DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was not submitted for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being as being anticipated by Hiruta (US 2020/0,142,799)
As per claim 1:
Hiruta discloses:
A method of operating a memory controller, comprising:
(Hiruta, Fig. 1, shows a storage device 50 comprising a Memory Controller 200 connecting to a memory device 100)
(Hiruta [0033] The memory controller 200 receives commands from the host device 2, and controls the memory device 100)
(Hiruta, … a memory device including first storage elements which store data, a temperature sensor which measures a temperature of the memory device, and a controller including a processor which acquires a current temperature from the temperature sensor as a first temperature, acquires a temperature when the data is written into the first storage element, from the memory device as a second temperature, determines whether a difference between the first temperature and the second temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature difference, and when the difference exceeds the predetermined temperature difference, instructs the memory device to rewrite the data written in the first storage element…)
acquiring a memory space
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
(Hiruta [0093] The write control signal includes a write command, a write destination address, and a write execution command, for example. The write destination address is an address of a cell unit CU which is the write destination of the write data)
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
and a write temperature
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
(Hiruta [0087]…tables to be created include the address mapping table and the write temperature table illustrated in FIG. 8. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23)
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the write temperature from the table)
corresponding to to-be-rewritten data
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
in a memory device in response to a temperature of the memory device
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
meeting a first temperature condition; and
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 at step S67 shows different condition for perform write data)
(Hiruta,[0106] The overall controller 22 selects the memory device 100 as the temperature acquisition target (step S91))
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
performing a rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data according to the memory
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 shows a method of using either writing data or shift write data and updating the latest write temperature in the table)
As per claim 2:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the first temperature condition is that a temperature difference between the temperature of the memory device and the write temperature exceeds a first temperature difference threshold.
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
(Hiruta Fig. 14 Within a predetermined temperature range? YES or NO)
As per claim 3:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the first temperature condition is that the temperature difference between the temperature of the memory device and the write temperature is less than a second temperature difference threshold.
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
(Hiruta Fig. 14 Within a predetermined temperature range? YES or NO)
As per claim 4:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the first temperature condition is that the temperature of the memory device is between a first threshold and a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is greater than the first threshold.
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
(Hiruta Fig. 14 Within a predetermined temperature range? YES or NO)
As per claim 5:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: monitoring the temperature of the memory device.
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
As per claim 6:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the to-be-rewritten data is data that has been written when the temperature of the memory device meets a second temperature condition; and the method further comprises:
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
recording a memory space and a write temperature corresponding to writing of the data to the memory device, in response to the temperature of the memory device meeting the second temperature condition.
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
As per claim 7:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the second temperature condition is that the temperature of the memory device is less than a third threshold or greater than a fourth threshold, wherein the fourth threshold is greater than the third threshold.
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
(Hiruta Fig. 14 Within a predetermined temperature range? YES or NO)
As per claim 8:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein recording the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to writing of the data to the memory device in response to the temperature of the memory device meeting the second temperature condition comprises:
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
(Hiruta Fig. 14 Within a predetermined temperature range? YES or NO)
recording the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to writing of the data to the memory device in a first list, in response to the temperature of the memory device being less than the third threshold; and
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
recording the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to writing of the data to the memory device in a second list, in response to the temperature of the memory device being greater than the fourth threshold.
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
As per claim 9:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein performing the rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data according to the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data comprises:
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Read Data S71)
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Acquire Temperature data S72)
reading the memory space
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Read Data S71)
and the write temperature
(Hiruta, Fig. 14 Update Write Temperature table S74)
corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data from at least one of the first list or the second list, and performing the rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data.
(Hiruta, Fig. 14 Shift Write S74)
(Hiruta, Fig. 14 Update High Reliability Area S75)
As per claim 10:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein reading the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data from at least one of the first list or the second list, and performing the rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data comprises at least one of the following:
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
sorting memory spaces recorded in the first list in ascending order of write temperature, sequentially reading data of the corresponding memory spaces according to a sorting result, and performing the rewrite operation; and sorting memory spaces recorded in the second list in descending order of write temperature, sequentially reading data of the corresponding memory spaces according to a sorting result, and performing the rewrite operation.
