DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0094781 A1 (“Ota”).
Regarding claim 1, Ota discloses a ranging device comprising:
a transmitting section configured to transmit a transmission wave (e.g. see laser transmitting/receiving apparatus 201 in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0057]-[0058]);
a receiving section configured to receive a reflection wave caused by reflection of the transmission wave from an object (e.g. see laser transmitting/receiving apparatus 201 in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0057]-[0058]);
a housing enclosing the transmitting section and the receiving section and has an opening formed for allowing the transmission wave and the reflection wave to pass therethrough (e.g. see the laser transmitting/receiving apparatus 201 is housed in a space sealed by the casing 202 and the cover 203 as shown in Fig. 5, paragraph [0060]);
a transmissive section formed of a material transparent to the transmission wave and the reflection wave, and covering the opening (e.g. see cover 203 as shown in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0060], [0065]);
a mesh of metal having a plurality of mesh openings (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]); and
a heating section disposed to cover at least a portion of the opening and configured to generate heat by energising the metal to heat the transmissive section (e.g. see heater 21 in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082], and see heating element generates heat when energized, paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 8, Ota further discloses
the heating section comprises, on the metal that delimits the plurality of mesh openings adjacent to each other (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]), at least one of:
a reflectivity reducing layer with a reflectivity reduction treatment applied thereto to reduce reflections of the transmission and reflection waves on the metal;
a protection layer for protecting a surface of the metal; and
a reflection suppressing layer for reducing reflections of the transmission and reflection waves (e.g. see binder 112 shown in Fig. 3, paragraphs [0030]-[0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of US 2024/0230912 A1 (“Wheatley”).
Regarding claim 2, although Ota discloses a width of each of the plurality of mesh opening width (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]), and a wavelength of the transmission wave (e.g. the laser system 24 transmits for example a laser having a near infrared wavelength, paragraph [0058]), it is noted Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose the mesh opening width of each of the plurality of mesh openings is greater than a wavelength of the transmission wave and less than a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave as noise in the ranging device. Wheatley however, teaches mesh opening width of each of the plurality of mesh openings is greater than a wavelength of the transmission wave and less than a wavelength of an electromagnetic wave as noise in the ranging device (e.g. see optically transparent electrode (100), that includes metal mesh (110) having a plurality of electrically conductive traces (111) intersecting each other to form a plurality of enclosed open areas (112) as shown in Fig. 7, have an optical transmittance for specific wavelength, paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Ota and Wheatley before him/her, to modify the Electromagnetic wave utilizing system of Ota with the teachings of Wheatley in order to achieve a specific optical transmittance for the wavelength of the transmission wave.
Regarding claim 3, although Ota discloses the heating section is formed (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]), it is noted Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose the heating section is formed such that a ratio of an area of the metal blocking the transmission wave to an area of the transmissive section that the transmission wave passes is 10% or less. Wheatley however, teaches the heating section is formed such that a ratio of an area of the metal blocking the transmission wave to an area of the transmissive section that the transmission wave passes is 10% or less (e.g. see optically transparent electrode (100), that includes metal mesh (110) having a plurality of electrically conductive traces (111) intersecting each other to form a plurality of enclosed open areas (112) as shown in Fig. 7, have an optical transmittance greater than 90% for specific wavelength, paragraph [0040]).
The motivation above in the rejection of claim 2 applies here.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of US 2020/0163167 A1 (“Adachi”).
Regarding claim 4, although Ota discloses a width of each of the plurality of mesh openings is referred to as a mesh opening width, a width of the metal delimiting the plurality of the mesh openings adjacent to each other is referred to as a metal width, and the heating section is formed (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]), it is noted Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose the heating section is formed such that at least one of the mesh opening width and the metal width changes depending on a position where the opening is covered. Adachi however, teaches heating section is formed such that at least one of the mesh opening width and the metal width changes depending on a position where the opening is covered (e.g. see at least Fig. 13C illustrating mesh opening changes).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Ota and Adachi before him/her, to modify the Electromagnetic wave utilizing system of Ota with the teachings of Adachi in order to reduce an amount of energy consumed.
Regarding claim 5, although Ota discloses wherein the ranging device is mounted to a vehicle (e.g. see vehicle, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], Fig. 1), and the heating section is formed (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]), it is noted that Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose such that at least one of a lower opening width setting condition and a lower metal width setting condition is met, the lower opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in an opening's lower region which is a lower region of the opening is less than the mesh opening width in an opening's upper region which is a region of the opening upper than the opening's lower region, and the lower metal width setting condition is that the metal width in the opening's lower region is greater than the metal width in the opening's upper region. Adachi however, teaches such that at least one of a lower opening width setting condition and a lower metal width setting condition is met, the lower opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in an opening's lower region which is a lower region of the opening is less than the mesh opening width in an opening's upper region which is a region of the opening upper than the opening's lower region, and the lower metal width setting condition is that the metal width in the opening's lower region is greater than the metal width in the opening's upper region (e.g. see at least Fig. 13C illustrating the second heater 102 is configured such that a density of the heating elements 102a which is located/present within the lower part R2 is greater than that of the heating elements 102 which is located/present within the upper part R1, paragraph [0144]).
The motivation above in the rejection of claim 4 applies here.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of US 2020/0374987 A1 (“Yasuda”).
