Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Usuki et al., JP 2005285558.
Regarding claim 1, Usuki discloses (fig. 1 and related text) a MEMS element comprising: a piezoelectric element (fig. 1) including a piezoelectric membrane (102) having a ferroelectric (102 can be PZT, lead lanthanum titanate, hence ferroelectric) and configured to vibrate (resonance characteristics) based on an application of a voltage (refer to the description of fig. 3); and a diode portion (11) electrically connected in parallel (refer to [1-2] and the equivalent circuit of fig. 2) to the piezoelectric element and including a diode (111).
Regarding claim 2, Usuki discloses the piezoelectric element and the diode portion are formed on a single semiconductor substrate (14, silicon).
Regarding claim 12, Usuki discloses a piezoelectric acoustic device (fig. 1 description) comprising: a MEMS element comprising: a piezoelectric element including a piezoelectric membrane (102) including a ferroelectric (102 can be PZT, lead lanthanum titanate, hence ferroelectric) and configured to vibrate based on an application of a voltage (resonance characteristics); and a diode portion (11) electrically connected in parallel (refer to [1-2] and the equivalent circuit of fig. 2) to the piezoelectric element and including a diode (111).
Regarding claim 14, Usuki discloses the piezoelectric acoustic device includes a MEMS speaker (acoustic device includes speaker).
Regarding claim 19, Usuki discloses a method of manufacturing a MEMS element comprising: providing a piezoelectric element including a piezoelectric membrane (102) including a ferroelectric (102 can be PZT, lead lanthanum titanate, hence ferroelectric) and configured to vibrate based on an application of a voltage; and electrically connecting a diode portion in parallel to the piezoelectric element and including a diode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811