(Hiruta, [0108]…the overall controller 22 determines whether the difference between the highest temperature of the write temperatures of each page address stored in the write temperature table on the RAM 23 and the current temperature exceeds the temperature difference indicated by the predetermined temperature. The predetermined temperature in this case may be the same as or different from that used in step S93.
(Hiruta, [0141] The write temperature table … indicates the correspondence between the address of the block BLK and the lowest temperature and the highest temperature among the write temperatures of each page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of writing to the cell unit CU of the block)
As per claim 11:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data is recorded in units of virtual blocks in the first list and the second list.
(Hiruta, [0141] The write temperature table … indicates the correspondence between the address of the block BLK and the lowest temperature and the highest temperature among the write temperatures of each page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of writing to the cell unit CU of the block)
As per claim 12:
Hiruta further discloses:
receiving a data rewrite command, wherein the data rewrite command is used for the memory controller to perform the rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data when the temperature of the memory device meets the first temperature condition.
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Read Data S71)
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Acquire Temperature data S72)
(Hiruta [0132] … determines that the current temperature of the specified memory device 100 is out of the predetermined temperature range with respect to the temperature of the corresponding page in the write temperature table (i.e., NO in step S73), the overall controller 22 controls the memory interface 24 to instruct the specified memory device 100 to shift write data. In response to this, the sequencer 12 controls the potential generator 13, the driver 14, the row decoder 15, and the sense amplifier 16 to shift write the read data to the selected cell unit CU and write the acquired temperature data as the write temperature information (step S74). Thus, when the shift write of one page size is ended, the sequencer 12 updates the write temperature information written in the high reliability area HRA (step S75).
As per claim 13:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data are stored in a host memory of a host or a controller memory of the memory controller.
(Hiruta, [0141] The write temperature table … indicates the correspondence between the address of the block BLK and the lowest temperature and the highest temperature among the write temperatures of each page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of writing to the cell unit CU of the block)
As per claim 14:
Hiruta discloses:
A memory system, comprising: a memory device; and a memory controller coupled to the memory device, wherein the memory controller is configured to:
(Hiruta, Fig. 1, shows a storage device 50 comprising a Memory Controller 200 connecting to a memory device 100)
(Hiruta [0033] The memory controller 200 receives commands from the host device 2, and controls the memory device 100)
(Hiruta, … a memory device including first storage elements which store data, a temperature sensor which measures a temperature of the memory device, and a controller including a processor which acquires a current temperature from the temperature sensor as a first temperature, acquires a temperature when the data is written into the first storage element, from the memory device as a second temperature, determines whether a difference between the first temperature and the second temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature difference, and when the difference exceeds the predetermined temperature difference, instructs the memory device to rewrite the data written in the first storage element…)
acquire a memory space and
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
(Hiruta [0093] The write control signal includes a write command, a write destination address, and a write execution command, for example. The write destination address is an address of a cell unit CU which is the write destination of the write data)
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
a write temperature
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
(Hiruta [0087]…tables to be created include the address mapping table and the write temperature table illustrated in FIG. 8. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23)
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the write temperature from the table)
corresponding to to-be-rewritten data
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
in response to a temperature of the memory device
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
meeting a first temperature condition; and (Hiruta, Fig. 15 at step S67 shows different condition for perform write data)
(Hiruta,[0106] The overall controller 22 selects the memory device 100 as the temperature acquisition target (step S91))
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
perform a rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data according to the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data.
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 shows a method of using either writing data or shift write data and updating the latest write temperature in the table)
As per claim 15:
Hiruta further discloses:
a temperature sensor connected with the memory controller, and configured to monitor the temperature of the memory device.
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
As per claim 16:
Hiruta further discloses:
wherein the memory controller is further configured to record the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data in response to the temperature of the memory device meeting a second temperature condition.
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
As per claim 17:
-Hiruta further discloses:
controller memory, wherein the controller memory is configured to store the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data that are recorded.
