DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed October 4, 2024; March 5, April 3, May 8, June 6, August 5, October 7, November 11, and December 18, 2025; and January 8, April 28, May 11, and July 24, 2026 have been reviewed. Citation of a reference on an information disclosure statement is not a determination that the reference is prior art or that it is material to patentability.
________________________________________
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because the phrase "wherein the proximal end of the movable conductor arm assembly being coupled" lacks a finite verb.
Suggested Correction: replace "being coupled" with "is coupled."
Claim 26 is objected to because "the power conductor rail assembly is a modular and relocatable" contains an unnecessary article and leaves the adjective phrase without a clear noun complement.
Suggested Correction: replace "is a modular and relocatable" with "is modular and relocatable."
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 24 - 35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Issue
The original disclosure does not reasonably convey possession of the newly recited side-aligned stowed relationship.
Claim Language
Claim 24 recites "the movable conductor arm assembly includes a stowed condition" and is "retractable to generally align with a side of the mobile machine."
Affected Claims
Claim 24 is affected. No other claim depends from claim 24.
Analysis
Original paragraph 0029 describes arm 110 retracting into barrel 109 so conductor rod 106 roughly spans the width of work machine 100. The reviewed original description and drawings do not identify the retracted arm as generally aligned with a side of the machine. A transverse arm that roughly spans the machine width does not itself demonstrate possession of the claimed longitudinal side-aligned stowed relationship.
Suggested Correction
Delete the unsupported side-alignment limitation, or amend the claim to a stowed relationship expressly shown and described in the original disclosure.
Claim 25 - 35 U.S.C. 112(a)
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Issue
The original disclosure does not reasonably convey possession of first and second arm assemblies within the claimed movable conductor arm assembly.
Claim Language
Claim 25 recites "the movable conductor arm assembly includes a first arm assembly and a second arm assembly."
Affected Claims
Claim 25 is affected. No other claim depends from claim 25.
Analysis
The original disclosure describes conductor rod 106 with barrel 109 and telescoping arm 110, together with trailing arms 116 near contactor 118. Those components form portions of one disclosed conductor linkage. The disclosure does not identify first and second arm assemblies of the type now claimed or otherwise demonstrate possession of two arm assemblies within the movable conductor arm assembly.
Suggested Correction
Amend the claim to recite the originally disclosed barrel, telescoping arm, or trailing-arm relationship, or provide an amendment supported by an identified original-disclosure passage.
Claim 37 - 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Issue
The dependent claim uses two structures that lack clear antecedent basis in claim 36.
Claim Language
Claim 37 recites "the at least one power rail" and "the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly."
Affected Claims
Claim 37 is affected. No other claim depends from claim 37.
Analysis
Claim 36 introduces a "power conductor rail assembly," but does not introduce "at least one power rail" or a structure named "the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly." It is therefore unclear which previously recited structure the added rail-segment and travel-path limitations modify.
Suggested Correction
Amend claim 37 to refer expressly to the power conductor rail assembly of claim 36 and introduce at least one power rail before referring to "the at least one power rail."
Claims 39-40 - 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Issue
Claim 39 introduces a different definite name for the conductor assembly without establishing that the name identifies the assembly recited in claim 38. Claim 40 inherits that uncertainty.
Claim Language
Claim 39 recites "the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly," while claim 38 recites "the power conductor rail assembly." Claim 40 depends from claim 39.
Affected Claims
Claims 39 and 40 are affected.
Analysis
Claim 38 does not introduce a structure named "the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly." The definite article in claim 39 therefore leaves unclear whether the added segment and travel-path limitations modify the power conductor rail assembly of claim 38 or an unrecited different assembly. Claim 40 inherits the same ambiguity through its dependency.
Suggested Correction
Replace "the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly" in claim 39 with "the power conductor rail assembly," if that is the intended antecedent.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - WO 2020/186296 A1.
