DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/907,914 filed on October 7, 2024 in which claims 1 to 14 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on October 7, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS), filed on October 7, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of paper submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) which has been placed of record in the file.
Notation
References to patents will be in the form of [C:L] where C is the column number and L is the line number. References to pre-grant patent publications will be to the paragraph number in the form of [xxxx].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S 2025/0234752 (Hou).
Regarding claim 1 and referring to annotated Figures 4 and 25, Hou discloses a display device, comprising:
a cover window, 33 [0264];
a display panel, 10 [0261], that includes an active area, A2 [0135] / 101 [0140], below the cover window, as shown, and including a plurality of pixels, P [00102, 144] see also Figures 7A and 7B, disposed therein, a first non-active area, B [0095] and as annotated, that encloses the active area, as shown and a bending area, 102 [0104], that extends from one side of the first non-active area and is configured to be bent, as shown;
a housing, 41/42 [0284], that encloses a side surface of the cover window, as shown and described at [0286], the housing spaced apart from the display panel, as shown, and extends to a bottom of the display panel, as show; and
a molding member, 52 [0327-329], in a space in which the housing and the display panel are spaced apart from each other, as annotated and shown, the molding member below the cover window, as shown, wherein the molding member covers a side surface of the display panel, as annotated and shown, and the housing includes a groove, 422 [0357], on an inner surface which is opposite to the molding member, as shown.
Regarding claim 12 which depends upon claim 1, Hou teaches the molding member is filled in the groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou.
Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, Hou suggests a part of the inner surface of the housing is bonded to the molding member, i.e. there is no gap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3 the prior art does not teach the device of claim 1, wherein the housing includes: a first part that extends downwardly from a side surface of the cover window; and a second part that extends inwardly from an end portion of the first part, and the groove is in each of the first part and the second part.
Claim 4 depends upon claim 3 and is allowable on that basis.
Regarding claim 5 the prior art does not teach the device of claim 1, further comprising: a sensor on an inner surface of the groove, the sensor opposite to the molding member.
Claims 6-10 depend directly or indirectly on claim 5 and are allowable on that basis.
Regarding claim 11 the prior art does not teach the device of claim 1, wherein in the groove, the molding member and the housing are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 13 the prior art does not teach the device of claim 1, further comprising: a housing adhesive layer on an inner surface of the housing and bonds between the cover window and the molding member and the housing.
Regarding claim 14 the prior art does not teach the device of claim 1, further comprising: a back plate below the display panel; and a metal plate below the back plate, wherein the molding member encloses a side surface of the display panel, a side surface of the back plate, a side surface of the metal plate, and a part of a bottom surface of the metal plate.
Conclusion
/J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893