DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Line 6 recites, “second sub-chamber” which appears to be incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read, “the second sub-chamber”.
Claims 2-19 depend from claim 1, inherit its deficiency, and are also objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 14-15, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2022/0163267 – hereinafter, “Liu”) in view of Martin et al. (CN 101179920 – hereinafter, “Martin”).
With respect to claim 1, Liu teaches (In Figs 2-3) a cooling system assembly, comprising: a three-dimensional heat exchanger (Title) configured for phase-change of a first cooling fluid, including a vapor chamber (¶ 0014, “It is noted that the first thermally conductive plate 100, the second thermally conductive plate 200, the supporting structures 310, 320 and 330, the thermally conductive structures 350, and the capillary structures 410, 420 and 430 can be together regarded as a vapor chamber.”) comprising a first thermally conductive plate (100) and a second thermally conductive plate (200), the first thermally conductive plate and the second thermally conductive plate together form a liquid-tight chamber (¶ 0015, “The second thermally conductive plate 200 is attached to the first thermally conductive plate 100 so that a liquid-tight chamber S is formed between the first thermally conductive plate 100 and the second thermally conductive plate 200.”), the liquid-tight chamber including a first sub-chamber (140) and a second sub-chamber (120) fluidly coupled to the first sub-chamber, the second sub-chamber encircling the first sub-chamber (See Fig 2), the first thermally conductive plate (100) comprising a first thermal transfer surface (F, see Fig 3), the first thermal transfer surface (F) on one side and the first sub-chamber (140) on an opposite side of the first thermal transfer surface (See Fig 3), the first thermal transfer surface configured to thermally couple to at least one packaged integrated circuit (¶ 0016, “The thermal contact surface F is configured to be in thermal contact with a heat source (not shown). The heat source is, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) or a graphics processing unit (GPU).”); wherein when the first thermal transfer surface (F) is thermally coupled to the at least one packaged integrated circuit, the three-dimensional heat exchanger transports heat away from the at least one packaged integrated circuit.
Liu fails to specifically teach or suggest a liquid cooling unit configured to be flow through by a second cooling fluid, including at least one coolant-carrying channel, the at least one coolant-carrying channel coupled to an outside surface of the second sub-chamber, and the liquid cooling unit transports heat away from the three-dimensional heat exchanger.
Martin, however, teaches (In Fig 4) a liquid cooling unit (408) configured to be flow through by a second cooling fluid, including at least one coolant-carrying channel, the at least one coolant-carrying channel coupled to an outside surface and surrounds a middle part of a three-dimensional heat exchanger (400) around the perimeter thereof, and the liquid cooling unit transports heat away from the three-dimensional heat exchanger (Liquid coolant enters the cooling unit at inlet 408a, flows through the cooling unit picking up heat from the three-dimensional heat exchanger, and carries the now warmed fluid to the outlet at 408b and away from the three-dimensional heat exchanger).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin with that of Liu such that Liu includes a liquid cooling unit configured to be flow through by a second cooling fluid, including at least one coolant-carrying channel, the at least one coolant-carrying channel coupled to an outside surface of the second sub-chamber, and the liquid cooling unit transports heat away from the three-dimensional heat exchanger, as taught by Martin, since doing so would increase the cooling capacity of the three-dimensional heat exchanger of Liu.
With respect to claim 5, Liu further teaches a plurality of support pillars (310, 330), the plurality of support pillars including a plurality of first support pillars (330) and a plurality of second support pillars (310), each plurality of support pillars thermally coupled to the first thermally conductive plate (100) and the second thermally conductive plate (200, see Fig 3), the plurality of first support pillars (330) disposed in the first sub-chamber (140), the plurality of second support pillars (310) disposed in the second sub-chamber (120).
With respect to claim 6, Liu further teaches a plurality of capillary structures (420, 430) , the plurality of capillary structures including a plurality of first capillary structures and a plurality of second capillary structures, each plurality of first capillary structures (430) coupled to and surround each plurality of first support pillars (330), each plurality of second capillary structures (420) thermally coupled to and surround at least one plurality of second support pillars (310, see Fig 2).
With respect to claim 7, Liu further teaches wherein the plurality of capillary structures (420, 430) consist of a sintered powder structure (¶ 0025, “The capillary structures 410, 420 and 430 are selected from a group consisting of a metal mesh, a sintered powder structure and a sintered ceramic structure.”).
