DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/26, 10/09/24 has been entered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 10/09/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
4.. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 07/08/26 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urano et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0004875). Hereafter “Urano”.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Urano teaches a device analysis method comprising:
manufacturing a device ([0002, 0005]);
supplying a first light signal to the device (figure 1, first light signal through lens 6 to the device sample 1) at a plurality of incident angles or a plurality of azimuth angles ([0073]; figure 18A-B. It is inherent that a plurality of illumination conditions different from one another by illuminating a plurality of mutually different positions on a sample must have a plurality of incident angles or a plurality of azimuth angles);
detecting a second light signal reflected from the device (figure 1, a second light signal reflected from the device 1, detected by sensors 9a-c); determining whether the device is normal or defective by analyzing the second light signal ([0002], lines 12-16; [0003], lines 10-16; [0005], lines 6-14; [0008]); and
when the device is a defective device, performing defect modeling on the defective device, wherein the performing of the defect modeling comprises calculating a distribution of defects, ([0012, 0014]. Displaying the detected number of defect types is not different from calculating a distribution of defects; [0089], lines 15-17, 30-32; [0090], lines 14-19; 30-35; [0094], lines 7-12; Figures 13A-B is not different from performing defect modeling).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Urano teaches all the limitation according to claim 1 as stated above except for the performing of the defect modeling is based on a shape of the device. Urano further teaches the performing of the defect modeling is based on a shape of the device ([0004], lines 1-2; [0077], lines 14-19).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, Urano teaches all the limitation according to claim 1 as stated above except for the performing of the defect modeling is based on an intensity of the second light signal according to the plurality of incident angles or the plurality of azimuth angles. Urano further teaches the performing of the defect modeling is based on an intensity of the second light signal ([0003], lines 7-10; [0005], lines 6-8; [0030]; [0070], lines 20-26), according to the plurality of incident angles or the plurality of azimuth angles, ([0073]; figure 18A-B. It is inherent that a plurality of illumination conditions different from one another by illuminating a plurality of mutually different positions on a sample must have a plurality of incident angles or a plurality of azimuth angles).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Urano teaches all the limitation according to claim 1 as stated above except for the device including at least one of a semiconductor device or a display device. Urano further teaches the device including at least one of a semiconductor device or a display device ([0002, 0013-0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0004875) in view of Zhong et al. (CN 111837227). Hereafter “Urano” and “Zhong”. (Please see attached files for Zhong’s reference).
Regarding to claim 4, Urano teaches the device analysis method according to claim 1 as stated above except for a cross section of the device includes a bottom portion extending in a horizontal direction and a side surface portion extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction. Zhong discloses a cross section of the device includes a bottom portion extending in a horizontal direction and a side surface portion extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction (figure 2, a cross section of the device 200 contains grooves 206, which include bottom portion extending in a horizontal direction and a side surface portion extending in a vertical direction perpendicular to the horizontal direction). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Urano by having the device including a bottom portion extending in a horizontal direction and a side surface portion extending in a vertical direction in order to inspect a specific sample.
Regarding to claims 5-6, Urano teaches the device analysis method according to claim 1 as stated above except for separating the detected second light signal into a bottom portion component and a side surface portion component, and a cross section of the device has a curved shape. Zhong teaches separating the detected second light signal into a bottom portion component and a side surface portion component, (figure 2, detect light signal of defect 204 at bottom portion component and defect 202 on side surface portion component). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Urano by separating the detected second light signal into a bottom portion component and a side surface portion component in order to inspect a specific defect at different position. Further, although Urano and Zhong do not teach a cross section of the device has a curved shape as that claimed by Applicant, the shape differences are considered obvious and are not patentable unless unobvious or unexpected results are obtained from these changes. Additionally, the Applicant has presented no discussion in the specification which convinces the Examiner that the particular shape of the cross section of the device is anything more than one of numerous shapes a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing support. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976). It appears that these changes produce no functional differences and therefore would have been obvious.
11. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0004875) in view of Li et al. (CN 111077117). Hereafter “Urano” and “Li’s 117”. (Please see attached files for Li’s reference).
Regarding to claim 7, Urano teaches the device analysis method according to claim 1 as stated above except for a frequency of the second light signal is twice a frequency of the first light signal. Li’s 117 teaches a frequency of the second light signal is twice a frequency of the first light signal (page 4, lines 31-34. Reflected light is the second light signal. Incident light is first light signal). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Urano by a frequency of the second light signal is twice a frequency of the first light signal in order to inspect a defect efficiently.
12. Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urano et al. (Pub. No. 2010/0004875) in view of Li et al. (CN 110940644 A), further in view of Kimura (JP 2009244018). Hereafter “Urano”, “Li’s 644”, “Kimura”. (Please see attached files for Li’s reference and Kimura’s reference).
Regarding to claims 9, 13-15, Urano teaches the device analysis method as disclosed in claim 1 as stated above (please see the rejection of claim 1 in paragraph 7 above) except for calculating an intensity of an electric field according to a model; calculating an intensity of the second light signal based on the intensity of the electric field; and comparing the second light signal reflected from the device with the second light signal calculated by performing defect modeling. Urano further teaches comparing the second light signal reflected from the device with the second light signal calculated by performing defect modeling, (Abstract, lines 5-7; [0003], lines 10-16; [0006], lines 1-4; [0008], lines 3-8. Scattered light distribution library or scattered light distributions determined by a simulator is not different from light signal calculated by performing defect modeling).
Although Urano does not teach calculating an intensity of the light signal based on the intensity of the electric field, however, it is inherent that light signal is a type of electromagnetic signal, and it contains electric field. Moreover, Li’s 644 teaches calculating an intensity of an electric field, calculating an intensity of the light signal based on the intensity of the electric field (page 4, lines 15-20. Reflected light signal strength and nonlinear optical information is not different from an intensity of the light signal, which can obtain from the intensity of the electric field). Kimura further teaches the light intensity is approximately proportional to the intensity of the second electric field, (page 3, lines 36-38; Page 4, lines 28-31; Page 7, lines 1-4; Page 8, lines 35-37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Urano by calculating an intensity of an electric field, calculating an intensity of the light signal based on the intensity of the electric field in order to measure optical information for the inspection (Li’s 644, page 4, lines 15-20).
Regarding Claim(s) 10, 12, Urano and Li’s 644 and Kimura teach all the limitation according to claim 9 as stated above except for predicting a position of a defect and a density of the defect based on a shape of the device. Urano further teaches predicting a position of a defect and a density of the defect based on a shape of the device ([0004], lines 1-2; [0077], lines 14-19; [0089], lines 15-32; [0091], lines 17-35).
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Urano and Li’s 644 and Kimura teach all the limitation according to claim 9 as stated above except for the intensity of the electric field is expressed as a function of an angle formed by an interface of the device and the electric field. Urano further teaches the intensity of the light is expressed as a function of an angle formed by an interface of the device and the electric field ([0003], lines 7-10; [0005], lines 6-8; [0030]; [0070], lines 20-26; ([0073]; figure 18A-B. It is inherent that a plurality of illumination conditions different from one another by illuminating a plurality of mutually different positions on a sample. As explained in claim 9 above, it is inherent that light signal is a type of electromagnetic signal, and it contains electric field therefore the intensity of the electric field is based on angle formed by an interface of the device and the electric field, and Kimura further teaches the light intensity is approximately proportional to the intensity of the second electric field, (page 3, lines 36-38; Page 4, lines 28-31; Page 7, lines 1-4; Page 8, lines 35-37).
Fax/Telephone Information
August 6, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877