DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210191552 A1 Bok et al hereafter Bok.
Claim 1 Bok teaches A display device, comprising:
a stretchable lower substrate (100 fig. 80 and 78, embodiments of stretchable materials are disclosed with sufficient specificity paragraph 0609 examples including “polydimethylsiloxane” and/or “rubber”);
a plurality of plate patterns (100I fig. 80 and fig. 78) disposed on the stretchable lower substrate and spaced apart from one another [sufficiently illustrated fig. 78];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (pixel groups PG of 100I fig. 78 comprising OLED’ of 100I fig. 80) disposed on the plurality of plate patterns;
a plurality of stretchable connection lines (connection units 100C comprising wires W fig. 80, “stretchable” is met under MPEP 2112.01 wires W are disclosed with sufficient specificity as materially and/or structurally the same as what is disclosed in the instant application, paragraph 0782 “the wires W above the step compensation layer 105 may include the same or similar material as that included in the gate electrode G2 of the auxiliary thin-film transistor TFT′”, paragraph 0375 “The first and second gate electrodes G1 and G2 may include molybdenum (Mo), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), or titanium (Ti), and may each be a single layer or multiple layers” ) disposed between the plurality of plate patterns;
a first encapsulation layer (TFEL of 100I fig. 80) configured to cover the plurality of light-emitting elements [sufficiently illustrated fig. 80 in view of fig. 78]; and
a second encapsulation layer (comprising at least 133, 131, 119, and 117 of 100C fig. 80) configured to cover the plurality of stretchable connection lines [sufficiently illustrated fig. 80 in view of fig. 78].
Examiners interpretation: For claim 2 in view of paragraph 0142 of the instant application “The first encapsulation layer EC1 and the second encapsulation layer EC2 are formed by different processes and made of different materials, such that the first encapsulation layer EC1 and the second encapsulation layer EC2 may not be connected to each other” under broadest reasonable interpretation the meaning of the term “different materials” to include but not be limited to “separate and/or individual an/or respective materials” wherein different “2) as in separate, is synonymous with; separate, respective, individual, distinct” [Meriam-webster Thesaurus].
Claim 2 Bok teaches as shown above the display device of claim 1, the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer are made of different materials [met under broadest reasonable interpretation view of paragraph 606 “the organic encapsulation layer 132 may be integrally provided to cover or overlap the main display area MDA and the component area CA, but may not exist in the transmission area TA” and fig. 80 wherein the material TFEL of 100C appears to be difference and/or separation in material position, the material of 133 and 131 of 100C is separated by the transmission area TA and/or MPEP 2112.01 wherein the structural feature of “different material”. Alternatively, there is a material difference in layering structure from the manufacturing process, the material TFEL of 100I includes material layer 132 of 100I wherein the encapsulation layer comprising 133 and 131 of 100C does not include a material layer 132, If these do not align with the applicants intended meaning of different the examiner recommends clarifying the means and/or manner the materials are different within the langue of the claims].
Claim 3 Bok teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the second encapsulation layer includes a polyimide layer (119 fig. 80 disclosed with sufficient specificity paragraph 0391 “polyimide”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok as applied to the claims above, and further in view of US 20200339774 A1 Park et al hereafter “Park”.
Claim 4 Bok teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
Bok does not teach a fluorine-based residual film disposed on the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer.
Park teaches a display device comprising a fluorine-based residual film (256 fig. 4 in view of 250 fig. 3) as the topmost layer of the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bok in view of Park such that “a fluorine-based residual film disposed on the first encapsulation layer and the second encapsulation layer”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent contamination of the underlying layers due to fingerprints and/or other oil-containing compositions [Paragraph 0081 Park].
Claims 5-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok as applied to the claims above, and further in view of US 20230263032 A1 Lee et al hereafter “Lee”.
