable bladder and (ii) a sensor integrated with the inflatable bladder. The method includes instructing a pressure source to transition the inflatable bladder from an unpressurized state to a pressurized state. The inflatable bladder is associated with a function when transitioned to the pressurized state]: at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 1, lines 55-60; a plurality of bladders, integrated with the wearable structure, configured to expand and contract according to fluid pressure within each bladder, and (iii) at least one conduit configured to transport a fluid from a source to one or more bladders of the plurality of bladders, where the fluid from the source increases the fluid pressure within the one or more bladders], and at least one channel fluidically connected to the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 13, lines 17-35 and figures 2A-4; a manifold between the source and the wearable devices, the manifold includes one or more valves (not shown) that fluidically (e.g., pneumatically) couple each of the haptic feedback mechanisms with the source via tubing (also referred to herein as “conduits”), the tubing is ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber tubing with 1/32″ inner diameter (various other tubing can also be used). The manifold is in communication with the controller, and the controller controls the one or more valves of the manifold (e.g., the controller generates one or more control signals). The manifold is configured to switchably couple the source with the bladders of the same or different wearable devices based on one or more control signals from the controller]; wherein each of the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 4, lines 54-58 and figures 2A-3B; (i) measurements of the bladder's expansion, (ii) measurements of the bladder's contraction, and (iii) measurements of the fluid pressure within the bladder], and wherein each of the at least one channel is configured to convey a pressurized fluid to the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 4, lines 60-64 and figures 2A-3B; instructing the pressure source to transition the inflatable bladder from the unpressurized state to the pressurized state causes the pressure source to add fluid to the inflatable bladder to increase fluid pressure within the bladder]; however, Young fails to explicitly teach an inflatable cell formed from a portion of a first material sheet bonded to a portion of a second material sheet to form a hermetic bond.
Piazza discloses an inflatable cell formed from a portion of a first material sheet bonded to a portion of a second material sheet to form a hermetic bond [see col. 3, lines 32-58 and figures 2-8; Inflatable bladder include at least one fluid port positioned and configured to inflate and/or deflate inflatable bladder. For example, fluid port configured to inflate inflatable ladder upon receipt of a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source. The pressurized fluid source may include, without limitation, a fan, a piston, a valve, a pump, a pressurized chamber, a compressor, or another fluidic device. The pressurized fluid may be a gas (e.g., air, nitrogen, vapor, etc.) or a liquid (e.g., water, etc.). A haptic system may include multiple inflatable bladders in which each of inflatable bladders receive a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source, each of inflatable bladders receive the same pressure level of pressurized fluid or certain inflatable bladders receive a different pressure level of pressurized fluid. Each of inflatable bladders include at least one fluid port connected to a valve that controls a flow of pressurized fluid from the pressurized fluid source to inflatable bladders. Further, each of inflatable bladders coupled to a pressure sensor that measures the pressure level of the pressurized fluid. A haptic controller, configured to control a programmable pressure in inflatable bladders by controlling the flow of pressurized fluid to fluid port and measuring the pressure level of the pressurized fluid; which corresponds to an inflatable bladders that are sealed structures supported by a wearable article and configures to receive pressurized fluid through fluid channels].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Young and Piazza before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, form the sealed inflatable of Young to include bonded material sheets, as taught by Piazza.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to produce a soft, airtight, comfortable cell that reliably holds pressurized fluid while remaining comfortable for wearable use and providing durable, sealed inflatable elements.
Regarding claim 2, Piazza discloses further comprising a fluidic resistor, fluidically connected to the inflatable cell via the channel [see col. 7, lines 1-25. Each of inflatable bladders connected to a valve that controls a flow of pressurized fluid from pressurized fluid source to inflatable bladders. Valve (e.g., a microelectromechanical valve) a multiport and/or multi-position valve that allows fluid to flow from pressurized fluid source through a fluid channel (e.g., a manifold) to valve. When valve is in a first position, pressurized fluid flow from fluid channel to inflatable bladder. When valve is in a second position, pressurized fluid contained within inflatable bladder. When valve is in a third position, the pressurized fluid within inflatable bladder returned through fluid channel to pressurized fluid source and/or exhausted to an ambient atmosphere].
