CTNF 18/909,150 CTNF 98426 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houzumi et al. (US20180159397A1) in view of Kim et al. (US20200348050A1) and further in view of Tokoi et al. (US20190058375A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Houzumi et al. disclose an armature (stator 4) (Houzumi et al. Fig. 1) comprising: an armature core (stator core 13) which includes teeth (plurality of tooth parts 13a) arranged at intervals away from each other in a circumferential direction of the armature (Houzumi et al. Para [0020] whole paragraph); an insulator (15) secured to the armature core (Houzumi et al. Fig. 1); a plurality of coils (16) each of which is made of a winding of a conductive wire (17) around a respective one of the teeth (Houzumi et al. Para [0025] whole paragraph); and a terminal (bus bar unit 20) which includes an insulator retainer (25) secured to the insulator (Houzumi et al. Fig. 1 discloses the insulating resin 25 of the busbar unit 20 is secured to the insulators 15 via ends of wires 17 that are connected to feeding terminals 21b to 24b), a first connector (feeding terminals 21b to 24b) (Houzumi et al. Fig. 3), and a second connector (bus bar terminals 21c to 23c) (Houzumi et al. Fig. 3), the first connector extending from the insulator retainer (Houzumi et al. Fig. 2), the second connector including a power supply connector (also bus bar terminals 21c to 23c) which extends from one of the insulator retainer (Houzumi et al. Fig. 2) and the first connector and is connected to a power supply connector (Houzumi et al. Fig. 3), PNG media_image1.png 796 336 media_image1.png Greyscale the second connector also including a stress concentrator (see below in annotated Houzumi et al. Fig. 4) on which stress concentrates in a condition where the power supply connector is connected to a power supply (a driving current supplied via electric wires 18 to bus bars 21 to 24) (Houzumi et al. Para [0031] whole paragraph). Houzumi et al. does not disclose: a terminal which is made from elastic conductive material, the first connector including a crimp to which a coil end of the coils is secured. Kim et al. disclose: a terminal (1510) which is made from elastic conductive material (Kim et al. Para [0404] whole paragraph). Tokoi et al. disclose: the first connector (coil connection portion 320) (Tokoi et al. Fig. 13A) including a crimp (crimp terminal 334) to which a coil end of the coils (coil end of insulated electric wire 370) is secured (Tokoi et al. Para [0087] whole paragraph). Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose terminals therefore, Kim et al. and Tokoi et al. constitute prior art. Kim et al. disclose a terminal unit is made from elastic conductive material and Tokoi et al. disclose a terminal connector is crimped. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal which is made from elastic conductive material of Kim et al. and the first connector including a crimp to which a coil end of the coils is secured of Tokoi et al. for the purpose of 1) ensuring a reliable path for electrical current flow and 2) securing the end of the coil to the terminal. Regarding Claim 2, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 1, wherein the second connector extends from the insulator retainer (Houzumi et al. Fig. 2) and is discrete from the first connector (Houzumi et al. Fig. 4). Regarding Claim 3, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 1, wherein the second connector extends from the first connector and is formed integrally with the first connector (Houzumi et al. Fig. 4). Regarding Claim 4, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 2, wherein the second connector includes a second intermediate portion (also stress concentrator) (see above in annotated Houzumi et al. Fig. 4) which is arranged between the power supply connector and the insulator retainer or between the power supply connector and the first connector (see above in annotated Houzumi et al. Fig. 4). Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. do not disclose: wherein the first connector includes a first intermediate portion arranged between the crimp and the insulator retainer, the second intermediate portion is shaped to be finer than the first intermediate portion. Houzumi et al. and Tokoi et al. structurally disclose: wherein the first connector includes a first intermediate portion (of Houzumi et al. Fig. 3 annotated below) arranged between the crimp (of Tokoi et al. Fig. 13A) and the insulator retainer (of Houzumi et al. Fig. 2). PNG media_image2.png 448 520 media_image2.png Greyscale the second intermediate portion is shaped to be finer than the first intermediate portion (of Houzumi et al. Fig. 3). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first connector includes a first intermediate portion arranged between the crimp and the insulator retainer, and the second intermediate portion is shaped to be finer than the first intermediate portion of structurally disclosed Houzumi et al. and Tokoi et al. for the purpose of minimizing mechanical stress on the first and second connectors. Regarding Claim 5, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 2. Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. do not disclose: wherein at least a portion of the crimp and at least a portion of the power supply connector are aligned with each other in a radial direction of the armature. Tokoi et al. disclose: PNG media_image3.png 486 436 media_image3.png Greyscale wherein at least a portion of the crimp and at least a portion of the power supply connector are aligned with each other in a radial direction of the armature (annotated Tokoi et al. Fig. 1, below, disclose a portion of one coil connection portion 320 that can have crimp terminal 334 and a portion of one external connection portion 330 can be aligned with each other in a radial direction). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein at least a portion of the crimp and at least a portion of the power supply connector are aligned with each other in a radial direction of the armature of Tokoi et al. for the purpose of minimizing the distance between the first connector and second connector. Regarding Claim 6, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 1. Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. do not disclose: wherein the first connector and the second connector are arranged between a circumferentially adjacent two of the coils. Tokoi et al. disclose: wherein the first connector and the second connector (external connection portion 330) (Tokoi et al. Fig. 6A) are arranged between a circumferentially adjacent two of the coils (120) (Tokoi et al. Fig. 3 disclose only one of a plurality coil connection portion 320 and only one of a plurality of external connection portion 330 that are both circumferentially between two adjacent coils). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the first connector and the second connector are arranged between a circumferentially adjacent two of the coils of Tokoi et al. for the purpose of enabling an easy electrical connection and power distribution between the adjacent coils. Regarding Claim 7, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 1. Houzumi et al. does not disclose: wherein the stress concentrator is plastically deformed with the power supply connector being connected to a power supply. Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. structurally disclose: wherein the stress concentrator is plastically deformed (of Kim et al. Para [0404] whole paragraph) with the power supply connector being connected to a power supply (of Houzumi et al. Para [0031] whole paragraph). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the stress concentrator is plastically deformed with the power supply connector being connected to a power supply of structurally disclosed Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. for the purpose of ensuring secure and a stable connection. Regarding Claim 10, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose a rotating electrical machine (motor 100) (Houzumi et al. Fig. 1) comprising: a first one of a stator and a rotor which includes the armature as set forth in claim 1 (see above in rejection of claim 1). Houzumi et al. and Kim et al. do not disclose: a second one of the stator and the rotor which includes a magnet radially facing the armature. Tokoi et al. disclose: a second one of the stator and the rotor (200) which includes a magnet (210) radially facing the armature (Tokoi et al. Fig. 2). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second one of the stator and the rotor which includes a magnet radially facing the armature of Tokoi et al. for the purpose of having a magnetic field interaction between the stator and rotor to function as a rotating electrical machine . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houzumi et al. in view of Kim et al., Tokoi et al. and further in view of Oh et al. (KR20080106769A) . Regarding Claim 8, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. disclose the armature as set forth in claim 1. Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. do not disclose: wherein the insulator includes a terminal coupling to which the insulator retainer is secured, the insulator retainer has portions shaped as press-fit portions which are press-fit in the terminal coupling. Oh discloses: wherein the insulator (bobbin 20) (Oh Fig. 3) includes a terminal coupling (a surface area portion of bobbin 20) to which the insulator retainer (holder 200) is secured (Oh Fig. 4), the insulator retainer has portions (mounting protrusions 210 on a outer circumference) shaped as press-fit portions which are press-fit in the terminal coupling (Oh Fig. 4). Houzumi et al., Kim et al., Tokoi et al., and Oh disclose terminals therefore, Oh constitutes as prior art. Oh discloses a bobbin having a holder to secure a terminal. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the insulator includes a terminal coupling to which the insulator retainer is secured, and the insulator retainer has portions shaped as press-fit portions which are press-fit in the terminal coupling of Oh for the purpose of effectively securing the insulator retainer to the insulator. Regarding Claim 9, Houzumi et al., Kim et al., Tokoi et al., and Oh disclose the armature as set forth in claim 8. Houzumi et al., Kim et al., and Tokoi et al. do not disclose: wherein the press-fit portions are located at portions of the insulator retainer which are arranged at circumferentially opposed sides of the first connector and the second connector. Oh discloses: wherein the press-fit portions are located at portions of the insulator retainer which are arranged at circumferentially opposed sides of the first connector (left connecting terminal 300) and the second connector (right connecting terminal 300) (Oh Fig. 5a). It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the press-fit portions are located at portions of the insulator retainer which are arranged at circumferentially opposed sides of the first connector and the second connector of Oh for the purpose of minimizing misalignment and ensuring reliability to the motor. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THEODORE L PERKINS whose telephone number is (703)756-4629. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00am- 17:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koehler can be reached on (571) 272-3560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/909,150 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834