DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/4/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of US Pat. 11,800,167. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and media. For example, contrast instant claims 1 and 2 with claim 1 of ‘167:
Instant Claim 1
‘167 claim 1
A computer-implemented method for adaptive bitrate selection, comprising:
A method performed by a system having at least a processor and a memory therein, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by at least one computer processor, a data streaming request;
receiving, by a client device, a data streaming request;
predicting, by a speed predictive machine learning model and based on one or more streaming parameters, a current sustainable network bandwidth, wherein the speed predictive machine learning model is trained using a training data set comprising a history of the one or more streaming parameters;
predicting, by a speed predictive machine learning model and based on one or more streaming parameters, a current sustainable network bandwidth, wherein the speed predictive machine learning model is trained using a training data set comprising a history of the one or more streaming parameters;
predicting, by a rebuffer predictive machine learning model and based on the current sustainable network bandwidth, a buffer level of a data buffer, and N available discrete bitrates, a candidate bitrate at which a likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer occurs less than a threshold percentage;
(claim 2) wherein the predicting the candidate bitrate further comprises: predicting, by the rebuffer predictive machine learning model and based further on a chunk duration, the candidate bitrate at which the likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer occurs less than the threshold percentage.
predicting, by a rebuffer predictive machine learning model and based on the current sustainable network bandwidth, a buffer level of a data buffer, a chunk duration, and N available discrete bitrates, a candidate bitrate at which a likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer occurs less than a threshold percentage;
selecting, based on the candidate bitrate, a download bitrate to complete the data streaming request;
selecting, based on the candidate bitrate, a download bitrate to complete the data streaming request;
and downloading streaming data at the download bitrate.
and downloading, by the client device, streaming data at the download bitrate.
Further, remaining instant claims 3-20 correspond with subject matter disclosed by claims 2-22 of ‘167.
Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Pat. 12,137,265. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and media; see particularly the rejections above and further the Terminal Disclaimer between US Pat. 12,137,265 and US Pat. 11,800,167 and the accompanying Double Patenting rejections presented in the case history of Pat. 12,137,265.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jana et al (US Pub. No. 2016/0234078; cited on IDS), hereafter, “Jana,” in view of Dai et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0141513; cited on IDS), hereafter, “Dai.”
As to claim 1, Jana discloses a computer-implemented for adaptive bitrate selection (Abstract):
receiving, by at least one computer processor, a data streaming request ([0044], particularly, “In another embodiment, the bandwidth predictor 115 can generate predictions for available bandwidth for an end user device 101 in response to a request to do so, such as from the end user device 101 and/or from a streaming server 150 that streams content, such as video content, to the end user device 101.”);
predicting, by a speed predictive machine learning model and based on one or more streaming parameters, a current sustainable network bandwidth, wherein the speed predictive machine learning model is trained using a training data set comprising a history of the one or more streaming parameters ([0057], particularly, “At 404, the predicted available bandwidth for the end user device 101 can be obtained, such as accessing the predicted available bandwidth via an API of the bandwidth predictor 115. In one embodiment, the information accessible can be limited to the predicted available bandwidth without accessing network performance data from which the predicted available bandwidth was calculated.” And [0063], particularly, “For example, an Auto-Regressive Integrated Moving Average (ARIMA) model can be implemented to predict the next second: the algorithm can fit the best ARIMA with historical data, and it can use a sliding window as the training dataset. As an example, the window size can be set to 15 s.”; “predicted available bandwidth” reading on “a current sustainable network bandwidth” and “network performance data” reading “one or more streaming parameters”; “Auto-Regressive Integrated Moving Average (ARIMA) model” reading on “machine learning model”);
predicting, by a rebuffer predictive model and based on the current sustainable network bandwidth, a buffer level of a data buffer, and N available discrete bitrates, a candidate bitrate at which a likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer occurs less than a threshold percentage ([0058]-[0059], particularly, “For example, the buffer occupancy can be determined and compared to a buffer threshold to identify whether the buffer occupancy is in a first zone which has a higher likelihood of buffer drain as compared to a second zone which has a lower likelihood of buffer drain. The threshold can be determined based on various factors including the total buffer capacity, the type of media content, and so forth. At 408, a bit rate for a portion of media content to be streamed over a network (e.g., a wireless cellular network) to the end user device 101 can be determined according to the predicted available bandwidth and according to the buffer occupancy.”, [0031] describes “multiple bit rates” i.e. “N available discrete bitrates” as well as [0056], describing, “For instance, seven bits can be utilized for a floating number and one bit for a handover. As an example, seven bits can be divided into integer and fractional parts, three bits for integer and four bits for fractional, providing a precision of 0.063 Mbps and a maximum value of 8.94 Mbps, which is sufficient for video streaming bit rate selection with a range between 0.2 to 4 Mbps”);
selecting, based on the candidate bitrate, a download bitrate to complete the data streaming request ([0059], particularly, “At 408, a bit rate for a portion of media content to be streamed over a network (e.g., a wireless cellular network) to the end user device 101 can be determined according to the predicted available bandwidth and according to the buffer occupancy…The determined bite rate can be applied at 410 during the streaming process.”); and
downloading streaming data at the download bitrate ([0059], particularly, “At 408, a bit rate for a portion of media content to be streamed over a network (e.g., a wireless cellular network) to the end user device 101 can be determined according to the predicted available bandwidth and according to the buffer occupancy…The determined bite rate can be applied at 410 during the streaming process.”).
