DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Applicant’s Amendment to the Claims filed March 12, 2026 and Request for Continued Examination filed April 10, 2026 are received and entered.
2. Claims 1, 3, 5 – 7, 9 – 12, and 15 are amended. Claim 14 is cancelled. Claims 1 – 13 and 15 are pending and are under examination in this action.
Response to Arguments / Amendment
4. The rejections of claim 3 – 10 under 35 USC 112(b) are WITHDRAWN in view of the Amendment.
5. On page 12 of the Response, Applicant argues that “the cited portions of Jung appear to detect a touch input in a folding area to correct coordinate data . . . rather than to ‘display icon or menu bar images on the display panel to enable the user to control a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel’.” The Applicant then argues that the features of the claims were improperly examined in isolation rather than as a whole.
The Office find Applicant’s argument unpersuasive for at least the following reasons. It appears that Applicant is arguing that the touch display device of Jung has no functional use and that the touches applied thereto do not result in any operations or actions being performed. Such an argument is illogical in that it completely ignores what the apparatus of Jung is actually directed to, a touch display device.
It is inherent that Jung performs some function or operation in response to touch inputs because it is a touch display device that is what touch display devices do. They display content and they receive touch inputs to interact with such content. While Jung does not specifically articulate any particular content or functions, a person of ordinary skill in the art would clearly look to other similar reference to fill in such gaps as to what Jung may display and what functions touch inputs may cause to be executed.
The particular teachings of Dorfner and Huang are both directed to touch displays that respond to touch inputs. These particular responses would be easily incorporated into the particular device of Jung by a person of ordinary skill in the art using well known methods.
Once again, Applicant’s arguments amount to nothing more than a piecemeal analysis of the references. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
6. On page 13 – 15 of the Response, Applicant argues that the newly added subject matter of claims 1 and 11 are not taught by the cited references.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the newly added subject matter. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0004416).
In particular, the newly added subject matter requires nothing more than drag inputs of different lengths resulting in different functions being performed. This is taught by FIGS. 13A – 13D and paragraph [0195] of Kim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 – 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0187979) in view of Dorfner (U.S. Pub. 2015/0248207) in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0006957) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0004416).
Regarding claim 1, Jung teaches: a portable display device (FIG. 1; paragraph [0070]; display device 10) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of planar display areas, and at least one folding area (FIGS. 1, 2, 17; paragraph [0080], [0208]; display panel 100 includes first display area DA1, second display area DA2, and third display area DA3. First display are DA1 and second display DA2 are planar display areas. Third display area DA3 is a folding area);
a touch sensor on a front surface of the display panel to sense a user's touch (FIG. 17; paragraphs [0207]; touch sensor layer TSL, which detects touch input applied by a user to display device 10, is disposed on a front surface of display panel 100);
a touch driver circuit (FIG. 6; paragraph [0149]; touch driver TIC) configured to:
divide a touch sensing area of the touch sensor into a plurality of planar sensing areas and at least one folding sensing area (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; display area DA is divided into a plurality of different sensing areas. For example, first electromagnetic sensing area DAE1 and first overlapping sensing area DA1H are interpreted as a “first planar sensing area” corresponding to first display area DA1. Similarly, second electromagnetic sensing area DAE2 and second overlapping sensing area DA2H are interpreted as a “second planar sensing area” corresponding to second display area DA2. Third display area DA3 is interpreted as corresponding to a “folding sensing area”. By independently labeling these particular touch sensing areas of the display device 10, it is implied that these areas are driven and/or sensed as distinct regions. Accordingly, the touch driver TIC divides the touch sensing areas of the touch sensor layer TSL according to the distinctly disclosed regions / areas); and
detect a touch position and a touch movement position on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to generate at least one touch coordinate data (FIGS. 6, 13; paragraphs [0140], [0194]; touch driver TIC includes components that calculate the presence, touch coordinates, and movement of a touch input applied by a user. This is detected in any or all of the sensing areas corresponding to display areas DA1, DA2, and DA3 set forth above).
