DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2024, 07/23/2025, and 09/14/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
DISPLAY DEVICE WITH BARRIER LAYER HAVING A PLURALITY OF THROUGH HOLES
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-10, 13, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0005583A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi teaches a display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077], comprising:
a substrate (50d) fig. 9 [see label in fig. 9 legend, 0034-0035];
a barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] formed on the substrate (50) and having a plurality of through holes (gaps through and horizontally between adjacent 60 with 35’s);
a plurality of light-emitting diodes (105’s) fig. 9 [0078-0079] positioned in the plurality of through holes (gaps through adjacent 60e with 35) in the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35), respectively; and
a plurality of lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] positioned in the plurality of through holes (gaps through adjacent 60e with 35) in the barrier layer (60e with 35) such that each of the lenses (40) has a first surface (bottommost surface) opposed to (positioned opposite to and facing) the substrate (50) and a convex surface (curved top surface) on a second (top) surface on a back of the first surface (bottommost surface of 40), the light-emitting diodes (105) are positioned (vertically) between the substrate (50) and the lenses (40), respectively, and the convex (curved top) surface of each of the lenses (40) is formed such that a (maximum) height (vertical distance) of a top of the convex surface from the substrate (50) is greater than a height (vertical distance) of an upper surface (defined as upper surface of 35 portion) of the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) from the substrate (50) (topmost portion of 40 is slightly above upper/uppermost surface of 35 portion of barrier layer comprising 35, and therefore, 40 has a greater maximum height from top of substrate 50 than 35, as defined in annotated fig. 9 below).
Annotated fig. 9 of Iguchi
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 1. Iguchi also teaches wherein a height (vertical distance) of a peripheral portion (portions of curved surface of 40 below level of 35 upper surface) (see annotated fig. 9 above) of the convex surface (curved top of 40) fig. 9 [0082] from the substrate (50) fig. 9 [see fig. 9 legend] is less than the height of the upper surface of the barrier layer (comprising 35) fig. 9 [see fig. 9 legend] from the substrate (50) (see annotated fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 1. Iguchi also teaches further comprising:
a layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081] positioned in each of the through holes (gaps through and horizontally between adjacent 60 with 35’s) [see fig. 9 legend] such that the layer (31/32/33) is (vertically) interposed between the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and the light-emitting diodes (105) fig. 9 [0079].
Regarding claim 6, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 1. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] has a multilayer structure (composed of multiple layers comprising 60 and 35).
Regarding claim 9, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 1. Iguchi also teaches further comprising:
a plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] (layers than partially fill through holes) filling the plurality of through holes (gaps through and horizontally between adjacent 60 with 35’s) [see fig. 9 legend] respectively such that the filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) are interposed between the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and the substrate (50d) [see fig. 9 legend] and have the light-emitting diodes (105) fig. 9 [0079] opposed to the lenses (40) buried in (interpreted as covered by and positioned at least partially in between) the filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s).
Regarding claim 10, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 9. Iguchi also teaches wherein at least a portion (33) fig. 9 [0078] of the plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] includes a wavelength conversion layer (33) [0079-0081].
Regarding claim 13, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 2. Iguchi also teaches further comprising:
a layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081] positioned in each of the through holes (gaps through and horizontally between adjacent 60 with 35’s) [see fig. 9 legend] such that the layer (31/32/33) is (vertically) interposed between the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and the light-emitting diodes (105) fig. 9 [0079].
Regarding claim 16, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 2. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] has a multilayer structure (composed of multiple layers comprising 60 and 35).
Regarding claim 19, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 2. Iguchi also teaches further comprising:
a plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] (layers than partially fill through holes) filling the plurality of through holes (gaps through and horizontally between adjacent 60 with 35’s) [see fig. 9 legend] respectively such that the filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) are interposed between the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and the substrate (50d) [see fig. 9 legend] and have the light-emitting diodes (105) fig. 9 [0079] opposed to the lenses (40) buried in (interpreted as covered by and positioned at least partially in between) the filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s).
Regarding claim 20, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 19. Iguchi also teaches wherein at least a portion (33) fig. 9 [0078] of the plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] includes a wavelength conversion layer (33) [0079-0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 7-8, 12, 14-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0005583A1), as applied in claims 3, 6, 9, 13, and 16 above, in view of Shibayama (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0005656A1).