Claim 5 Bok teaches as shown above the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light-emitting elements comprises:
an anode electrode (121 fig. 80);
a light-emitting layer (122 fig. 80) disposed on the anode electrode; and
a cathode electrode (123 illustrated fig. 80, sufficiently labeled fig. 62) disposed on the light-emitting layer, and
wherein the first encapsulation layer comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer (131 fig. 80) disposed on the cathode electrode;
a first organic encapsulation layer (132 fig. 80) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer (133 fig. 80) disposed on the first organic encapsulation layer;
Bok does not teach a second organic encapsulation layer disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and
a third inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the second organic encapsulation layer.
Lee teaches a display device comprising an encapsulation layer (310 and 330 fig. 18C) that comprises:
a first inorganic encapsulation layer (the first 311 from the bottom fig. 18C);
a first organic encapsulation layer (the first 312 from the bottom fig. 18C) disposed on the first inorganic encapsulation layer;
a second inorganic encapsulation layer (the second 311 from the bottom fig. 18C) disposed on the first organic encapsulation layer;
a second organic encapsulation layer (the second 312 from the bottom fig. 18C) disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and
a third inorganic encapsulation layer (the first 331 from the bottom fig. 18C) disposed on the second organic encapsulation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bok in view of Lee such that “a second organic encapsulation layer disposed on the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and a third inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the second organic encapsulation layer”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent and/or minimize cracking caused by bending stress and/or achieve a desired elastic coefficient of the encapsulation layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0146 Lee].
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case Combining encapsulation layers for the purpose of protecting the underlying layers.
Claim 6 Bok in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 5, wherein the second encapsulation layer comprises:
a first line encapsulation layer (comprising 119 and 117 fig. 80) configured to adjoin each of the plurality of stretchable connection lines [sufficiently illustrated as adjoining W fig. 80];
a fourth line encapsulation layer (131 fig. 80) disposed on the third line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the first inorganic encapsulation layer, and made of a same material as the first inorganic encapsulation layer [disclosed with sufficient specificity as having the same material substance paraph 0603 layers 131 comprise “one inorganic insulating material such as silicon oxide (SiO.sub.2), silicon nitride (SiNx), silicon oxynitride (SiON), aluminum oxide (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), titanium oxide (TiO.sub.2), tantalum oxide (Ta.sub.2O.sub.5), hafnium oxide (HfO.sub.2), or zinc oxide (ZnO.sub.2)” in view of fig. 80];
a fifth line encapsulation layer (133 fig. 80) disposed on the fourth line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and made of a same material as the second inorganic encapsulation layer; and
Bok in view of Lee does not explicitly teach a sixth line encapsulation layer disposed on the fifth line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the third inorganic encapsulation layer, and made of a same material as the third inorganic encapsulation layer; Nor teach in the embodiment of fig. 80 a second line encapsulation layer disposed on the first line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the light-emitting layer, and made of a same material as the light-emitting layer; a third line encapsulation layer disposed on the second line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the cathode electrode, and made of a same material as the cathode electrode;
However Bok does teach and alternative embodiment wherein 122 and 123 continuously extends to correspond to a transmission area TA and is disposed on part of the first line encapsulation layer comprising 119 [illustrated fig. 27C and disclosed paragraph 0478].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Bok in view of Lee such that “a second line encapsulation layer disposed on the first line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the light-emitting layer, and made of a same material as the light-emitting layer; a third line encapsulation layer disposed on the second line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the cathode electrode, and made of a same material as the cathode electrode”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to necessarily connect adjacent pixel cathodes and light emitting layers across the transmission areas and the connection lines.
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case they are disclosed as known alternative embodiments of the same display screen in the same application.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate the structure of inorganic encapsulation layer 131 and/or 132 of Bok in view of Lee such that there is “a sixth line encapsulation layer disposed on the fifth line encapsulation layer, disposed on a same layer as the third inorganic encapsulation layer, and made of a same material as the third inorganic encapsulation layer”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent and/or minimize cracking caused by bending stress and/or achieve a desired elastic coefficient of the encapsulation layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0146 Lee].
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case Combining encapsulation layers for the purpose of protecting the underlying layers.