Jung fails to explicitly disclose: a display driver circuit configured to analyze a touch on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to display icon or menu bar images on the display panel to enable the user to control a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel.
However, Dorfner teaches: a display driver circuit configured to analyze a touch gesture on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to display icon or menu bar images on the display panel to enable the user to control a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel (FIGS. 10A, 10B; paragraph [0055]; a touch input gesture is applied to a touch display device to initiate opening of context menus [display icon or menu bar images] such as a volume control menu [operation control function] and a brightness control menu [screen control function]. It is inherent or implied that the device includes some circuitry that drives the display to display these context menus in response to the applied touch input gestures).
Neither Jung nor Dorfner explicitly disclose: the touch gesture includes the touch position, a touch movement direction, and a touch movement time on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area.
However, Huang teaches: the touch gesture includes the touch position, a touch movement direction, and a touch movement time on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area (paragraph [0062]; a user may define custom gestures for performing designated functions on the device. The user-defined gestures may include various components such as location, curvature, speed, or any other characteristics that allow different gestures to be clearly distinguishable from one another. All touch gesture inputs include a touch position corresponding to the initial position of the gesture. Additionally, the speed component includes a touch movement direction and a touch movement time).
Neither Jung, Dorfner, nor Huang individually disclose: wherein the touch movement time is based on a time interval between a touch movement time in a first planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas and a touch movement time in a second planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas of a touch input moved from the first planar sensing area to the second planar sensing area across the at least one folding sensing area located between the first planar sensing area and the second planar sensing area.
However, the combination of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang teaches: wherein the touch movement time is based on a time interval between a touch movement time in a first planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas and a touch movement time in a second planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas of a touch input moved from the first planar sensing area to the second planar sensing area across the at least one folding sensing area located between the first planar sensing area and the second planar sensing area (Jung; FIG. 11; paragraphs [0180] – [0184], [0194]; a user can apply a touch input gesture that is detected as starting at first point P1 which is in the “first planar sensing area”, passes through third point P3 and eighth point P8, the space therebetween which corresponds to the “folding sensing area”, and ends at ninth point P9 which is in the “second planar sensing area”. This touch input gesture would inherently include touch positions and touch movement directions and touch movement time associated therewith due to the disclosed positions, movement, and the fact that movement occurs as a function of change in position over time. Huang; paragraph [0062]; as set forth above, user-defined gestures may include a speed component, which includes touch movement direction and touch movement time to distinguish different gestures from one another. When these teachings are combined, a drag gesture [FIG. 11 of Jung] that transitions from the “first planar sensing area” to the “folding sensing area” to the “second planar sensing area” would be evaluated based on touch position, touch movement direction, and touch movement time to determine if a particular function should be executed based on a user-defined gesture [Huang]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang to yield predictable results. More specifically, the teachings of a foldable touch display device with distinct areas including a foldable region between planar regions, as taught by Jung, are known. Additionally, the teachings of a touch display device that displays different context menus in response to particular touch input gestures, as taught by Dorfner, are known as well. Moreover, the teachings of user-defined custom touch gestures that include components of position, movement direction, and time, as taught by Huang, are also known. The combination of the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang would yield the predictable result of a foldable touch display device with distinct areas including a foldable region between planar regions, where different context menus in response to user-defined custom touch input gestures, having components of position, movement direction, and time, which are applied to at least one of the distinct areas. In other words, it would have been obvious to incorporate the particular gesture display context of menus displays, as taught by Dorfner, in response to user-defined custom touch input gestures, as taught by Huang, into the device of Jung. Such a modification of Jung merely requires programming the device thereof to recognize user-defined custom gestures [Huang] to correspond to the functions of displaying different context menus [Dorfner]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang, to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
Neither Jung nor Dorfner nor Huang explicitly disclose: wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a first location in the first planar sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second planar sensing area, the display driver circuit is configured to determine a first interface command or a second interface command, and wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a third location in the first planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location in the second planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location, the display driver circuit is configured to determine a third interface command or a fourth interface command that are different from the first interface command and the second interface command.