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
As per claim 18:
Hiruta further discloses:
a host connected with the memory controller, and configured to send a data rewrite command to the memory controller to enable the memory controller to perform the rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data in the memory device when the temperature of the memory device meets the first temperature condition.
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Read Data S71)
(Hiruta, Fig. 14, Acquire Temperature data S72)
(Hiruta [0132] … determines that the current temperature of the specified memory device 100 is out of the predetermined temperature range with respect to the temperature of the corresponding page in the write temperature table (i.e., NO in step S73), the overall controller 22 controls the memory interface 24 to instruct the specified memory device 100 to shift write data. In response to this, the sequencer 12 controls the potential generator 13, the driver 14, the row decoder 15, and the sense amplifier 16 to shift write the read data to the selected cell unit CU and write the acquired temperature data as the write temperature information (step S74). Thus, when the shift write of one page size is ended, the sequencer 12 updates the write temperature information written in the high reliability area HRA (step S75).
As per claim 19:
Hiruta discloses:
A memory controller, comprising: a memory device interface configured to connect a memory device; and a controller processor connected with the memory device interface, and configured to:
(Hiruta, Fig. 1, shows a storage device 50 comprising a Memory Controller 200 connecting to a memory device 100)
(Hiruta [0033] The memory controller 200 receives commands from the host device 2, and controls the memory device 100)
(Hiruta, … a memory device including first storage elements which store data, a temperature sensor which measures a temperature of the memory device, and a controller including a processor which acquires a current temperature from the temperature sensor as a first temperature, acquires a temperature when the data is written into the first storage element, from the memory device as a second temperature, determines whether a difference between the first temperature and the second temperature exceeds a predetermined temperature difference, and when the difference exceeds the predetermined temperature difference, instructs the memory device to rewrite the data written in the first storage element…)
acquire a memory space and
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
(Hiruta [0093] The write control signal includes a write command, a write destination address, and a write execution command, for example. The write destination address is an address of a cell unit CU which is the write destination of the write data)
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
a write temperature
(Hiruta Fig. 8, Page Address, Write Temperature)
(Hiruta [0087]…tables to be created include the address mapping table and the write temperature table illustrated in FIG. 8. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23. The write temperature table for each memory device 100 is included in the memory device temperature information 231 for the memory device 100 on the RAM 23)
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the write temperature from the table)
corresponding to to-be-rewritten data
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 Select Write Target Memory Device S61)
in the memory device in response to a temperature of the memory device
(Hiruta [0094] When the memory device 100 receives the write control signal, the sequencer 12 of the memory device 100 acquires temperature information MND including data indicating temperature (i.e, temperature data) from the temperature sensor 17, and stores the temperature information MND in the register 121 (step S63))
(It is noted that at step S63, the controller acquires the actual temperature from memory device using a temperature sensor 17 which is located in the memory device 100, see figure 1)
meeting a first temperature condition; and
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 at step S67 shows different condition for perform write data)
(Hiruta,[0106] The overall controller 22 selects the memory device 100 as the temperature acquisition target (step S91))
(Hiruta, [0122]…when the current temperature changes to certain degree with respect to the temperature at the time of past write, data is written again, i.e., data is rewritten in consideration of the change in physical characteristics of the memory element due to the temperature difference. The certain degree of temperature difference is the predetermined temperature used in the steps S93 and S94)
perform a rewrite operation on the to-be-rewritten data according to the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data.
(Hiruta, Fig. 15 shows a method of using either writing data or shift write data and updating the latest write temperature in the table)
As per claim 20:
Hiruta further discloses:
to store the memory space and the write temperature corresponding to the to-be-rewritten data that are recorded.
(Hiruta, [0088] … FIG. 8, the write temperature table indicates the correspondence between the address of each page and the write temperature of the page acquired from the temperature information measured by the temperature sensor 17 at the time of the write to the cell unit CU of the page)
(Hiruta, [0095] When the write in step S64 is completed, the sequencer 12 writes the write temperature information recorded in the redundant area RA together with the page address information into the high reliability area HRA (step S65).
Conclusion
/Thien Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111