DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 7-8, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landon (US 20120026668) in view of Gao (US 20230057545).
Regarding claim 1, Landon disclosed A multi-node server, (abstract, see also fig 1-6) comprising: a server chassis (at least fig 1, 10); a main circuit board disposed in the server chassis (at least fig 4, 32), the main circuit board having a first node area and a second node area (at least fig 4, two node areas on left and right hand side; no label); a power delivery circuit board disposed vertically on the main circuit board (paragraph [31]-[32], Examiner consider, at least, the connector provided power to the 26), a first side of the power delivery circuit board (at least fig 4, the power delivery circuit board has a first side and 2nd side) and a signal transfer module including a signal transfer circuit board (at least fig 4, the signal transfer module including a signal transfer circuit board with 36, 40; see also paragraph [31]-[32]), a first signal connector, and a second signal connector (at least fig 4, 36/40; see also paragraph [31]-[32]), the signal transfer circuit board being disposed in a direction parallel to the main circuit board (at least fig 4, in a left and right direction), and the signal transfer circuit board electrically connecting the first signal connector to the second signal connector (see also paragraph [31]-[32], [34]-[35]).
Landon lacks teaching: a first side of the power delivery circuit board having a first power input connector and a second power input connector; a second side of the power delivery circuit board has a first power output connector and a second power output connector, the second side facing the first side, the first power output connector facing the first node area, and the second power output connector facing the second node area.
Gao teaches a chassis structure comprising: a first side of the power delivery circuit board having a first power input connector (at least fig 2D, with inlet 214) and a second power input connector (at least fig 2D or fig 4, the power input connected to the power clip 212); a second side of the power delivery circuit board has a first power output connector (paragraph [50]-[57]) and a second power output connector (paragraph [50]-[57]), the second side facing the first side (at least fig 2D, fig 4, Examiner consider the second side is the side facing the first side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, or at the time of the invention was made, to include this feature (power circuit board with first side and 2nd side) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to the portion with the first and second node areas; with changing location of the power delivery circuit board) so as to have (London in view of Geo): the first power output connector facing the first node area (see fig 2D, fig 4, modified to London), and the second power output connector facing the second node area (see fig 2D, fig 4, modified to London).
The motivation to modify the previous discussed structure with the current feature is to reduce the space and/or provide power to each node of the modified structure.
Regarding claim 5, modified London further disclosed the power delivery circuit board is located between the first signal connector and the second signal connector (at least Geo’s fig 2D, Examiner consider the power delivery circuit board is the board area between 214, so after modified to London’s structure, it will between the first signal connector and the second signal connector ).
Regarding claim 6, modified London further disclosed the first power input connector faces away from the first node area and is configured to be connected to a first power supply, and the second power input connector faces away from the second node area and is configured to be connected to a second power supply (at least Geo’s fig 2D, see also paragraph [63]-[65]).
Regarding claim 7, modified London further disclosed the second side of the power delivery circuit board further includes a first identification connector and a second identification connector (at least Geo’s fig 2D and fig 3, Examiner consider a specific connectors design are a first and a second identification connector).
Regarding claim 8, modified London further disclosed the second side of the power delivery circuit board further includes a first alignment device and a second alignment device (at least Geo’s fig 2D and fig 3, Examiner consider a specific connectors design includes a first alignment device and a second alignment device to allow user to align and make a connection).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landon (US 20120026668) in view of Gao (US 20230057545) further in view of Sun (US 20200363844).
With regard claim 11, the primary art and/or the modified structure discussed in the preceding claim disclosed all the subject matter except for an air deflector located on an outside of the first power input connector and the second power input connector, the air deflector including a curved portion and a pair of side panels, and the pair of side panels being connected to two sides of the curved portion.
Sun further teaches: an air deflector (at least fig 6, 213 and second hole in the second subboard) located on an outside of the first power input connector and the second power input connector, the air deflector including a curved portion (at least fig 6, 213, Examiner consider, at least from top/bottom curved to the front panel is the curved portion) and a pair of side panels (at least fig 6, two side panels on both side of 213 and/or the second subboard), and the pair of side panels being connected to two sides of the curved portion (at least fig 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to include this feature (air deflector as discussed above) and modify to previous discussed structure (modified to an outside of the first/second power input connectors) so as to further remove more heat from the first/second nodes of the modified structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims, 2, 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 2, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in this independent claim and at least in part because the prior art does not teach or suggest a structure comprising: the signal transfer circuit board has a middle section, a first adapter, and a second adapter, the middle section connecting the first adapter to the second adapter, a width of the middle section being smaller than a width of the first adapter and the second adapter to form a ventilation recess, a width of the ventilation recess corresponding to the first power input connector and the second power input connector, as set forth in the combination of the independent claims.
With respect to claim 9, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in this independent claim and at least in part because the prior art does not teach or suggest a structure comprising: the first identification connector is located between the first alignment device and the first power input connector, and wherein the second identification connector is located between the second alignment device and the second power input connector, as set forth in the combination of the independent claims.
With respect to claim 10, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in this independent claim and at least in part because the prior art does not teach or suggest a structure comprising: the power delivery circuit board has a top edge formed by a middle fixing portion, a first side fixing portion, and a second side fixing portion, and the middle fixing portion is located between the first side fixing portion and the second side fixing portion, so as to form a ventilation recess on each side of the middle fixing portion, as set forth in the combination of the independent claims.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of independent claim are believed to render said independent claims and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
The closest prior art, Landon (US 20120026668) in view of Gao (US 20230057545) further in view of Sun (US 20200363844), discloses a similar structure but does not configure to have the above limitations. The above prior art thus fails to anticipate or render the above portions obvious, either singularly or in combination with other references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841