DETAILED ACTION
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Claim(s) 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated1 by CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1)2.
Claim(s) 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated3 by CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1)4:
Claim(s) 3,5 and 11,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 in view of Bertagnolli et al. (US 6,189,634 B1).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 9’s “a non-transitory, computer-readable medium” is not in the remainder of applicant’s disclosure, filed 10/08/2024:
9. An apparatus comprising:
a processor; and
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor, the instructions including:
instructions to acquire a training set of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters; and
instructions to train a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system, and wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether an image includes a visual representation of a cutter.
Thus the specification is objected for not having antecedent basis for claim 9’s:
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 does not define “PDC”. The letters “PDC” in claim 5, last line is interpreted as claim 3’s “polycrystalline diamond compact”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 and 9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more:
Step zero: establish the broadest reasonable interpretation: shown in footnote;
Step 1: claim 1 a process; claim 9 machine;
Step 2A, prong 1:
The claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea: or mental process of image classification:
1. A computer implemented method, the computer implemented method comprising:
acquiring a training set5 of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters; and
training a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system, and wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether an image includes a visual representation of a cutter.
9. An apparatus comprising:
a processor; and
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor, the instructions including:
instructions to acquire a training set6 of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters; and
instructions to train a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system, and wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether an image includes a visual representation of a cutter.
Step 2A, prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements (such as the claimed computer stuff) do not improve a technical, industrial mining field in view of applicant’s disclosure [0002][0015][0016]:
Step 2B:
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (such as the computer stuff and cutter) individually or in combination with the abstract adhere to the conventional in view of applicant’s disclosure [0002][0038] and 35 USC 112(a) (what “is so well known”: “feed forward…deep…network…etc.7” “need not be described”8 /defined to one of ordinary skill in the art):
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated9 by CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1).
Claim(s) 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated10 by CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1):
Re 1., CHOWHAN discloses A computer implemented method, the computer implemented method (likewise) comprising11:
acquiring a training set of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters (or likewise “The artificial intelligence neural network that has been trained earlier on the various conditions and states of the drill tool is loaded and initialized”, pg. 9, ll. 30,31, i.e., “a software 3D training application can be used to classify mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear; and capable of generating mask and bounding box from 3D projection to 2D images; at various programmed or random orientation to train the artificial intelligence system for various drill bit faults.”. pg. 25, claim 29); and
training a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system (or said likewise “The artificial intelligence neural network12 that has been trained earlier on the various conditions and states of the drill tool is loaded and initialized”, pg. 9, ll. 30,31), and
wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether13141516 (i.e., if or “can”, pg. 24, claim 17, line 6: “can be…imaged”: see rejection of claim 9 explaining the word “can” as also meaning or expressing the conditional word “if”) an image includes a visual representation of a cutter (?) (or likewise, YES, CHOWHAN teaches generating a visualization-output-geometric representation depending on a neural network-based machine-vision via “the artificial intelligence and neural network-based machine vision as applied to the electronic system for better …generating a geometric model17”, pg. 14, 5-14) (regarding “(?)”: claim 9’s last wherein clause is asking an indirect question and the answer is above said “YES” ).
Re 2., CHOWHAN discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning system based on a set of cutter positions (or likewise said “a software 3D training application can be used to classify mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear; and capable of generating mask and bounding box from 3D projection to 2D images; at various programmed or random orientation18 to train the artificial intelligence system for various drill bit faults.”, pg. 25, claim 29), wherein the machine learning system provides a predicted cutter position based on an image of the cutter (or likewise a neural network producing increasingly predictive-perception drill tool images in various orientations via “the … artificial intelligence-imaging neural network19 … generating… drill tool images from a 3D loaded CAD20 model21 … in various orientation”, pg. 23, claim 16).
Re 4., CHOWHAN discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning system using a set of training classifications (or likewise “classify mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear…to train the artificial intelligence system”, pg. 25, claim 29), wherein each of the set of training classifications correspond with one of a set of cutter characteristics (or likewise order a 3D image segment corresponding to/with a group by reason of common characteristics to train a neural network via “classify22 mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear…to train the artificial intelligence system”, pg. 25, claim 29).