However, Kim teaches: wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a first location in the first planar sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second planar sensing area, the display driver circuit is configured to determine a first interface command or a second interface command (FIGS. 13A, 13B; paragraph [0195]; a touch input gesture may be a drag having a relatively short distance 1313 that results in device 1310 scrolling to an immediately previous page. When applied to the device of Jung as a custom gesture of Huang, such a relatively short drag input from a first location in the first planar sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second planar sensing area would result in scrolling to an immediately previous page of content), and
wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a third location in the first planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location in the second planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location, the display driver circuit is configured to determine a third interface command or a fourth interface command that are different from the first interface command and the second interface command (FIGS. 13C, 13D; paragraph [0195]; a touch input gesture may be a drag having a relatively long distance 1333 that results in device 1320 scrolling faster to a second previous page. When applied to the device of Jung as a custom gesture of Huang, such a relatively long drag input from a third location in the first planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location in the second planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location would result in faster scrolling to a second previous page of content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, Huang, and Kim to yield predictable results. More specifically, the teachings of a foldable touch display device with distinct areas including a foldable region between planar regions, where custom touch input gestures may be applied thereto to control the display of content, as taught by the combination of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang, are known. Additionally, the teachings of a touch display device that performs different operations based on different drag lengths, as taught by Kim, are known as well. The combination of the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, Huang, and Kim would yield the predictable result of a foldable touch display device with distinct areas including a foldable region between planar regions, where custom touch input gestures may be applied thereto to control the display of content such that different drags of different lengths perform different operations. For example this combination would render obvious performing a first scrolling operation when a relatively short drag input from a first location in the first planar sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second planar sensing area that results in scrolling to an immediately previous page of content, and a second scrolling operation when a relatively long drag input from a third location in the first planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location in the second planar sensing area that is farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location that results in faster scrolling to another previous page of content. Such a combination merely requires applying known relative drag inputs to the device of Jung using programmable gesture of Huang. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, Huang, and Kim to yield the aforementioned predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Jung teaches: a portable display device (FIG. 1; paragraph [0070]; display device 10) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of planar display areas, and at least one folding area (FIGS. 1, 2, 17; paragraph [0080], [0208]; display panel 100 includes first display area DA1, second display area DA2, and third display area DA3. First display are DA1 and second display DA2 are planar display areas. Third display area DA3 is a folding area);
a touch sensor on a front surface of the display panel to sense a user's touch (FIG. 17; paragraphs [0207]; touch sensor layer TSL, which detects touch input applied by a user to display device 10, is disposed on a front surface of display panel 100);
a touch driver circuit (FIG. 6; paragraph [0149]; touch driver TIC) configured to:
divide a touch sensing area of the touch sensor into a plurality of planar sensing areas overlapping with the planar display areas, and at least a folding sensing area overlapping with the at least one folding area (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; display area DA is divided into a plurality of different sensing areas. For example, first electromagnetic sensing area DAE1 and first overlapping sensing area DA1H are interpreted as a “first planar sensing area” corresponding to first display area DA1. Similarly, second electromagnetic sensing area DAE2 and second overlapping sensing area DA2H are interpreted as a “second planar sensing area” corresponding to second display area DA2. Third display area DA3 is interpreted as corresponding to a “folding sensing area”. By independently labeling these particular touch sensing areas of the display device 10, it is implied that these areas are driven and/or sensed as distinct regions. Accordingly, the touch driver TIC divides the touch sensing areas of the touch sensor layer TSL according to the distinctly disclosed regions / areas); and
detect a touch position and a touch movement position on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to generate at least one touch coordinate data (FIGS. 6, 13; paragraphs [0140], [0194]; touch driver TIC includes components that calculate the presence, touch coordinates, and movement of a touch input applied by a user. This is detected in any or all of the sensing areas corresponding to display areas DA1, DA2, and DA3 set forth above);
wherein the touch driver circuit is configured to:
divide a plurality of divided sensing areas of the plurality of planar sensing areas into sizes, the plurality of divided sensing areas being adjacent to the at least one folding sensing area (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; display area DA is divided into a plurality of different sensing areas. For example, the “first planar sensing area” includes first electromagnetic sensing area DAE1 [first size] and first overlapping sensing area DA1H [second size] corresponding to first display area DA1. Similarly, the “second planar sensing area” includes second electromagnetic sensing area DAE2 [third size] and second overlapping sensing area DA2H [fourth size] corresponding to second display area DA2. Third display area DA3 [folding area] is interpreted as corresponding to a “folding sensing area” which is adjacent to the divided sensing areas); and
distinguish the plurality of divided sensing areas of the plurality of planar sensing areas from the folding sensing area to detect the touch position (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; by independently labeling these particular touch sensing areas of the display device 10, it is implied that these areas are distinct regions in which touch inputs can be detected).