Regarding claim 3, Young discloses wherein the fluidic capacitor and the fluidic resistor are configured to form a fluidic circuit [see col. 15, lines 50-61; one or more channels may be used to fluidically couple adjacent (or non-adjacent) bladders to each other. In this way, fewer conduits are needed to service each of the bladders, the number of conduits is equal to the number of bladders (e.g., there is a one-to-one relationship between conduits and bladders). In this way, each bladder is serviced individually by a respective conduit, the wearable device includes a single conduit that is configured to transport fluid from the source to one or more of the bladders included in the wearable device, the wearable device includes multiple conduits, each of which is configured to transport fluid from the source to one or more of the bladders included in the wearable device].
Regarding claim 4, Young discloses wherein the fluidic circuit is configured to apply a spatiotemporal stimulus to a wearer [see col. 12, lines 1-40; a fluid source (e.g., a pneumatic device), the controller is part of the computer system (e.g., the processor of the computer system). Alternatively, the controller is part of the wearable device. The controller is configured to control operation of the source, and in turn the operation (at least partially) of the wearable devices].
Regarding claim 5, Young discloses further comprising a sleeve for securing the inflatable cell to a subject [see col. 8 and figures 6 and 13; a haptic vibrotactile actuator system that include multiple inflatable bladders, wearable article include multiple inflatable bladders incorporating flexible haptic vibrotactile actuators. Wearable article shows a wearable article (e.g., a glove) that incorporates multiple inflatable bladders on an interior section of wearable article adjacent to the top side of a user's hand, fingers, and wrist. Wearable article constructed of a fabric material that conforms to the body part (e.g., a hand) of the user donning wearable article. Wearable article constructed of a compliant material that conforms to the shape of the user's hand as the user moves the hand].
Regarding claim 6, Young discloses wherein the at least one fluidic capacitor comprises a plurality of fluidic capacitors fluidically connected in parallel [see abstract and figures 2A-3B; haptic vibrotactile actuators on inflatable bladders may include an inflatable bladder and a flexible haptic vibrotactile actuator positioned on or in the inflatable bladder such that inflation and deflation of the inflatable bladder alters a vibrotactile sensation induced by the flexible haptic vibrotactile actuator in response to activation of the flexible haptic vibrotactile actuator].
Regarding claim 7, Young discloses wherein the at least one fluidic capacitor comprises a plurality of fluidic capacitors fluidically connected in series [see col. 17, lines 4-22; hat fluidically connects the first bellows with the second bellows. In addition, the first bellows defines another opening sized to accommodate an end (e.g., a valve) of the conduit. In such an arrangement, fluid from the conduit enters the first bellows at the opening, and subsequently, the fluid enters the second bellows, from the first bellows, via the passage. The stacked arrangement of the first and second bellows facilitates a substantial expansion of the bladder in a preferred direction, which cannot be achieved with a single bellows. With this enhanced expansion of the bladder, the structure imparts a significant force onto the user wearing the wearable device, while also minimizing the noticeability of the wearable device].
Regarding claim 8, Young discloses wherein each of the at least one fluidic capacitor further comprises a thermoplastic coating [see col. 12, lines 10-25; Each bladder is integrated with (e.g., embedded in or coupled to) the wearable structure. The bladder is a sealed, inflatable pocket made from a durable, puncture resistance material, such as thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) or the like. Each bladder is configured to expand or contract according to fluid pressure within each bladder. Fluid as used herein can be various media, including air, an inert gas, or a liquid, each bladder delivers (e.g., imparts) a haptic stimulation to the user wearing the wearable structure when the bladder expands a threshold amount (i.e., a fluid pressure within the bladder reaches a threshold pressure)].
Regarding claim 9, Young discloses wherein the fluidic resistor comprises a permeable structure [see col. 18, lines 41-51; Haptic feedback systems may provide various types of cutaneous feedback, including vibration, force, traction, texture, and/or temperature. Haptic feedback systems may also provide various types of kinesthetic feedback, such as motion and compliance. Haptic feedback implemented using motors, piezoelectric actuators, fluidic systems, and/or a variety of other types of feedback mechanisms. Haptic feedback systems implemented independent of other artificial-reality devices, within other artificial-reality devices, and/or in conjunction with other artificial-reality devices].