Re 6., CHOWHAN discloses The method of claim 4, wherein training the machine learning system comprises training the machine learning system based on a primary characteristic 2324 (or likewise order a 3D image segment, comma25-listed first relative to the last comma-listed item “tear”, pg. 25, claim 29, corresponding to/with a group by reason of common characteristics, listed first relative to the feature of the last comma-listed item “tear”, to train a neural network via “classify26 mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear…to train the artificial intelligence system”, pg. 25, claim 29).
Re 7., CHOWHAN discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising revising a drilling operation based on the output from the machine learning system (or likewise “improve…drill tool run feedback27… of drill tool runs ( down hole and at surface) (Drilling Depth/UCS/CCS/WOB/TOB/RPM/ROPNibrations and others) with the current computed health/fault status and engineering analysis of the drill tool; computing, which part of cutting elements have worn or have been deformed at a higher rate than normal”, pg. 11, ll. 1-5).
Re 8., CHOWHAN discloses The method of claim 7, wherein the drilling operation is one of rotating a drill bit cutter (or likewise “rotation of the drill tool”, pg. 18,ll. 10-15) 2829.
Claim 9 rejected like claim 1:
Re 9., CHOWHAN discloses An apparatus comprising:
a processor (or likewise “a smart phone30 camera”, pg. 8,ll.10-15 or “ a
customized electronic device, a smartphone device or a mobile device”, pg. 19, ll. 10-15); and
a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (or likewise “memory that enables the computer to store programs and data”) having instructions (or likewise “software”31, pg. 6,ll.20-25) stored thereon that are executable by the processor, the instructions including:
instructions to acquire a training set of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters; and
instructions to train a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system, and wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether3233 (i.e., if or “can”34, CHOWHAN, page 24, claim 17) an image includes a visual representation of a cutter (?: Yes, an image includes a visual representation of a cutter in claim 9’s “the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters”).
Claim 10 is rejected like clam 2:
Re 10., CHOWAHN discloses The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to train the machine learning system are based on a set of cutter positions, wherein the machine learning system provides a predicted cutter position based on an image of the cutter.
Claim 12 is rejected like claim 4:
Re 12., CHOWHAN discloses The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to train the machine learning system include using a set of training classifications, wherein each of the set of training classifications correspond with one of a set of cutter characteristics.
Claim 14 is rejected like claim 6:
Re 14., CHOWHAN discloses The apparatus of claim 12, wherein one of the set of training classifications corresponds with a primary characteristic
Claim 15 is rejected like claim 7:
Re 15., CHOWHAN discloses The apparatus of claim 9, further comprising instructions to revise a drilling operation based on the output from the machine learning system.
Claim 16 is rejected like claim 8:
Re 16., CHOWHAN discloses The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the drilling operation is one of rotating a drill bit cutter and replacing a drill bit cutter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,5 and 11,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1) as applied in claims 1,2,4,6,7,8 and 9,10,12,14,15,16 in view of Bertagnolli et al. (US 6,189,634 B1).
Re 3., CHOWHAN teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning system to determine a comparison value (or likewise “a neural network enhanced image processing module for…an image processed…and compared…image”,pg. 14,ll. 16 & pg. 15,ll.8-14) based on the training set of images, wherein at least one of the training set of images includes a visual representation of a portion of a cutter surface not covered (or non-occluded as shown in fig. 7 for at least a picture of the surface of the cutter) by35 polycrystalline diamond (“Total Segmental-Radial volumetric diamond table”- “Parameter”, pg. 10,ll. 21-23: fig. 7’s cutting elements implies that there is a diamond given the diamond table parameter) compact.
CHOWHAN does not teach the difference of claim 3:
(not covered) 36 by37 polycrystalline (diamond)38 compact.
