Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first interface”, “a second interface”, “a service control unit”, and “a service interface unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan et al. (US 20200092126 A1) in view of Van Dijk et al. (US 20240070099 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ramanathan teaches a communication receiver connected to a main control unit (0022-0023: management device processor) of a communication device (0028: management device) configured to be connected to an electronic control device via a single or a plurality of communication lines, the communication receiver comprising: ([0028 and Fig 3] FIG. 3 illustrates schematically operational components of the management device 104, 106, 108 of the building automation system 100. The management device 104, 106, 108 comprises one or more adapters 302, 304 to enable development of subsystem integration by isolating each subsystem within a well-contained ecosystem based on standard web technologies. In particular, the adapter 302, 304 performs the conversion of legacy protocols to a standardized interface in a separate, isolated process space, which is fully agnostic of any communication protocols of the management device 104, 106, 108. The management device 104, 106, 108 establishes an interaction channel with each adapter 302, 304 by conforming to the standard web technology. Examples of the standard web technologies include, but are not limited to, Representational State Transfer (REST) or HTTP
a first interface configured to be connected to the main control unit; (0022-0023: management device processor) ([0036] control center 402 to facilitate the development of a communication link between the control center and the adapter 404. The communication link is developed between the system driver 416 of the control center 402 to the system adapter 418 of the adapter 404. In particular, the system driver 416 includes a first system interface 430 and the system adapter 418 includes a second system interface 432, in which the first and second system interfaces are mapped to each other. For example, each of the first and second system interfaces 430, 432 may be HTTP endpoints such that communications via the link there between utilizes Hypertext Transfer Protocol. The system adapter 418 may generate a description of instances 434, i.e., thing description, hosted at the system adapter and representing the object model and provide the thing description to the control center 402. The thing description 434 is communicated from the second system interface 432 of the adapter 404 to the first system interface 430 of the control center 402. For some embodiments, the second system interface 432 may be an HTTP endpoint of a REST server that provides the description of the instances 434 in the form of RDF documents serialized in JavaScript Objection Notation (JSON) to the first system interface 430 which is an HTTP endpoint of the system driver 416.)
a second interface configured to be connected to the main control unit; (0022-0023: management device processor) ([0036] control center 402 to facilitate the development of a communication link between the control center and the adapter 404. The communication link is developed between the system driver 416 of the control center 402 to the system adapter 418 of the adapter 404. In particular, the system driver 416 includes a first system interface 430 and the system adapter 418 includes a second system interface 432, in which the first and second system interfaces are mapped to each other. For example, each of the first and second system interfaces 430, 432 may be HTTP endpoints such that communications via the link there between utilizes Hypertext Transfer Protocol. The system adapter 418 may generate a description of instances 434, i.e., thing description, hosted at the system adapter and representing the object model and provide the thing description to the control center 402. The thing description 434 is communicated from the second system interface 432 of the adapter 404 to the first system interface 430 of the control center 402. For some embodiments, the second system interface 432 may be an HTTP endpoint of a REST server that provides the description of the instances 434 in the form of RDF documents serialized in JavaScript Objection Notation (JSON) to the first system interface 430 which is an HTTP endpoint of the system driver 416.)
a service control unit (0022-0023: management device processor) configured to transmit a search message for searching for a service to the electronic control device conforming to a first protocol, (0038-0039; discovery requests) which is a service communication protocol, (0038-0039; 0017-0018; 0028-0030; The managemenet device are represented by control center 402, which sends a discovery request (equivalent to search message for a service) using web protocols including standard and proprietary protocols)
based on first setting information received from the main control unit via the first interface(see mapping above); ([0037] For some embodiments, the system driver 416 may poll property values as they are requested (on demand) in control center 402 using HTTP Get requests and write property values with HTTP Put requests. The content of the request may be encoded, for example, as JSON encoded primitive data types. For this example, the system driver 416 may initiate all communication to the adapter 404 and does not need to communicate with the subsystem directly. The adapter 404 manages communication with the subsystem in the native protocol of the subsystem. The system driver 416 may service multiple adapters and may be scaled-up with having multiple system drivers on a control center 402. [0038]; Also, the driver and network are identified, the adapter 404 is added, and the resource address of the adapter is identified. Thus, in response to creating the instances 428 and addressing the properties with the resource addresses, the system driver 416 of the control center 402 may initiate operations to communicate with the system adapter 418 of the adapter 404, such as reading and updating the resources. For discovery, all objects, or a portion thereof, that may utilize the adapter 404 will be identified by the auto discovery component 436.)