Reference 2 - US 3,080,982 A.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim 21
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A mobile machine power system including a conductor linkage for receiving power from a power conductor rail assembly during travel of the mobile machine, comprising:
(L2) a movable conductor arm assembly including a proximal end coupled to the mobile machine and a distal end extendable away from a side of the mobile machine,
(L3) the proximal end of the movable conductor arm assembly being coupled to the mobile machine at a location above front wheels of the mobile machine; and
(L4) a contactor assembly coupled to a distal end of the conductor arm assembly for sliding along the power conductor rail assembly,
(L5) wherein the mobile machine conductor linkage is configured to couple to the power conductor rail assembly at a height above the ground.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 paragraph 0046 discloses delivery system 100 supplying electric power to mine haul truck 102 while it travels roadway 104, using relocatable conductor assembly 106, conductors 108/110, contact assembly 112, and current collector 114. (L2) Paragraph 0059 and Figure 5 disclose collector arm 700 extending from the side of truck 102 to the conductor assembly positioned beside the travel path; paragraph 0060 and Figure 6 likewise disclose arm 802 interconnecting the truck with roadside assembly 800. (L3) Figure 5 is a front view and depicts the proximal end of arm 700 coupled to the truck side above the adjacent front wheel/tire. (L4) Paragraphs 0046 and 0055-0056 disclose contact assembly 112 movable along conductors 108/110 while maintaining electrical connection by sliding or rolling contact. Paragraphs 0065-0067 further disclose contacts 1124/1126 guided into roadside conductors 1116/1118 and wheels 1134/1136 traveling along track guide 1132. (L5) Paragraph 0053 expressly places conductors 108/110 at an elevated distance above roadway 318, and Figures 5-6 show the side conductor interface above the roadway surface. Reference 1 therefore supplies the claimed side reach, rail, and traveling contact directly without treating an overhead trolley wire as a side rail.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), are: (1) determining the scope and content of the prior art; (2) ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue; (3) resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and (4) considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 25 - Reference 1
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L6) The mobile machine power system of claim 21, wherein the movable conductor arm assembly includes a first arm assembly and a second arm assembly.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 25 includes every limitation of claim 21, disclosed by Reference 1 as mapped above. Reference 1 paragraph 0069 and Figure 15 further disclose relocatable conductor assembly 1300 with two conductor pairs 1302/1304 and 1306/1308 in separate channels 1310/1312 for simultaneous engagement by two contact assemblies, one contact assembly for each conductor pair. Duplicating Reference 1's side-reaching arm 700 for those two contact assemblies supplies first and second arm assemblies while retaining Reference 1's roadside rail, side reach, and traveling-contact arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to duplicate Reference 1's arm 700 because Reference 1 expressly calls for two contact assemblies simultaneously engaging two separate conductor pairs. Providing one of the same known side-reaching arms for each contact assembly predictably gives each assembly mechanical support and a vehicle-current path during truck travel. This Kent-alone modification does not place Kent's arm 700/802 on Reference 2's poles 47/48 or overhead wires 29/29'.
Claim 36 - Reference 1
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L1) A mobile machine power system including a conductor linkage for receiving power from a power conductor rail assembly during travel of the mobile machine, comprising:
(L2) a movable conductor arm assembly including a proximal end coupled to the mobile machine and a distal end extendable away from a side of the mobile machine,
(L3) the proximal end of the movable conductor arm assembly being coupled to the mobile machine at a location above front wheels of the mobile machine,
(L4) and the movable conductor arm assembly includes a straight arm portion that spans the entire distance between the mobile machine and the power conductor rail assembly; and
(L5) a contactor assembly coupled to a distal end of the conductor arm assembly for sliding along the power conductor rail assembly,
(L6) wherein the mobile machine conductor linkage is configured to couple to the power conductor rail assembly at a height above the ground.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses mine haul truck 102 receiving power from relocatable roadside conductor assembly 106 while traveling roadway 104. (L2) Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0059-0060 disclose collector arms 700/802 extending from the vehicle side to the roadside conductor assembly. (L3) Figure 5 places the proximal coupling of arm 700 on the truck side above the adjacent front-wheel region. (L4) Paragraph 0073 discloses alternative current collector arm 1810 having a single linkage attached between the vehicle and contact assembly 1812. That single rigid linkage provides a straight arm portion spanning the machine-to-contact-assembly distance. (L5) Paragraphs 0046 and 0055-0056 disclose the distal contact assembly traveling along conductors 108/110. (L6) Paragraph 0053 and Figures 5-6 disclose the above-ground conductor relationship.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 1's expressly disclosed single-linkage arm 1810 in its roadside embodiment because Reference 1 presents the collector arms as alternative embodiments of the same delivery system. The single linkage provides a direct load and current path with fewer joints while preserving the disclosed continuous mine-road power-transfer function.