Claim 7 Bok in view of Lee teaches as shown above the display device of claim 6, wherein the light-emitting layer, the cathode electrode, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are connected to the second line encapsulation layer, the third line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively [necessarily met in view modification met above and fig. 27C and fig. 80 of Bok and in further view of Lee].
Claim 8 Bok in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein at least some of the light-emitting layer, the cathode electrode, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are connected to the second line encapsulation layer, the third line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively [necessarily met in view modification met above and fig. 27C and fig. 80 of Bok and in further view of Lee], and
Bok in view of Lee does not explicitly teach in the embodiment of fig. 27C wherein at least some of the light-emitting layer, the cathode electrode, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are separated from the second line encapsulation layer, the third line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively.
However, Bok does provide an alternative embodiment (fig. 27D) wherein at least the cathode is separated across the Transmission Area (123) and emission layer (122) is continuous.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to necessarily connect adjacent light emitting layers across the transmission areas and the connection lines but not the cathode layers.
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case they are disclosed as known alternative embodiments of the same display screen in the same application.
Claim 9 Bok in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the light-emitting layer, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are connected to the second line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively, and
wherein the cathode electrode is separated from the third line encapsulation layer [necessarily met in view of the modification as shown in claim 8].
Claim 10 Bok in view of Lee teaches as shown above The display device of claim 6, Bok in view of Lee does not explicitly teach as modified above wherein the light-emitting layer, the cathode electrode, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are separated from the second line encapsulation layer, the third line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively.
However Bok in view of Lee fig. 27A and 27B teaches an alternative embodiment to fig 27C wherein the light-emitting layer, the cathode electrode, the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are separated from the second line encapsulation layer, the third line encapsulation layer, the fourth line encapsulation layer, the fifth line encapsulation layer, and the sixth line encapsulation layer, respectively.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to necessarily not connect adjacent light emitting layers and cathode layers across the transmission areas.
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case they are disclosed as known alternative embodiments of the same display screen in the same application.
Claim 11 Bok in view of Lee teach the display device of claim 6, wherein the second encapsulation layer further comprises:
Bok in view of Lee does not teach a seventh line encapsulation layer disposed between the fourth line encapsulation layer and the fifth line encapsulation layer, disposed on the same layer as the first organic encapsulation layer, and made of the same material as the first organic encapsulation layer; and
an eighth line encapsulation layer disposed between the fifth line encapsulation layer and the sixth line encapsulation layer, disposed on the same layer as the second organic encapsulation layer, and made of the same material as the second organic encapsulation layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the first and second organic encapsulation layers of Lee in view of Bok such that “a seventh line encapsulation layer disposed between the fourth line encapsulation layer and the fifth line encapsulation layer, disposed on the same layer as the first organic encapsulation layer, and made of the same material as the first organic encapsulation layer; and a eighth line encapsulation layer disposed between the fifth line encapsulation layer and the sixth line encapsulation layer, disposed on the same layer as the second organic encapsulation layer, and made of the same material as the second organic encapsulation layer”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent and/or minimize cracking caused by bending stress and/or achieve a desired elastic coefficient of the encapsulation layer [sufficiently disclosed paragraph 0146 Lee]
In addition, duplication of parts is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.04 VI B.]
Claim 12 Bok in view of Lee teach the display device of claim 11, wherein the seventh line encapsulation layer and the eighth line encapsulation layer are disposed to overlap an area, in which the plurality of stretchable connection lines is disposed, and spaced apart from the first organic encapsulation layer and the second organic encapsulation layer [necessarily met in view of the modification as shown above].
Claim 14 Bok in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 5, further comprising:
a conductive layer (CE2 and/or S2 fig. 80) disposed between the plurality of plate patterns and the plurality of light-emitting elements
Bok in view of Lee does not explicitly teach in the embodiment of fig. 80 wherein the conductive layer extends toward an area between the plurality of plate patterns and is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines, and
wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are disposed to cover the conductive layer.
