DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-4, filed 08/13/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Rejection – 35 USC 103(a), Applicant argues “… particularly in view of Kodama's express teaching that high absorptivity is the cause of detection failure”. The arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, new reference of Kinney et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0012775) has been found. Kinney discloses “surface of the detection space formed by the stand and the body is a light-absorbing surface”, ([0044], lines 3-6; Figure 1, internal surface 30 of the detection space formed by the stand and the body of enclosure 12 and walls 32 is light-absorbing surface). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki by having a light-absorbing surface in order to absorb stray light to minimize deleterious effects of internal and external stray light during inspection, (Kinney, [0044], lines 3-6).
2. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 4-5. Applicant argues “…the light source disclosed in Ikeda does not and cannot constitute a "light beam" as recited in the instant claims, and Ikeda therefore fails to disclose the "light beam" limitation of claim 1”, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Both Hiroki’s reference and Ikeda’s reference are using light source for detecting wafer/substrate. The combination of Hiroki’s reference with Ikeda’s reference is not for disclosing the type of light source, but for disclosing “the control module drives the light source to project a light beam”. This limitation is disclosed clearly by Ikeda ([0089], lines 5-13; Figure 4, light source 25, controller 41. Ikeda discloses “various parameters such as a wavelength band and a voltage of the light source 25 are inputted to the controller 41 … the controller 41 controls the voltage and the wavelength band of the light source 25”. This limitation is not different from the limitation “the control module drives the light source to project a light beam” of the current claim 1).
3. Applicant’s arguments see page 5. Applicant argues “Absence of motivation to combine the three cited references … Hiroki is directed to improving wafer processing throughput by correcting horizontal displacement by means of support pins … Ikeda is directed to controlling wavelength characteristics to overcome the effects of a light-shielding film….”. Again, both Hiroki’s reference and Ikeda’s reference are using light source for detecting wafer/substrate. The combination of Hiroki’s reference with Ikeda’s reference is not for disclosing the type of light source, but for disclosing the limitation “the control module drives the light source to project a light beam”. The limitations that Hiroki has already disclosed, Ikeda does not need to disclose again. In other words, Ikeda is not required to disclose all limitations of the claims except for the limitation “the control module drives the light source to project a light beam”. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki and Kinney by having the control module to drive the light source in order to control light source to output expected wavelength (Ikeda, [0089]).
4. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6, although Hiroki does not teach the limitation “the body has an opening that is located within a range of the partial top surface, and the light beam that is projected by the light source passes through the opening and enters the detection space”, Ikeda teaches this limitation, (Ikeda following figure 4, it is inherent that the stage 22 must have an opening that is located within a range of the partial top surface TOP and the light beam that is projected by the light source 25 passes through the opening TOP and enters the detection space of the cylindrical body 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki and Kinney by having opening in order to project light beam from light source pass through the opening and enter the detection space.
[AltContent: textbox (TOP)][AltContent: arrow]
5. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, 12, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues “The rotational mechanism disclosed in Hiroki at paragraphs [0079] through [0084] does not disclose the specific structural combination recited in claims 11 and 12, namely a planar moving platform in combination with a rotating platform disposed thereupon, nor does Hiroki disclose an attachment unit in structural communication with the rotating platform as claimed”.
Regarding claim 11, Figure 2 of Hiroki’s reference clearly discloses a planar moving platform 138X, 138Y and a rotating platform 112. In other words, Hiroki discloses a planar moving platform and a rotating platform that are respectively electrically connected to the control module, the rotating platform is disposed on the planar moving platform, the planar moving platform performs planar movement on the body, and the rotating platform rotates by a normal line of the plane (Figure 2 of Hiroki’s reference clearly discloses a planar moving platform 138X, 138Y and a rotating platform 112 that are respectively electrically connected to the control module Control Unit 200 with Detection Unit 150. Note: In electrical/computer fields, these dot lines represent electrical connection between electronic devices).
Regarding to claim 12 Hiroki further teaches in figures 1-2 that the stage further comprises an attachment unit that is electrically connected to the control module and structurally communicates with the rotating platform, and the control module drives the attachment unit to attach and fix the wafer on the rotating platform (figures 1-2, support pins 132A-C is not different from an attachment unit, control unit 200, rotating platform 112 drives the attachment unit 132A-C to attach and fix the wafer W on the rotating platform 112. Further figure 2 shows attachment unit 132A-C that is electrically connected to the control module Control Unit 200 and structurally communicates with the rotating platform 112 by dot lines; [0020, 0053-0065]. Note: in electrical/computer fields, these dot lines represent electrical connection between electronic devices).