Regarding claim 4, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 3. However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081] is positioned adjacent of (next to) the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and has a refractive index that is lower than a refractive index of the lenses (50) fig. 9 [0082] (relative refractive indexes not specified).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] wherein the (filter) layer (141) fig. 9 [0068, 0074] is positioned adjacent of (next to) the lenses (151) fig. 4 [0076] and has a refractive index (1.6-1.8 [0074]) that is lower than a refractive index (2.0 [0076]) of the lenses (50) [0074, 0076] (color filters formed to have refractive indexes of 1.6-1.8 [0074], which is lower than 2.0 refractive index of lenses [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the color filtering and microlens layers [0074, 0076] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to have the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0074, 0076] in order to ensure that they are formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0074-0076] that have refractive index properties [0074, 0076] to modulate light transmission therebetween [0080] so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 5, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 3. However, Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a light transmissive portion (60e) (60/60e may be formed of material with “high light transmission” [0044] across different embodiments [0067, 0100, 0119]) formed in (direct and thermal) contact with the layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081].
However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose such that a refractive index of the layer (31/32/33) in contact with the light transmissive portion (60e) is higher than a refractive index of the light transmissive portion (60e) (relative refractive indexes not specified).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] such that a refractive index (1.6-1.8 [0074]) of the layer (141) fig. 9 [0068, 0074] in (thermal) contact with the light transmissive portion (161) fig. 4 [0077] is higher than a refractive index (1,5 [0077]) of the light transmissive portion (161) (light transmissive portion may be formed of a transparent resin [0077] having refractive index of 1.5 [0077], which is less than filter layer refractive index of 1.6-1.8 [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the color filtering and transparent layer(s) [0074, 0077] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to have the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0074, 0076] in order to ensure that they are formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0074-0076], particularly a transparent resin [0077] for the transparent layer [0077], that have refractive index properties [0074, 0076] to modulate light transmission therebetween [0080] so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 7, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 6. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a first layer (60e) and a second layer (35) formed on the first layer (60e) and comprising a resin (35 may be formed of “resin” [0070, 0082]) such that the first layer (60e) has light shielding property (60/60e may or may not be formed of light blocking/shielding material [0045] across different embodiments [0067, 0100, 0119]).
However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose the second layer (35) comprising a light transmissive resin (light transmission properties of resin layer 35 [0070, 0082] not explicitly disclosed).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] comprising the second layer (represented by 161) fig. 4 [0077] comprising a light transmissive resin (light transmissive resin portion 161 may be formed of a transparent resin [0077] such as epoxy resin [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the resin layer(s) [0077] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to be formed of a transparent resin material [0077] such as epoxy resin [0077] having the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0077-0078] in order to ensure that it is formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0077] having favorable refractive index properties [0074, 0077] to modulate light transmission [0080] with adjacent layers so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 8, Iguchi in view of Shibayama teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 7. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35 and further comprising 36) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a third layer (36) formed on the second layer (35) and having light shielding property (36 may be formed of a highly reflective / light shielding metal [0070]).
Regarding claim 12, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 9. Iguchi also teaches wherein at least a portion of the plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] includes a transparent resin layer (transparent “resin” not disclosed for 31, 32, or 33).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] wherein at least a portion of the plurality of filler layers (141) fig. 9 [0068, 0074] includes a transparent resin layer (color filtering material of 141 may be light transmissive resin [0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the color filtering layer(s) [0074] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to be formed of a transparent resin [0074] having the relative refractive index value(s) specified by Shibayama [0074] in order to ensure that they are formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0074], that have refractive index properties [0074] to favorably modulate light transmission with other layers [0080] so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 14, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 13. However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081] is positioned adjacent of (next to) the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] and has a refractive index that is lower than a refractive index of the lenses (50) fig. 9 [0082] (relative refractive indexes not specified).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] wherein the (filter) layer (141) fig. 9 [0068, 0074] is positioned adjacent of (next to) the lenses (151) fig. 4 [0076] and has a refractive index (1.6-1.8 [0074]) that is lower than a refractive index (2.0 [0076]) of the lenses (50) [0074, 0076] (color filters formed to have refractive indexes of 1.6-1.8 [0074], which is lower than 2.0 refractive index of lenses [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the color filtering and microlens layers [0074, 0076] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to have the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0074, 0076] in order to ensure that they are formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0074-0076] that have refractive index properties [0074, 0076] to modulate light transmission therebetween [0080] so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 15, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 4. However, Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a light transmissive portion (60e) (60/60e may be formed of material with “high light transmission” [0044] across different embodiments [0067, 0100, 0119]) formed in (direct and thermal) contact with the layer (31/32/33) fig. 9 [0081].