Jung fails to explicitly disclose: a display driver circuit configured to analyze a touch on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to display icon or menu bar images on the display panel to enable the user to control a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel.
However, Dorfner teaches: a display driver circuit configured to analyze a touch gesture on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area to display icon or menu bar images on the display panel to enable the user to control a screen control function and an operation control function of the display panel (FIGS. 10A, 10B; paragraph [0055]; a touch input gesture is applied to a touch display device to initiate opening of context menus [display icon or menu bar images] such as a volume control menu [operation control function] and a brightness control menu [screen control function]. It is inherent or implied that the device includes some circuitry that drives the display to display these context menus in response to the applied touch input gestures).
Neither Jung nor Dorfner explicitly disclose: the touch gesture includes a touch position, a touch movement direction, and a touch movement time on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area.
However, Huang teaches: the touch gesture includes a touch position, a touch movement direction, and a touch movement time on the plurality of planar sensing areas and the at least one folding sensing area (paragraph [0062]; a user may define custom gestures for performing designated functions on the device. The user-defined gestures may include various components such as location, curvature, speed, or any other characteristics that allow different gestures to be clearly distinguishable from one another. All touch gesture inputs include a touch position corresponding to the initial position of the gesture. Additionally, the speed component includes a touch movement direction and a touch movement time).
Neither Jung, Dorfner, nor Huang individually disclose: wherein the touch movement time is based on a time interval between a touch movement time in a first planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas and a touch movement time in a second planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas of a touch input moved from the first planar sensing area to the second planar sensing area across the at least one folding sensing area located between the first planar sensing area and the second planar sensing area.
However, the combination of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang teaches: wherein the touch movement time is based on a time interval between a touch movement time in a first planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas and a touch movement time in a second planar sensing area of the planar sensing areas of a touch input moved from the first planar sensing area to the second planar sensing area across the at least one folding sensing area located between the first planar sensing area and the second planar sensing area (Jung; FIG. 11; paragraphs [0180] – [0184], [0194]; a user can apply a touch input gesture that is detected as starting at first point P1 which is in the “first planar sensing area”, passes through third point P3 and eighth point P8, the space therebetween which corresponds to the “folding sensing area”, and ends at ninth point P9 which is in the “second planar sensing area”. This touch input gesture would inherently include touch positions and touch movement directions and touch movement time associated therewith due to the disclosed positions, movement, and the fact that movement occurs as a function of change in position over time. Huang; paragraph [0062]; as set forth above, user-defined gestures may include a speed component, which includes touch movement direction and touch movement time to distinguish different gestures from one another. When these teachings are combined, a drag gesture [FIG. 11 of Jung] that transitions from the “first planar sensing area” to the “folding sensing area” to the “second planar sensing area” would be evaluated based on touch position, touch movement direction, and touch movement time to determine if a particular function should be executed based on a user-defined gesture [Huang]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang to yield predictable results for at least the reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Neither Jung nor Dorfner nor Huang explicitly disclose: wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a first location in the first divided sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second divided sensing area, the display driver circuit is configured to determine one interface command, and wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a third location outside the first divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location outside the second divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location, the display driver circuit is configured to determine another interface command different from the one interface command.