Regarding claim 10, Young discloses a method of providing spatiotemporal cues, the method comprising, iteratively, until a stopping condition is met [see col. 12, lines 33-54; figure 2A; a controller and a fluid source (e.g., a pneumatic device) the controller is part of the computer system. Alternatively, the controller is part of the wearable device. The controller is configured to control operation of the source, and in turn the operation of the wearable devices. For example, the controller sends one or more signals to the source to activate the source (e.g., turn it on and off). The one or more signals may specify a desired pressure to be output by the source. Additionally, the one or more signals may specify a desired frequency for outputting the desired pressure]: determining a state of a subject wearing a wearable haptic device [see col. 13, lines The manifold is configured to switchably couple the source with the bladders of the same or different wearable devices based on one or more control signals from the controller, instead of the manifold being used to fluidically couple the source with the haptic feedback mechanisms, the system includes multiple sources, where each is fluidically coupled directly with a single (or multiple) bladder(s), the source and the optional manifold are configured as part of one or more of the wearable devices while, the source and the optional manifold are configured as external to the wearable device. A single source shared by multiple wearable devices]; providing a signal to a controller configured to control the wearable haptic device [see col. 26, lines 1-12; sending the instruction to a fluid source in communication with the computer system (e.g., send the instruction in a communication signal from a communication interface). The instruction, when received by the source, causes the source to change a pressure inside one or more bladders of the wearable device. In doing so, a wearer of the wearable device experiences a haptic stimulation that corresponds to the visual data, the instruction specifies the change in the pressure to be made by the source. In some situations, instead of the computer system sending the instruction to the source, the computer system sends the instruction to the wearable device. In response to receiving the instruction, the wearable device sends the instruction to the source]; and with the controller, switching on at least one valve to provide a pressurized fluid [see col. 2, lines 4-18 and figures 10-11; in response to receiving the instruction, activating a pressure source to change the fluid pressure in the one or more first bladders according to the instruction, each of the one or more first bladders delivers (e.g., imparts) a haptic stimulation to the user wearing the wearable structure when each bladder expands a threshold amount (and/or vibrates at a threshold frequency), the wearable device of communication with a computer system (e.g., an augmented-reality device and/or a virtual-reality device), and the wearable device can stimulate the body based on an instruction from the computer system; which corresponds to desire pressure, frequency and involving sensor data and controller action]; however, Young fails to explicitly teach at least one inflatable cell whereby the at least one inflatable cell is inflated, providing a force to a skin surface of the subject.
Piazza discloses at least one inflatable cell whereby the at least one inflatable cell is inflated, providing a force to a skin surface of the subject [see col. 7, lines 27-35; pressurized fluid source provide a negatively pressurized fluid source (e.g., a pressure sink) capable of drawing fluid away from inflatable bladder, thereby deflating inflatable bladder, inflatable bladder constructed of an elastic material such that inflatable bladder inflates upon receiving a positively pressurized fluid and deflates upon receiving a negatively pressurized fluid (e.g., upon exhausting the fluid). Inflatable bladder exhaust the fluid through valve].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Young and Piazza before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, form the sealed inflatable of Young to include bonded material sheets, as taught by Piazza.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to produce a soft, airtight, comfortable cell that reliably holds pressurized fluid while remaining comfortable for wearable use and providing durable, sealed inflatable elements.
Regarding claim 11, Piazza discloses wherein the state is a geographical position of the subject [see figures 12-15].
Regarding claim 12, Piazza discloses wherein the stopping condition comprises a proximity of the subject to a waypoint [see figures 12-15].
