DETAILED ACTION
This is a NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION in response to the Amendment/ Remarks filed 07/31/2026. Claims 2, 5, 6, and 8-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 21-28 are pending in the Application, of which Claims 1, 21, and 25 are independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Continuity/priority Information
The present Application 18907092 filed 10/04/2024 is a Continuation of 17095530, filed 11/11/2020, now U.S. Patent No. 12,147,302 and Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62935773, filed 11/15/2019.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment/ Remarks filed 07/31/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 21-28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moyer et al. (Pub. No. US 20100064206), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, as set forth in the present office action.
Applicant argues that Moyer relates to generic error-detection and notification disclosures and fails to teach or reasonably suggest report a fatal error condition when the data associated with the parity information is determined to be not clean as recited by independent claim 1. Applicant further states that one cannot equate or reconnect Moyer's generic EDC "not corrected" discussion with a fatal error condition based on the clean/unclean methodology of claim 1.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, Moyer discloses [0012] Note that EDC/ECC algorithms use check bits to detect errors where EDC/ECC is able to detect multiple bit errors in the data being checked, and for ECC, to correct a subset of detected errors. In some embodiments, both EDC and ECC are used in order to both detect and then correct the data being checked. However, in other embodiments, only EDC is used in which multiple bit errors can be detected but are not corrected. In this case, as will be described in more detail below, an error notification can be provided since the data is not corrected.
Clearly, in this case, Moyer’s EDC is used to detect multiple bit errors, but are not correctable, thus corresponding to a “fatal error condition” as recited in the claims.
According to Wikipedia, Fatal error may refer to an unrecoverable error that forces a process to terminate abnormally and return control to the operating system. In this instance, “unrecoverable error” is interpreted to be “uncorrectable error” or “not correctable” which is well known in the art of error detection/correction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moyer et al. (Pub. No. US 20100064206).
Regarding independent Claims 1, 21, and 25, Moyer discloses error detection schemes for a cache data in data processing systems, comprising:
processing circuitry coupled to a memory to perform a tag read for data at the memory to check error detection correction information comprising parity information. [0021] FIG. 2 Cache control circuitry 38 “processing circuitry” is coupled to cache circuitry 21 “memory” by way of conductors or signals 36 and 39. Error control circuitry 40 “check error detection correction” is coupled to cache circuitry 21 and output select logic 37. Error control circuitry 66 may also provide one or more error indicators to bus 24. Output select logic is coupled to receive information from cache circuitry 21 and error control circuitry 40, and provides information to bus 24. Cache control circuitry 38 is also coupled to receive information from bus 24.
[0025] Depending on the embodiment, the protection bits may either be check bits for use with an EDC/ECC scheme (multiple bit error detection/correction scheme) or parity bits “parity information” for use with a parity scheme (single bit error detection scheme). Error control circuitry 40 performs the appropriate error detection/correction (EDC/ECC or parity) on the received cache data using the received protection information.
report a fatal error condition when the data associated with the parity information is determined as not clean. [0012] However, in other embodiments, only EDC is used in which multiple bit errors can be detected but are not corrected. In this case, as will be described in more detail below, an error notification can be provided since the data is not corrected. [0037] Therefore, each way of data cache 26 would have a corresponding L/D parity error for providing an error indication of whether a single-bit parity error exists in a first portion of the tag entry of the cache line of the corresponding way and a corresponding tag portion error for providing an error indicator of whether a multiple-bit error exists in a second portion of the tag entry of the cache line of the corresponding way.
Regarding Claims 3, 22, 26, Moyer discloses whether the parity information indicates an error condition or not. [0025] Error control circuitry 40 performs the appropriate error detection/correction (EDC/ECC or parity) on the received cache data using the received protection information. The cache data can then be provided to bus 24 via output select logic which, using HIT_WAY[0:7] 34, selects the output of the corresponding way which resulted in the cache hit (from, e.g., conductors 39). Also, note that an error indicator can also be provided to bus 24 via output select logic 37 to indicate whether or not an error has occurred “error condition or not”.
