CTNF 18/909,201 CTNF 77888 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2024/0114756) . Regarding independent claim 1 , Kim teaches a display device comprising a display panel (Fig. 4A, Element 200; ¶ [0074]); a light control film (Fig. 4A, Element 500; ¶ [0074]) disposed above the display panel, the light control film including a light control layer including a light transmission pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 520; ¶ [0081]) and a light blocking pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 530; ¶ [0081]) disposed alternately with each other in a horizontal direction, and a base film layer (Fig. 4A, Element 510; ¶ [0081]) disposed on the light control layer; and a polarizing film (Fig. 4A, Element 550; ¶ [0081]) disposed above the light control film, the polarizing film including a phase retardation layer (Fig. 5, Element 553; ¶ [0093]), a first protective layer (Fig. 5, Element 551; ¶ [0093]), a polarizing layer (Fig. 5, Element 552; ¶ [0093]), and a second protective layer (Fig. 5, Element 554; ¶ [0093]). Regarding claim 2 , Kim teaches the light control film disposed directly between the display panel and the polarizing film (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 3 , Kim teaches the first protective layer and the second protective layer disposed on a first side of the light control film, and the display panel disposed on a second side of the light control film, which the second side is an opposite side of the first side (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 4 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the base film layer are inherent. Regarding claim 5 , Kim teaches the first protective layer and the second protective layer include an ultraviolet absorber (¶ [0098]). Regarding claim 6 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the light control film are inherent. Regarding claim 7 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the display device are inherent. Regarding claim 8 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the base film layer are inherent. Regarding claim 9 , Kim teaches the first protective layer and the second protective layer include tri-acetyl cellulous (¶ [0098]). Regarding independent claim 10 , Kim teaches a display device comprising a display panel (Fig. 4A, Element 200; ¶ [0074]); a light control film (Fig. 4A, Element 500; ¶ [0074]) disposed above the display panel, the light control film including a light control layer including a light transmission pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 520; ¶ [0081]) and a light blocking pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 530; ¶ [0081]) disposed alternately with each other in a horizontal direction, and a base film layer (Fig. 5, Element 551; ¶ [0093]) disposed on the light control layer; and a polarizing film (Fig. 4A, Element 550; ¶ [0081]) disposed above the light control film, the polarizing film including a phase adjustment layer (Fig. 5, Element 553; ¶ [0093]) and a polarization protective layer (Fig. 5, Element 554; ¶ [0093]) disposed on the phase adjustment layer. Regarding claim 11 , Kim teaches the light control film disposed directly between the display panel and the polarizing film (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 12 , Kim teaches the polarization protective layer disposed on a first side of the light control film, and the display panel disposed on a second side of the light control film, which the second side is an opposite side of the first side (Fig. 4A). Regarding claim 13 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the base film layer are inherent. Regarding claim 14 , Kim teaches the polarization protective layer including an ultraviolet absorber (¶ [0098]). Regarding claim 15 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the light control film are inherent. Regarding claim 16 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the display device are inherent. Regarding claim 17 , Kim teaches the base film layer including tri-acetyl cellulous (¶ [0098]). Regarding claim 18 , Kim teaches the polarization protective layer including tri-acetyl cellulous (¶ [0098]). Regarding independent claim 19 , Kim teaches a display device comprising a display panel (Fig. 4A, Element 200; ¶ [0074]); a light control film disposed above the display panel, the light control film (Fig. 4A, Element 500; ¶ [0074]) including a light control layer including a light transmission pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 520; ¶ [0081]) and a light blocking pattern (Fig. 4A, Element 530; ¶ [0081]) disposed alternately with each other in a horizontal direction; and a polarizing film (Fig. 4A, Element 550; ¶ [0081]) disposed above the light control film, the polarizing film including a phase retardation layer (Fig. 5, Element 553; ¶ [0093]), a first protective layer (Fig. 5, Element 551; ¶ [0093]), a polarizing layer (Fig. 5, Element 552; ¶ [0093]), and a second protective layer (Fig. 5, Element 554; ¶ [0093]), wherein the light control layer is in direct contact with the polarizing film (Fig. 5), and a birefringence of the light control film is inherently less than or equal to about 0.03. Regarding claim 20 , the Examiner notes that when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (MPEP § 2112.01(I)). Since Kim teaches each of the structural characteristics of the claim, the recited functional features of the display device are inherent . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 2023/0139767) teaches a display apparatus with a neutral plane compensation member. Park (US 2023/0009733) teaches a foldable display device with a hard coating layer. Beon (US 2022/0317357) teaches a display apparatus with a coating layer absorbing wavelengths of ultraviolet light. Noh (US 2022/0209202) teaches a display apparatus with first and second phase retardation layers . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kevin Quarterman whose telephone number is (571)272-2461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 10am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached at (571) 272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 16 May 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 6 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 7 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/909,201 Page 8 Art Unit: 2875