DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 9/8/2026 wherein claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the temperature measurement rake, such” (Claim 8, line 21) is believed to be in error for - - the temperature measurement rake array, such - -; and
“the first circumferential array” (Claim 8, line 23) is believed to be in error for - - the burner assembly array - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the temperature measurement rake" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the first circumferential array" in line 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203) and Agrawal (US 9,933,313).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Inoue teaches (Figures 1-6C) a gas turbine engine (see abstract; Column 1, lines 9-11; and Figure 6A), the gas turbine engine (see Figure 6A) comprising, in axial flow sequence, a compressor assembly (the rotor assembly upstream of combustor 10; see Figure 6A), a combustor assembly (10), a turbine assembly (38), and an exhaust assembly (downstream of 38; see Figures 1 and 6A), the combustor assembly (10) comprising a burner assembly array of burner assemblies (34) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figures 6A-6C),
the turbine assembly comprising (38), in axial flow sequence, a nozzle guide vane array of nozzle guide vanes arranged in a circumferential direction (annotated below), an outlet guide vane array of outlet guide vanes arranged in a circumferential direction (annotated below), and a temperature measurement rake array of temperature measurement rakes arranged in a circumferential direction (36; see Figures 6A-6C),
a clocking position (see Figures 6A-6C) being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15) with the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figures 6A-6C), in which one temperature measurement rake (36) in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figure 6C) is aligned directly with one burner assembly (34, within 15) in the burner assembly array (see Figures 6A-6C), and
wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (34) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (36) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36, see Figure 6C), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the temperature measurement rake array and the burner assembly array (there are eight clocking positions due to the presence of eight burners and eight temperature measurement devices that are distributed at different circumferential locations about a longitudinal axis of the engine; see Figures 6A-6C).
Inoue does not teach that the temperature rake comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors or that the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes being less than the quantity of the burner assemblies.
Napoli teaches (Figures 1-10) a temperature rake (300) comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors (331, 332, 333; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue to have the temperature rake comprise a plurality of temperature measurement sensors, as taught by Napoli, in order to accurately measure the temperature of the exhaust gas with an outboard peaked temperature profile (Column 6, lines 40-42 of Napoli). Inoue in view of Napoli does not teach that the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes is less than the quantity of the burner assemblies.
Agrawal teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (110) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 110; see Figures 2-4), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (320a-g) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (see Figure 4), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions (due to the circumferential locations of the burner assemblies and temperature measurement rakes; see Figure 4) between the temperature measurement rake array (320a-g) and the burner assembly array (110), the quantity (seven; see Figure 4) of the temperature measurement rakes (3120a-g) being less than the quantity (sixteen; see Figure 4) of the burner assemblies (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli to have the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes is less than the quantity of the burner assemblies, as taught by Agrawal, in order to place the sensors at distributed relative positions on a waveform such that the averaged sensed value of the sensors is a truer average value than can be achieved by distributing the sensors evenly (Column 6, lines 56-65 of Agrawal). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 3, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue further teaches (Figures 1-6C) wherein each temperature measurement sensor (36) is positioned immediately downstream of (see Figure 6C) a corresponding one of the outlet guide vanes (annotated above).
Regarding Claim 6, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach wherein the gas turbine engine further comprises a fan assembly, the fan assembly being positioned axially upstream of the compressor assembly.
Napoli teaches (Figures 1-10) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1) that comprises a fan assembly (112), the fan assembly (112) being positioned axially upstream of (see Figure 1) a compressor assembly (113, 114).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have the gas turbine engine further comprises a fan assembly, the fan assembly being positioned axially upstream of the compressor assembly, as taught by Napoli, in order to use the extracted additional energy from the exhaust gas to drive a fan (Column 4, lines 47-52 of Napoli).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Inoue teaches (Figures 1-6C) a method for determining clocking positions (see Figures 6A-6C) for a combustor (10) and turbine (38) of a gas turbine engine (see abstract; Column 1, lines 9-11; and Figure 6A), the method comprising the steps of:
providing, in axial flow sequence, a compressor assembly (the rotor assembly upstream of combustor 10; see Figure 6A), a combustor assembly (10), a turbine assembly (38), and an exhaust assembly (downstream of 38; see Figures 1 and 6A),
arranging the combustor assembly (10) to comprise a burner assembly array of burner assemblies (34) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figures 6A-6C),
arranging the turbine assembly (38) to comprise, in axial flow sequence, a nozzle guide vane array of nozzle guide vanes arranged in the circumferential direction (annotated above), an outlet guide vane array of outlet guide vanes in the circumferential direction (annotated above), and a temperature measurement rake array of temperature measurement rakes arranged in the circumferential direction (36),
defining a clocking position (see Figures 6A-6C) as a relative circumferential orientation of the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15) with the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figures 6A-6C), in which one temperature measurement rake (36) in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figure 6C), is aligned directly with one burner assembly (34, within 15) in the burner assembly array (see Figures 6A-6C), and
positioning a quantity of burner assemblies (34) in the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (36) in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figure 6C), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the temperature measurement rake array and the first circumferential array (there are eight clocking positions due to the presence of eight burners and eight temperature measurement devices that are distributed at different circumferential locations about a longitudinal axis of the engine; see Figures 6A-6C).