Bertagnolli teach the difference of claim 3:
(not covered) 39 by40 polycrystalline (diamond)41 compact (or likewise “without a top polycrystalline diamond layer covering” a hole 503,624,625,626,627,628,629 via figs. 5,6a,6b,6c,6d,6e,6f:
Since CHOWHAN suggests other types of cutting elements (i.e., PDC) and problems thereof, page 8, ll. 5-10:
--FIG 17 depicts the interaction plot of the various42 cutting elements and its wear profile processed by the electronic system used to further compute various engineering parameters.--:
one of skill in the art of cutting elements could have or would have done is refer to others for a solution to the problem and thus make CHOWHAN’s be as Bertagnolli’s seeing in the change:
“improved wear and durability characteristics because it avoids failures due to stresses, delaminations and fractures caused by the differences in thermal expansion coefficient between the diamond and the substrate during sintering. Moreover, this invention may provide multiple polycrystalline diamond edges as the PDC wears. This exposure of multiple polycrystalline diamond edges slows the rate of wear flat surface development and reduces the weight on the bit required for acceptable drill penetration rates.”, Bertagnolli, abstract.
via explicit creative or even routine steps:
a) use a crowbar to pry out or a screw-driver or wrench to remove a worn-out cylinder as shown in CHOWHAN’s fig. 17 creating an empty spot:
b) install Bertagnolli’s cylinder of fig. 5 in the same empty spot:
b1) use welding to fuse Bertagnolli’s cylinder of fig. 5 to the spot; or
b2) use screw-driver/tool inside the hole 503 to fasten via fasteners (e.g., screws) Bertagnolli’s cylinder of fig. 5 to the spot:
b2.1) if need be bust through 501 to fasten to the drill-bit:
; and
c) starting mining (see what happens).
Claim 5 is rejected like claim 3:
Re 5., CHOWHAN of the combination of CHOWHAN, Bertagnolli teaches/already made obvious The method of claim 4, wherein the set of cutter characteristics comprises an indication that the cutter is worn (“worn”, pg. 2, ll.10-15: fig. 8 shows a worn cutter verses a new cutter circle-template) and is associated with one or more images of a cutter showing at least one portion of a cutter surface that is not covered (as in fig. 8, non-occluded cutter, for at least a picture of the surface) by a PDC material (or likewise “PDC Drill Bit”, CHOWHAN: pg. 4,ll.5-10).
Claim 11 is rejected like claim 3:
Re 11., CHOWHAN of the combination of CHOWHAN, Bertagnolli teaches/already made obvious The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the instructions to train the machine learning system further include instructions to determine a comparison value based on the training set of images, wherein at least one of the training set of images includes a visual representation of a portion of a cutter surface not covered by polycrystalline diamond compact.
Claim 13 is rejected like claim 5:
Re 13., CHOWHAN of the combination of CHOWHAN, Bertagnolli teaches/already made obvious The apparatus of claim 12, wherein the one of a set of cutter characteristics set of cutter characteristics comprises an indication that the cutter is worn and is associated with one or more images of a cutter showing at least one portion of a cutter surface that is not covered by a PDC material.
Conclusion
The prior art “nearest to the subject matter defined in the claims” (MPEP 707.05) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action:
Citation
Relevance
IDS (10/08/2024) cited Potash (US 2019/0145183 A1): a D1 & X reference of PCT/US2019/036343 and a secondary reference under 35 USC 103 of US app. 17/594,147 and as a primary reference in US app. 17/594,161.
Potash teaches “neural networks…training images”:
[0027] FIG. 4 shows an example process 400 for analyzing drill bit images 310A-310N using computer vision to determine drill bit wear, according to one or more embodiments. A computer vision module obtains drill bit images 310A-310N and determines drill bit wear based on the images at step 410. The computer vision module includes any appropriate machine learning modules for classifying dull characteristics. In one embodiment, the computer vision module includes one or more neural networks trained to identify one or more wear characteristics, such as nozzles, primary cutters with no wear, backup cutters with no wear, trim cutters with no wear, broken cutters, worn cutters, lost cutters, delaminated cutters, non-cutting elements, and the like. The one or more neural networks may be trained by any appropriate method, such as from scratch using only training images with the wear characteristics or by retraining an existing neural network to identify the wear characteristics. The one or more neural networks may classify the whole image or regions within the image. In one embodiment, a separate region-focused neural network is used for each wear characteristic, resulting in a number of region-focused neural networks equal to the number of wear characteristics to be identified in each image.
as the closest to the claimed “training set of images…neural network“ of claim 1.
IDS cited (10/08/2024) CHOWHAN (US 2021/0174486 A1) a primary reference under 35 USC 103 of US app. 17/594,146: corresponds to CHOWHAN (WO 2019/087213 A1) as applied under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102(a)(2) and 35 USC 103 in the above rejections in this current Office action.