Claim 26 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L6) The mobile machine power system of claim 21, wherein the power conductor rail assembly is a modular and relocatable, and includes:
(L7) a plurality of movable base supports;
(L8) a plurality of posts, each post having a bottom end and a top end, and the bottom end of each of the plurality of posts being secured to one of the plurality of movable base supports;
(L9) a bracket assembly coupled to the top end of each post; and
(L10) at least one power rail coupled to the bracket assembly and configured to provide power to the mobile mining machine during travel of the mobile machine.
Analysis
(L6) Claim 26 includes every limitation of claim 21, disclosed by Reference 1 as mapped above. Reference 1 further describes relocatable conductor assembly 106 as repeatable portions 116-124 positioned end-to-end along roadway 104 (paragraphs 0046-0048). (L7) Reference 2 Figure 2 and column 3 disclose plural portable concrete blocks 25 resting on transport rails 26, 26' and movable by a lift-truck fork. (L8) Socket pipes 27 receive the bottom ends of upright posts 28, whose top ends support the tower structure. (L9) Lateral superstructure 24 is coupled at the upper end of each upright. (L10) Reference 1's power conductors 108/110, including roadside conductors 930/940, provide electrical power to traveling mine truck 102. Mounting those conductors on Reference 2's portable post-and-superstructure modules supplies the claimed bracket-supported rail while preserving Reference 1's roadside rail orientation.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to support Reference 1's expressly relocatable roadside conductor portions on Reference 2's portable, rearrangeable base-post-superstructure modules. Both references address power delivery to a truck traveling a mine road. Reference 2's known portable supports predictably elevate and reposition Reference 1's roadside rails as the haul route changes without replacing Reference 1's side-reaching collector or roadside contact geometry.
Claim 27 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein the at least one power rail includes two power rails.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 27 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 1 expressly discloses two conductors 108 and 110 in relocatable conductor assembly 106 (paragraph 0046), and further discloses two pairs of conductors in paragraph 0069.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's known two-conductor supply in the combined relocatable assembly because the paired conductors complete the vehicle power circuit and perform their ordinary disclosed function.
Claim 28 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein each post is a substantially straight pole.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 28 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 Figure 2 shows each upright 28 as a substantially straight vertical pole extending from socket 27 to superstructure 24.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the straight upright form of Reference 2 in the combined relocatable assembly because that form predictably elevates and supports the bracket and conductors with a simple load path.
Claim 29 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein each post extends above the plurality of movable base supports.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 29 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 Figure 2 shows upright 28 extending vertically above concrete block 25 to elevate superstructure 24.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 2's above-base post relationship because it performs the ordinary function of elevating Reference 1's power conductors above the mine roadway.
Claim 30 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein the at least one power rail includes a plurality of power rail segments, and the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly defines a travel path for the mobile mining machine.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 30 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 1 paragraphs 0047-0048 disclose conductor-assembly portions 116-124 positioned end-to-end along roadway 104. Those rail portions collectively define the powered travel path followed by vehicle 102.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's end-to-end conductor portions on the combined portable supports. Segmentation predictably allows selected route portions to be installed, moved, or replaced while maintaining a continuous powered travel path.
