DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
3. Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority based on application KR 10-2023-0134359 filed on 10/10/2023 under 35 U.S.C 119(a)-(d).
Drawings
4. The drawing has been filed on 10/10/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement filed on 10/10/2024, 03/05/2025 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites “a printing system comprising: a controller configured to generate printing data; a user device configured to generate a first control command, generate modulation data based on a user input, and generate a second control command based on the user input; an additional controller configured to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and including a memory storing waveform information received from the user device; and a printing device configured to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal”.
The claim limitation of “a user device configured to generate a first control command, generate modulation data based on a user input, and generate a second control command based on the user input; an additional controller configured to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and including a memory storing waveform information received from the user device; and a printing device configured to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. That is, other than reciting “by a controller & an additional controller” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a controller” and “by a user device” language, “generating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually generating modulation data and second command. Similarly, the limitations of receiving & generating to print data and driving signal with memory storing waveform information as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer component. For example, but for the “by a controller & an additional controller” language, “generating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user thinking that the printing system should be generated modulation data and drive signal based on the second command. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim does not recite any additional element – using an additional controller to perform receiving printing data and driving signal based on the second control command steps. The additional controller in last step is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic control unit performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the last steps using an additional controller to perform receiving printing data and driving signal based on the second control command steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
The dependent claims 2-10, 11-20 depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 1, 11 are obviously claimed either directly or indirectly the same subject matter as found in the independent claims 1, 11 and are therefore rejected for depending from a rejected base independent claims 1, 11 and for not overcoming the rejection of the base independent claims 1, 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-3, 9-11, 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonouchi et al. [hereafter Tonouchi], US Pub 2023/0084018 in view of Masuda et al. [hereafter Masuda], US Pub 2016/0355011.
As to claim 1[independent], Tonouchi teaches a printing system comprising:
a controller configured to generate printing data [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus other than the controller 22];
a user device configured to generate a first control command, generate modulation data based on a user input, and generate a second control command based on the user input [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction];
Tonouchi doesn’t teach an additional controller configured to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and including a memory storing waveform information received from the user device; and
a printing device configured to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal.
Masuda teaches an additional controller configured to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command [figs. 16-17; 0054, 0095, 0270-0282 Masuda teaches that the controller 500 receive the printing data from the external apparatus 600 and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command], and including a memory [fig. 16, element 502; 0270] storing waveform information received from the user device [fig. 16, element 502; 0270 Masuda teaches that the memory 502 obviously storing waveform information]; and
a printing device configured to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal [figs. 16-17; 0054, 0095, 0270-0282 Masuda teaches that the controller 500 receive the printing data from the external apparatus 600 and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and the controller 500 reads and analyzes print data in the reception buffer included in the I/F 506, conducts image processing and data sorting at an ASIC 505, and transfers the image data from the print control unit 508 to the head driver 509 (print device 33) to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masuda teaching to have an additional controller to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command to modify Tonouchi’s teaching to drive pulse is applied to a pressure generating device in the recording head to generate a pressure in a liquid chamber in the recording head to discharge droplets of the ink in the liquid chamber through a nozzle of a nozzle plate, the ink has a static surface tension of from 18.0 to 27.0 meter at 25 degrees celsius is satisfied. The drive pulse has voltage changing portion drawing in the ink having a voltage changing time of third or more of a resonance period of the liquid chamber is satisfied. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to employ a simple method, full colorization is easy and high resolution images is obtained with a simple structure, thereby prevents contamination of the surface of the nozzle plate by ink.
As to claim 2 [dependent from claim 1], Masuda teaches wherein in case that the second control command is a first signal, the driving signal is a first driving signal including same information as the printing data [figs. 16-17; 0054, 0095, 0270-0282 Masuda teaches that the controller 500 receive the printing data from the external apparatus 600 and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and the controller 500 reads and analyzes print data in the reception buffer included in the I/F 506, conducts image processing and data sorting at an ASIC 505, and transfers the image data from the print control unit 508 to the head driver 509 (print device 33) to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masuda teaching to have an additional controller to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command to modify Tonouchi’s teaching to drive pulse is applied to a pressure generating device in the recording head to generate a pressure in a liquid chamber in the recording head to discharge droplets of the ink in the liquid chamber through a nozzle of a nozzle plate, the ink has a static surface tension of from 18.0 to 27.0 meter at 25 degrees celsius is satisfied. The drive pulse has voltage changing portion drawing in the ink having a voltage changing time of third or more of a resonance period of the liquid chamber is satisfied. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to employ a simple method, full colorization is easy and high resolution images is obtained with a simple structure, thereby prevents contamination of the surface of the nozzle plate by ink.