Ramanathan does not explicitly teach and a service interface unit configured to convert an event message conforming to the first protocol or a second protocol different from the first protocol received from the electronic control device into stream data based on second setting information received from the main control unit via the first interface,
and to transmit the stream data to the main control unit via the second interface.
In an analogous art Van Dijk teaches and a service interface unit (Figs 1 and mapping below; Can transceiver 120) configured to convert an event message conforming to the first protocol or a second protocol different from the first protocol (from message received to serial bit stream) received from the electronic control device (other nodes) into stream data (serial bit stream) based on second setting information received from the main control unit via the first interface (based on configuration of the CAN BUS interface, the TxD interface and RxD interface), ( [0041] For example, in receive operations, a CAN transceiver 120 converts analog differential signals from the CAN bus 104 to the RXD stream of serial bits that the CAN protocol controller 114 can interpret. The CAN transceiver 120 may also protects the CAN protocol controller 114 from extreme electrical conditions on the CAN bus 104, e.g., electrical surges. [0045] The CAN transceiver 120 comprises a CAN BUS interface 130, a TXD interface 132, an RXD interface 134, a receiver 136, and a transmitter 138. The receiver 136 may be formed as a physical unit of the transceiver 120 and/or at least partially as a logical unit of the transceiver 120. The transmitter 138 may be formed as a physical unit of the transceiver 120 and/or at least partially as a logical unit of the transceiver 120. [0040] The CAN transceiver 120 is located between the CAN controller 114 being implemented by the microcontrollers 110 and the CAN bus 104. The CAN transceiver 120 is configured to implement physical layer operations as known in the field.
and to transmit the stream data to the main control unit via the second interface(RxD interface). (Fig 2; The Rxd stream is then sent to the microcontroller holding the CAN protocol controller)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan] to include [converting a first protocol to a stream based on configuration of the interfaces and controllers] as is taught by [Van Dijk].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to [improve vehicle communication 0002].
Regarding claim 8, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of further comprising: at least one of (i) a circuit (device hardware) and (ii) a processor having a memory storing computer program code, wherein: ([0022] FIG. 2 is an example representation of the various components 200 of each management device 104, 106, 108 of the building automation system 100. Each management device 104, 106, 108 may be a server 104, a workstation 106, a remote device 108, or other type of device for management and control of one or more aspects of the building automation system 100. The device components 200 of each management device 104, 106, 108 comprise a communication component, such as one or more wireless communication components 202 and/or one or more wired communication components 204, as well as one or more processors 206 and one or more memory components 208. 023] The processor 206 may execute code and process data received other components of the device components 200, such as information received at the wireless communication component 202, received at the wired communication component 204, or stored at the memory component 208. The code associated with the building automation system 100 and stored by the memory component 208 may include, but is not limited to, operating systems and applications, such as programming types, software development kits (SDKs), extension modules, drivers, and the like. The data associated with the building automation system 100 and stored by the memory component 208)
the at least one of the circuit and the processor having the memory is configured to cause the communication receiver to provide at least one of: (examiner notes the claim limitation only requires one element to be mapped)
the first interface; ([0018] The building automation system enables development and integration of subsystems by isolating each subsystem within a well-contained component based on standard web technologies. In particular, an adapter functions as a standardized web interface for isolated conversion of legacy or proprietary protocols. Examples of standardized web interfaces for implementing web services and interoperability of computer systems over a network include, but are not limited to, HTTP and Simple Object Access Protocol (SOAP). The system also integrates subsystems implemented on global communications standards, such as BACnet, OPC, Modbus, IEC 61850, SNMP, and ONVIF, for broad range compatibility.)
the second interface; (examiner notes the claim limitation only requires one element to be mapped, this element is not being elected)
the service control unit; (examiner notes the claim limitation only requires one element to be mapped, this element is not being elected)
and the service interface unit. (examiner notes the claim limitation only requires one element to be mapped, this element is not being elected)
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan et al. (US 20200092126 A1) in view of Van Dijk et al. (US 20240070099 A1) in view of Butler et al. (US 20220197773 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk does not explicitly teach wherein: the service control unit is configured to spontaneously transmit a service subscription request to the electronic control device.