However, Jana does not explicitly disclose the rebuffer predictive model is a rebuffer predictive machine learning model.
But, Dai discloses predicting, by a rebuffer predictive machine learning model and based on the current sustainable network bandwidth and a buffer level of a data buffer, a candidate bitrate at which a likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer occurs less than a threshold percentage ([0057]-[0058], particularly, “For example, network metrics prediction 604 includes a network bandwidth 606-1, a rebuffer ratio 606-2, and a failure ratio 606-3...Also, rebuffer ratio 606-2 and failure ratio 606-3 may be similar to rebuffer ratios and failure ratios for features that were similar to current session features 602. Network metrics predictor 302 then outputs network metrics prediction 604 to profile decision generator 304… After training, network conditions prediction model and a profile subset decision prediction model are generated and can be used during real-time execution.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Jana with Dai in order to provide an accurate of forecasting buffering issues.
As to claim 9 and 17, they are rejected by a similar rationale set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claim 6 and 14, the teachings of Jana and Dai as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose retraining the speed predictive machine learning model based on the current sustainable network bandwidth (Jana, [0057], particularly, “At 404, the predicted available bandwidth for the end user device 101 can be obtained, such as accessing the predicted available bandwidth via an API of the bandwidth predictor 115. In one embodiment, the information accessible can be limited to the predicted available bandwidth without accessing network performance data from which the predicted available bandwidth was calculated.” And [0063], particularly, “For example, an Auto-Regressive Integrated Moving Average (ARIMA) model can be implemented to predict the next second: the algorithm can fit the best ARIMA with historical data, and it can use a sliding window as the training dataset. As an example, the window size can be set to 15 s.”); and retraining the rebuffer predictive machine learning model based on the candidate bitrate (Jana, [0058]-[0059], particularly, “For example, the buffer occupancy can be determined and compared to a buffer threshold to identify whether the buffer occupancy is in a first zone which has a higher likelihood of buffer drain as compared to a second zone which has a lower likelihood of buffer drain. The threshold can be determined based on various factors including the total buffer capacity, the type of media content, and so forth. At 408, a bit rate for a portion of media content to be streamed over a network (e.g., a wireless cellular network) to the end user device 101 can be determined according to the predicted available bandwidth and according to the buffer occupancy.” And Dai, [0057]-[0058], particularly, “For example, network metrics prediction 604 includes a network bandwidth 606-1, a rebuffer ratio 606-2, and a failure ratio 606-3...Also, rebuffer ratio 606-2 and failure ratio 606-3 may be similar to rebuffer ratios and failure ratios for features that were similar to current session features 602. Network metrics predictor 302 then outputs network metrics prediction 604 to profile decision generator 304… After training, network conditions prediction model and a profile subset decision prediction model are generated and can be used during real-time execution.”).
As to claim 7 and 15, the teachings of Jana and Dai as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose in response to the likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer being over a threshold percentage, selecting a next lower available bitrate until the likelihood of rebuffering of the data buffer is under the threshold percentage (Jana, [0058]-[0059], particularly, “For example, the buffer occupancy can be determined and compared to a buffer threshold to identify whether the buffer occupancy is in a first zone which has a higher likelihood of buffer drain as compared to a second zone which has a lower likelihood of buffer drain. The threshold can be determined based on various factors including the total buffer capacity, the type of media content, and so forth. At 408, a bit rate for a portion of media content to be streamed over a network (e.g., a wireless cellular network) to the end user device 101 can be determined according to the predicted available bandwidth and according to the buffer occupancy).
As to claim 8 and 16, the teachings of Jana and Dai as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose the one or more streaming parameters further comprise any of: N previous bitrates, where N represents a number of most recent bitrates in a history of previous download bitrates (Jana, [0063], particularly, “For example, an Auto-Regressive Integrated Moving Average (ARIMA) model can be implemented to predict the next second: the algorithm can fit the best ARIMA with historical data, and it can use a sliding window as the training dataset. As an example, the window size can be set to 15 s.”); an average speed of the N previous bitrates; a standard deviation of the N previous bitrates; or a chunk duration.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 10-13, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims while alleviating the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458