Inoue does not teach that the temperature rake comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors or that the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes being less than the quantity of the burner assemblies.
Napoli teaches (Figures 1-10) a temperature rake (300) comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors (331, 332, 333; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue to have the temperature rake comprise a plurality of temperature measurement sensors, as taught by Napoli, in order to accurately measure the temperature of the exhaust gas with an outboard peaked temperature profile (Column 6, lines 40-42 of Napoli). Inoue in view of Napoli does not teach that the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes is less than the quantity of the burner assemblies.
Agrawal teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (110) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 110; see Figures 2-4), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (320a-g) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (see Figure 4), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions (due to the circumferential locations of the burner assemblies and temperature measurement rakes; see Figure 4) between the temperature measurement rake array (320a-g) and the burner assembly array (110), the quantity (seven; see Figure 4) of the temperature measurement rakes (3120a-g) being less than the quantity (sixteen; see Figure 4) of the burner assemblies (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli to have the quantity of the temperature measurement rakes is less than the quantity of the burner assemblies, as taught by Agrawal, in order to place the sensors at distributed relative positions on a waveform such that the averaged sensed value of the sensors is a truer average value than can be achieved by distributing the sensors evenly (Column 6, lines 56-65 of Agrawal). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203) and Agrawal (US 9,933,313) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of either Subramanian (US 2005/0198967) or Li et al. (US 2023/0366553).
Regarding Claim 2, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein each temperature measurement sensor is positioned within a corresponding one of the outlet guide vanes.
Subramanian teaches (Figures 1-12) that sensors (50) may be positioned within a corresponding one of a plurality of turbine outlet vanes (22; see Figures 1 and 5) and Li teaches (Figures 1-9) that temperature measurement devices (60) may be positioned on a corresponding one of the outlet guide vanes (49, at the outlet of turbines 17 and 42; see Paragraph 0080 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have each temperature measurement sensor is positioned within a corresponding one of the outlet guide vanes, as taught by either Subramanian or Li, in order to allow for monitoring the condition of the turbine components during operation of the combustion turbine without an extensive array of wires to be routed within the combustion turbine (Paragraph 0050 of Subramanian) and in order to measure the turbine gas temperature (Paragraph 0072 of Li).
Regarding Claim 4, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Napoli teaches (Figures 1-10) that the temperature measurement rake (300) comprises a circumferential array of temperature sensors (331, 332, 333; see Figure 3).
Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein a temperature measurement sensor is positioned circumferentially coincident each one of the outlet guide vanes.
Subramanian teaches (Figures 1-12) that sensors (50) may be positioned circumferentially coincident with each one of a plurality of turbine outlet vanes (22; see Figures 1 and 5) and Li teaches (Figures 1-9) that temperature measurement devices (60) may be positioned circumferentially coincidcent each one of the outlet guide vanes (49, at the outlet of turbines 17 and 42; see Paragraph 0080 and Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have the temperature measurement sensor be positioned circumferentially coincident each one of the outlet guide vanes, as taught by either Subramanian or Li, in order to allow for monitoring the condition of the turbine components during operation of the combustion turbine without an extensive array of wires to be routed within the combustion turbine (Paragraph 0050 of Subramanian) and in order to measure the turbine gas temperature (Paragraph 0072 of Li).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203) and Agrawal (US 9,933,313) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ponziani (US 7,784,263).
Regarding Claim 5, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the quantity of temperature measurement sensors is less than the quantity of outlet guide vanes.
Ponziani teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the quantity of temperature measurement sensors (40, eight sensors shown in Figure 2) is less than the quantity of outlet guide vanes (34, fourteen shown in Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have the quantity of temperature measurement sensors be less than the quantity of outlet guide vanes, as taught by Ponziani, in order to decrease cost and sensor system complexity, reduce the failure rate of sensors and avoid measurement error (Column 1, lines 45-52 of Ponziani).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203) and Agrawal (US 9,933,313) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taylor (4,860,537).
Regarding Claim 7, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the fan assembly has two or more stages, at least one of the fan stages comprising a plurality of fan blades defining the fan diameter.
