DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in responsive to communication(s): original application filed on 10/07/2024, said application claims a priority filing date of 10/07/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 13 and 18 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 13-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ghosh et al. (U.S. Publication 2025/0124022; hereinafter “Ghosh”).
In regard to independent claims 1, 13 and 18, Ghosh teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a conversational user interface ("CUI") of an artificial intelligence ("AI") user interface ("AI-UI") of an AI assistant, a user input, the AI-UI provided by a client application executed by a client device associated with a user (Ghosh, paragraph 0058-0059; “Note: LLM and ChatGPT implies conversional user interface);
determining, using an AI model, one or more components of a graphical user interface ("GUI"), based on the user input; dynamically generating, using the AI model, the GUI based on the determined one or more components; and presenting the GUI within the AI-UI (Ghosh, paragraph 0061, lines 1-5; “Note: in response to the user input (i.e. prompt), GUI is dynamically identified components generated and presented”).
In regard to dependent claims 2, 14 and 19 Ghosh teaches receiving, via the GUI, GUI user inputs comprising data responsive to at least a subset of the one or more components; and invoking an external service based on the data (Ghosh, figure 1; “Note: plurality of component is generated in response to user input”).
In regard to dependent claims 3, 15 and 20, Ghosh teaches receiving, via the CUI, a second user input; determining one or more additional components of the GUI; dynamically updating the GUI based on the one or more additional components of the GUI; and presenting the updated GUI within the AI-UI (Ghosh, figure 2; “Note: GUI is updated in response to additional user input”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al. (U.S. Publication 2025/0124022; hereinafter “Ghosh”) in view of Mihai et al. (U.S. Publication 2024/0265211; hereinafter “Mihai”).
In regard to dependent claims 4 and 16, Ghosh teaches a method comprising:
receiving, via a conversational user interface ("CUI") of an artificial intelligence ("AI") user interface ("AI-UI") of an AI assistant, a user input, the AI-UI provided by a client application executed by a client device associated with a user (Ghosh, paragraph 0058-0059; “Note: LLM and ChatGPT implies conversional user interface);
determining, using an AI model, one or more components of a graphical user interface ("GUI"), based on the user input; dynamically generating, using the AI model, the GUI based on the determined one or more components; and presenting the GUI within the AI-UI (Ghosh, paragraph 0061, lines 1-5; “Note: in response to the user input (i.e. prompt), GUI is dynamically identified components generated and presented”).
In the area of graphical user interface, prepopulating data input field is well known; however, Gosh is not explicit on the one or more components comprise one or more data input fields, and further comprising: determining, using the AI model, one or more data items corresponding to a subset of the one or more data fields; pre-populating the subset of the one or more data fields based on the one or more data items; and presenting the GUI and the pre-populated subset of the one or more data fields.
Mihai teaches a system related conversational user interface and generating GUI in response to user input wherein said system teaches the one or more components comprise one or more data input fields, and further comprising: determining, using the AI model, one or more data items corresponding to a subset of the one or more data fields; pre-populating the subset of the one or more data fields based on the one or more data items; and presenting the GUI and the pre-populated subset of the one or more data fields (Mihai, paragraph 0057, lines 14-17; paragraph 0045, lines 24-30).
Ghosh and Mihai are analogous art because they are from same field of endeavor, system related conversational user interface and generating GUI in response to user input.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teaching of Mihai, proactively prepopulating data input fields on user’s behalf based on context information and user profile’s information (paragraph 0027, lines 7-11), to Ghosh. Motivation for doing so would have been to make the system more effective and intuitive by filling out the input fields based on context information and user’s profile information and help user to save time.
In regard to dependent claim 5, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches determining the one or more data items comprising extracting data from the user input using the AI model (Ghosh, figure 1; “Note: survey form is rendered based on the user input”).
In regard to dependent claim 6, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches accessing, using the AI model, a profile associated with the user, and wherein determining the one or more data items comprises obtaining data from the profile. (Mihai, paragraph 0027, lines 7-11).
In regard to dependent claim 7, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches accessing, using the AI model, a profile associated with the user, and wherein dynamically generating the GUI (Mihai, figure 4) is based on the profile. (Mihai, figure 4; paragraph 0027, lines 7-11).
In regard to dependent claims 8 and 17, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches determining, using the AI model, one or more external client applications based on the user input; obtaining, from one of the one or more external client applications, a GUI manifest; and wherein generating the GUI is based on the GUI manifest (Mihai, paragraph 0056; “Note: transmit request to service provider means request send to external application”); Gosh, paragraph 0014, lines 1-5; “Note: survey, quiz, poll, application forms etc implies applications which external to AI model”).
In regard to dependent claim 9, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches presenting, within the AI-UI, the one or more external client applications; and receiving a further user input selecting the one of the one or more external client applications (Mihai, paragraph 0056; “Note: transmit request to service provider means request send to external application”); Gosh, paragraph 0014, lines 1-5; “Note: survey, quiz, poll, application forms etc implies applications which external to AI model wherein each type of application’s GUI is different”).
In regard to dependent claim 10, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches the one or more components of the GUI comprise one or more of a form field, a drop-down menu, or a radio button option (Gosh, figure 1-2; Mihai, figure 4).
In regard to dependent claims 11 and 12, Ghosh as modified by Mihai as applied above having the same motivation to combine, teaches receiving, via the CUI, a second user input indicating a first component of the GUI; generating, using the AT model, a response to the user input, the response comprising information explaining the first component of the GUI; and presenting the response in the CUI wherein the second user input comprises a request for assistance with the first component of the GUI (Mihai, figure 6, element 602; “Note: UI element with question mark render assistance to the component”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bedel et al., US Publication 2020/0334740 – Teaches generating GUI in response to conversational user input.
/Reza Nabi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174