Therefore, the rejection for claims 11 and 12 are correct and maintained.
6. Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroki (Pub. No. 2008/0056857) in view of Kinney et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0012775), further in view of Ikeda et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0139642). Hereafter “Hiroki”, “Kinney”, “Ikeda”.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Hiroki discloses a wafer aligner, comprising:
a body, (figures 1, 2, elements 158, 138, is not different from a body);
a stage, movably disposed on the body (figure 1, stage unit 110 and rotatable stage 112 is not different from stage, movably disposed on the body 138);
a stand, vertically disposed on the body and partially suspended above the body to allow the stand and the body to form a detection space, (figure 1, elements 156, 157 is not different from a stand, disposed on the body and partially suspended above the body elements 158, 138), a wafer carried on the stage and driven by the stage to rotate relative to the body (figure 1, wafer W carried on the stage and driven by the stage 110 and rotatable stage 112, to rotate relative to the body elements 158, 138), and an edge of the wafer passing by the detection space (figures 1, 2, an edge of the wafer W passing by the detection space of detection unit 150);
an optical module, comprising a light source and an image capture device, the light source disposed in the body, and the image capture device disposed in the stand (figures 1, 2, the light source 154A-C disposed in the body elements 158, 138, and the image capture device 152A-C disposed in the stand elements 156, 157); and
a control module, electrically connected the stage and the optical module, (figures 2, 12, control module 200), and the light beam sequentially passes through the body and the detection space and is projected into the stand and received by the image capture device to detect the edge of the wafer ([0068, 0070-0071]; The following figure 1, light beam from light sources 154A-C sequentially passes through the body elements 158, 138, and the detection space CC and is projected into the stand elements 156, 157, and received by the image capture device 152A-C to detect the edge of the wafer W).
However, Hiroki does not disclose at least one surface of the detection space formed by the stand and the body is a light-absorbing surface, and the control module drives the light source to project a light beam. Kinney discloses at least one surface of the detection space formed by the stand and the body is a light-absorbing surface, ([0044], lines 3-6; Figure 1, internal surface 30 of the detection space formed by the stand and the body of enclosure 12 and walls 32 is light-absorbing surface). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki by having a light-absorbing surface in order to absorb stray light to minimize deleterious effects of internal and external stray light during inspection, (Kinney, [0044], lines 3-6).
Moreover, Hiroki in view of Kinney disclose the claimed invention except for the control module drives the light source to project a light beam. Ikeda discloses the control module drives the light source to project a light beam, ([0089], lines 5-13; Figure 4, light source 25, controller 41. Ikeda’s limitation “various parameters such as a wavelength band and a voltage of the light source 25 are inputted to the controller 41 … the controller 41 controls the voltage and the wavelength band of the light source 25” is not different from the limitation “the control module drives the light source to project a light beam” of the current claim 1. Please the explanation for Applicant’s argument on paragraphs 2-3 above). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki and Kinney by having the control module to drive the light source in order to control light source to output expected wavelength (Ikeda, [0089]).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1 as stated above except for the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a surface of the connection structure facing the detection space. Hiroki further discloses the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a surface of the connection structure facing the detection space (the following figure 1, a connection structure AA, is connected between the detection structure BB and the body elements 158, 138. The surface of the connection structure AA is facing the detection space; wherein the detection space CC is the space between image capturing means 152A-C and light sources 154A-C).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claims 1, 3, as stated above except for the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the body. Hiroki further discloses the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the body, (the following figure 1, the detection structure BB has a detection surface of the detection space CC, facing the body elements 158 & 138), and the surface of the connection structure facing the detection space is adjacent between the detection surface and the body (the following figure 1, the surface of the connection structure AA facing the detection space CC, is adjacent between the detection surface of the detection space CC and the body elements 158 & 138, the detection surface is the surface of the image capturing means 152A-C).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (CC)][AltContent: textbox (BB)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (AA)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1, as stated above except for the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a partial top surface of the body adjacent to the connection structure. Hiroki further discloses the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a partial top surface of the body adjacent to the connection structure (the above figure 1, the stand 157 has a connection structure AA and a detection structure BB. The connection structure AA is connected between the detection structure BB and the body 158&138. One surface comprises a partial top surface of the body 158&138 adjacent to the connection structure AA).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claims 1, 4, as stated above except for the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure corresponding to the body. Hiroki further discloses the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure corresponding to the body (the above figure 1, the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure BB corresponding to the body 158&138).