DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: terahertz scanner unit; detector unit; determiner unit in claims 1-6 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “terahertz scanner unit; detector unit; determiner unit” in claims 1 and 16 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The examiner could find essentially no description as to what structures correspond to the noted units. The “detector unit” is defined as having “one or more measurers or sensors” however this merely replaces one nonce term with another as it is entirely unclear what structures or class of structures would fall within or outside of measurers/sensors. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. The examiner will interpret any structure capable of performing the linked function as a structural equivalent below. Claims 2-6 are rejected for their dependency on instant claim 1.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,540902 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the instant claims are anticipated by the corresponding claimed from the noted patent. The examiner notes for clarity of the record that the ingress-protected coating scanner is being taken as equivalent to the terahertz scanner of the instant claims. Further the ingress-protected vibration explorer is being interpreted as equivalent to the detector unit of the instant claims. The determiner unit is the same between both claims sets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ellrich et al. (NPL: Terahertz Quality Inspection for Automotive and Aviation Industries).
As to claims 1 and 16, Ellrich discloses and shows in figure 2B, 15, a system for contactless determining a physical feature of a target item, the system comprising a terahertz scanner unit, a detector unit and a determiner unit;
the terahertz scanner unit (S/D, which the examiner is interpreting as a structural equivalent) is configured to perform an operation according to a relative position between the target item (DUT/Multilayer sample) and the terahertz scanner unit, the operation including emitting a terahertz scanning radiation onto the target item and measuring an interaction radiation caused by interaction of the terahertz scanning radiation with the target item (page 474, ll. 9-11);
the detector unit (DMI system, which the examiner is interpreting as a structural equivalent) includes one or more vibration measurers (the actual interferometer as disclosed) couplable (via beam as shown) to a supporting system configured to support or hold the target item (i.e. any structure that holds the sample like the 80/20 setup shown in figure 5) or to a positioning system configured to position the terahertz scanner unit in or at the relative position, so as to measure vibrations at the supporting system or the positioning system as part of a condition potentially distorting the operation of the terahertz scanner unit (page 485, ll. 3-13);
the determiner unit (DAQ and computer as disclosed, which the examiner is interpreting as a structural equivalent) is configured to determine the physical feature of the target item depending on the interaction radiation measured by the terahertz scanner unit and the condition (i.e. correction as disclosed) potentially distorting the operation of the terahertz scanner unit measured by the detector unit (page 474, ll. 9-11; page 485, ll. 6-9).
The subject matter of claims 1 and 16 relate in that the technical features of apparatus claim 1 are in each case suitable for implementing the method of claim 16, therefore the method is inherent, in view of the above apparatus rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 2, the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to teach or disclose a system for contactless determining a physical feature of a target item, wherein the determiner unit is configured to determine the physical feature of the target item by adjusting the interaction radiation and determining the physical feature of the target item depending on the adjusted interaction radiation and the condition potentially distorting the operation of the terahertz scanner unit, the adjusting of the interaction radiation including: determining whether a part of the condition potentially distorting the operation of the terahertz scanner unit is outside acceptability threshold or range and, therefore, corresponds to an unacceptable distortion, or is inside acceptability threshold or range and, therefore, corresponds to an acceptable distortion, or is inside negligibility threshold or range and, therefore, corresponds to a negligible distortion; and in case of an unacceptable distortion, determining which part of the interaction radiation corresponds in time to the unacceptable distortion and discarding the part of the interaction radiation from the adjusted interaction radiation, in case of acceptable distortion, determining which part of the interaction radiation corresponds in time to the acceptable distortion and modulating the part of the interaction radiation depending on the acceptable distortion, and in case of negligible distortion, determining which part of the interaction radiation corresponds in time to said negligible distortion and keeping the part of the interaction radiation unaltered in the adjusted interaction radiation.
Conclusion
/Michael P LaPage/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877