As to claim 3 [dependent from claim 1], Masuda teaches wherein in case that the second control command is a second signal, the driving signal is a second driving signal including a piece of waveform information loaded from the memory based on the modulation data from among a plurality of pieces of pre-stored waveform information [figs. 16-17; 0054, 0095, 0270-0282 Masuda teaches that the controller 500 receive the printing data from the external apparatus 600 and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command, and the controller 500 reads and analyzes print data in the reception buffer included in the I/F 506, conducts image processing and data sorting at an ASIC 505, and transfers the image data from the print control unit 508 to the head driver 509 (print device 33) to perform a printing operation based on the driving signal].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masuda teaching to have an additional controller to receive the printing data and the second control command and generate a driving signal based on the second control command to modify Tonouchi’s teaching to drive pulse is applied to a pressure generating device in the recording head to generate a pressure in a liquid chamber in the recording head to discharge droplets of the ink in the liquid chamber through a nozzle of a nozzle plate, the ink has a static surface tension of from 18.0 to 27.0 meter at 25 degrees celsius is satisfied. The drive pulse has voltage changing portion drawing in the ink having a voltage changing time of third or more of a resonance period of the liquid chamber is satisfied. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to employ a simple method, full colorization is easy and high resolution images is obtained with a simple structure, thereby prevents contamination of the surface of the nozzle plate by ink.
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Tonouchi teaches wherein the first control command, the second control command, and the modulation data are implemented as digital signals [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction].
As to claim 10 [dependent from claim 1], Tonouchi teaches wherein the second control command is generated based on a user input that is input to the user device [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction].
As to claim 11 [independent], However, the independent claim 11 essentially claimed same subject matter as claimed in the independent claim 1 for/and/with other claim limitations, and are therefore the independent claim 11 would be rejected based on same rationale as applied to the independent claim 1.
As to claim 13 [dependent from claim 11], Tonouchi teaches wherein, in case that the second control command is received for a pre-set time and the second control command is a first signal, the driving signal is a first driving signal including same information as the printing data [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction].
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 11], Tonouchi teaches wherein the first control command, the second control command, and the modulation data are implemented as digital signals [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 11], Tonouchi teaches wherein the second control command is generated based on a user input that is input to the user device [figs. 1-4, element 22; 0021-0023, 0045-0046, 0064-0070 Tonouchi teaches that a user giving instructions (first & second, e.g., paras., 0045-0046, 0064-0070) to display the print job list by using display 18, the list of the print jobs is displayed on the display 18, and then the controller 22 generates printing data from a job ticket includes print data that is received from an external apparatus based on the user’s instruction].
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4-8, 12, 14-16, 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 (abstract idea), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claims 4-6 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the printing data comprises: location data about locations where ink is ejected from the printing device; and volume data about ink volume ejected from each nozzle included in the printing device., wherein the modulation data comprises address information about where a plurality of pieces of waveform information are stored in the memory., wherein in case that the second control command is a second signal, the driving signal is a second driving signal including waveform information assigned to the address information in the memory”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claims 7-8 are allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the printing device comprises a printing head configured to eject ink, wherein the printing head comprises: a chamber storing ink; and a spray assembly disposed below the chamber, the spray assembly including an ink transfer path extending to inside of the chamber, and the spray assembly externally ejecting the ink from a bottom surface that has passed through the ink transfer path., wherein the spray assembly further comprises: a piezoelectric element layer disposed below the chamber; and a nozzle plate disposed below the piezoelectric element layer and having a bottom surface being the bottom surface of the spray assembly”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 12 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein, in case that the second control command is not received for a pre-set time, the driving signal is a dummy driving signal”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 14-16 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein in case that the second control command is received for a pre-set time and the second control command is a second signal, the driving signal is a second driving signal including a piece of waveform information from among a plurality of pieces of pre-stored waveform information, the piece of waveform information is loaded from a memory and is based on the modulation data., wherein the printing data comprises: location data about locations where ink is ejected from the printing device; and volume data about ink volume ejected from each nozzle included in the printing device., wherein the second driving signal comprises: a waveform signal obtained by changing the location data; and the volume data based on the modulation data”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 19 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the printing system is an additive printing technology, and the second control command being derived from a learning algorithm based on a plurality of earlier printing results”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 20 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the second control command is derived from artificial intelligence based on a plurality of earlier printing results”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682