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claims 1, 4, as stated above except for the body has an opening that is located within a range of the partial top surface, and the light beam that is projected by the light source passes through the opening and enters the detection space. Ikeda further teaches the body has an opening that is located within a range of the partial top surface, and the light beam that is projected by the light source passes through the opening and enters the detection space (the above Ikeda figure 4, it is inherent that the stage 22 must have an opening that is located within a range of the partial top surface TOP and the light beam that is projected by the light source 25 passes through the opening TOP and enters the detection space of the cylindrical body 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Hiroki and Kinney by having opening in order to project light beam from light source pass through the opening and enter the detection space.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claims 1, 4, 6, as stated above except for the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the partial top surface, and the connection structure is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface. Hiroki further discloses the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the partial top surface, and the connection structure is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface (the above figure 1, the detection structure BB has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space CC and facing the partial top surface. The connection structure AA is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface of the image capturing means 152A-C. Note: the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure BB corresponding to the body 158&138).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1, as stated above except for the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a surface of the connection structure exposed to the detection space and a partial top surface of the body. Hiroki further discloses the stand has a connection structure and a detection structure, the connection structure is connected between the detection structure and the body, the detection structure is suspended above the body, the image capture device is located in the detection structure, and the at least one surface comprises a surface of the connection structure exposed to the detection space and a partial top surface of the body (the above figure 1, the connection structure AA is connected between the detection structure BB and the body 158&138. The image capture device 152A-C is located in the detection structure BB. A surface of the connection structure AA exposed to the detection space CC and a partial top surface of the body 158&138. Note: the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure BB corresponding to the body 158&138).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claims 1, 8, as stated above except for the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the partial top surface, and the surface of the connection structure exposed to the detection space is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface. Hiroki further discloses the detection structure has a detection surface that is exposed to the detection space and facing the partial top surface, and the surface of the connection structure exposed to the detection space is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface (the above figure 1, the detection structure BB has a detection surface of the image capturing means 152A-C, that is exposed to the detection space CC and facing the partial top surface. The surface of the connection structure AA exposed to the detection space CC is adjacent between the partial top surface and the detection surface of the image capturing means 152A-C. Note: the partial top surface is an orthographic projection surface of the detection structure BB corresponding to the body 158&138).
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1, as stated above except for the light-absorbing surface is a black matte surface that has been anodized. Kinney discloses in claim 1 above that at least one surface of the detection space formed by the stand and the body is a light-absorbing surface, ([0044], lines 3-6; Figure 1, internal surface 30 of the detection space formed by the stand and the body of enclosure 12 and walls 32). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify method or device of Kinney’s reference with a black matte surface, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. in re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1, as stated above except for a planar moving platform and a rotating platform that are respectively electrically connected to the control module, the rotating platform is disposed on the planar moving platform, the planar moving platform performs planar movement on the body, and the rotating platform rotates by a normal line of the plane. Hiroki further discloses a planar moving platform and a rotating platform that are respectively electrically connected to the control module, the rotating platform is disposed on the planar moving platform, the planar moving platform performs planar movement on the body, and the rotating platform rotates by a normal line of the plane (Figure 2 of Hiroki’s reference clearly discloses a planar moving platform 138X, 138Y and a rotating platform 112 that are respectively electrically connected to the control module Control Unit 200 with Detection Unit 150. Note: In electrical/computer fields, these dot lines represent electrical connection between electronic devices).
Regarding Claim(s) 12, Hiroki, Kinney, Ikeda teach all limitation wafer aligner according to claim 1, as stated above except for the stage further comprises an attachment unit that is electrically connected to the control module and structurally communicates with the rotating platform, and the control module drives the attachment unit to attach and fix the wafer on the rotating platform. Hiroki further discloses the stage further comprises an attachment unit that is electrically connected to the control module and structurally communicates with the rotating platform, and the control module drives the attachment unit to attach and fix the wafer on the rotating platform (figures 1-2, support pins 132A-C is not different from an attachment unit, control unit 200, rotating platform 112 drives the attachment unit 132A-C to attach and fix the wafer W on the rotating platform 112. Further figure 2 shows attachment unit 132A-C that is electrically connected to the control module Control Unit 200 and structurally communicates with the rotating platform 112 by dot lines; [0020, 0053-0065]. Note: in electrical/computer fields, these dot lines represent electrical connection between electronic devices).
Fax/Telephone Information
October 5, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877