Regarding Claims 4, 23, 27, Moyer discloses wherein if the data associated with the parity information is not clean, a fatal error condition is reported. [0012] Note that EDC/ECC algorithms use check bits to detect errors where EDC/ECC is able to detect multiple bit errors in the data being checked, and for ECC, to correct a subset of detected errors. In some embodiments, both EDC and ECC are used in order to both detect and then correct the data being checked. However, in other embodiments, only EDC is used in which multiple bit errors can be detected but are not corrected “uncorrectable” corresponding to “a fatal error condition”.
Regarding Claims 7, 24, 28, Moyer discloses wherein the cache is located on a chip or on a die with the processing circuitry having graphics processing circuitry. [0017] FIG. 1 illustrates a data processing system 10 that includes a data cache 26, an instruction cache 27, a memory 28, and processing logic 30. Processing logic 30 implements data processing operations. In one embodiment, processing logic 30 may be a central processing unit (CPU) of processor 12. Each of data cache 26, instruction cache 27, memory 28, and processing logic 30 are coupled to the internal bus via respective bidirectional conductors. Data cache 26 stores data type information, as described above, and instruction cache 27 stores instruction type information, as described above. Note that memory 28 and memory 16 can be any type of memory, and peripherals 18 and 20 can each be any type of peripheral or device.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, and 21-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.12,147,302. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Claims of the instant Application are broader in scope than the Claims recited in the U.S. Patent No. 12,147,302, and thus anticipate the Claims of the instant Application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later patent/application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
“A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896,225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of bviousness- type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus).“ ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001.
18907092 Double Patenting Table, Claims comparison
Instant Application Claims
(U.S. Patent No. 12,147,302) Claims
Independent Claims 1, 21, 25,
processing circuitry coupled to a memory to perform a tag read for data at the memory to check error detection correction information comprising parity information.
Independent Claims 1, 9, 13, A graphics multiprocessor, comprising: memory of the graphics multiprocessor for storing data, wherein the memory is cache or local memory; and error detection correction circuitry having error registers and integrated with the memory of the graphics multiprocessor,
the error detection correction circuitry is configured to perform a tag read of the memory to determine whether error detection correction information of error detection and correction logic indicates an error condition or not, and
to report the error condition to the error registers to log a source of a correctable error when a correctable error occurs or to report the error condition to the error registers to report an uncorrectable error when an uncorrectable error occurs, wherein the error detection correction circuitry is located on chip or on die with the graphics multiprocessor.
Claim 2. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 1, wherein the error detection correction information comprises parity information or a single-error-detecting code.
Claims 3, 22, 26, wherein the processing circuitry is further to determine whether the parity information indicates an error condition or not.
Claims 3, 9. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 2, wherein the error detection correction circuitry is further configured to determine whether the parity information or the single-error-detecting code indicates an error condition or not.
Claims 4, 23, 27, wherein the processing circuitry is further to determine whether the data associated with the parity information is clean based on being modified in cache or a local memory and also modified in main memory when the parity information indicates an error condition,
wherein if the data associated with the parity information is not clean, a fatal error condition is reported.
Claims 4, 10. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 3, wherein the error detection correction circuitry is further configured to determine whether data of the cache or shared memory that is associated with the parity information is clean based on being modified in the cache or shared memory and also modified in main memory when the parity information indicates an error condition.
Claim 5, 11. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 4, wherein if the data that is associated with the parity information is not clean, then a fatal error condition is reported.
Claims 7, 24, 28, wherein the cache or the local memory comprises an embedded dynamic
Claim 7. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 1, wherein the cache or local memory comprises an embedded dynamic random access memory (DRAM).
Claim 8. The graphics multiprocessor of claim 1, wherein the memory comprises a first level cache or a second level cache having the error detection correction circuitry that is located on chip or on die with the graphics multiprocessor.
Conclusion
/JAMES C KERVEROS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
Date: August 19, 2026
Non-Final Rejection 20260819
JAMES C. KERVEROS
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111
James.Kerveros@USPTO.GOV