With respect to claim 8, Liu further teaches that the first thermally conductive plate (100) further comprises a second thermal transfer surface (110), the second thermal transfer surface encircling the first thermal transfer surface (F), the second thermal transfer surface opposite the second sub-chamber (See Fig 3), the at least one coolant-carrying channel (Taught by Martin) thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface (110, where, when the coolant-carrying channel of Martin is placed on 100, as taught by Martin, then 110 will be thermally coupled to the coolant-carrying channel, as claimed).
With respect to claim 14, Liu further teaches capillary structures (410) covering surfaces of the liquid-tight chamber (See Fig 3).
With respect to claim 15, Liu further teaches that the capillary structures (410) consist of a sintered powder structure (¶ 0025).
With respect to claim 17, Liu further teaches that the first sub-chamber (140) includes a first thickness and the second sub-chamber (120) includes a second thickness, the first thickness greater than the second thickness (See Fig 3).
With respect to claim 18, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Martin further teaches wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel (408) comprises an inlet (408a) and an outlet (408b), whereby the second cooling fluid flows through the at least one coolant-carrying channel via the inlet and the outlet (See Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Martin with that of Liu such that, in Liu the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises an inlet and an outlet, whereby the second cooling fluid flows through the at least one coolant-carrying channel via the inlet and the outlet, as taught by Martin, since doing so would increase the cooling capacity of the three-dimensional heat exchanger of Liu.
Claim 2-4, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Martin and further in view of Mira et al. (US 2019/0128617 – hereinafter, “Mira”).
With respect to claims 2 and 4, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Liu further teaches that the three-dimensional heat exchanger further comprises a plurality of heat pipes (500), each plurality of heat pipes respectively comprise an open end and a closed end (See Fig 2, 510 is open and the side opposite thereto is closed), and the second thermally conductive plate (200) comprises a plurality of thermal transfer through holes (210), the open end of each plurality of heat pipes respectively fluidly coupled to the vapor chamber through each plurality of thermal transfer through holes (¶ 0029).
Liu as modified by Martin fails to specifically teach or suggest a fin stack, each plurality of heat pipes respectively thermally coupled to the fin stack (Cl. 2) wherein the plurality of heat pipes comprises 28 plurality of heat pipes (Cl. 4).
Mira, however, teaches (In Fig 5A) a three-dimensional heat exchanger which includes a fin stack (400), each of a plurality of heat pipes (210) respectively thermally coupled to the fin stack, wherein the plurality of heat pipes comprises 28 (¶ 0050, “Any number of heat pipes 210 may be used”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mira with that of Liu such that Liu includes a fin stack, each plurality of heat pipes respectively thermally coupled to the fin stack, wherein the plurality of heat pipes comprises 28, as taught by Mira, since doing so would increase heat transfer away from the three-dimensional heat exchanger.
With respect to claim 3, Liu further teaches that the plurality of thermal transfer through holes (210) is disposed fluidly coupled to the second sub-chamber (510 is open to the second sub-chamber, see ¶ 0029, Figs 2-3).
With respect to claim 19, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein a material of the vapor chamber is selected from a group consisting of an aluminum, aluminum-alloy, copper, and copper-alloy material.
Mira, however, teaches a material of a vapor chamber (100, 110) which is made of copper (¶ 0032, “the connector 200 may be made of the same material as that of the top plate 100 and/or the bottom plate 110….In some embodiments, the connector 200 may be made of copper.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mira with that of Liu such that the vapor chamber of Liu is made of copper, as taught by Mira, since doing so would allow for the vapor chamber to be made of a highly thermally conductive material that is relatively cheap and easy to manufacture.
Claim 9-10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Martin and further in view of Lin et al. (TWI815294 – hereinafter, “Lin”).
With respect to claims 9-10, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 8 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a first thermal transfer channel surface, the first thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the first thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface (Cl. 9) wherein the first thermally conductive plate further comprises a channel groove, and the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a second thermal transfer channel surface, the second thermal transfer channel surface being substantially curved, the second thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the channel groove, a plane of the second thermal transfer surface and the first thermal transfer channel surface is substantially flat (Cl. 10).