However Bok does teach in an alternative embodiment of fig. 35 the conductive layer (comprising SL (which corresponds to CE2 disclosed paragraph 0465) and/or DL (which corresponds to S2 disclosed paragraph 0309))extends toward an area between the plurality of plate patterns and is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines (DBL and/or SBL which corresponds to Wires W)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Bok fig. 80 in view of Lee in further view of Bok fig. 35 such that “wherein the conductive layer extends toward an area between the plurality of plate patterns and is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to bridge the connections across the Transmission area [Sufficiently disclosed in “Bridge lines” paragraph 0521 Bok].
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. In this case connection lines for the purpose of bridging and/or connecting and/or power adjacent pixels across the transmission area.
In view of the modification above the first inorganic encapsulation layer, the second inorganic encapsulation layer, and the third inorganic encapsulation layer are disposed to cover the conductive layer is necessarily met as fig. 80 illustrates the encapsulation layers covering the connection lines W.
Claim 15 Bok in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 14,
Bok in view of Lee does not explicitly teach in the embodiment of fig. 80 the stretchable lower substrate comprises:
a first lower substrate made of polyimide;
a second lower substrate disposed on the first lower substrate and made of an inorganic material; and
a third lower substrate disposed on the second lower substrate and made of polyimide,
wherein the plurality of stretchable connection lines is disposed between the first lower substrate and the third lower substrate, and
wherein the conductive layer is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines through a contact hole of the third lower substrate.
Bok in view of Lee however teaches an alternative embodiment in fig. 34 and 35
a first lower substrate (101 fig. 34, illustrated not labeled fig. 35) made of polyimide [disclosed paragraph 0470 Each of the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include polymer resin as described above in view of paragraph 0236 “polymer resin such as…polyimide”];
a second lower substrate (“first inorganic barrier layer”102 fig. 34) disposed on the first lower substrate and made of an inorganic material; and
a third lower substrate (103 fig. 34) disposed on the second lower substrate and made of polyimide [disclosed paragraph 0470 Each of the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include polymer resin as described above in view of paragraph 0236 “polymer resin such as…polyimide”],
wherein the plurality of stretchable connection lines (Wires W includes TL2 fig. 34) is disposed between the first lower substrate and the third lower substrate [met under broadest reasonable interpretation at least a portion of the plurality of stretchable connection lines is disposed between the first lower substrate and the third lower substrate], and
conductive layer is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines through a contact hole (CNTB fig. 35) of the third lower substrate [met under broadest reasonable interpretation as at least a portion of the conductive layer is connected to a portion of the plurality of stretchable connection lines by a portion of the contact hole CNTB through at least the third lower substrate, illustrated fig. 35].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of fig. 80 Bok in view of Lee in further view of the embodiments of fig. 35 and 34 such that “the stretchable lower substrate comprises: a first lower substrate made of polyimide; a second lower substrate disposed on the first lower substrate and made of an inorganic material; and a third lower substrate disposed on the second lower substrate and made of polyimide, wherein the plurality of stretchable connection lines is disposed between the first lower substrate and the third lower substrate, and wherein the conductive layer is connected to the plurality of stretchable connection lines through a contact hole of the third lower substrate”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to as such a multi-layer structure may prevent the permeation of external impurities [disclosed paragraph 0470 Bok].
In addition, combining equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie type obviousness [See MPEP 2144.06]. in this case it is substrates of a flexible display device for the purpose of preventing permeation of external impurities.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok in view of Lee as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Park.
Claim 13 Bok in view of Lee teaches as show above the display device of claim 6, further comprising:
Bok in view of Lee does not teach a fluorine-based residual film disposed between the anode electrode and the light-emitting layer and between the first line encapsulation layer and the second line encapsulation layer.
Park teaches a display device comprising a fluorine-based residual film (256 fig. 4 in view of 250 fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bok in view of Park such that “a fluorine-based residual film disposed between the anode electrode and the light-emitting layer and between the first line encapsulation layer and the second line encapsulation layer”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent contamination of the underlying layers due to fingerprints and/or other oil-containing compositions [Paragraph 0081 Park].
Conclusion
/WCT/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893