DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) Status
Claims 1-14 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10262528. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent inventive scope is narrow than the inventive scope of the instant application. Thus, the broader inventive scope of the instant application is encompassed within the inventive scope of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haran (US 20170345292 A1, IDS) in view of Gordon et al. (“Gordon”, US 9513632 B1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 1 and 8, Haran discloses an electronic device (¶35 with reference to Fig. 5: pedestrian unit 500 in the form of a smartphone) associated with a pedestrian (¶35), comprising: a non-transitory memory (¶40) configured to store computer executable instructions ¶40); and one or more processors (¶40) configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the one or more processors (¶40) to: As per the limitation receive an indication of a current operational mode transmitted by a nearby vehicle having one or more autonomous features, wherein the current operational mode of the nearby vehicle is one of autonomous or manual. Haran discloses, in ¶¶5, 11, 14, 19, 22, 30 with reference to Figs. 1 & 3, the concept of providing vehicle-to-pedestrian communications to enable a vehicle that can operate in autonomous mode to provide alert notifications when the proximity of a pedestrian may present a hazardous condition, see step 314. While, Haran does not specify providing a notification concerning the current operational mode of the vehicle. In the same art, Gordon discloses, in Col. 8, line 4 through Col. 10, line 26 with reference to Fig. 2, the concept of configuring a vehicle that operates in autonomous and manual operational modes to be able to determine its current operational mode, detect nearby pedestrians and provision notifications, to the pedestrian’s smartphone, to make the pedestrian aware of the vehicle being nearby and its current operational mode to assist in presence awareness and collision avoidance.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of configuring a vehicle that operates in autonomous and manual operational modes to be able to determine its current operational mode, detect nearby pedestrians and provision notifications, to the pedestrian’s smartphone, to make the pedestrian aware of the vehicle being nearby and its current operational mode to assist in presence awareness and collision avoidance, with the motivation to enhance the presence awareness and collision avoidance features of the system. As per the limitation determine a position of the electronic device associated with the pedestrian (Haran: Fig. 5, with regard to the radar-type display indicating proximity of nearby vehicles; also see Gordon: Col. 9, lines 60-65); determine a proximity of the nearby vehicle (Haran: Fig. 5, with regard to the radar-type display indicating proximity of nearby vehicles; also see Gordon: Col. 9, lines 60-65); and trigger an alert based, at least in part, on the current operational mode (Gordon discloses, in Col. 8, lines 35-36, the use of a smartphone carried by a pedestrian configured to receive electronic messages to alert the pedestrian of the operational mode that the vehicle is operating), when the proximity of the nearby vehicle is equal to or less than a minimum vehicle proximity (Haran: Fig. 3: step 306; Fig. 5; also see Gordon Fig. 2, indicating the pedestrian being proximate to the approaching vehicle), the alert configured to notify the pedestrian of the current operational mode of the nearby vehicle (Gordon discloses, in Col. 8, lines 35-56, the use of a smart phone carried by a pedestrian to receive electronic messages to enable the pedestrian to be alerted of the autonomous or manual operational status of a nearby vehicle, hence the reception of the electronic concerning the autonomous or manual operational status of the nearby vehicle to indicate the status to the pedestrian via the smartphone can be interpreted as the smartphone being configured to triggered the indication once the electronic message is received). 2) Regarding claims 2 and 9, wherein the alert is one or more of a sound, vibration, light, or display of the electronic device (Haran: ¶¶9, 35-36 with reference to Figs. 5-6; Gordon: Col. 8, line 45). 3) Regarding claims 7 and 14, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to:
wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to receive, via a user interface, an indication of a preference to trigger the alert based on the current operational mode (Gordon: Col. 9, lines 56-61, with regard to triggering an interrogation request via the smart phone).
Claim(s) 3 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haran in view of Gordon, and in further view of Singh et al. (“Singh”, US 20180114435 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 3 and 10, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to: cease the alert upon receiving an indication of a dismissal of the alert by the pedestrian. Singh discloses, in ¶35, the concept of providing a user control for dismissal of an alert to be controlled and initiated by a pedestrian.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of providing a user control for dismissal of an alert to be controlled and initiated by a pedestrian, with the motivation to enhance the notification features of the system.
Claim(s) 4-6 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haran in view of Gordon, and in further view of Lee (US 2016/0272172 A1, IDS). 1) Regarding claims 4 and 11, wherein the computer executable instructions further cause the one or more processors to cease the alert when the proximity of the nearby vehicle is greater than the minimum vehicle proximity. Haran discloses, in ¶¶33-35 with reference to Fig. 5, the concept of evaluating proximate data to determine when to provide alert notification. Notice that Haran discloses, in ¶33, evaluating a relative location of the pedestrian to the vehicle (corresponding a minimum vehicle proximity). Lee discloses, in ¶¶73-75, the concept of postponing an alert based on active evaluation of relative positioning with respect to a pedestrian and a vehicle. At the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of postponing an alert based on active evaluation of relative positioning with respect to a pedestrian and a vehicle, with the motivation to enhance the notification control features of the system. 2) Regarding claims 5 and 12, wherein the computer executable instructions causing the one or more processors to cease the alert when the proximity of the nearby vehicle is greater than the minimum vehicle proximity cause the one or more processors to: receive a current location of the nearby vehicle (Haran: ¶¶33, 35; Fig. 5); determine the current location of the electronic device (Haran: ¶¶33, 35; Fig. 5); determine, based on the current location of the nearby vehicle and the current location of the electronic device, that the proximity of the nearby vehicle to the electronic device is greater than the minimum vehicle proximity (Lee: ¶75); and cease the alert in response to determining that the proximity of the nearby vehicle to the electronic device is greater than the minimum vehicle proximity (see analysis of the rejection of claims 4 and 11). 3) Regarding claims 6 and 13, wherein the indication of the current operational mode transmitted by the nearby vehicle is a short-range signal (Gordan: Col. 1, lines 30-35; Col. 9, lines 50-65), and wherein the computer executable instructions causing the one or more processors to cease the alert when the proximity of the nearby vehicle is greater than the minimum vehicle proximity cause the one or more processors to cease the alert when the short-range signal is no longer received by the electronic device (Gordon discloses, in Col. 9, lines 50-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9043130 B2, pedestrian avoidance system.
CHICO A. FOXX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2684
/CHICO A FOXX/Examiner, Art Unit 2685