DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a management frame exchange unit configured to exchange…”, and “a power supply control unit conjured to …” in claims 1 and 9, “the power supply control unit is configured to…” in claim 5, “a frame generating unit configured to…”, and “a frame transmitting unit configured to…” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a management frame exchange unit configured to exchange…”, “a power supply control unit conjured to …”, “a frame generating unit configured to…”, and “a frame transmitting unit configured to…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure(s) perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected because of their dependencies.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention..
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected because of their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (hereinafter Jeon) (US 20210034138 A1).
As to claim 6, Jeon teaches an electronic control device [FIG. 1: multi-core processor 110] included in a communication system that includes: multiple-circuits controller having a first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4: core 1] and a second electronic circuit device [FIG. 4: core 2]; a first power switch [FIG. 4: SW1] disposed on a first power path between a power source and the first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4]; a second power switch [FIG. 4” SW2] disposed on a second power path between the power source and the second electronic circuit device [FIG. 4], wherein
the first power switch is configured to selectively switch between a first connected state in which the first power path is electrically connected to the power source and a first disconnected state in which the first power path is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The first power gating switch SW1 may be arranged between the first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a and may be selectively turned on in response to a first power gating signal S1G. The first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a may be selectively connected with each other through the first power gating switch SW1.”], and
the second power switch is configured to selectively switch between a second connected state in which the second power path is electrically connected to the power source and a second disconnected state in which the second power path is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The second power gating switch SW2 may be arranged between the second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b and may be selectively turned on in response to a second power gating signal S2G. The second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b may be selectively connected with each other through the second power gating switch SW2”],
the electronic control device comprising:
a frame generating unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to generate a management frame, as a communication frame [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b…”], that includes first switch information [operating state of the core 1 110a] indicating whether to supply electric power to the first electronic circuit device and second switch information [operating state of the core 2 110b] indicating whether to supply electric power to the second electronic circuit device upon determining one of predetermined services to be provided based on a detected event [0053: “For example, the control logic 120 may include a scheduler logic configured to schedule tasks of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and may determine the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b based on the scheduled tasks of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”]; and
a frame transmitting unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to transmit the management frame [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G based on the determined operating states.”] [The determined operating states of the cores are transmitted and executed for generating power gating signals.], wherein
the frame generating unit is further configured to generate the management frame according to the determined one of the predetermined services [0053: “For example, the control logic 120 may include a scheduler logic configured to schedule tasks of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and may determine the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b based on the scheduled tasks of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”].
As to claim 9, Jeon teaches an electronic control device comprising:
a first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4: core 1];
a second electronic circuit device [FIG. 4: core 2];
a first power switch [FIG. 4: SW1] disposed on a first power path between a power source and the first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4], the first power switch being configured to selectively switch between a first connected state in which the first electronic circuit device is electrically connected to the power source and a first disconnected state in which the first electronic circuit device is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The first power gating switch SW1 may be arranged between the first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a and may be selectively turned on in response to a first power gating signal S1G. The first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a may be selectively connected with each other through the first power gating switch SW1.”];
a second power switch [FIG. 4: SW2] disposed on a second power path between the power source and the second electronic circuit device [FIG. 4], the second power switch being configured to selectively switch between a second connected state in which the second electronic circuit device is electrically connected to the power source and a second disconnected state in which the second electronic circuit device is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The second power gating switch SW2 may be arranged between the second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b and may be selectively turned on in response to a second power gating signal S2G. The second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b may be selectively connected with each other through the second power gating switch SW2”];
a management frame exchange unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to exchange a management frame, as the communication frame, that includes first switch information [operating state of the core 1 110a] and second switch information [operating state of the core 2 110b], the first switch information indicating whether to supply electric power to the first electronic circuit device, the second switch information indicating whether to supply electric power to the second electronic circuit device [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G based on the determined operating states.”], and
a power supply control unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to:
switch the first power switch between the first connected state and the first disconnected state according to the first switch information in the management frame that is received by the management frame exchange unit [FIG.2] [0054: “the control logic 120 may generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G to drive the first and second power gating switches SW1 and SW2 as shown in the table 20 of FIG. 2, according to the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”] 0037-0038]; and
switch the second power switch between the second connected state and the second disconnected state according to the second switch information in the management frame that is received by the management frame exchange unit [FIG.2] [0054: “the control logic 120 may generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G to drive the first and second power gating switches SW1 and SW2 as shown in the table 20 of FIG. 2, according to the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (hereinafter Jeon) (US 20210034138 A1) in view of Sistla et al. (hereinafter Sistla) (US 20120144217 A1).