In an analogous art Butler teaches wherein: the service control unit is configured to spontaneously transmit a service subscription request to the electronic control device. (0438; the LS supports the location retrieval mechanism, e.g., the location is reported only once for each location information request. The LS supports a location subscribe mechanism, for example, the location is able to be reported multiple times for each location request, periodically or based on specific events, such as location change. 0389; It also provides the capability to tie deterministic orchestration and service management to the dynamic (or subscription based) activation of features without the need to interrupt running services, client operations or by resetting or rebooting the system [0436] The service consumers (e.g., MEC Apps 3136 and MEC platform 3137) may communicate with the RNIS over an RNI API 3153 to obtain contextual information from a corresponding RAN. RNI may be provided to the service consumers via an access node (e.g., (R)AN nodes 3031, 3032, or AP 3033 of FIG. 30). The RNI API 3153 may support both query and subscription (e.g., a pub/sub) based mechanisms that are used over a Representational State Transfer (RESTful) API 3153 or over a message broker of the MEC platform 3137 (not shown by FIG. 31). A MEC App 3136 may query information on a message broker via a transport information query procedure, wherein the transport information may be pre-provisioned to the MEC App 3136 via a suitable configuration mechanism. The various messages communicated via the RNI API 3153 may be in XML, JSON, Protobuf, or some other suitable format. 0437; RNI may be also used by the MEC platform 3137 to optimize the mobility procedures required to support service continuity, such as when a certain MEC App 3136 requests a single piece of information using a simple request-response model (e.g., using RESTful mechanisms) while other MEC Apps 3136 subscribe to multiple different notifications regarding information changes (e.g., using a pub/sub mechanism and/or message broker mechanisms). 0438;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [subscription requests for distributed computing] as is taught by [Butler].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [distributed computing [0003]].
Regarding claim 3, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk does not explicitly teach wherein: the service interface unit is configured to transmit the stream data to a memory designated by the second setting information via the second interface and the main control unit in a direct memory access manner.
In an analogous art Butler teaches wherein: the service interface unit is configured to transmit the stream data to a memory (streaming data to nodes) designated by the second setting information via the second interface (network interface controller) and the main control unit in a direct memory access manner (DMA transfer) ([0109] The flowchart then proceeds to block 504 to store the video segments in a receive buffer in system memory of the edge compute node. In some embodiments, for example, a direct memory access (DMA) transfer may be performed to transfer the video segments from a network interface controller (NIC) of the edge compute node directly into the receive buffer in system memory. Moreover, in various embodiments, the system memory may include any combination of volatile and/or non-volatile memory, such as main memory (e.g., random access memory), processor caches, persistent memory (e.g., 3D XPoint memory), and so forth. [0080] In the illustrated example, the process flow for performing object identification and tracking on edge video streaming architecture 400 involves the following steps: [0081] (1) A camera 402 captures video 404 of a scene containing objects A, B, C, and D, and the camera 402 uses a streaming protocol to stream the video 404 to an edge node 410 (ES.sub.1) in real time. [0082] (2) The video stream 404 is then streamed into edge node 410 (ES.sub.1) for processing. In particular, the video stream 404 is received by a network interface controller (NIC) 416 of edge node 410 (ES.sub.1), and then stored in memory 414a of edge node 410 (ES.sub.1) as video segments using direct memory access (DMA). In some embodiments, for example, the network hardware (HW) and software (SW) stack on edge node 410 (ES.sub.1) uses direct memory access (DMA) to store incoming packet video data 404 in a receive (Rx) packet buffer in system memory 414a. Moreover, based on the streaming protocol, the packet payloads are organized and assembled into video segments in the receive (Rx) packet buffer 414a for subsequent decoding/transcoding. [0103] Moreover, various approaches can be used to replicate the video segment from system memory 414 over the local network, such as remote direct memory access (RDMA) and/or RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE). For example, RDMA enables direct memory access (DMA) from the memory of one node into that of another node with no or minimal involvement from the CPUs 412, 422 and operating systems of the respective nodes 410, 420, while RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE) is a network protocol that implements RDMA over an Ethernet network. RDMA supports zero-copy access by enabling the network interface controllers 416,426 to transfer data directly to and from the appropriate memory locations 414, 424 on the respective nodes 410, 420, thus eliminating the need to copy the data between multiple memory locations within each individual node. As a result, RDMA can be used to achieve high-throughput and low-latency for replication of video segments between nodes 410, 420. Alternatively, a similar benefit can be achieved using a low-latency polling mode TCP/IP stack in user space, such as the Data Plane Development Kit (DPDK).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [transfer stream data into memory using DMA] as is taught by [Butler].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [distributed computing [0003]].
