DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a dry vacuum pump dynamically sealed to the first vessel”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear as to what exactly constitutes a dynamic seal, as the metes and bounds of this limitation are not present in the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 11, 13, 14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Crosby (US 5514286).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 14, Crosby discloses a system and method for restoring a contaminated soil, the system comprising: a first vessel [10] configured to receive the contaminated soil; an agitator [18] configured to disturb the contaminated soil; a heat source [16] configured to heat the contaminated soil; and a vacuum pump [26] coupled to the first vessel [Figures 1 & 5], wherein the coupling enables an evaporated contaminant to escape from the first vessel [via pipe 22; Figure 3].
Regarding claims 2-4 and 18, Crosby further discloses the agitator disturbs the contaminated soil by rotation [Column 5, Line 15 to Column 6, Line 55]; an insulation [36] on the first vessel; and the first vessel comprises at least one fin [18] that protrudes into the first vessel.
Regarding claims 10, 13 and 17, Crosby further discloses a second vessel [52] coupled to the vacuum pump to contain the condensed evaporated contaminant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosby (US 5514286) alone.
Regarding claims 15, and 16, although Crosby is silent as to the specific values of the vacuum pump pressure and heating temperature, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize values of .001 Torr and greater than 325 Kelvin respectively depending on a number of factors including the size of the tanks, the operative ability of the pump, the volume and type of soil, the type of contaminant, etc. Subsequently, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosby (US 5514286) in view of Hamilton (US 20140363234).
Crosby fails to disclose the use of temperature/pressure sensors and a control unit with the device.
Hamilton teaches an apparatus and method for soil remediation wherein temperature and pressure sensors, and a control unit is utilized in the system [Paragraphs 78 & 79].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Crosby by adding the sensing and control system as described by Hamilton to provide a more accurate indication of the operating conditions for both increasing safety and the quality of the remediation.
Claim(s) 9, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crosby (US 5514286) in view of Tomiuci (JP 2003019434 A).
Crosby fails to disclose the vacuum pump is specifically a dry pump.
Tomiuci discloses a soil remediation system wherein a dry pump [43] is utilized in the process.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Crosby by substituting the vacuum pump for a dry vacuum pump as described by Tomuici since it is pulling dry vapor after the saturated vapor has passed through the condensing chamber, thereby it can last longer and require less frequent and costly maintenance thus saving time and money.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vermeulen (US 2007/0278086) discloses a thermal desorption process and device similar to that of the claimed invention.
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619