DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This NON-FINAL communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-11 have been withdrawn from the application based on the election of species without traverse by applicant on 1/16/26 (see below).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/24, 1/17/25 & 10/15/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species I (Embodiment A – Claims 1-11 - relates to a computing device for monitoring and predicting a lifetime of one or more appliances, specific to predicting whether an appliance remaining lifetime exceeds a first threshold and if so to determine replacements for the first appliance; See Fig. 9) – G06Q30/0631
[0013] The figures described below depict various aspects of the systems and methods disclosed therein. It should be understood that each figure depicts an embodiment of a particular aspect of the disclosed systems and methods, and that each of the figures is intended to accord with a possible embodiment thereof.
[0024] Figure 9 illustrates a flow chart of an exemplary computer-implemented method for monitoring and predicting a lifetime of one or more appliances using the systems shown in Figures 1 and 2.
Species II (Embodiment B – Claims 12-25 – relates to a computing device for monitoring and extending a lifetime of one or more appliances, specific to generating, using an AI model, a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; see Fig. 10) – G06Q 10/20
[0025] Figure 10 illustrates a flow chart of an exemplary computer-implemented method for monitoring and extending a lifetime of one or more appliances using the systems shown in Figures 1 and 2.
The species are independent or distinct because the species as claimed have materially different functions and are not connected in at least a mode of operation. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record (see at least above specification support).
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed species, or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, no claims are generic.
There is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply:
the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification,
the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter,
the species or groupings of patentably indistinct species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Daniel Fitzgerald on 1/16/26 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Species II, claims 12-25. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Double Patenting
Pending Application(s)
Claims 12-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 6 of copending Application No. 18665103 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are taught by the intervening claims associated with application (‘103). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 12 (instant application):
’103 teaches the following limitations:
A computing device for monitoring and extending a lifetime of one or more appliances, the computing device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, the at least one processor configured to:
(‘103 – [claim 1] “A computing device for predicting a lifetime of one or more appliances, the computing device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, the at least one processor configured to:”)
receive appliance data relating to a first appliance;
(‘103 – [claim 1] “receive appliance data relating to a first appliance;”)
compute, using an artificial intelligence model, a predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance based upon the received appliance data of the first appliance,
(‘103 – [claim 1] “compute, using the artificial intelligence model, a predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance based upon the received appliance data”)
wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained based upon historical appliance data including data associated with historical lifetimes of similar appliances;
(‘103 – [claim 1] “receive historical appliance data including historical lifetimes of a plurality of appliances, at least some of the historical appliance data generated by sensors configured to monitor one or more parameters of at least one of the plurality of appliances train an artificial intelligence model using the historical appliance data including the historical lifetimes of the plurality of appliances”)
generate, using the artificial intelligence model, a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; and
(‘103 – [claim 6] “The computing device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate, using the artificial intelligence model, a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; and transmit recommendation data to the user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate the user interface to include the recommendation.”)
transmit content data to a user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate a user interface including at least the predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance and
(‘103 – [claim 1] “transmit content data to a user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate a user interface including at least the predicted remaining lifetime.”)
the recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance.
(‘103 – [claim 6] “The computing device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate, using the artificial intelligence model, a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; and transmit recommendation data to the user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate the user interface to include the recommendation.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims are either directed to a system or method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The Examiner has identified method Claim 12 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis. Claim 12 recites the limitations of (additional elements emphasized in bold and are considered to be parsed from the remaining abstract idea):
A computing device for monitoring and extending a lifetime of one or more appliances, the computing device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, the at least one processor configured to: receive appliance data relating to a first appliance; compute, using an artificial intelligence model, a predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance based upon the received appliance data of the first appliance, wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained based upon historical appliance data including data associated with historical lifetimes of similar appliances; generate, using the artificial intelligence model, a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; and transmit content data to a user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate a user interface including at least the predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance and the recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance.