CHOWHAN teaches/claims “image segment…2D images…to train the artificial intelligence system”: fig. 2: 1st flowchart box: “Setup Electronic Mobile Device to Deep Scan Drill Tool Using Camera Image Processing Sensor Fusion and Artificial Intelligence”: fig. 4: 404: “Artificial Intelligence, Sensor Fusion and Machine Vision System (Intelligent Sensor)”:
29. An electronic system as claimed in claim 1 wherein, a software 3D training application can be used to classify mask and image segment in 3D, polygon bounding points and areas of interest for the drill tool marking out degradation, faults and wear and tear; and capable of generating mask and bounding box from 3D projection to 2D images; at various programmed or random orientation to train the artificial intelligence system for various drill bit faults.
as the closest to the claimed “training set of images…neural network“ of claim 1.
/DENNIS ROSARIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2676
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667
1 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
2 Note that the reference (48 pages) with both numbers (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1), as the reference (48 pages) that showed up first in the prior art search of claim 1, is being applied under 35 USC 102 in writing this Office action, but the corresponding reference (47 pages) with just one number (WO 2019/087213 A1) maps the same as the reference (48 pages) with both numbers (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1)
3 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
4 Note that the reference (48 pages) with both numbers (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1), as the reference (48 pages) that showed up first in the prior art search of claim 1, is being applied under 35 USC 102 in writing this Office action, but the corresponding reference (47 pages) with just one number (WO 2019/087213 A1) maps the same as the reference (48 pages) with both numbers (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1)
5 set: Mathematics. a collection of objects or elements classed together. (Dictionary.com)
6 set: Mathematics. a collection of objects or elements classed together. (Dictionary.com)
7 etc: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted). (Dictionary.com)
8 MPEP 2106.05(d) Well-Understood, Routine, Conventional Activity [R-07.2022]
I. EVALUATING WHETHER THE ADDITIONAL ELEMENTS ARE WELL-UNDERSTOOD, ROUTINE, CONVENTIONAL ACTIVITY
2. A factual determination is required to support a conclusion that an additional element (or combination of additional elements) is well-understood, routine, conventional activity., 2nd para, 2nd S:
The analysis as to whether an element (or combination of elements) is widely prevalent or in common use is the same as the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as to whether an element is so well-known that it need not be described in detail in the patent specification.
9 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
10 MPEP 2131 Anticipation — Application of 35 U.S.C. 102 [R-08.2017], 2nd para, 2nd to last S: The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
11 BROAD CLAIM LANGUAGE: “-ing” (of “comprising”): a suffix of nouns formed from verbs, expressing the action of the verb or its result, product, material, etc. (the art of building; a new building; cotton wadding ), wherein etc. is defined: and others; and so forth; and so on (used to indicate that more of the same sort or class might have been mentioned, but for brevity have been omitted)., wherein so is defined: likewise or correspondingly; also; too.
12 neural network: Also called neural net. Computers. a hardware or software system in which weighted connections between data nodes are refined to produce increasingly accurate results in information processing, as in pattern recognition or problem solving, with the goal of algorithmic computing that requires minimal human intervention, wherein connections is defined: the state of being connected, wherein connected is defined: to have as an accompanying or associated feature, wherein associated is defined: connected with something else so as to exist or occur along with it; accompanying or corresponding (often used in combination). (Dictionary.com)
13 whether: if it is or was true that (Meriam-Webster.com)
14 whether: (used to introduce a single alternative, the other being implied or understood, or some clause or element not involving alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
15 CONTINGENT LIMITATION: whether: Introducing an indirect question with the second alternative implied only, expressing simple inquiry, or a conditional clause expressing an opinion: if (if conj. A.II.7), wherein question is defined: I. That which is enquired about, discussed, or debated. I.1.a. c1225–:
A point or topic to be investigated or discussed; a problem, or a matter forming the basis of a problem, wherein matter is defined: I. A thing, affair, concern. I.1.a. ?c1225–: An event, circumstance, fact, question, state or course of things, etc., which is or may be an object of consideration or practical concern; a subject, an affair, a business, wherein fact is defined: A. noun II. Senses relating primarily to truth. II.9. 1566–: A piece of information allegedly or conceivably true; something presented as a fact (in sense A.II.8a) but which is disputed or unproven; (more strongly) an unproved assertion, an allegation, wherein information is defined: I. The imparting of knowledge in general. I.1.a. a1387–:
The shaping of the mind or character; communication of instructive knowledge; education, (MACHINE LEARNING) training; †advice (obsolete). Now rare , wherein conditional is defined: A. adjective I. generally. I.1.a. c1380– Subject to, depending on, or limited by, one or more conditions; not absolute; made or granted on certain terms or stipulations, wherein condition is defined: I. A convention, stipulation, proviso, etc. I.1.a. c1315–: Something demanded or required (i.e., “an image includes a visual representation of a cutter” is required for machine learning outputting or “images of cutters” are required for machine learning output) as a prerequisite to the granting or performance (“the machine learning system provides an output”) of something else; a provision, a stipulation. (OED.com)
16 The word “whether” is deep according to Oxford English Dictionary (OED), but I am getting the overall impression from Oxford English Dictionary that the claimed “whether” is directed to training machine learning solving a problem (i.e. answering a mathematical question) dependent/contingent on using training images which is already claimed in the previous limitations of claim 1 and thus this last “wherein” machine learning clause is mostly redundant in claim 1 with the difference being the claimed “an output representing”.
17 model: a representation, generally in miniature, to show the construction or appearance of something. (Dictionary.com)
18 orientation: the act or process of orienting or the state of being oriented, wherein orient is defined: to adjust or align (oneself or something else) according to surroundings or circumstances, wherein surroundings is defined: the conditions, scenery, etc, around a person, place, or thing; environment (Dictionary.com)
19 neural network: Also called neural net. Computers. a hardware or software system in which weighted connections between data nodes are refined to produce increasingly accurate results in information processing, as in pattern recognition or problem solving, with the goal of algorithmic computing that requires minimal human intervention., wherein accurate is defined: free from error or defect; consistent with a standard, rule, or model; precise; exact, wherein precise is defined: definitely or strictly stated, defined, or fixed, wherein definitely is defined: in a clear and definite manner; unambiguously, wherein definite is defined: positive; certain; sure, wherein sure is defined: confident, as of something expected: wherein expect is defined: to look forward to; regard as likely to happen; anticipate the occurrence or the coming of, wherein anticipate is defined: to realize beforehand; foretaste or foresee, wherein foresee is defined: to have prescience of; to know in advance; foreknow, wherein prescience is defined: knowledge of things before they exist or happen; foreknowledge; foresight, wherein foresight is defined: the act or power of foreseeing; prevision; prescience, wherein prevision is defined: wherein prevision is defined: a prophetic or anticipatory vision or perception, wherein prophetic is defined: predictive; presageful or portentous; ominous. (Dictionary.com).
20 CAD: computer-aided design, wherein computer-aided design is defined: CAD. the use of computer techniques in designing products, esp involving the use of computer graphics, wherein computer graphics is defined: pictorial computer output produced on a display screen, plotter, or printer. (Dictionary.com)
21 model: a simplified representation or description of a system or complex entity, esp one designed to facilitate calculations and predictions (Dictionary.com)
22 classify: to arrange or organize by classes; order according to class, wherein according is defined: agreeing, where agree is defined: to correspond; conform; resemble (usually followed by with ), wherein class is defined: a number of persons or things regarded as forming a group by reason of common attributes, characteristics, qualities, or traits; kind; sort. .
23 and: (used to connect alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
24 The crossed-out text “does not limit the scope of a claim [six]”: MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para:
As a general matter, the grammar (conjunction: “and”) and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language (conjunction: “and”) that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
25 comma: the sign (,), a mark of punctuation used for indicating a division in a sentence, as in setting off a word, phrase, or clause, especially when such a division is accompanied by a slight pause or is to be noted in order to give order to the sequential elements of the sentence. It is also used to separate items in a list, to mark off thousands in numerals, to separate types or levels of information in bibliographic and other data, and, in many European countries, as a decimal point. (Dictionary.com)
26 classify: to arrange or organize by classes; order according to class, wherein according is defined: agreeing, where agree is defined: to correspond; conform; resemble (usually followed by with ), wherein class is defined: a number of persons or things regarded as forming a group by reason of common attributes, characteristics, qualities, or traits; kind; sort. .