Regarding claim 13, Young discloses a system for providing spatiotemporal cues, comprising: a wearable haptic device comprising a fluidic circuit having: [see abstract; wearable device for providing haptic stimulations is provided. The wearable device includes: (i) a wearable structure attachable to a portion of a user's body; (ii) a plurality of bladders, integrated with the wearable structure]: a fluidic circuit comprising [see col. 4, lines 5-10; (i) an inflatable bladder and (ii) a sensor integrated with the inflatable bladder. The method includes instructing a pressure source to transition the inflatable bladder from an unpressurized state to a pressurized state. The inflatable bladder is associated with a function when transitioned to the pressurized state]: at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 1, lines 55-60; a plurality of bladders, integrated with the wearable structure, configured to expand and contract according to fluid pressure within each bladder, and (iii) at least one conduit configured to transport a fluid from a source to one or more bladders of the plurality of bladders, where the fluid from the source increases the fluid pressure within the one or more bladders], and at least one channel fluidically connected to the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 13, lines 17-35 and figures 2A-4; a manifold between the source and the wearable devices, the manifold includes one or more valves (not shown) that fluidically (e.g., pneumatically) couple each of the haptic feedback mechanisms with the source via tubing (also referred to herein as “conduits”), the tubing is ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber tubing with 1/32″ inner diameter (various other tubing can also be used). The manifold is in communication with the controller, and the controller controls one or more valves of the manifold (e.g., the controller generates one or more control signals). The manifold is configured to switchable couple the source with the bladders of the same or different wearable devices based on one or more control signals from the controller]; wherein each of the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 4, lines 54-58 and figures 2A-3B; (i) measurements of the bladder's expansion, (ii) measurements of the bladder's contraction, and (iii) measurements of the fluid pressure within the bladder], and wherein each of the at least one channel is configured to convey a pressurized fluid to the at least one fluidic capacitor [see col. 4, lines 60-64 and figures 2A-3B; instructing the pressure source to transition the inflatable bladder from the unpressurized state to the pressurized state causes the pressure source to add fluid to the inflatable bladder to increase fluid pressure within the bladder]; and a master valve, fluidically connected to the at least one channel, and a fluid source fluidically connected to the at least one fluidic capacitor via the at least one channel [see col. 13, lines 17-27; a manifold between the source and the wearable devices, the manifold includes one or more valves that fluidically (e.g., pneumatically) couple each of the haptic feedback mechanisms with the source via tubing “conduits”, the tubing is ethylene propylene diene monomer (EPDM) rubber tubing with 1/32″ inner diameter (various other tubing can also be used). In some embodiments, the manifold is in communication with the controller, and the controller controls the one or more valves of the manifold (e.g., the controller generates one or more control signals). The manifold is configured to switchably couple the source with the bladders of the same or different wearable devices based on one or more control signals from the controller]; however, Young fails to explicitly teach an inflatable cell formed from a portion of a first material sheet bonded to a portion of a second material sheet to form a hermetic bond.
Piazza discloses an inflatable cell formed from a portion of a first material sheet bonded to a portion of a second material sheet to form a hermetic bond [see col. 3, lines 32-58 and figures 2-8; Inflatable bladder include at least one fluid port positioned and configured to inflate and/or deflate inflatable bladder. For example, fluid port configured to inflate inflatable ladder upon receipt of a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source. The pressurized fluid source may include, without limitation, a fan, a piston, a valve, a pump, a pressurized chamber, a compressor, or another fluidic device. The pressurized fluid may be a gas (e.g., air, nitrogen, vapor, etc.) or a liquid (e.g., water, etc.). A haptic system may include multiple inflatable bladders in which each of inflatable bladders receive a pressurized fluid from a pressurized fluid source, each of inflatable bladders receive the same pressure level of pressurized fluid or certain inflatable bladders receive a different pressure level of pressurized fluid. Each of inflatable bladders include at least one fluid port connected to a valve that controls a flow of pressurized fluid from the pressurized fluid source to inflatable bladders. Further, each of inflatable bladders coupled to a pressure sensor that measures the pressure level of the pressurized fluid. A haptic controller, configured to control a programmable pressure in inflatable bladders by controlling the flow of pressurized fluid to fluid port and measuring the pressure level of the pressurized fluid; which corresponds to an inflatable bladders that are sealed structures supported by a wearable article and configures to receive pressurized fluid through fluid channels].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Young and Piazza before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, form the sealed inflatable of Young to include bonded material sheets, as taught by Piazza.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to produce a soft, airtight, comfortable cell that reliably holds pressurized fluid while remaining comfortable for wearable use and providing durable, sealed inflatable elements.
Regarding claims 14-20, directly or indirectly dependent on claim 13, essentially correspond to those of claims 2-9 respectively. Accordingly, the same reasoning as in claims 2-9 applies to claims 14-20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Zeitler (US2017/0371416) discloses devices and methods for providing so-called force feedback to a user, in particular in form of a data glove, and a corresponding control method.
Cohen et al. (US 10,248,200) provides a wearable device including: at least one compliant region adapted and configured to be placed over a joint of a subject and at least two flexible but less compliant regions coupled to opposite ends of the compliant region. Another aspect of the invention provides a wearable robotic device including a wearable device as described herein and at least one actuator adapted and configured to move the flexible but less compliant regions relative to each other.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171