which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) as a Certain method of organizing human activity (fundamental economic practice--mitigating risk of appliance failure) of monitoring and extending a lifetime of an appliance based on data.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers performance of the limitation as a certain method of a fundamental economic practice, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims are abstract)
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05.f), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05.g), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05.h). The computing and user device, processor, memory device, AI model and appliance in Claim 1 are just using generic computer components. The computer hardware is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore claim 12 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. Mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on or with the use of generic computer components, cannot provide an inventive concept - rendering the claim patent ineligible. Thus claim 12 is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
The dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements (including Claim 15 – augmented reality device – which is just another generic computer component used to implement the abstract idea; Claim 21 – QR/bar code – which are data representations, and databases – which further implements the abstract idea on a generic computer component; Claim 24 – data signal – which is a generic component used to further implement the abstract idea) that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-17, 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horstemeyer (US 20160247128) in view of Jayathirtha (US 20220398665).
Claim 12.
Horstemeyer teaches the following limitations:
A computing device for monitoring and extending a lifetime of one or more appliances, the computing device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, the at least one processor configured to:
(Horstemeyer – [0028] Fig. 1 is a block diagram showing an example of an appliance monitoring system 10 in a host computer system 12 for monitoring one or more appliances 11 situated at or near a site 14, such as a household, business office, etc. The appliance monitoring system 10 can be implemented in hardware, software, or a combination thereof. In the preferred embodiments, the appliance monitoring system 10 is implemented as software that is executed by a host computer system 12 situated at or near the site 14. [0036] the host computer system 12 includes a processor 30, a memory 32,)
receive appliance data relating to a first appliance;
(Horstemeyer – [0048] the appliance monitoring system 10 includes at least the following program code (or logic): program code 101 for monitoring health data concerning an appliance 11, program code 102 for determining that the appliance 11 exhibits a maintenance issue based upon the health data and program code 103 for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue. [0063] In some embodiments, the appliance monitoring system 10 can have program code to engage in a communication session over the Internet 20 with a remote computer system 18, to receive appliance information from the computer system 18, and to determine that the appliance exhibits the maintenance issue based at least in part on the information. [0066] The appliance monitoring system 10 may be further designed with program code to engage in a communication session over the Internet 20 with a remote computer system 18 associated with a manufacturer or vendor (manufacturer data 211 or vendor data 212 in FIG. 4) in order to make a claim against an insurance policy or warranty based upon the maintenance issue. The computer system 18 can also use POS information, for example but not limited to, scanned bar code information from the appliance 11, a purchaser name, credit or debit card information, store member card information, etc., in combination with information received from an appliance 11 in order to make the claim in connection with the warranty or insurance policy.)
compute, using an [artificial intelligence model], a predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance based upon the received appliance data of the first appliance,
(Horstemeyer – [0077] As shown in FIG. 5, the insurance business method 300 comprises the steps of: at step 301, determining a predicted longevity of an appliance 11, which could optionally be based at least in part upon monitored health data)
historical appliance data including data associated with historical lifetimes of similar appliances;
(Horstemeyer - [0050] Another example of an algorithm 201, which is more complex, performs the foregoing steps but performs the additional step of averaging lifespan expectancy data pertaining to several appliance brands in order to produce a resultant reference health data for the aforementioned comparisons)
generate, using the [artificial intelligence model], a recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance; and
(Horstemeyer – [0009] means for monitoring health data concerning an appliance or an appliance part; means for determining that the appliance or appliance part exhibits a maintenance issue based upon the health data; means for accessing a remote computer system over the Internet; means for receiving the one or more suggestions on where to order, purchase, or seek repair for the appliance or appliance part from the remote computer system; means for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue, the notification including the one or more suggestions and price information pertaining to each of the suggestions; [0048] the appliance monitoring system 10 includes at least the following program code (or logic): program code 101 for monitoring health data concerning an appliance 11, program code 102 for determining that the appliance 11 exhibits a maintenance issue based upon the health data, and program code 103 for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue. As nonlimiting examples, the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold… the notification can be anything that advises a person, device, or computer system of the maintenance issue, including but not limited to, a display of text on a local display screen, a message in an email sent to a local or remote computer, a text message, a local flashing light, a communication to a remote computer system 18 or PCD 19, a sound, etc.)
transmit content data to a user device that, when received by the user device, causes the user device to generate a user interface including at least the predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance and the recommendation for increasing a lifetime of the first appliance.