27 feedback: the furnishing of data concerning the operation or output of a machine to an automatic control device or to the machine itself, so that subsequent or ongoing operations of the machine can be altered or corrected. (Dictionary.com)
28 and: (used to connect alternatives). (Dictionary.com)
29 The crossed-out text “does not limit the scope of a claim [six]”: MPEP 2143.03 All Claim Limitations Must Be Considered [R-01.2024], 3rd para:
As a general matter, the grammar (conjunction: “and”) and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language (conjunction: “and”) that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
30 smartphone: a device that combines a cell phone with a handheld computer, typically offering internet access, data storage, email capability, etc. (Dictionary.com)
31 software: Computers. the programs used to direct the operation of a computer, as well as documentation giving instructions on how to use them, wherein computer is defined: A programmable machine that performs high-speed processing of numbers, as well as of text, graphics, symbols, and sound. All computers contain a central processing unit that interprets and executes instructions; input devices, such as a keyboard and a mouse, through which data and commands enter the computer; memory that enables the computer to store programs and data; and output devices, such as printers and display screens, that show the results after the computer has processed data. . (Dictionary.com)
32 MPEP 2111.01 Plain Meaning [R-01.2024] III. "PLAIN MEANING" REFERS TO THE ORDINARY AND CUSTOMARY MEANING GIVEN TO THE TERM BY THOSE OF ORDINARY SKILL IN THE ART, 3rd para: --In some cases it is also appropriate to look to how the claim term [“whether”] is used in the prior art [CHOWHAN (CA 3088082 A1 WO 2019/087213 A1): page 24: claim 17 in the form of “can…be imaged”], which includes [i.e., as a deciding factor] prior art patents, published applications, trade publications, and dictionaries [(see online Merriam-Webster dictionary article: 'If' vs. 'Whether': Similar But Different, page 2, last S: “As to why this interchange is the case, we don't have an answer. If we did, we would gladly share with you.”)]. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1317, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("Although we have emphasized the importance of intrinsic evidence [applicant’s disclosure:-- [0079] Embodiment 9. A method comprising acquiring a training set of images, wherein the training set of images comprise a set of images of cutters, and training a machine learning system using the training set of images, wherein the machine learning system comprises a set of weights corresponding to one or more nodes of a neural network of the machine learning system, and wherein the machine learning system provides an output representing whether an image includes a visual representation of a cutter.-- ] in claim construction, we have also authorized district courts to rely on extrinsic evidence, which "consists of all evidence external to the patent and prosecution history, including expert and inventor testimony, dictionaries [(see online Merriam-Webster dictionary article: 'If' vs. 'Whether': Similar But Different, page 2, last S: “As to why this interchange is the case, we don't have an answer. If we did, we would gladly share with you.”)], and learned treatises.")--.
33 The word “whether” includes a mysterious “interchange” IF/WHETHER (see online Merriam-Webster dictionary article: 'If' vs. 'Whether': Similar But Different, page 2, last S: “As to why this interchange is the case, we don't have an answer. If we did, we would gladly share with you.”) factor in claim construction as to which semantic interchangeable semantic sense is being applied (1) in the alternative sense or (2) in the conditional sense. I am interpreting claim 1’s and claim 9’s “whether” in the interchangeable semantic conditional sense (e.g., “if” or as a satisfied contingent limitation via MPEP 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS) since I do not see with my own eyes visual alternatives written in words (fonts) in the last “wherein” clause of claims 1 and 9 or in applicant’s corresponding disclosure at said [0079].
34 can: may; have permission to, wherein may is defined: (used to express contingency, especially in clauses indicating condition, concession, purpose, result, etc.), wherein condition is defined: Grammar. protasis, wherein protasis is defined: Grammar. the clause expressing the condition in a conditional sentence, in English usually beginning with if. (Dictionary.com)
35 by ADVERB over; past. (Dictionary.com)
36 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
37 by ADVERB over; past. (Dictionary.com)
38 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
39 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
40 by ADVERB over; past. (Dictionary.com)
41 (italics) represent claim limitations already taught
42 various: of different kinds, as two or more things; differing one from another. (Dictionary.com)