DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group II is not independent or distinct from Group I. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are considered distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus can be operated in a materially different process such as not operating in a reduced power operating mode and operating a maximum power operating mode.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/4/2024 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-2, 5-7, and 9-10, recites “the forced-air heat-exchange unit” and should recite - - the oblong-shaped forced-air heat exchange unit - - for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2-10 are objected to as being dependent from an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “large thermal-insulated compartment” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination “a large thermal-insulated compartment” will be considered - - a thermal-insulated compartment - - .
Claim 9 recites “the same finned body”. However it is unclear what “same finned body” is being referred to because there is a lack of antecedent basis for a “same finned body”. For purposes of examination “the same finned body” will be considered - - a same finned body - - .
Claim 10 recites “the rear wall”. However it is unclear what “rear wall” is being referred to because there is a lack of antecedent basis for a “rear wall”. For purposes of examination “the rear wall” will be considered - - a rear wall - - .
Claim(s) 2-10 are rejected to as being dependent from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moro et al. (IT201900006004A1).
Per claim 1, Moro teaches a refrigerating machine for food products comprising:
an outer casing (2) internally provided with a thermal-insulated compartment (3) adapted to contain the food product or products to be preserved;
an electrically-operated cooling assembly (5, 10) adapted to cool the content of the thermal-insulated compartment; and
an electronic control unit (6) that controls the cooling assembly;
said cooling assembly comprising:
a plurality of heat-pump refrigeration circuits (plurality of 10) separate and independent of one another (see figure 3),
each of which is provided with a low-pressure heat exchanger (11) which is capable of cooling the inside of the thermal-insulated compartment (3); and
an oblong-shaped forced-air heat exchange unit (5), which extends inside the thermal-insulated compartment parallel to a given first direction (see figure 2), and is structured so as to accommodate said low-pressure heat exchangers (11) and a ventilation apparatus (17) adapted to generate a transversal airflow that passes through said low-pressure heat exchangers (see figure 2);
said refrigerating machine being characterized in that the low-pressure heat exchangers are arranged in the oblong-shaped forced-air heat-exchange unit so as to form at least two rows of low-pressure heat exchangers (see annotated figure below), which extend in said first direction side by side and superimposed on one another (see figure 2 showing heat exchangers superimposed on one another from a top view); and
in that said ventilation apparatus (11) is structured so as to generate a transversal airflow that flows substantially perpendicular to said at least two rows of low-pressure heat exchangers passing through said rows of low-pressure heat exchangers (see figure 2).
Per claim 2, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Moro teaches wherein the electronic control unit (6) is programmed/configured so as to selectively activate a subgroup of low-pressure heat exchangers distributed substantially seamlessly along the length of the oblong-shaped forced-air heat-exchange unit (“the electronic control unit 6 is preferably programmed / configured in such a way as to be able to selectively activate the various heat pump refrigeration circuits 10 separately and independently of each other, in such a way as to parcel out the cooling power supplied”, pg. 6 of translation).
Per claim 3, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Moro teaches wherein the ventilation apparatus (17) is located beside one of said at least two rows of low-pressure heat exchangers (11) (see figure 2).
Per claim 4, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Moro teaches wherein said rows of low-pressure heat exchangers are adjoined/contiguous to one another (see figure 1 showing 11 adjoined to one another)
Per claim 8, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Moro teaches wherein the low-pressure heat exchangers are finned pack heat exchangers (“the low pressure heat exchangers 11 are preferably plate-like exchangers with a finned pack structure”, pg. 8 of translation).
Per claim 10, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Moro teaches wherein said oblong-shaped forced-air heat-exchange unit (5) is arranged inside the thermal-insulated compartment (3) in a substantially vertical position (see figure 2), nearly skimming a rear wall of the thermal-insulated compartment (right wall of 3 shown in figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moro et al. (IT201900006004A1) in view of Cheng et al. (CN 113446764).
Per claim 9, Moro meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 8. Further, Moro teaches the low-pressure heat exchanger belonging to a same longitudinal segment (segment of 5 including plurality of 11) of the oblong-shaped forced-air heat exchange unit (5) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the low-pressure heat exchangers share a same finned body.
However, Cheng teaches a cooling system wherein a plurality of low-pressure heat exchangers (3-1, 3-2) share a same finned body (3) (“the fin common combined evaporator”, pg. 9 of translation) for improved efficiency (pg. 9 of translation). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have a plurality of low-pressure heat exchangers share a finned body, as taught by Cheng in the invention of Moro, in order to advantageously improve system efficiency (pg. 9 of translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Okumura et al. (JP2014214922) teaches a refrigerating machine.
Iovanel (US 2012/0291466) teaches a refrigerating machine.
Ledbetter (US 5,826,432) teaches a refrigerating machine.
Oswald (US 8,056,349) teaches a refrigerating machine.
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763