(Horstemeyer – [0048] the appliance monitoring system 10 includes at least the following program code (or logic): program code 101 for monitoring health data concerning an appliance 11, program code 102 for determining that the appliance 11 exhibits a maintenance issue based upon the health data, and program code 103 for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue. As nonlimiting examples, the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold… the notification can be anything that advises a person, device, or computer system of the maintenance issue, including but not limited to, a display of text on a local display screen, a message in an email sent to a local or remote computer, a text message, a local flashing light, a communication to a remote computer system 18 or PCD 19, a sound, etc. [0052] The appliance monitoring system 10 may be further designed with program code for initiating a notification communication session with a PCD 19 (FIG. 1) and for communicating a report during the notification communication session indicative of the maintenance issue. The PCD 19 can be associated with any of the following (all of which are denoted by reference numeral 17 in FIG. 1 for simplicity): an appliance manufacturer, an appliance vendor, a repair service entity, an appliance replacement service, an appliance information provider, etc. [0111] the host computer system 12 can be implemented as part of a computer based smartphone…the smartphone can be equipped with software, such as a downloadable application, that can monitor use, longevity, or other data associated with appliances 11… Any of the systems and methods described in this disclosure in connection with the host computer system 12 can be implemented in the smartphone.)
Examiner Note: monitoring system 10 transmits data to smartphone/PCD 19 (user device), causing user device to generate an interface providing detail on a repair suggestion on a maintenance issue (recommendation) for increasing the lifetime of the appliance if addressed.
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
wherein the artificial intelligence model is trained based upon
(Jayathirtha – [0042] For example, in various embodiments, the dashboard visualization provides real-time data and/or historical trends related to assets. In various embodiments, features, attributes and/or relationships associated with the real-time data and/or historical trends are determined based on one or more artificial intelligence systems to, for example, troubleshoot equipment faults, control equipment, and/or change set-points to resolve issues within the dashboard visualization. [0095] at least one machine learning model from the one or more machine learning models is configured as a deep neural network trained for context awareness. In one or more embodiments, at least one machine learning model from the one or more machine learning models employs fuzzy logic, a Bayesian network, a Markov logic network and/or another type of machine learning technique to determine at least a portion of the asset data 322. In certain embodiments, the one or more machine learning models determine at least a portion of the asset data 322 based on respective annotations and/or labels associated with respective assets in the portfolio of assets. [0074][0083])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify Horstemeyer with Jayathirtha in order to utilize artificial intelligence or machine learning models to train models for fault prediction [Jayathirtha – 0042, 0074, 0095].
Claim 13.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
predicted remaining lifetime
(Horstemeyer – [0077] As shown in FIG. 5, the insurance business method 300 comprises the steps of: at step 301, determining a predicted longevity of an appliance 11, which could optionally be based at least in part upon monitored health data; [0111] the host computer system 12 can be implemented as part of a computer based smartphone…the smartphone can be equipped with software, such as a downloadable application, that can monitor use, longevity, or other data associated with appliances 11… Any of the systems and methods described in this disclosure in connection with the host computer system 12 can be implemented in the smartphone.)
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
wherein the user interface indicates a change in the [predicted remaining lifetime] associated with performing the recommendation.
