DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “low temperature maintenance portion” in claim 1 and “substrate temperature adjustment portion” in claim 11.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koshiishi (2004/0226815).
Koshiishi teaches a plasma deposition apparatus comprising:
- a process chamber (see Fig. 1),
- a substrate stage in the chamber with a lower electrode 130 [0104],
- an upper electrode also per [0104], see 120,
- a gas supply portion, described per [0035]; in regard to the supply of a hydrocarbon: it has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). The prior art teaches a gas supply, and the gas supply is understood to be capable of supplying any gas, such as a hydrocarbon, therefore the claim limitation is met, hydrocarbon is not required;
- in regard to the first and second power supplies – the teachings include a power supply connected to each electrode [0104], but the use of the power supply to issue a particular power (waveform) is intended use of the apparatus and therefore the limitation is met by the ability to apply any waveform to the electrodes and the further repetition/period is likewise intended use and the system is capable of meeting the same use and therefore the structure limitations of the apparatus claim are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koshiishi (2004/0226815) in view of Nam (2019/0096636).
Koshiishi teaches a plasma deposition apparatus comprising:
- a process chamber (see Fig. 1),
- a substrate stage in the chamber, including an electrostatic chuck, 170, see [0051], wherein the echuck is understood to hold a substrate as claimed, a lower electrode 130 [0104], but the teachings do not include a low temperature maintenance portion,
- an exhaust portion with a vacuum pump – this is not directly taught by Koshiishi, however such components are universally known with such equipment, as per MPEP 2144.01, it is proper to take into account both explicit and implicit teachings of a reference, where the teaching further includes a gas supply portion [0035], it would be unexpected or inoperable not to include an exhaust with pump, and, further, the use of a hydrocarbon is intended use of the apparatus;
- an upper electrode also per [0104], see 120.
In regard to the first and second power supplies – the teachings include a power supply connected to each electrode [0104], but the use of the power supply to issue a particular waveform is intended use of the apparatus and therefore the limitation is met by the ability to apply any waveform to the electrodes.
As noted, the teachings are silent on a low temperature maintenance portion. Such a portion is interpreted as above under 112f, it is interpreted as a refrigerant cooling system within the substrate holder as supported in the specification. Nam teaches that in a system including an upper and lower electrode [0072], it is useful to include cooling channels with fluid to maintain a temperature of the electrostatic chuck [0031-33]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply the echuck cooling system of Nam to the apparatus of Koshiishi for the benefits of controlling chuck/substrate temperature.
(In alternative to implicit teachings above, the exhaust system of Nam, 24 [0035] includes an exhaust and pump and would be another obvious modification).
Regarding claims 2-10 and 12-19, the claims are further intended use of the apparatus and addressed per the intended use noted above.
Regarding claim 11, all elements of the claim are taught as per claim 1 above, including the chamber, stage, upper and lower electrodes, gas supply and exhaust portions taught by Koshiishi as well as the temperature adjustment portion (and exhaust) taught by Nam. The two power supplies are likewise taught but the use of any particular waveform is intended use, as is the inclusion of a reaction gas and the formation of any particular (i.e. the claimed carbon layer).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712