Taylor teaches (Figures 1-2B) a fan assembly (54) having two or more stages (at 60 and 62), at least one of the fan stages (at 60) comprising a plurality of fan blades (60) defining a fan diameter (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to provide the fan assembly with two or more stages, at least one of the fan stages comprising a plurality of fan blades defining the fan diameter, as taught by Taylor, in order to remove the swirl or circumferential component of air imparted by the counter rotating fan blade row so that only a relatively small number of struts are required to support the cowl (Column 4, lines 8-17 of Taylor).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203) and Agrawal (US 9,933,313) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tardif et al. (US 2016/0177835).
Regarding Claim 9, Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the nozzle guide vane array is less than a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the temperature measurement array.
As discussed above, Agrawal teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (110) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 110; see Figures 2-4), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (320a-g) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (see Figure 4), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions (due to the circumferential locations of the burner assemblies and temperature measurement rakes; see Figure 4) between the temperature measurement rake array (320a-g) and the burner assembly array (110).
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a quantity of clocking positions (see the arrangement in Figure 5) between the burner assembly array (86’; see Figure 5) and the nozzle guide vane array (100’; see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have wherein a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the nozzle guide vane array is less than a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the temperature measurement array, as taught by Agrawal and Tardif, in order to have an effect on the strength of the aerodynamic pulse pattern exiting the combustor downstream of the NGVs (Paragraph 0024 of Tardif) and to place the sensors at distributed relative positions on a waveform such that the averaged sensed value of the sensors is a truer average value than can be achieved by distributing the sensors evenly (Column 6, lines 56-65 of Agrawal). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 5,461,855) in view of Napoli et al. (US 5,106,203), Agrawal (US 9,933,313), and Tardif et al. (US 2016/0177835).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Inoue teaches (Figures 1-6C) a gas turbine engine (see abstract; Column 1, lines 9-11; and Figure 6A), the gas turbine engine (see Figure 6A) comprising, in axial flow sequence, a compressor assembly (the rotor assembly upstream of combustor 10; see Figure 6A), a combustor assembly (10), a turbine assembly (38), and an exhaust assembly (downstream of 38; see Figures 1 and 6A), the combustor assembly (10) comprising a burner assembly array of burner assemblies (34) arranged in a circumferential direction (see Figures 6A-6C),
the turbine assembly comprising (38), in axial flow sequence, a nozzle guide vane array of nozzle guide vanes arranged in a circumferential direction (annotated below), an outlet guide vane array of outlet guide vanes arranged in a circumferential direction (annotated below), and a temperature measurement rake array of temperature measurement rakes arranged in a circumferential direction (36; see Figures 6A-6C),
a clocking position (see Figures 6A-6C) being defined by a relative circumferential orientation of the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15) with the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figures 6A-6C), in which one temperature measurement rake (36) in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36; see Figure 6C) is aligned directly with one burner assembly (34, within 15) in the burner assembly array (see Figures 6A-6C), and
wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (34) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 34, within 15), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (36) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (the array of 36, see Figure 6C), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions between the temperature measurement rake array and the burner assembly array (there are eight clocking positions due to the presence of eight burners and eight temperature measurement devices that are distributed at different circumferential locations about a longitudinal axis of the engine; see Figures 6A-6C).
Inoue does not teach that the temperature rake comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors or a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the nozzle guide vane array is less than a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the temperature measurement rake array.
Napoli teaches (Figures 1-10) a temperature rake (300) comprises a plurality of temperature measurement sensors (331, 332, 333; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue to have the temperature rake comprise a plurality of temperature measurement sensors, as taught by Napoli, in order to accurately measure the temperature of the exhaust gas with an outboard peaked temperature profile (Column 6, lines 40-42 of Napoli). Inoue in view of Napoli does not teach that the quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the nozzle guide vane array is less than a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the temperature measurement rake array.
Agrawal teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein, a quantity of the burner assemblies (110) are positioned in the burner assembly array (the array of 110; see Figures 2-4), and a quantity of the temperature measurement rakes (320a-g) are positioned in the temperature measurement rake array (see Figure 4), such that there is a minimum quantity of five clocking positions (due to the circumferential locations of the burner assemblies and temperature measurement rakes; see Figure 4) between the temperature measurement rake array (320a-g) and the burner assembly array (110).
Tardif teaches (Figures 1-7) a quantity of clocking positions (see the arrangement in Figure 5) between the burner assembly array (86’; see Figure 5) and the nozzle guide vane array (100’; see Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Inoue in view of Napoli and Agrawal to have wherein a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the nozzle guide vane array is less than a quantity of clocking positions between the burner assembly array and the temperature measurement array, as taught by Agrawal and Tardif, in order to have an effect on the strength of the aerodynamic pulse pattern exiting the combustor downstream of the NGVs (Paragraph 0024 of Tardif) and to place the sensors at distributed relative positions on a waveform such that the averaged sensed value of the sensors is a truer average value than can be achieved by distributing the sensors evenly (Column 6, lines 56-65 of Agrawal). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments are addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741