Claim 31 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein each base support includes a rectangular shape.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 31 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 Figure 2 depicts concrete block 25 as a rectangular solid base supporting socket 27 and upright 28.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 2's rectangular block in the combined relocatable assembly because its flat faces provide predictable ground stability, lift access, and support for the upright.
Claim 32 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein each base support includes a concrete block.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 32 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 expressly describes each portable base support 25 as a large block of concrete.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 2's concrete block because its known mass provides stable support for the elevated conductors while remaining relocatable by the disclosed lift-truck arrangement.
Claim 33 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein each post is mechanically fastened to the base support to which the post is secured.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 33 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 places upright 28 in socket pipe 27 set in block 25 and expressly states that set screws may lock the upright in place. The socket and set screws mechanically fasten the post to the base support.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 2's set-screw fastening because it predictably secures the post during operation while permitting disassembly or adjustment of the relocatable tower.
Claim 34 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 26, wherein the bottom end of each post is located above a bottom end of the base support to which the post is secured.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 34 includes every limitation of claims 21 and 26 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 2 Figure 2 shows socket pipe 27 entering the upper region of concrete block 25 without extending through the block bottom. Upright 28 terminates within the socket and therefore above the bottom face of the base.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Reference 2's blind upper socket because it predictably retains concrete beneath the post end for structural support and avoids exposing the post through the ground-contact face.
Claim 37 - Reference 1
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1.
Claim Text
(L7) The mobile machine power system of claim 36, wherein the at least one power rail includes a plurality of power rail segments, and the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly defines a travel path for the mobile mining machine.
Analysis
(L7) Claim 37 includes every limitation of claim 36, mapped above. Under the reasonable interpretation that the added language modifies the power conductor rail assembly of claim 36, Reference 1 paragraphs 0047-0048 disclose a relocatable conductor assembly formed by portions 116-124 positioned end-to-end along roadway 104. Those segments define the powered travel path of the mine vehicle.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's segmented relocatable conductor arrangement with its single-linkage arm embodiment. The segmentation allows route portions to be installed, moved, and replaced while the arm performs its known traveling-contact function.
Claim 38 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A mobile machine power system including a conductor linkage for receiving power from a power conductor rail assembly during travel of the mobile machine, comprising:
(L2) a movable conductor arm assembly including a proximal end coupled to the mobile machine and a distal end extendable away from a side of the mobile machine,
(L3) the proximal end of the movable conductor arm assembly being coupled to the mobile machine at a location above front wheels of the mobile machine;
(L4) a contactor assembly coupled to a distal end of the conductor arm assembly for sliding along the power conductor rail assembly,
(L5) wherein the mobile machine conductor linkage is configured to couple to the power conductor rail assembly,
(L6) the power conductor rail assembly including a plurality of movable base supports;
(L7) a plurality of posts, each post having a bottom end and a top end elevated above the plurality of movable base supports, and the bottom end of each of the plurality of posts being secured to one of the plurality of movable base supports;
(L8) a bracket assembly coupled to the top end of each post; and
(L9) at least one power rail coupled to the bracket assembly and configured to provide power to the mobile mining machine during travel of the mobile machine.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 discloses mine haul truck 102 receiving power from relocatable roadside conductor assembly 106 while traveling roadway 104 (paragraph 0046). (L2) Figures 5-6 and paragraphs 0059-0060 disclose collector arms 700/802 extending from the vehicle side to the roadside conductor assembly. (L3) Figure 5 places the proximal coupling of arm 700 on the truck side above the adjacent front-wheel region. (L4) Contact assembly 112 is coupled at the distal arm end and uses sliding or rolling electrical contacts while moving along conductors 108/110 (paragraphs 0046 and 0055-0056). (L5) The arm-and-contact linkage couples the truck to the roadside conductor assembly. (L6) Reference 2 discloses plural portable concrete bases 25 and states that its towers may be rearranged at will. (L7) Uprights 28 extend from sockets 27 in the movable bases to elevated top ends. (L8) Superstructure 24 is coupled at each upright top. (L9) Reference 1's conductors 108/110, including roadside conductors 930/940, are configured to power the traveling truck. Mounting those conductors to Reference 2's superstructure supplies the claimed bracket-supported rail without changing Reference 1's side-facing traveling-contact geometry.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to mount Reference 1's roadside conductor portions on Reference 2's expressly portable and rearrangeable mine-road towers. Both references address electrical delivery along a mine road. The known base-post-superstructure modules predictably support and reposition Reference 1's roadside rails as the haul route changes while retaining Reference 1's side-reaching collector and traveling contact.