Lin, however, teaches (In Fig 2B) at least one coolant-carrying channel (141) comprises a first thermal transfer channel surface, the first thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat (See Fig 2B), the first thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to a second thermal transfer surface (Bottom surface of 12) wherein a first thermally conductive plate (12) further comprises a channel groove (Groove which accepts 141), and the at least one coolant-carrying channel (141) comprises a second thermal transfer channel surface (1412), the second thermal transfer channel surface being substantially curved (See Fig 2B), the second thermal transfer channel surface (1412) thermally coupled to the channel groove (Groove which accepts 141), a plane of the second thermal transfer surface (Bottom surface of 12) and the first thermal transfer channel surface is substantially flat (See Fig 2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of modified Liu such that modified Liu includes at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a first thermal transfer channel surface, the first thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the first thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface (Cl. 9) wherein the first thermally conductive plate further comprises a channel groove, and the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a second thermal transfer channel surface, the second thermal transfer channel surface being substantially curved, the second thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the channel groove, a plane of the second thermal transfer surface and the first thermal transfer channel surface is substantially flat (Cl. 10) as taught by Lin, since doing so would allow for the coolant-carrying channel to be embedded in the first thermally conductive plate thus reducing the thickness of the second sub-chamber where the coolant-carrying channel resides.
With respect to claim 16, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises at least one heat pipe.
Lin, however, teaches (In Fig 1B) at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises at least one heat pipe (14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of modified Liu such that, in modified Liu the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises at least one heat pipe, as taught by Lin, since doing so would provide a closed loop, sealed means of cooling the three-dimensional heat exchanger. Having a closed loop, sealed cooling means reduces the chance that coolant will leak out from the cooling system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Martin and further in view of Yokoi et al. (US 2017/0034949 – hereinafter, “Yokoi”).
With respect to claim 11, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 8 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface.
Yokoi, however, teaches (In Figs 11-12) wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel (6b) comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface (Top surface of 6b) and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface (Bottom surface of 6b), the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat (See Fig 12), the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface (See Fig 12), the third thermal transfer channel surface (Top surface) thermally coupled to a second thermal transfer surface (Bottom surface of 3, see Fig 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yokoi with that of modified Liu such that, in modified Liu, the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the second thermal transfer surface, as taught by Yokoi, since doing so would increase heat transfer between the coolant-carrying channel and the second thermal transfer surface (Increase contact between the coolant-carrying channel and the second thermal transfer surface will increase conduction from the second thermal transfer surface to the coolant-carrying channel).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Martin and further in view of Lin (TW M631845 – hereinafter, “Lin-845”).
With respect to claims 12-13, Liu as modified by Martin teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the second thermally conductive plate further comprises a third thermal transfer surface, the third thermal transfer surface opposite the second sub-chamber, the at least one coolant-carrying channel thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (Cl. 12), wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (Cl. 13).
Lin-845, however teaches (In Fig 5) a second thermally conductive plate (120) further comprises a third thermal transfer surface (Top surface of 122), the third thermal transfer surface opposite a second sub-chamber which is around a perimeter of a vapor chamber (See Fig 5), at least one coolant-carrying channel (200) thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (See Fig 5), wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat (See Fig 5, the top and bottom portion of 200 are flat), the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface (See Fig 5, the top and bottom portions of 200 are opposite to each other), the fourth thermal transfer channel surface (Bottom surface of 200) thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (Top surface of 122, see Fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin-845 with that of modified Liu such that in modified Liu the second thermally conductive plate further comprises a third thermal transfer surface, the third thermal transfer surface opposite the second sub-chamber, the at least one coolant-carrying channel thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (Cl. 12), wherein the at least one coolant-carrying channel comprises a third thermal transfer channel surface and a fourth thermal transfer channel surface, the third thermal transfer channel surface and the fourth thermal transfer channel surface being substantially flat, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface opposite the third thermal transfer channel surface, the fourth thermal transfer channel surface thermally coupled to the third thermal transfer surface (Cl. 13), as taught by Lin-845, since doing so would allow for the liquid cooling unit to be placed within the profile of the three-dimensional heat exchanger thus keeping the overall profile of the heat exchanger compact.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0358482 to Liu et al. which teaches a three-dimensional heat exchanger;
US 2023/0213288 to Wang et al. which teaches a three-dimensional heat transfer device; and
US 2023/0184491 to Wang et al. which teaches a three-dimensional heat transfer device.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841