DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Invoked despite absence of “means”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“process control unit” in claim 1
“function execution unit” in claim 1
Based on the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation above, corresponding 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections were considered. Upon further analysis , it was determined the 35 USC 112(a) and 35 USC 112(b) rejections were unnecessary, based on the below key parts of the specification.
Unit
Element Number
Structure/Algorithm
Process control unit
Paragraph 0029, "In the present invention, the control and calculation unit 4 includes a process control unit 41 and a function execution unit 42."
Structure: paragraph 0045, "In the image measuring apparatus of the present invention, the control and calculation unit 4 may be constituted by a CPU, and each function may be realized by executing a program (an application for image measuring apparatus) that describes the functions of the process control unit 41 and the function execution unit 42, as well as the functions to control the image capturing unit 3, the illumination unit 8, etc., by the CPU. "
Algorithm: paragraph 0030, "The process control unit 41 causes the display unit 6 to display only the user interfaces that accept inputs necessary for the use of the available functions in each of the operation steps performed by the operator in image measurement using the image measuring apparatus 1. The user interfaces are typically graphical user interfaces (GUI), such as buttons, but they can be something else, such as menu bars or toolbars." paragraph 0032, "The process control unit 41 accepts the input by the operator necessary for using the function via the user interface from the input unit 10 in each operation step and causes the function execution unit 42 to execute the concerned function."
Function execution unit
Paragraph 0029, "In the present invention, the control and calculation unit 4 includes a process control unit 41 and a function execution unit 42."
Structure: paragraph 0045, "In the image measuring apparatus of the present invention, the control and calculation unit 4 may be constituted by a CPU, and each function may be realized by executing a program (an application for image measuring apparatus) that describes the functions of the process control unit 41 and the function execution unit 42, as well as the functions to control the image capturing unit 3, the illumination unit 8, etc., by the CPU. "
Algorithm: paragraph 0032, "The process control unit 41 accepts the input by the operator necessary for using the function via the user interface from the input unit 10 in each operation step and causes the function execution unit 42 to execute the concerned function."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Antecedent Basis:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dimensions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the available functions" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-3 are rejected for inheriting and failing to cure the noted deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because data per se and/or computer programs do not fall into one of the four categories of statutory invention (machine, process, manufacture, composition). More specifically, claims are eligible for patent protection under 35 USC § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability (i.e. laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas).
Regarding claim 3, the claim is drawn toward a “program”. As described in MPEP 2106, data per se and computer programs do not fall into one of the four statutory categories, Therefore, since claim 1 is drawn toward a program, the claim is not eligible for patent protection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,816,609 to Shimizu et al. (hereinafter Shimizu), and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,416,863 to Kaieda (hereinafter Kaieda).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shimizu discloses An image measuring apparatus (Figure 2) that captures an image of a measurement object (abstract, “In this machine and method for measuring a plurality of workpieces, images of a plurality of workpieces placed on a stage are captured using a CCD camera. ”) and measures the dimensions of the measurement object through a plurality of operation steps (abstract, “images of a plurality of workpieces placed on a stage are captured using a CCD camera. The images are processed by a computer system whereby the workpieces are measured. A computer system divides a measurement area on the stage into matrix such that each cell in the matrix is correlated to each workpiece. Then, the system sets a measurement program for each cell. Using the cells, the computer system determines a measurement order and whether or not to execute measurement. Measurement data for each cell is output to a CRT;” column 8, line 52, “ a part program is composed by storing information of a measurement procedure for one sample, taught by an operator, as well as information on a workpiece position, shape, and so on”), comprising:
a display unit (column 7, line 10, “Digital image data in the multi-value image memory 36 is displayed on the CRT 34 through operation of a display controller 37. ”);
a process control unit (Figure 2, element 38, “CPU”) that causes the display unit to display only the user interfaces that accept the inputs necessary to use the available functions in each of the operation steps (column 8, line 61, “For image processing, a measurement tool is provided to a part of a workpiece image for measurement;” column 11, line 55, “ an operator inputting a desired parameter. ”); and
a function execution unit that executes the function for which the input related to use is made on the user interface (column 8, line 61, “For image processing, a measurement tool is provided to a part of a workpiece image for measurement;” column 8, line 56, “the steps of performing image processing with respect to a workpiece image to extract an edge for temporal storage, and of reading the extracted edge to perform a performing predetermined operation (measurement of a line width, circular center coordinates, a circular radius, and roundness)”).