(Jayathirtha – [0112] In one or more embodiments, one or more notifications (e.g., one or more web-app notifications, one or more mobile notifications, etc.) are provided via the dashboard visualization and/or the visual display 404 of the user computing device 402. In one or more embodiments, one or more alerts across several assets is provided via the dashboard visualization and/or the visual display 404 of the user computing device 402. In one or more embodiments, live asset properties (e.g., value, status, trends, service cases, etc.) are displayed via the dashboard visualization. In one or more embodiments, a predicted root cause of an issue associated with the portfolio of assets is provided via the dashboard visualization…the dashboard visualization associated with the asset data 322 provides for viewing services cases, updating service cases, performing actions with respect to service cases, and/or closing services cases. [0127] In one or more embodiments, the rendering the dashboard visualization comprises rendering real-time asset data associated with the portfolio of assets [0043])
Claim 14.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes a list of recommended maintenance actions.
(Horstemeyer – [0048] the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold, power inadequacy, appliance inoperability for intended purpose, inoperability of one or more functions (electrical and/or mechanical), network connectivity failure, the appliance 11 or a part thereof poses a hazard, etc.)
Claim 15.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 14 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the recommendation is transmitted to
(Horstemeyer – [0048] the appliance monitoring system 10 includes at least the following program code (or logic): program code 101 for monitoring health data concerning an appliance 11, program code 102 for determining that the appliance 11 exhibits a maintenance issue based upon the health data, and program code 103 for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue. As nonlimiting examples, the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold… the notification can be anything that advises a person, device, or computer system of the maintenance issue, including but not limited to, a display of text on a local display screen, a message in an email sent to a local or remote computer, a text message, a local flashing light, a communication to a remote computer system 18 or PCD 19, a sound, etc.)
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
an augmented reality device to be displayed to a user via augmented reality.
(Jayathirtha – [0098] [0099] user computing device 402 is … an augmented reality device...In one or more embodiments, the user computing device 402 employs … augmented reality… and/or one or more other technologies to provide … video, audio, text, graphs, charts, real-time data, graphical data, one or more communications, one or more messages, one or more notifications, and/or other media data associated with the dashboard visualization.)
Claim 16.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the list of maintenance actions are displayed as the user is performing those actions.
(Horstemeyer – [0009] means for receiving the one or more suggestions on where to order, purchase, or seek repair for the appliance or appliance part from the remote computer system; means for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue, the notification including the one or more suggestions and price information pertaining to each of the suggestions; and means for enabling a user to select and purchase the one or more suggestions, based at least in part upon the price.)
Claim 17.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
appliance
(Horstemeyer – [0048] the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold, power inadequacy, appliance inoperability for intended purpose, inoperability of one or more functions (electrical and/or mechanical), network connectivity failure, the appliance 11 or a part thereof poses a hazard, etc.)
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
wherein the augmented reality device is configured to display instructions for performing a first action of the list of maintenance actions while displaying a live feed of the first [appliance].
(Jayathirtha – [0005] a system comprises one or more processors, a memory, and one or more programs stored in the memory. The one or more programs comprise instructions configured to transmit, to a server system, a request to obtain asset data for a dashboard visualization associated with a portfolio of assets. [0096] the asset data 322 comprises prioritized actions for the portfolio of assets. In one or more embodiments, the prioritized actions indicate which assets from the portfolio of assets should be serviced first. For example, in an embodiment, the prioritized actions indicate a first asset from the portfolio of assets that should be serviced first; [0098] In one or more embodiments, the dashboard visualization associated with the asset data 322 includes the list of the prioritized actions. In one or more embodiments, the dashboard visualization associated with the asset data 322 includes the grouping of the prioritized actions for the portfolio of assets. In one or more embodiments, the dashboard visualization associated with the asset data 322 includes contextual data associated with the portfolio of assets. In one or more embodiments, the dashboard visualization associated with the asset data 322 includes metrics associated with the portfolio of assets. Additionally, in one or more embodiments, the dashboard visualization is configured to facilitate execution and/or initiation of one or more actions via the dashboard visualization based on the asset data 322. In an embodiment, an action is executed and/or initiated via an interactive display element of the dashboard visualization. In certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes generating one or more notifications associated with the prioritized actions for the portfolio of assets. In certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal process condition for an asset associated with the asset data 322. For example, in certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes adjusting a set-point and/or a schedule for an asset associated with the asset data 322. In certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes executing and/or initiating one or more corrective action to take for an asset associated with the asset data 314. In certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes providing an optimal maintenance option for an asset associated with the asset data 314. In certain embodiments, an action from the one or more actions includes an action associated with the application services layer 225, the applications layer 230, and/or the core services layer 235. [0099] user computing device 402 is … an augmented reality device...In one or more embodiments, the user computing device 402 employs … augmented reality… and/or one or more other technologies to provide … video, audio, text, graphs, charts, real-time data, graphical data, one or more communications, one or more messages, one or more notifications, and/or other media data associated with the dashboard visualization.)