As to claim 1, Jeon teaches a communication system comprising:
an electronic controller [FIG. 1: multi-core processor 110],
wherein the electronic controller is a multiple-circuits controller including a first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4: core 1] and a second electronic circuit device [core 2],
the multiple-circuits controller further includes:
a first power switch [FIG. 4: SW1] disposed on a first power path between a power source and the first electronic circuit device [FIG. 4], the first power switch being configured to selectively switch between a first connected state in which the first electronic circuit device is electrically connected to the power source and a first disconnected state in which the first electronic circuit device is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The first power gating switch SW1 may be arranged between the first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a and may be selectively turned on in response to a first power gating signal S1G. The first power rail PR1 and the CORE1 110a may be selectively connected with each other through the first power gating switch SW1.”];
a second power switch [FIG. 4: SW 2] disposed on a second power path between the power source and the second electronic circuit device {FIG. 4], the second power switch being configured to selectively switch between a second connected state in which the second electronic circuit device is electrically connected to the power source and a second disconnected state in which the second electronic circuit device is electrically disconnected from the power source [0033: “The second power gating switch SW2 may be arranged between the second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b and may be selectively turned on in response to a second power gating signal S2G. The second power rail PR2 and the CORE2 110b may be selectively connected with each other through the second power gating switch SW2”];
a management frame exchange unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to exchange a management frame, as the communication frame, that includes first switch information [operating state of the core 1 110a] and second switch information [operating state of the core 2 110b], the first switch information indicating whether to supply electric power to the first electronic circuit device, the second switch information indicating whether to supply electric power to the second electronic circuit device [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G based on the determined operating states.”], and
a power supply control unit [logic circuit in the control logic 120] configured to:
switch the first power switch between the first connected state and the first disconnected state according to the first switch information in the management frame that is received by the management frame exchange unit [FIG.2] [0054: “the control logic 120 may generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G to drive the first and second power gating switches SW1 and SW2 as shown in the table 20 of FIG. 2, according to the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”] 0037-0038]; and
switch the second power switch between the second connected state and the second disconnected state according to the second switch information in the management frame that is received by the management frame exchange unit [FIG.2] [0054: “the control logic 120 may generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G to drive the first and second power gating switches SW1 and SW2 as shown in the table 20 of FIG. 2, according to the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”].
Jeon does not teach the communication system comprising a plurality of the electronic controllers that are connected each other to exchange a communication frame therebetween.
Sislta teaches a communication system comprising a plurality of the electronic controllers that are connected each other to exchange a communication frame therebetween [FIG. 9] [0059: “As shown in FIG. 9, system 800 may be a partially connected quad processor system in which each processor 810 (each of which may be multicore multi-domain processors) is coupled to each other processor via a PtP link”].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of deploying multiple multi-core processor in the system as suggested in Sislta into Jeon to implement higher computing capability. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modification to improve computing performance of the system.
As to claim 2, Jeon teaches wherein the first electronic circuit device is a first core, the second electronic circuit device is a second core [FIG. 4: core 1 and core2], the multiple-circuits controller further includes a multiple-cores integrated circuit device having the first core and the second core [0046: “The SoC 100 may include the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b”].
As to claim 3, Jeon teaches wherein the first electronic circuit device is a first single-core integrated circuit device that includes a single core, and the second electronic circuit device is a second single-core integrated circuit device that includes a single core [FIG. 4: core 1 and core2].
As to claim 4, Jeon teaches wherein the management frame further includes one or more pieces of activation information indicating whether to activate one or more of the plurality of electronic controllers other than the multiple-circuits controller [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G based on the determined operating states.”].
As to claim 5, Jeon teaches wherein the power supply control unit is configured to output a control signal indicating whether to switch the first power switch to the first connected state and whether to switch the second power switch to the second connected state [0047: “The control logic 120 may determine operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b and generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G based on the determined operating states.”], and the multiple-circuits controller further includes a power switch control unit configured to switch the first power switch and the second power switch according to the control signal [FIG. 2] [0054: “the control logic 120 may generate the first and second power gating signals S1G and S2G to drive the first and second power gating switches SW1 and SW2 as shown in the table 20 of FIG. 2, according to the operating states of the CORE1 110a and the CORE2 110b.”] [00037-0038].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcome the rejections under 112 (a) and (b).
Conclusion
/XUXING CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176