DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2026 and 07/31/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 02/10/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 07/29/2026. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-28 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, the claims recite “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece” which renders the claims indefinite. The term “solid piece” is understood to refer to a body with a continuous mass of material with no internal space that could accommodate a substance such as a PCM. However, in paragraph [0042] of the specification, Applicant discloses “The cooling unit 150” can include a cold side heat sink 70” with a body 72” that optionally includes one or more volumes (e.g., a plurality of volumes) of phase change material (PCM) 74” via which the cold side heat sink 70” can function as a reservoir (e.g., cold storage reservoir)”. In other words, a hollow thermally conductive body. Thus, the disclosed structure of the thermally conductive body as a single monolithic solid piece is not supported by the specification or the drawings which renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 18-28 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-13, 15, 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot et al. (US20160313047A1, herein after referred to as Sodot).
Regarding claim 1, Sodot teaches a coffee maker (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of at least a portion of the one or more volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18) to provide a cold storage reservoir (paragraph [0043]), a passageway (combination of conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) within which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows within the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body extends from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the passageway (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body including the passageway, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the passageway”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 Fig.5) including a passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 5), the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece (Fig. 5) that defines the passageway (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body including the passageway, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the passageway” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sadot to provide a more compact unit.
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece” does anything more than produce the predictable result of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit. Since it has been held that “Making Integral” parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Sodot and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit.
Regarding claim 8, Sodot teaches a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0036]) to provide a cold storage reservoir(paragraph [0043]) , a flowpath (conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12) and via which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the one volume of phase change material configured to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the flowpath (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body extends from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the flowpath (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body including the flowpath, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the flowpath”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 Fig.5) including a flowpath (conduit 20 Fig. 5), the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece (Fig. 5) that defines the flowpath (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body including the flowpath, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the flowpath” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sadot to provide a more compact unit.
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece” does anything more than produce the predictable result of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit. Since it has been held that “Making Integral” parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Sodot and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit.
Regarding claim 15, Sodot teaches in combination with a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]) and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) configured to hold one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules operable to reduce a temperature (paragraph [0036]) of at least a portion of the one or more volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18), a passageway (conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]) along which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows along the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]), at least a portion of the thermally conductive body (left sidewall of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body being in direct contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12) and with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body extends from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the passageway (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body including the passageway, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the passageway”.
However, and due to indefiniteness, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 Fig.5) including a passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 5), the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece (Fig. 5) that defines the passageway (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body including the passageway, the thermally conductive body being a single solid piece that defines the passageway” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sadot to provide a more compact unit.
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the thermally conductive body being a single monolithic solid piece” does anything more than produce the predictable result of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit. Since it has been held that “Making Integral” parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Sodot and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of transferring heat between the one or more thermoelectric modules and the conduit.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches wherein the passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 14) comprises an inclined surface (bottom portion of conduit 20 Fig. 14) to provide filtering (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide filtering.
Regarding claim 19, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claim 20, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 21-23, Sodot teaches wherein the cooling unit is configured to direct the chilled beverage to a drinkware container (disclosed “cup” in paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claims 24-26, Sodot teaches wherein the one or more thermoelectric modules is a plurality of separate thermoelectric modules (Fig. 6).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Jones (US20170234610A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath”.
However, Jones teaches wherein the flowpath (body 30 Fig. 3 which corresponds to the flowpath of Sodot) comprises an inclined surface (upper surface 40 Fig. 3) between a proximal end (leading edge 96 Fig. 3) and a distal end (trailing edge 100 Fig. 3) of the flowpath to control the cooling time of the beverage (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath” in view of the teachings of Jones to control the cooling time of the beverage.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Godbole et al. (WO2015148346A1, herein after referred to as Godbole).
Regarding claims 27-28, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body”.
However, Godbole teaches wherein one or more volumes of phase change material (disclosed “phase change material 200” in paragraph [0156] corresponds to the one or more volumes of phase change material of Sodot) disposed in one or more cavities (cavities 680 Fig. 19) in a thermally conductive body (phase change material heat exchanger 650 Fig. 19 corresponds to the thermally conductive body of Sodot) are a plurality of volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0156]) disposed in a plurality of separate cavities (paragraph [0156] and Fig. 19) in the thermally conductive body to improve the heat transfer process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body” in view of the teachings of Godbole to improve the heat transfer process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 concerning the newly added disclosures for amended claims 1, 8, and 15, Applicant is directed to the above updated rejections of the claims.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-7 that Sodot teaches a conduit 20 that is separate from thermally conductive block 102, Examiner disagrees.
In paragraph [0057], Sodot explicitly discloses that “a majority of a length of conduit 20 from inlet 22 to outlet 24 is integrated within a thermally-conductive block 102”. In other words, conduit 20 and block 102 form a single integral piece.
Therefore, Applicant arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763