Examiner Note: Instant spec [0198] “The instructions may also include augmented reality instructions that show the user how to repair the appliance 312 by overlaying the steps that the user needs to take with the live video images of the appliance 312.”
Claim 19.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the recommendation includes at least one of
(Horstemeyer – [0009] means for receiving the one or more suggestions on where to order, purchase, or seek repair for the appliance or appliance part from the remote computer system; means for producing a notification regarding the maintenance issue, the notification including the one or more suggestions and price information pertaining to each of the suggestions; and means for enabling a user to select and purchase the one or more suggestions, based at least in part upon the price. [0048] the maintenance issue can be any one or more of the following: a need for replacement of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for repair of the appliance 11 or a component thereof, a need for battery recharging, lifespan expired, lifespan below a predefined threshold, power inadequacy, appliance inoperability for intended purpose, inoperability of one or more functions (electrical and/or mechanical), network connectivity failure, the appliance 11 or a part thereof poses a hazard, etc.)
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
a timeline or a calendar for performing the recommended maintenance actions.
(Jayathirtha – [0043] dashboard visualization facilitates operations and/or scheduling associated with the portfolio of assets. For example, in various embodiments, the dashboard visualization facilitate temporary or long-term changes to operational modes of assets can be made through scheduling changes and/or manual switching to allow for events, seasonal changes, maintenance periods and/or other changes to asset use or operations.)
Claim 20.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the user interface includes at least one of a link to contact at least one service provider associated with at least one of the recommended maintenance actions.
(Horstemeyer – [0009] the notification including the one or more suggestions and price information pertaining to each of the suggestions; and means for enabling a user to select and purchase the one or more suggestions [0035] During these communication sessions, the host computer system 12 may…advise a service provider of a maintenance issue, etc.; [0052] [0053] The appliance monitoring system 10 can be designed with program code to engage in a communication session over the Internet with a remote computer system 18 (FIG. 1) associated with an appliance manufacturer, an appliance vendor, a repair service entity, a replacement service entity, or an appliance information provider, and during the communication session, to request service, replacement, information, etc., in connection with the appliance 11.)
Examiner Note: Instant Spec [0030] “In some embodiments, the AI model may search websites, stores, and/or services relating to the appliance and, in some such embodiments, provide a link (e.g., a hyperlink) to the recommended websites, stores, and/or services to the user via a computing device (e.g., via a mobile application, web page, and/or email). For example, the links may relate to maintenance services, maintenance supplies, or, if the appliance is nearing the end of its lifetime, purchasing a replacement.”
Claim 21.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive image data including a quick response (QR) code or a bar code disposed on the first appliance; and
(Horstemeyer – [0064] The computer system 18 can also use … scanned bar code information from the appliance 11)
parse one or more databases to retrieve appliance data relating to the first appliance based upon the QR code or bar code.
(Horstemeyer – [0071] Once the appliances are identified, the appliance monitoring system 10 stores an identity for each of the appliances 11 in the database 200 (appliance ID data 207 in Fig. 4) [0075] An example of a database 200 that can be maintained and updated by the appliance monitoring system 10 in the memory 32 (FIG. 2) is illustrated in FIG. 4…appliance ID data 207)
Examiner Note: The scanned bar code information from the appliance can obviously be used to lookup/retrieve appliance ID data in database 207.