Regarding claim 6, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk do not explicitly teach
In an analogous art Butler teaches wherein: the first interface is a Serial Peripheral Interface. ([0510] Application circuitry 4105 includes circuitry such as, serial interfaces such as SPI, [0517] User interface circuitry 4150 may include one or more user interfaces designed to enable user interaction with the system 4100 or peripheral component interfaces designed to enable peripheral component interaction with the system 4100. User interfaces may include, but are not limited to, one or more physical or virtual buttons (e.g., a reset button), one or more indicators (e.g., LEDs), a physical keyboard or keypad, a mouse, a touchpad, a touchscreen, speakers or other audio emitting devices, microphones, a printer, a scanner, a headset, a display screen or display device, etc. Peripheral component interfaces may include, but are not limited to, a nonvolatile memory port, a USB port, an audio jack, a power supply interface, etc; 0525; [0525] The platform 4200 includes processor circuitry 4202. The processor circuitry 4202 includes circuitry such as, serial interfaces such as SPI)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [interfaces such as SPI] as is taught by [Butler].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [distributed computing [0003]].
Regarding claim 7, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk do not explicitly teach wherein: the second interface is at least one of Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Camera Serial Interface, Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Camera Serial Interface 2, Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Display Serial Interface, Peripheral Component Interconnect - Express, and Double Data Rate.
In an analogous art Butler teaches wherein: the second interface is at least one of (Examiner notes this limitation requires only one election of the elements recited)
Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Camera Serial Interface, (Examiner notes Butler teaches a plurality of MIPIs [0510] Application circuitry 4105 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI … Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces; See also Figs 1-2 the camera also include an interface for communication see also 0049; 0053-0054 ) Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Camera Serial Interface 2, (Examiner notes this limitation requires only one election of the elements recited, this element is not being elected)
Mobile Industry Processor Interface - Display Serial Interface, (Examiner notes Butler teaches a plurality of MIPIs [0510] Application circuitry 4105 includes circuitry such as, but not limited to one or more processors (or processor cores), cache memory, and one or more of low drop-out voltage regulators (LDOs), interrupt controllers, serial interfaces such as SPI … Mobile Industry Processor Interface (MIPI) interfaces; 0517 teaches a display interface) Peripheral Component Interconnect - Express, and Double Data Rate. (Examiner notes this limitation requires only one election of the elements recited, this element is not being elected)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [a plurality of MIPIs] as is taught by [Butler].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [distributed computing [0003]].
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanathan et al. (US 20200092126 A1) in view of Van Dijk et al. (US 20240070099 A1) in view of Butler et al. (US 20220197773 A1) in view of Ding (CN 119025251 A)
Regarding claim 4, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk do not explicitly teach wherein: the first protocol is Scalable service-Oriented Middleware over IP or Data Distribution Service.
In an analogous art Ding teaches wherein: the first protocol is Scalable service-Oriented Middleware over IP or Data Distribution Service. (As shown in fig. 3, layers 3-7 may include IEEE 1722, IEEE 802.1AS gPTP, transmission control protocol (transmission control protocol, TCP)/internet protocol (internet protocol, IP) protocol cluster, scalable service-oriented middleware (SOME/IP) over internet protocol (Internet Protocol, IP), data distribution service (Data Distribution Service, DDS). Among them, IEEE 802.1AS gPTP is mainly used to achieve clock synchronization. IEEE 1722 is mainly responsible for streaming media transmission. The TCP/IP protocol cluster is mainly used to provide support for upper layer protocols, for example, the TCP/IP protocol cluster may serve as a bridge between the requirements of higher layer applications and network layer protocols, so that higher layer software applications can be used in the internet. The TCP/IP protocol clusters may include)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [some/ip and DDS interfaces] as is taught by [Ding].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [vehicle communication and networking [Pages 2-3 Background]].
Regarding claim 5, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk teach the communication receiver according to claim 1, and is disclosed above, Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk do not explicitly teach wherein: the second protocol is Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 1722.
In an analogous art Ding teaches wherein: the second protocol is Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 1722. (As shown in fig. 3, layers 3-7 may include IEEE 1722, IEEE 802.1AS gPTP, transmission control protocol (transmission control protocol, TCP)/internet protocol (internet protocol, IP) protocol cluster, scalable service-oriented middleware (SOME/IP) over internet protocol (Internet Protocol, IP), data distribution service (Data Distribution Service, DDS). Among them, IEEE 802.1AS gPTP is mainly used to achieve clock synchronization. IEEE 1722 is mainly responsible for streaming media transmission. The TCP/IP protocol cluster is mainly used to provide support for upper layer protocols, for example, the TCP/IP protocol cluster may serve as a bridge between the requirements of higher layer applications and network layer protocols, so that higher layer software applications can be used in the internet. The TCP/IP protocol clusters may include)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing of the application to modify the teachings of [Ramanathan in view of Van Dijk] to include [IEEE 1722 communication standard] as is taught by [Ding].
The suggestion/motivation for doing so is to improve [vehicle communication and networking [Pages 2-3 Background]].
Conclusion
Abderrahmen Chouat
Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/Chris Parry/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2451