DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11246669 B2, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11779415 B2, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12390290 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll (US 78645266 B2) in view of Snell (US 5590034).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 20, Moll discloses a computer-assisted device comprising: a first repositionable arm, the first repositionable arm configured to support a first end effector (eg. Fig. 4, one of the arm assemblies 310, Col. 3, Ln. 50-65, Col. 12, Ln. 10-25); a second repositionable arm, the second repositionable arm configured to support a second end effector (eg. Fig. 4, Col. 3, Ln. 50-65, Col. 38, Ln. 55 – Col. 39, Ln. 12); and a control unit communicably coupled to the first repositionable arm and the second repositionable arm (eg. Col. 3, Ln. 50 – Col. 5, Ln. 5), wherein the control unit is configured to: monitor an actual motion of at least one structure selected from the group consisting of the first repositionable arm and the first end effector (eg. Col. 20 Ln. 45 – Col. 22, Ln. 45); determine a composite deviation between a plurality of kinematic or dynamic values of the actual motion and the plurality of kinematic or dynamic values of a desired motion of the at least one structure (eg. Col. 20 Ln. 45 – Col. 21, Ln. 67); determine whether the composite deviation is greater than a deviation threshold; and in response to the composite deviation being greater than the deviation threshold: halt motion of the first repositionable arm or the second repositionable arm (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 29-47, Col. 17, Ln. 50-65, Col. 22. Ln. 10-30). Moll does not disclose a composite deviation aggregating a plurality of kinematic/dynamic values against a threshold.
Snell teaches a surgical robot that crate s a composite root sum f squares of six position orientation errors to compare to a tolerance threshold (Eg. Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Moll with the RSS metric tolerance comparison as taught by Snell because aggregating errors into one scalar value is well-known in the art and predictable way to evaluate overall pose error with signal decision thresholds.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses an input device; wherein the control unit is further configured to receive a command from the input device, the command indicating the desired motion of the at least one structure (eg. Moll, Abstract, Col. 5, Ln. 5-16, Col. 10, Ln. 54 – Col. 11, Ln. 5, Col. 12, Ln. 1 – Col. 13, Ln. 10).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses to determine the composite deviation, the control unit is configured to compute a root-mean-square error between the plurality of kinematic or dynamic values of the actual motion and the plurality of kinematic or dynamic values of the desired motion (Eg. Snell, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Regarding claim 4, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses each of the plurality of kinematic or dynamic values is weighted when determining the composite deviation (eg. Snell, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses a weight assigned to a position of a repositionable element of the at least one structure is higher than a weight assigned to an orientation of the repositionable element (eg. Snell, Col. 3, Ln. 55 – Col. 5, Ln. 62).
Regarding claim 9, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses wherein to halt the motion of the first repositionable arm and the first end effector, the control unit is configured to: lock a commanded position of an actuated repositionable element of the at least one structure to a current commanded position of the actuated repositionable element and set a commanded velocity of the actuated repositionable element to zero; or brake the actuated repositionable element and set a feedback torque for the actuated repositionable element to zero (eg. Moll, Col. 17, Ln. 30-51, Col. 27, Ln. 5-40, Col. 32, Ln. 34-43, Col. 35, Ln. 30-65, Col. 37, Ln. 24-41).
Regarding claim 10, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses wherein the desired motion of the at least one structure is no motion of the at least one structure (eg. Moll, Col. 17, Ln. 30-51, Col. 27, Ln. 5-40, Col. 32, Ln. 34-43, Col. 35, Ln. 30-65, Col. 37, Ln. 24-41).
Regarding claims 11 and 19, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to clear a condition causing halting of the motion; and to clear the condition, the control unit is configured to set a commanded position of a commanded element of the at least one structure to a current position of the commanded element (eg. Moll, Col. 17, Ln. 30-51, Col. 27, Ln. 5-40, Col. 32, Ln. 34-43, Col. 35, Ln. 30-65, Col. 37, Ln. 24-41).
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses wherein the control unit is further configured to: select whether to halt motion of the first repositionable arm and the first end effector or to halt motion of the second repositionable arm and the second end effector based on at least one mode of operation selected from the group consisting of: a mode of operation of the first repositionable arm, a mode of operation of the first end effector, a mode of operation of the second repositionable arm, and a mode of operation of the second end effector (eg. Moll, Col. 5, Ln. 29-47, Col. 17, Ln. 50-65, Col. 22. Ln. 10-30, Col. 37, Ln. 24-37).
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moll (US 78645266 B2) in view of Snell (US 5590034), further in view of Zhu (US 9165199 B2).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combined invention of Moll and Snell discloses the invention of claim 4, but does not disclose the at least one structure comprises a first repositionable element and a second repositionable element; the first repositionable element is located more proximally than the second repositionable element in a kinematic chain of the at least one structure; and kinematic or dynamic values associated with the first repositionable element have a higher weight than kinematic or dynamic values associated with the second repositionable element.
Zhu teaches weighting features of a kinematic chain via a weighting matrix assigning differing weights to different degrees of freedom (eg. Col. 17, Ln. 13 – Col. 19, Ln. 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Moll and Snell with the weighting matrix as taught by Zhu since one of ordinary skill would weigh more proximal joints over more distal joints because a proximal joint error would produce larger Cartesian tool displacement per unit joint error and would provide the predictable result of selecting sensitivity for different parts of the kinematic chain.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796