Regarding claim 6, although Ota discloses wherein the ranging device is mounted to a vehicle (e.g. see vehicle, paragraphs [0057]-[0058], Fig. 1), and the heating section is formed (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]; also see Fig. 3), it is noted that Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose
such that at least one of a left and right opening width setting condition and a left and right metal width setting condition is met, the left and right opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in each of opening's left and right regions which are left and right regions of the opening is less than the mesh opening width in an opening's central region which is a region of the opening other than the opening's left and right regions, and the left and right metal width setting condition is that the metal width in each of the opening's left and right regions is greater than the metal width in the opening's central region. Yasuda however, teaches such that at least one of a left and right opening width setting condition and a left and right metal width setting condition is met, the left and right opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in each of opening's left and right regions which are left and right regions of the opening is less than the mesh opening width in an opening's central region which is a region of the opening other than the opening's left and right regions, and the left and right metal width setting condition is that the metal width in each of the opening's left and right regions is greater than the metal width in the opening's central region (e.g. see Fig. 8 illustrating the total of the projected cross-sectional areas of the auxiliary conductive fine wires in each of two regions 7 contacting with the main bus bars is larger than that in each of the remaining eight regions 6; thus, it would be obvious to configure the silver mesh, as disclosed by Ota, such that in the regions in contact with the electrodes 113a and 113b (corresponding to main bus bars of Yasuda) located at both ends of the heater 11 as shown in Fig. 3, i.e., in the regions in the vicinity of the left and right ends of the silver mesh, such the total projected cross-sectional areas of the silver portions is greater than the total of the projected cross-sectional areas of the silver portions in other areas in view of Yasuda teaching).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Ota and Yasuda before him/her, to modify the Electromagnetic wave utilizing system of Ota with the teachings of Yasuda in order to effectively inhibit disconnection in regions near the electrodes where the disconnection may be likely to occur.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of JP 2016143914 A (“Suetsugu”) (Note: Suetsugu is provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 7, although Ota discloses wherein the heating section is formed (e.g. see heating element of the heater 21 in Fig. 5 may be silver mesh, paragraphs [0061]-[0062], [0082]; also see Fig. 3), it is noted that Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose
such that at least one of a passage opening width setting condition and a passage metal width setting condition is met, the passage opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in a wave transmissive region which is a region of the opening through which the transmission and reflection waves pass is greater than the mesh opening width in at least a portion of a region other than the wave transmissive region, and the passage metal width setting condition is that the metal width in the wave transmissive region of the opening is less than the metal width in at least a portion of the region of the opening other than the wave transmissive region. Suetsugu however, teaches such that at least one of a passage opening width setting condition and a passage metal width setting condition is met, the passage opening width setting condition is that the mesh opening width in a wave transmissive region which is a region of the opening through which the transmission and reflection waves pass is greater than the mesh opening width in at least a portion of a region other than the wave transmissive region, and the passage metal width setting condition is that the metal width in the wave transmissive region of the opening is less than the metal width in at least a portion of the region of the opening other than the wave transmissive region (e.g. see Fig. 5 showing in the pattern conductor 40, the non-coverage ratio of the pattern conductor 40 becomes higher in the electromagnetic wave transmission area ws facing the communication device 6 than in other areas, and also see to suppress a decrease in the amount of heat generated in the electromagnetic wave transmission area ws, the width of the conductive thin wire 41 in the electromagnetic wave transmission area ws may be narrower than the line width of the conductive thin wire 41 in the area other than the electromagnetic wave transmission area ws; thus, it would be obvious to configure the silver mesh, as disclosed by Ota, such that its non-coverage ratio becomes higher in the electromagnetic wave transmission area facing the transmitter/receiver 201 than in other areas, and also configure the width of the silver mesh wire in the electromagnetic wave transmission area to be narrower in the area other than the electromagnetic wave transmission area in view of Suetsugu teaching).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Ota and Suetsugu before him/her, to modify the Electromagnetic wave utilizing system of Ota with the teachings of Suetsugu in order to ensure stable and sufficient permeation of electromagnetic waves in the electromagnetic wave transmission area while suppressing a decrease in the amount of heat generated while obtaining stable transmission of electromagnetic waves.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota in view of WO 2021/106418 A1 (“Nagaishi”) (Note: Nagaishi is provided in the IDS).
Regarding claim 9, although Ota discloses the transmitting section and the receiving section (e.g. see laser transmitting/receiving apparatus 201 in Fig. 5, paragraphs [0057]-[0058]), it is noted Ota differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising a detection board provided with the transmitting section and the receiving section, wherein the detection board is disposed inside the housing such that the detection board is closer to the transmissive section than to a portion of an outer wall of the housing that faces the transmissive section. Nagaishi however, teaches
further comprising a detection board provided with the transmitting section and the receiving section, wherein the detection board is disposed inside the housing such that the detection board is closer to the transmissive section than to a portion of an outer wall of the housing that faces the transmissive section (e.g. see Fig. 9 showing the RF circuit board 103 is closer to the cover 104 than to the housing 111).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Ota and Nagaishi before him/her, to modify the Electromagnetic wave utilizing system of Ota with the teachings of Nagaishi in order to improve reception sensitivity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0282985 A1, Kim et al., METAMATERIAL STRUCTURE, METAMATERIAL-TYPE TRANSPARENT HEATER, AND RADAR APPARATUS USING METAMATERIAL-TYPE TRANSPARENT HEATER
US 2022/0039216 A1, Hirata et al., TRANSPARENT HEATING ELEMENT, HEATING ELEMENT WITH COVER, SENSOR DEVICE, AND MOBILE OBJECT
US 2020/0391698 A1, Fukuda et al., ELECTROMAGNETIC WAVE UTILIZATION SYSTEM
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619