DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 6, the third bracket 54 is incorrectly labeled with numeral 52.
In Figs. 24 and 25, numeral 100 is incorrectly used. Numeral denotes a part of the shelf, which is not shown in these Figures.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Numerous times throughout the specification, the shelf is identified with numeral 50. See, for example, paragraphs 0066, 0068, 0069, and 0075. The shelf should be identified with numeral 90. The specification should be thoroughly checked to eliminate this inconsistency.
Paragraph 0001, line 3, “attached brackets” should be changed to --attached to brackets--.
Paragraph 0001, line 3, “welled” should be changed to --welded--.
Paragraph 0068, line 3, “94” should be changed to --94a--.
Paragraph 0068, line 5, “extend” should be changed to --extends--.
Paragraph 0078, line 5, it is believed that “shelf 38” should be changed to --shelf 90--.
Paragraph 0079, line 2, the term “bracket 38” is not correct. 38 is not the correct number for the bracket. It is unclear which element is being referred to here.
Paragraph 0079, line 2, “bracket 120 define” should be changed to --brackets 120 define--.
Paragraph 0080, line 4, it is believed that “brackets 120 and 124” should be changed to --brackets 120, 124, and 126--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaloult et al. (US 6,113,172, hereinafter Chaloult) in view of Hira (US 4,073,534).
With regard to claim 1, Chaloult discloses a vehicle rear cargo structure, comprising:
an inner panel of a side wall (32) defining a wheel well (note the interior protrusion of the panel 32 visible in Fig. 6);
a first bracket (52) fixedly attached to a forward area of the wheel well defined by the inner panel (see Fig. 7);
a second bracket (54) fixedly attached to a mid-area of the wheel well defined by the inner panel (see Fig. 7); and
a shelf (36) having a first end associated with the first bracket and a second end associated with the second bracket (see Fig. 1).
Chaloult fails to teach the first and second ends of the shelf being attached to the brackets. The claim is being interpreted in light of the specification as though the term “attached” requires more than simply resting on the bracket.
Hira discloses a rear parcel shelf similar to that of Chaloult. However, in Hira, the shelf (10) attaches to brackets (15) via resilient material (22—see Fig. 3).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Chaloult to include the resilient attachment material (22) of Hira, in order to provide a more secure positioning of the parcel shelf in the event of bumps and vibration during travel, while still allowing for easy repositioning of the shelf as desired.
With regard to claim 2, Chaloult discloses that the forward area of the wheel well has a contoured surface shaped to shield a vehicle wheel located outboard of the wheel well (see contour lines of panel 32 visible in Figs. 6 and 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regard to claim 3, Chaloult fails to teach that the first bracket has a plurarity of offset flanges and an upright flange, where the offset flanges are shaped and oriented to attach to the contoured surface of the forward area of the wheel well. Chaloult’s first bracket (52) is “integrally molded into the sidewalls 32, which are, in turn, preferably made from plastic.” It is not considered obvious to modify the brackets to have multiple flanges for connection to the side panel, which would increase manufacturing complexity.
With regard to claim 15, Chaloult fails to teach at least that the shelf is shaped and dimensioned such that during installation of the shelf to the first and second brackets, a forward end of the shelf hooks on to the first bracket from a forward side of the first bracket. Instead, Chaloult’s shelf hooks into the first bracket from a rearward side of the first bracket (note how the bracket 52 is open in the rearward direction). It would not be considered obvious to modify Chaloult, as this would require reversing the orientation of the bracket 52, and it would be more difficult for the user to hook into a front-facing bracket from the user’s position at the rear of the vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references provide further examples of vehicle rear cargo areas comprising brackets which support a shelf.
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676