Claim 39 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L10) The mobile machine power system of claim 38, wherein the at least one power rail includes a plurality of power rail segments, and the modular and relocatable conductor rail assembly defines a travel path for the mobile mining machine.
Analysis
(L10) Claim 39 includes every limitation of claim 38 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Under the reasonable interpretation stated in the section 112(b) rejection, Reference 1 paragraphs 0047-0048 disclose conductor portions 116-124 placed end-to-end along roadway 104, thereby forming rail segments that define the vehicle travel path.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's end-to-end conductor portions on the combined portable supports because segmented modules can be installed, removed, and replaced along the route while maintaining the same traveling power-delivery function.
Claim 40 - Reference 1 in view of Reference 2
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L11) The mobile machine power system of claim 39, wherein the at least one power rail includes two power rails.
Analysis
(L11) Claim 40 includes every limitation of claims 38 and 39 under the Reference 1-Reference 2 combination mapped above. Reference 1 expressly discloses two conductors 108 and 110 in relocatable conductor assembly 106 and also discloses two conductor pairs in paragraph 0069.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain Reference 1's two-conductor supply in the segmented relocatable arrangement because the pair performs the known circuit-completion function for powering the traveling truck.
________________________________________
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22, 23, and 35 are objected to as depending directly or indirectly from rejected claims. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and depends from rejected claim 21. Claims 22, 23, 24, and 35 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to include all limitations of the base and intervening claims, provided the claim 22 grammatical defect is corrected and the claim 24 written-description rejection is overcome.
Claim 22 requires the proximal collector-arm end to be both below cab windows and forward of the rotating axis of the front wheels. The closest reviewed systems place a collector at the side or front-wheel region, but do not disclose that complete two-axis relationship. Claim 23 inherits that relationship and additionally recites a straight arm portion spanning the entire distance to the conductor rail. Straight full-span collector arms are known, but the complete inherited combination remains absent from the reviewed art.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and depends from rejected claim 21. Claim 24 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of claim 21 and if the written-description rejection is overcome by deleting the unsupported side-alignment limitation or otherwise providing adequate written-description support for the side-aligned stowed-arm relationship. No other claim depends from claim 24.
Claim 35 requires each post to be connected to an end portion of its respective movable base. References 1 and 2 establish the same-field relocatable mine-road support system but do not teach that placement. The reviewed stair-rail collar reference was not retained because its field and geometry do not provide a sufficiently close or non-hindsight basis for moving each socket 27 to a block end.
________________________________________
Claim Disposition
Canceled Claims: 1-20.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 112: 24-25, 37, and 39-40.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 102: 21.
Rejected Claims - 35 U.S.C. 103: 25-34 and 36-40.
Objected-to / Otherwise Allowable Claims: 22-24 and 35. Claims 22, 23, and 35 are objected to as depending directly or indirectly from rejected claims. Claim 24 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and also depends from rejected claim 21. Claims 22 and 26 also contain the formal defects identified above.
Allowed Claims: None in present form.
________________________________________
Conclusion
US 2017/0087991 A1 was reviewed but not used because it remains an overhead contact-wire system, not a side-reaching roadside rail.
WO 2014/036319 A1 was reviewed but not used because it uses a stationary receiver, not traveling contact along a relocatable roadside rail.
US 11,230,309 B2 was reviewed but not used because it uses an in-ground bottom collector, not an elevated roadside rail.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615