Claim 22.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
the historical appliance data of historical appliances similar in type to the first appliance including
(Horstemeyer - [0050] Another example of an algorithm 201, which is more complex, performs the foregoing steps but performs the additional step of averaging lifespan expectancy data pertaining to several appliance brands in order to produce a resultant reference health data for the aforementioned comparisons; [0054] The appliance monitoring system 10 can be designed with program code to store, maintain, update, and monitor the health data 202 (FIG. 4) for a plurality of different appliances 11. In this case, the system 10 can store different types of maintenance information pertaining to the different types of appliances 11.)
Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Jayathirtha teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to train the artificial intelligence model using
(Jayathirtha – [0042] For example, in various embodiments, the dashboard visualization provides real-time data and/or historical trends related to assets. In various embodiments, features, attributes and/or relationships associated with the real-time data and/or historical trends are determined based on one or more artificial intelligence systems to, for example, troubleshoot equipment faults, control equipment, and/or change set-points to resolve issues within the dashboard visualization. [0095] at least one machine learning model from the one or more machine learning models is configured as a deep neural network trained for context awareness. In one or more embodiments, at least one machine learning model from the one or more machine learning models employs fuzzy logic, a Bayesian network, a Markov logic network and/or another type of machine learning technique to determine at least a portion of the asset data 322. In certain embodiments, the one or more machine learning models determine at least a portion of the asset data 322 based on respective annotations and/or labels associated with respective assets in the portfolio of assets. [0074][0083])
a lifetime value for each historical appliance and maintenance data associated with each [historical] appliance.
(Jayathirtha – [0044] the alerts include alerts from analytics and/or rule-based cloud-located systems with respect to current states and/or historical states of assets. [0092] at least a portion of the asset data 322 includes historical data, historical connected building data, historical sensor data, historical property value data, historical event data, historical process data, historical operational data, historical fault data, historical asset data, and/or other historical data associated with the edge devices 161a-161n. [0112] In one or more embodiments, live asset properties (e.g., value, status, trends, service cases, etc.) are displayed via the dashboard visualization.)
Claim 23.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 22 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the processor is further configured to record a plurality of appliances associated with a user, the plurality of appliances including the first appliance, and
(Horstemeyer – [0064] after appliances 11 have been identified, the appliance monitoring system 10 can have program code to engage in an initial communication session over the Internet 20 with a remote computer system 18, and to provide registration information (e.g., serial number, information input by a user via a suitable interface on an appliance 11, etc.) to the computer system 18 during the initial communication session. The registration information could be for the purpose of applying for or perfecting a warranty or insurance policy on the appliance, registering for future assistance with analyzing health data, etc. )
wherein the user interface incudes a respective predicted remaining lifetime corresponding to each of the plurality of appliances associated with the user.
(Horstemeyer – [0077] As shown in FIG. 5, the insurance business method 300 comprises the steps of: at step 301, determining a predicted longevity of an appliance 11, which could optionally be based at least in part upon monitored health data; [0111] the host computer system 12 can be implemented as part of a computer based smartphone…the smartphone can be equipped with software, such as a downloadable application, that can monitor use, longevity, or other data associated with appliances 11… Any of the systems and methods described in this disclosure in connection with the host computer system 12 can be implemented in the smartphone.)
Claim 24.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to receive at least some of the appliance data of the first appliance as (i) a natural language input by a user via the user device, or (ii) a data signal from the first appliance.
(Horstemeyer – [0063] In some embodiments, the appliance monitoring system 10 can have program code to engage in a communication session over the Internet 20 with a remote computer system 18, to receive appliance information from the computer system 18
Examiner Note: Instant Spec 0096 “AMS computing device 150), which may receive data or signals indicative of monitored electricity or other data via one or more processors or through transfer via a physical medium (e.g., a USB drive).”
