DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a temperature observation point [claims 1-3, 5, 9-12, and 17-20] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of the claim, change “Wherein” to --wherein-- to correct a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-10 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama (WO2022/181377 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses [see Figs 1-2 above] a probe testing apparatus (inspection device 1) comprising: a wafer stage (mounting table 21) including a wafer mounting surface [shown but not numbered also see pg. 2 under “DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS” paragraph 7] on which a semiconductor wafer (wafer W) is mounted; a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 27) including a temperature observation point exposed on the wafer mounting surface (part of 21) and configured to directly measure a temperature of a rear surface of the semiconductor wafer (W) mounted on the wafer mounting surface (part of 21); a temperature adjustment mechanism (temperature adjustment mechanism 28) configured to adjust a temperature of the wafer stage (21) by heating or cooling the wafer stage (21); and a controller (controller 30) configured to control the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) in such a manner that a measured temperature by the temperature sensor (27) becomes a target temperature.
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama discloses wherein the temperature sensor (27) is a contact type temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the semiconductor wafer (W) by the temperature observation point coming into contact with the rear surface of the semiconductor wafer (W).
Regarding claim 8, Nakayama discloses wherein the controller (30) further holds temperature control data [via offset table] in a memory (memory device 33), and performs feedforward control on the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) based on the temperature control data [via offset table] in a probe testing period, and wherein the temperature control data is data generated so as to offset, based on a time-series temperature change in a device under test formed on the semiconductor wafer (W) during the probe testing period, the temperature change.
Regarding claim 9, Nakayama discloses [see Figs 1-2 above] a probe testing system (inspection device 1) comprising a probe card (probe card 24) and a probe testing apparatus (inspection section 20), wherein the probe card (24) includes: a plurality of probes (probes 24a) attached so as to come into contact with a terminal of a device under test formed on a semiconductor wafer (wafer W) during a probe testing; and a non-contact type temperature sensor (temperature sensor 26) attached in such a manner that a temperature observation point is arranged at a predetermined distance from a surface of the semiconductor wafer (W) during the probe testing and configured to measure a temperature of the semiconductor wafer (W) in a non-contact manner, and wherein the probe testing apparatus (20) includes: a wafer stage (mounting table 21) including a wafer mounting surface [shown but not numbered also see pg. 2 under “DESCRIPTION OF EMBODIMENTS” paragraph 7] on which a semiconductor wafer (wafer W) is mounted; a temperature adjustment mechanism (temperature adjustment mechanism 28) configured to adjust a temperature of the wafer stage (21) by heating or cooling the wafer stage (21); and a controller (controller 30) configured to acquire a measured temperature by the temperature sensor (26) attached to the probe card (24) and to control the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) based on the measured temperature.
Regarding claim 10, Nakayama discloses wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged above an inner region of the device under test [see Figs 5A-5C where sensor 26 is placed in the middle of wafer W] and at a position where the plurality of probes (24a) is not arranged, and wherein the controller (30) controls the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) in such a manner that the measured temperature becomes a target temperature.
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama discloses wherein the controller (30) further holds temperature control data [via offset table] in a memory (memory device 33), and performs feedforward control on the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) based on the temperature control data [via offset table] in a probe testing period, and wherein the temperature control data is data generated so as to offset, based on a time-series temperature change in a device under test formed on the semiconductor wafer (W) during the probe testing period, the temperature change.
Regarding claim 17, Nakayama discloses [see Figs 1-2 above] a probe card (probe card 24) to be used in a probe testing of a device under test formed on a semiconductor wafer (wafer W), the probe card (24) comprising: a plurality of probes (probes 24a) attached so as to come into contact with a terminal of the device under test (part of W) during the probe testing; and a non-contact type temperature sensor (temperature sensor 26) attached in such a manner that a temperature observation point is arranged at a predetermined distance from a surface of the semiconductor wafer (W) during the probe testing and configured to measure a temperature of the semiconductor wafer (W) in a non-contact manner.
Regarding claim 18, Nakayama discloses wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged above an inner region of the device under test [see Figs 5A-5C where sensor 26 is placed in the middle of wafer W] and at a position where the plurality of probes (24a) is not arranged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11-12 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (WO2022/181377 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nakayama discloses the temperature sensor (27), wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (27) is arranged within a region of the wafer mounting surface (part of 21). However, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of the temperature sensors as claimed. It would be obvious to have more than one temperature sensor where needed [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 11, Nakayama discloses the temperature sensor (26), wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged above an outer region of the device under test (part of W) during the probe testing, and wherein the controller (30) predicts a temperature of the device under test (part of W) as a predicted temperature based on the measured temperatures by the temperature sensor (26), and controls the temperature adjustment mechanism (28) in such a manner that the predicted temperature becomes a target temperature. However, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of the temperature sensors as claimed. It would be obvious to have more than one temperature sensor where needed [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 12, Nakayama discloses the temperature sensor (26), wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged within a region of the probe card (24). However, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of the temperature sensors as claimed. It would be obvious to have more than one temperature sensor where needed [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 19, Nakayama discloses the temperature sensor (26), wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged above an outer region of the device under test during the probe testing. However, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of the temperature sensors as claimed. It would be obvious to have more than one temperature sensor where needed [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 20, Nakayama discloses the temperature sensor (26), wherein the temperature observation point of the temperature sensor (26) is arranged within a region of the probe card (24). However, the prior art does not disclose a plurality of the temperature sensors as claimed. It would be obvious to have more than one temperature sensor where needed [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one temperature sensor since it was held that that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 4 and 13, the primary reason for the allowance of the claims is due to the temperature adjustment mechanism includes a plurality of adjustment regions dividing the region of the wafer mounting surface, and is configured to adjust temperatures of the plurality of adjustment regions individually. Since claims 5-7 depend from claim 4 and claims 14-15 depend from claim 13, they also have allowable subject matter.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858