However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose such that a refractive index of the layer (31/32/33) in contact with the light transmissive portion (60e) is higher than a refractive index of the light transmissive portion (60e) (relative refractive indexes not specified).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] such that a refractive index (1.6-1.8 [0074]) of the layer (141) fig. 9 [0068, 0074] in (thermal) contact with the light transmissive portion (161) fig. 4 [0077] is higher than a refractive index (1,5 [0077]) of the light transmissive portion (161) (light transmissive portion may be formed of a transparent resin [0077] having refractive index of 1.5 [0077], which is less than filter layer refractive index of 1.6-1.8 [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the color filtering and transparent layer(s) [0074, 0077] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to have the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0074, 0076] in order to ensure that they are formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0074-0077], particularly a transparent resin [0077] for the transparent layer [0077], that have refractive index properties [0074, 0077] to modulate light transmission therebetween [0080] so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 17, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 16. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a first layer (60e) and a second layer (35) formed on the first layer (60e) and comprising a resin (35 may be formed of “resin” [0070, 0082]) such that the first layer (60e) has light shielding property (60/60e may or may not be formed of light blocking/shielding material [0045] across different embodiments [0067, 0100, 0119]).
However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose the second layer (35) comprising a light transmissive resin (light transmission properties of resin layer 35 [0070, 0082] not explicitly disclosed).
Shibayama teaches a semiconductor imaging device (10) fig. 4 [0067] comprising the second layer (represented by 161) fig. 4 [0077] comprising a light transmissive resin (light transmissive resin portion 161 may be formed of a transparent resin [0077] such as epoxy resin [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the materials of the resin layer(s) [0077] in the imaging device [0068] of Iguchi to be formed of a transparent resin material [0077] such as epoxy resin [0077] having the relative refractive index values specified by Shibayama [0077-0078] in order to ensure that it is formed of the appropriate, art recognized materials [0077] having favorable refractive index properties [0074, 0077] to modulate light transmission [0080] with adjacent layers so as to prevent undesirable light reflection [0016-0017, 0080], as taught by Shibayama.
Regarding claim 18, Iguchi in view of Shibayama teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 17. Iguchi also teaches wherein the barrier layer (comprising 60e with 35 and further comprising 36) fig. 9 [0081, 0071, 0076, fig. 9 legend] includes a third layer (36) formed on the second layer (35) and having light shielding property (36 may be formed of a highly reflective / light shielding metal [0070]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0005583A1), as applied in claim 10 above, in view of Cho (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0352243A1).
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi teaches the display device (200e) fig. 9 [0077] of claim 10. However, Iguchi does not explicitly disclose also teaches wherein at least the portion of the plurality of filler layers (31, 32, and 33 with respective 51’s and 52’s) fig. 9 [0081, 0035, fig. 9 legend] includes a colored layer interposed between the wavelength conversion layer (33) fig. 9 [0080-0081] and the lenses (40) fig. 9 [0082] (“colored” layer not explicitly disclosed).
Cho teaches a display device (10) fig. 5 [0081] wherein at least the portion of the plurality of filler layers (comprising WCL with CF1-3) fig. 5 [0083] includes a colored layer (CF1/CF2/CF3) fig. 5 [0083] (color filters CF implied to include a “colorant” [0192, 0195], such as dye or pigment [0192, 0195], across embodiments) interposed (vertically) between the wavelength conversion layer (respective, underlying WCL’s) [0083] and the lenses (respective, overlying ELP1-3) fig. 5 [0083, 0141, 0152].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display device of Iguchi to include color filters comprising colorants [0083, 0192, 0195] interposed between the wavelength conversion layer(s) [0083] and lens structures [0083, 0141, 0152] in order to enhance the selective filtration/control [0126] of particular colors/wavelengths of light [0126] output by the wavelength conversion layers [0083, 0129-0130] and sent through the lenses [0083, 0141, 0152], as taught by Cho.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature visual devices with barrier layers defining through holes - and light emitting elements and/or color filters.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 11/05/2026