DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ Amendment, filed 12/24/2025, has been entered. Claims 25-30, 32-33, and 35-39 are pending with claims 1-24 being previously cancelled, claims 31 and 34 being currently cancelled, and claims 35-39 being currently added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26, 28, 33, 35, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aumann et al. (US 20020033281) in view of Havlick (US 2532716).
Regarding claim 25: Aumann discloses a core barrel head assembly (Fig. 1; title; abstr.). Aumann discloses a distal portion including an elongate tube body 14, 16, 106, 163 having an outer surface, an interior cavity, a proximal end, and a distal end (Figs 1, 2A; [0053], [0056]). Aumann discloses a valve body (body of 20, 22) having a distal end and a proximal end and that the valve body defines an interior cavity having an interior surface (Fig. 1 – the examiner finds that the valve body comprises the valve 20, 160 and the structure surrounding the chambers above and below the valve). Aumann discloses that the valve body defines a fluid passage and that the distal end of the valve body is configured to couple to a core tube that is configured to receive a core sample (Figs. 1, 2A). Aumann discloses a spindle 42 configured to allow an upper portion of the core barrel head assembly to rotate while the distal portion of the core barrel head assembly is rotationally stationary (Fig. 1; 0054]).
Aumann does not explicitly disclose at least one greaseless thrust bearing configured to rotationally engage the spindle. Havlick discloses at least one greaseless thrust bearing 17, 20 configured to rotationally engage the spindle (Fig. 1; col. 2, lines 49-60 – Havlick does not show grease fittings or discuss grease lubrication). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the assembly of Aumann so that at least one greaseless thrust bearing is configured to rotationally engage the spindle as taught by Havlick. As both Aumann and Havlick are directed to core barrel assemblies, as Aumann is silent regarding greaseless thrust bearings (but does not preclude the use of one), as greaseless thrust bearings are very well known in the art, and as Havlick teaches a specific kind of thrust bearing (greaseless), it would have been within routine skill to select a specific bearing assembly from a finite selection of bearing assembly configurations (i.e. greased or greaseless). Such an addition or substitution and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the valve body at least partially defines at least one opening for providing fluid communication between the fluid passage and the distal end of the valve body (Aumann - Figs. 1, 2A). Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the core barrel head assembly does not comprise a grease port (Aumann – Fig. 2D; [0089] – Aumann’s grease port is through the bearing housing; Havlick – Fig. 1 – no grease port).
Regarding claim 26: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the electronics compartment houses at least one of a battery or an electronic orientation instrument (Aumann - Figs. 1-2G; [0059], [0068]).
Regarding claim 28: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the electronics compartment defines the at least one opening for providing fluid communication between the fluid passage and the distal end of the valve body (Aumann - Figs. 1-2G).
Regarding claim 33: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the core barrel head assembly comprises thrust bearings (Aumann - [0062], [0066], [0093]; Havlick – Fig. 1) but does not explicitly limit the assembly to only have one greaseless thrust bearing and no additional thrust bearings in engagement with the spindle. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured the assembly of Aumann, as modified by Havlick, so that the core barrel head assembly comprises only a single greaseless thrust bearing and does not include additional thrust bearings in engagement with the spindle. As both Aumann and Havlick are directed to core barrel assemblies, as neither Aumann nor Havlick discuss the bearing support design and do not make any specific requirements regarding the number of bearings and as bearing design to support a particular load is very well known through the art, it would have been within routine skill to select a specific bearing design using a specific/preferred number of bearings from a finite selection of bearing assembly configurations (i.e. one bearing or several bearings; the desired/required number of bearings in a bearing design would be based on the load to be supported and the mechanical strength on the bearing). Such an addition or substitution and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 35: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses an electronics compartment (Aumann - 36, 38) having an outer surface (Aumann - Figs. 1-2G; [0054]). Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the electronics compartment is disposed within the interior cavity of the valve body (see above; Aumann - Figs. 1-2G – the examiner finds that the valve body comprises the valve 20 and the structure surrounding the chambers above and below the valve). Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the electronics compartment is attached to the valve body so that the interior surface of the interior cavity of the valve body and the outer surface of the electronics department define a fluid passage (Aumann - Figs. 1-2G).
Regarding claim 37: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the upper portion of the core barrel head assembly comprises a latch body (Aumann - Fig. 1; [0055]).
Regarding claim 38: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the at least one greaseless thrust bearing comprises at least one solid oil bearing (Aumann - [0093]).
Regarding claim 39: Aumann, as modified by Havlick, discloses that the at least one greaseless thrust bearing comprises a plurality of greaseless thrust bearings (Aumann - [0062], [0066], [0093]; Havlick – Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27, 29-30, 32, and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance.
Coring drill bits and thus coring heads, coring assemblies, and related structure are very well-known in the art. The art is replete with publications that disclose various coring tools. Some publications which appear to be most pertinent to the as-recited claims include Havlick (US 2532716), Aumann et al. (US 20020033281), Uhlenberg (US 20170306712), Drenth et al. (US 20150300162), Cooper et al. (US 3871487), Muntz et al. (US 20140174828), Drenth (US 20130105227), Xie et al. (US 20220213751), Schmidt et al. (US 20190284894), and Pray et al. (US 20180195359). This art, in various combinations, appears to generally describe certain claimed features such as a drill string, a coring drill bit, a core barrel, a valve body, and electronics compartment, batteries, orientation instruments and fluid passages among the electronics compartment and the valve structure. However, this art, alone or in combination, fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically recited limitation combination that includes specific positioning relationships of the electronics compartment and fluid passages along the respective inner and outer structures of the valve and the electronics compartment. The examiner finds that these specifically recited structures, their positional relationships, and when combined with and when taken as a whole provides for an apparatus that cannot be reasonably gleaned from the art without consulting the instant specification or lengthy experimentation. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, at the time that the invention was made, one having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it obvious to combine such features from the prior art without undue experimentation and/or hindsight reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments, filed 12/24/26, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 25-26, 28-31, and 33-34 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
Applicants’ arguments, directed to claims 25-26, 28, , 33, and 37-39 -31, 33-34 are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the reference combinations being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/12/2026