Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 06/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12/22/2025. The previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-31 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-13, 15, 21, 23-24, 26, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sodot et al. (US20160313047A1, herein after referred to as Sodot).
Regarding claim 1, Sodot teaches a coffee maker (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (corresponds to the combination of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of at least a portion of the one or more volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18) to provide a cold storage reservoir (paragraph [0043]), the thermally conductive body including a passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) within which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows within the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 8, Sodot teaches a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (corresponds to the combination of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0036]) to provide a cold storage reservoir(paragraph [0043]) , the thermally conductive body including a flowpath (conduit 20 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12) and via which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the one volume of phase change material configured to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the flowpath (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, Sodot teaches in combination with a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (corresponds to the combination of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of at least a portion of the one or more volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18), the thermally conductive body including a passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) along which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows along the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 21 and 23, Sodot teaches wherein the cooling unit is configured to direct the chilled beverage to a drinkware container (disclosed “cup” in paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Sodot teaches wherein the one or more thermoelectric modules is a plurality of separate thermoelectric modules (Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 29-31, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body defines the passageway/flowpath (Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057] where it is disclosed that a majority of a length of conduit 20 is integrated within thermally-conductive block 102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches wherein the passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 14) comprises an inclined surface (bottom portion of conduit 20 Fig. 14) to provide filtering (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide filtering.
Regarding claim 19, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claim 20, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Jones (US20170234610A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath”.
However, Jones teaches wherein the flowpath (body 30 Fig. 3 which corresponds to the flowpath of Sodot) comprises an inclined surface (upper surface 40 Fig. 3) between a proximal end (leading edge 96 Fig. 3) and a distal end (trailing edge 100 Fig. 3) of the flowpath to control the cooling time of the beverage (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath” in view of the teachings of Jones to control the cooling time of the beverage.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Godbole et al. (WO2015148346A1, herein after referred to as Godbole).
Regarding claims 27-28, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body”.
However, Godbole teaches wherein one or more volumes of phase change material (disclosed “phase change material 200” in paragraph [0156] corresponds to the one or more volumes of phase change material of Sodot) disposed in one or more cavities (cavities 680 Fig. 19) in a thermally conductive body (phase change material heat exchanger 650 Fig. 19 corresponds to the thermally conductive body of Sodot) are a plurality of volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0156]) disposed in a plurality of separate cavities (paragraph [0156] and Fig. 19) in the thermally conductive body to improve the heat transfer process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body” in view of the teachings of Godbole to improve the heat transfer process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-7 that Sodot does not disclose “the thermally conductive body including a passageway within which a beverage flows” as recited in claims 1 and 15, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, and as already stated above in the rejections of claims 1 and 15, Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (corresponds to the combination of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) including a passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) along which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]).
Therefore, Applicant arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-7 that Sodot does not disclose “the thermally conductive body including a flowpath” as recited in amended claim 8, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, and as already stated above in the rejection of claim 8, Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (corresponds to the combination of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) including a flowpath (conduit 20 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, Applicant arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763