However, Kim teaches: wherein, wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a first location in the first divided sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second divided sensing area, the display driver circuit is configured to determine one interface command (FIGS. 13A, 13B; paragraph [0195]; a touch input gesture may be a drag having a relatively short distance 1313 that results in device 1310 scrolling to an immediately previous page. When applied to the device of Jung as a custom gesture of Huang, such a relatively short drag input from a first location in the first divided sensing area, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a second location in the second divided sensing area would result in scrolling to an immediately previous page of content), and
wherein, when the display driver circuit identifies the touch input originating from a third location outside the first divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location outside the second divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location, the display driver circuit is configured to determine another interface command different from the one interface command (FIGS. 13C, 13D; paragraph [0195]; a touch input gesture may be a drag having a relatively long distance 1333 that results in device 1320 scrolling faster to a second previous page. When applied to the device of Jung as a custom gesture of Huang, such a relatively long drag input from a third location outside the first divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the first location, moved across the at least one folding sensing area, and ending at a fourth location outside the second divided sensing area and farther from the at least one folding sensing area than the second location would result in faster scrolling to a second previous page of content).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to combine the known teachings of Jung, Dorfner, Huang, and Kim to yield predictable results for at least the reasons set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Jung teaches: wherein the touch driver circuit is configured to: divide the plurality of planar sensing areas respectively overlapping with the planar display areas, the at least one folding sensing area overlapping with the at least one folding area, and a plurality of divided sensing areas adjacent to the folding sensing area of the plurality of planar sensing areas (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; display area DA is divided into a plurality of different sensing areas. For example, the “first planar sensing area” includes first electromagnetic sensing area DAE1 [first size] and first overlapping sensing area DA1H [second size] corresponding to first display area DA1. Similarly, the “second planar sensing area” includes second electromagnetic sensing area DAE2 [third size] and second overlapping sensing area DA2H [fourth size] corresponding to second display area DA2. Third display area DA3 [folding area] is interpreted as corresponding to a “folding sensing area” which is adjacent to the divided sensing areas); and
distinguish the planar sensing areas, the at least one folding sensing area, and the divided sensing areas from one another position (FIGS. 6, 17; paragraph [0149]; by independently labeling these particular touch sensing areas of the display device 10, it is implied that these areas are distinct regions in which touch inputs can be detected).
Jung fails to explicitly disclose: wherein each of the divided sensing areas are divided into an area or a size of 1/n of an area or a size of a corresponding planar sensing area from among the planar sensing areas, wherein n is a positive integer.
However, please see MPEP §2144.04(IV)(A) which refers to case law that has held that a mere change in size of a prior art element is an obvious engineering design choice absent evidence of unexpected results or a clear distinction in performance.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s claimed invention to modify the known teachings of Jung to yield predictable results. More specifically, it would have been obvious to modify the particular size and proportion of the divided sensing areas of Jung into equivalent fractions, of the planar sensing areas. Such a modification of Jung requires nothing more than a change in size that would have no bearing on the operability or performance of the disclosure of Jung.
Regarding claims 3 – 10, 12 – 13, and 15, the combination of Jung, Dorfner, and Huang teaches the subject matter of each and every one of these claims.
The entirety of each of these claims merely requires utilizing the device of Jung to detect the user-defined custom touch gestures of Huang to perform the display of context menus of Dorfner. These claim recitations are nothing more than a well-known and conventional process of recognizing a user-defined custom touch gesture and performing a corresponding function in light of the references combined above with regard to the rejections of claims 1 and 11.
Applicant has provided no argument with regard to the previous rejections of claims 12 – 13 and 15 made in this manner in both the Non-Final Rejection mailed September 11, 2025 and the Final Rejection mailed January 15, 2026.
Conclusion
/RYAN A LUBIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626