Shimizu fails to explicitly disclose as further recited. However, Kaieda discloses a display unit (column 1, line 60, “The control computer 50 includes a host computer 60 and an inputter/outputter 70. The inputter/outputter 70 includes a touch panel display 71, a keyboard 72, and a mouse 73.”) that displays user interfaces that accept inputs through input operations by an operator (column 1, line 17, “The present invention relates to an image measuring apparatus. Specifically, the present invention relates to a graphical user interface (GUI) supporting an operation by a user;” column 2, line 11, “Given this, a GUI screen such as that shown in FIG. 15, for example, is provided to the user as a screen to input and define lens information. This GUI screen performs display on the touch panel display 71 according to display control performed by the host computer 60. The user performs an information input or selection operation on the GUI screen by performing a touch operation on the touch panel display 71, or by performing keyboard input or mouse operation.”);
a process control unit (column 1, line 60, “The control computer 50 includes a host computer 60 and an inputter/outputter 70. The inputter/outputter 70 includes a touch panel display 71, a keyboard 72, and a mouse 73.”) that causes the display unit to display only the user interfaces that accept the inputs necessary to use the available functions in each of the operation steps (column2 , line 11, “Given this, a GUI screen such as that shown in FIG. 15, for example, is provided to the user as a screen to input and define lens information. This GUI screen performs display on the touch panel display 71 according to display control performed by the host computer 60. The user performs an information input or selection operation on the GUI screen by performing a touch operation on the touch panel display 71, or by performing keyboard input or mouse operation.”); and
a function execution unit (column 1, line 66, “In addition, the host computer 60”) that executes the function for which the input related to use is made on the user interface (column 1, line 66, “In addition, the host computer 60 switches between the field lenses (19 a to 19 d) by rotating the revolver 18 in response to an operation input by a user, performs focusing, and the like.”).
Shimizu is directed toward, “machine and method for measuring a plurality of workpieces, images of a plurality of workpieces placed on a stage are captured using a CCD camera (abstract).” Kaieda is directed toward, “An image measuring apparatus including an image measurer capable of switching between one of a type of lens and a magnification power (abstract).” As can be easily seen by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention Shimizu and Kaieda are directed towad similar methods of endeavor of image measurement systems. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would easily understand having a user interface presented to a user to input the required information would allow a user to be focused on what exactly to input. Said differently, presenting more options than needed or than relevant to the process can confuse or overwhelm a user. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kaieda in order to ensure efficient and clear user interaction when interacting with the system.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Shimizu in the combination further discloses wherein the plurality of operation steps includes:
a first operation step to sequentially extract a plurality of geometric elements from the image of the measurement object (column 8, line 56, “and comprises the steps of performing image processing with respect to a workpiece image to extract an edge for temporal storage;” extracting the edges is read as geometric element); and
a second operation step to obtain measurement results by performing dimensional measurement sequentially from measurement items for which the geometric elements necessary for measurement have been obtained through the extraction of the geometric elements in the first operation step (column 8, line 58, “and of reading the extracted edge to perform a performing predetermined operation (measurement of a line width, circular center coordinates, a circular radius, and roundness);” column 8, line 53, “a part program is composed by storing information of a measurement procedure for one sample, taught by an operator, as well as information on a workpiece position, shape, and so on”).
Regarding dependent claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Additionally, Shimizu in the combination further discloses the program that causes a computer to function as the image measuring apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis; column 1, line 8, “The present invention relates to a vision measuring machine, such as a microscopic measuring device or a non-contact view measuring CMM, and in particular to measurement using a program (a part program).”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Publication No. 2012/0194672 to Kawa discloses, “a dimension measurement apparatus (abstract)”
U.S. Patent No. 9,772,480 to Oba discloses, “image measurement device includes: a measurement target place specifying part that specifies a measurement target place on a workpiece image (abstract)”
Contact
/COURTNEY JOAN NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661