Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al (US 20230344490), hereinafter referred as Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a user equipment comprising at least one processor and at least one memory [UE with processor and memory, see abstract, 0331, 0343, fig. 10 and 18], the at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment [UE] to perform at least the following:
determining that both an event-based channel state information, CSI, report and a non-event-based CSI report are to be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, within a same section of a resource grid [non-event-based reporting and event-based reporting may be transmitted together on the same transmission resource;, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15], wherein the section of the resource grid is defined by a first plurality of consecutive time resource units and by a second plurality of consecutive frequency resource units [Kang clearly teaching simultaneous reporting, resource grid defined by time and frequency and transmission on PUSCH, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15];
allocating at least one resource element of the section of the resource grid to the event-based CSI report [Beam reporting may be configured with multiple part/sections, for example second part may include event-based beam reporting; this clearly establishes allocation/omission/ or multiplexing of RE for event based reporting, see paragraph 0244, 0255, 0304, 0312, 0319, 0343, 0344].
Regarding claim 2, The user equipment according to claim 1, the at least one memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment to perform at least one of the following (mapped based on alternate claim language):
allocating at least one resource element of the section of the resource grid to a first part of the non-event-based CSI report [Beam reporting may be configured with multiple part/sections, for example first part may include non-event-based beam reporting; this clearly establishes allocation/omission/ or multiplexing of RE for non-event based reporting, see paragraph 0244, 0255, 0304, 0312, 0319, 0343, 0344];
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches wherein allocating the at least one resource element is performed such that the at least one resource element allocated to the event-based CSI report at least partially precedes, with respect to an order of resource elements of the section of the resource grid, at least one resource element allocated to the second part of the non-event-based CSI report [event-based reporting information may be in included in the first parts [Kang teaches in paragraph 0304 of event-based reporting information may be included in a one part and non-event-based reporting information may be included in another part. Additional examples provided establishes the first part may be dedicated to non-event based reporting and a second part may include event-based reporting. This establishes flexibility in allocation/configuration. This further establishes that when first part is event based reporting that is clearly preceded by non-event based reporting, see paragraph 0244, 0255, 0301-0304, 0312, 0319, 0343, 0344].
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches in paragraph 0251-0256 and 0301-0307 wherein allocating the at least one resource element is performed such that the at least one resource element allocated to the event-based CSI report at least partially succeeds, with respect to an order of resource elements of the section of the resource grid, at least one resource element allocated to the second part of the non-event-based CSI report [see Kang paragraphs 0251-0256 and 0301-0307, N-bit information for part(s) of event-based reporting may include all or part of reporting information or RS ID(s) for event based reporting…reporting/transmitting is interpreted as success…Additional examples provided establishes the first part may be dedicated to event based reporting and a second part may include non-event-based reporting. This establishes flexibility in allocation/configuration].
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches, wherein allocating the at least one resource element is performed such that the at least one resource element allocated to the event-based CSI report at least partially alternates, with respect to an order of resource elements of the section of the resource grid, with the at least one resource element allocated to the second part of the non-event-based CSI report [see Kang paragraphs 0251-0256, 0265-0270 and 0301-0307,. RS group associated with event-based CSI can be followed by at least another RS allocated to the second part of non-event based CSI, clearly establishing one part followed by a second part is alternating]
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches, the at least one memory further storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor [UE with processor and memory, see abstract, 0331, 0343, fig. 10 and 18], cause the user equipment [UE] to perform the following:
transmitting the event-based CSI report together with the non-event-based CSI report on the PUSCH [non-event-based reporting and event-based reporting may be transmitted together on the same transmission resource;, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15].
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches a method performed by a user equipment [UE with processor and memory, see abstract, 0331, 0343, fig. 10 and 18], the method comprising at least the following:
determining that both an event-based channel state information, CSI, report and a non-event-based CSI report are to be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, within a same section of a resource grid [non-event-based reporting and event-based reporting may be transmitted together on the same transmission resource;, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15], wherein the section of the resource grid is defined by a first plurality of consecutive time resource units and by a second plurality of consecutive frequency resource units [Kang clearly teaching simultaneous reporting, resource grid defined by time and frequency and transmission on PUSCH, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15];
allocating at least one resource element of the section of the resource grid to the event-based CSI report [Beam reporting may be configured with multiple part/sections, for example second part may include event-based beam reporting; this clearly establishes allocation/omission/ or multiplexing of RE for event based reporting, see paragraph 0244, 0255, 0304, 0312, 0319, 0343, 0344].
Regarding claim 10, A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions which, when executed by a user equipment [UE with processor and memory having stored programs, see abstract, 0331, 0343, fig. 10 and 18], cause the user equipment [UE] to perform at least the following:
determining that both an event-based channel state information, CSI, report and a non-event-based CSI report are to be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH, within a same section of a resource grid [non-event-based reporting and event-based reporting may be transmitted together on the same transmission resource;, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15], wherein the section of the resource grid is defined by a first plurality of consecutive time resource units and by a second plurality of consecutive frequency resource units [Kang clearly teaching simultaneous reporting, resource grid defined by time and frequency and transmission on PUSCH, see Kang paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15];
allocating at least one resource element of the section of the resource grid to the event-based CSI report [Beam reporting may be configured with multiple part/sections, for example second part may include event-based beam reporting; this clearly establishes allocation/omission/ or multiplexing of RE for event based reporting, see paragraph 0244, 0255, 0304, 0312, 0319, 0343, 0344].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Khoshnevisan et al (US 2023/0239879), hereinafter referred as Khoshnevisan.
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches in paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15 wherein allocating the at least one resource element is performed such that the at least one resource element allocated to the event-based CSI report. Kang fails to explicitly teach that the event -based CSI report at least partially alternates, with respect to an order of resource elements of the section of the resource grid, with at least one resource element allocated to a hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, transmission. Khoshnevisan in the same field of endeavor teaches of enhancing aperiodic (event based CSI report) multiplexing on multiple PUSCH repetition. Khoshnevisan specifically teaches in fig. 9, fig. 7 and paragraphs 0004-007, 0078-0089, 0106, 0222 and 0236 teaches of PUSCH repetitions for CSI and further states that UCI (Uplink Control Information) may include HARQ-ACK along with aperiodic, i.e. event-based CSI report. This clearly establishes partially alternating between aperiodic event-based and HARQ-ACK. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date to include aperiodic CSI alternating with HARQ as taught by Khoshnevisan into the invention of Kang in order to ensure quality of service that improves likelihood of successful reception of channel state information.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches in paragraphs 0092-0102, 0251, 0255, 0299 0312, 0343, fig. 3-5, 10, and 15 wherein allocating the at least one resource element is performed such that the at least one resource element allocated to the second part of the non-event-based CSI report. Kang fails to explicitly teach that the at least partially alternates, with respect to an order of resource elements of the section of the resource grid, with at least one resource element allocated to a HARQ transmission. Khoshnevisan in the same field of endeavor teaches of enhancing periodic (non-event based CSI report) multiplexing on multiple PUSCH repetition. Khoshnevisan specifically teaches in fig. 9, fig. 7 and paragraphs 0004-007, 0078-0089, 0106, 0222 and 0236 teaches of PUSCH repetitions for CSI and further states that UCI (Uplink Control Information) may include HARQ-ACK along with periodic, i.e. non-event-based CSI report. This clearly establishes partially alternating between periodic/non-event-based and HARQ-ACK. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skills in the art prior to the effective filing date to include periodic CSI alternating with HARQ as taught by Khoshnevisan into the invention of Kang in order to ensure quality of service that improves likelihood of successful reception of channel state information.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477