Claim 25.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 12 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer further teaches:
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: retrieve additional appliance data relating to the first appliance from one or more external data sources; and
(Horstemeyer - [0082] The appliance monitoring system 10 can be designed to determine that a maintenance issue exists with respect to an appliance 11 based upon an event that is detected in the local environment of the site 14 with an event detection engine 215, an example of which is illustrated in FIG. 6. In these possible embodiments, as shown in FIG. 7, the appliance monitoring system 10 (FIGS. 1 and 2) implements logic 400 in connection with the event detection engine 215. More specifically, the appliance monitoring system 10 has logic 401 designed to sense a signal in a local environment associated with the site 4 using one or more transducers 34 (FIG. 2); logic 402 designed to convert the sensed signal to detected health data 201A (FIG. 4); logic 403 designed to detect that an event has occurred with the event detection engine 215 (FIG. 6) by comparing the sensed data 202A with reference health data 202B that corresponds to the event; and logic 404 designed to determine whether or not a maintenance issue exists in connection with an appliance 11 based upon the detected event. [0050-0051])
compute the predicted remaining lifetime of the first appliance based upon the retrieved additional appliance data.
(Horstemeyer – [0079] determining a plurality of predicted longevities based upon the monitored health data; [0111] Moreover, the smartphone can be equipped with software, such as a downloadable application, that can monitor use, longevity, or other data associated with appliances 11. This information can be used to alert a user when the user needs to buy a new appliance or appliance part. Any of the systems and methods described in this disclosure in connection with the host computer system 12 can be implemented in the smartphone. [0049] [0054] The appliance monitoring system 10 can be designed with program code to store, maintain, update, and monitor the health data 202)
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horstemeyer (US 20160247128) in view of Jayathirtha (US 20220398665), and further in view of Gundel (US 20210373063).
Claim 18.
Horstemeyer in combination with the references taught in Claim 15 teach those respective limitations. Horstemeyer does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Gundel teaches:
wherein the recommended maintenance actions are ordered within the list based upon a change in the predicted remaining lifetime associated with each of the recommended maintenance actions.
(Gundel - [0070] Event selector 68B may direct the incoming stream of events to stream analytics service 68F, which is configured to perform in depth processing of the incoming stream of events to perform real-time analytics. Stream analytics service 68F may, for example, be configured to process and compare multiple streams of event data 74B with historical data and models 74C in real-time as event data 74B is received. In this way, stream analytics service 68F may be configured to detect anomalies, transform incoming event data values, or trigger alerts upon predicting a possible failure event (e.g., failure of an article of electrical equipment 20). Historical data and models 74C may include, for example, one or more trained models configured to predict whether a failure vent will occur, an expected remaining lifespan for one or more articles of electrical equipment 20, and/or prioritize maintenance (e.g., repair or replacement) of articles of electrical equipment. [0084] According to aspects of this disclosure, EEMS 6 may schedule maintenance (e.g., repair or replacement) operations of electrical equipment 20 based on event data. For example, analytics service 68F may predict a remaining lifespan for cable accessory 34A, determine the predicted remaining lifespan for cable accessory 34A is less than a threshold lifespan, and schedule a replacement operation for cable accessory 34A based on such data. As another example, analytics service 68F may rank maintenance operations for a plurality of articles of electrical equipment, for example, based on the predicted remaining lifespan, confidence of the prediction, importance of the various articles of electrical equipment (e.g., quantity of customers served by each article), among others. In some examples, analytics service 68F may automatically order replacement electrical equipment 20 based on one or more models 74C. [0003, 0072])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to modify Horstemeyer with Gundel in order to prioritize maintenance operations of electrical equipment based on the predicted lifespan of equipment and its changes from real-time event data associated with the equipment [Gundel – 0070, 0084].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Heinis (US 20170109713) provides a method for preventive maintenance of a non-computing appliance, such as a kitchen appliance.
Krishnaswamy (US 20220198357) provides systems and methods for monitoring asset remaining useful time.
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875