DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1: Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the” should be added before “sun” to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raab et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0137770; hereafter ‘770) in view of Murata (US PG Pub 2009/0275462; hereafter ‘462).
Claim 1: ‘770 is directed towards a method of coating a solar cell (a solar collector; see abstract; ¶s 4, 34, 35, & 74; and claim 18) comprising:
applying an aqueous solution of collagen hydrolysate to the solar cell (gelatine hydrolysate reads on collagen hydrolysate, abstract; ¶s 4, 34, 35, & 74 and claim 18; note that pork-rind gelatin is gelatin obtained from collagen in pork rinds, ¶ 46); and
allowing the aqueous solution to dry (see ¶s 4, 13, 34, 35, 65, & 74 and claim 18).
‘770 teaches that the coating can be used as a dirt-repelling or self-cleaning coating for solar cells (i.e. the coating would be applied to the outermost surface which is exposed to the sun; ¶ 4).
‘770 does not provide a structure for the solar collector.
However, ‘462, which is directed towards solar cells (title) teaches that solar cells can be constructed with a cover glass that faces the sun (¶ 55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a solar cell structure as disclosed in ‘462 as the specific solar cell in ‘770 during the process of ‘770 because a solar cell with a cover glass that faces the sun is an art recognized configuration and would have predictably been suitable as the specific solar cell in ‘770.
Thus, the combination teaches applying a coating comprising collagen hydrolysate on the cover glass of a solar collector.
The combination teaches the claimed invention but fails to explicitly teach coating increases the efficiency of the solar collector. Since the same materials are applied to the same substrate; it is reasonable to presume the same results are observed from the coating. Support for said presumption is found in the use of like materials and like processes which would result in the claimed property.
The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. In re Fitzgerald 205 USPQ 594. In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
Claim 2: The rejection of claim 1 relies on a coating applied to a solar collector.
Claim 2 is contingent on selection of “a solar module” in claim 1 and thus the limitations are contingent limitations and based on the broadest reasonable interpretation are not required. See MPEP §2111.04(II).
Claim 3: ‘770 teaches the coating can be applied by pouring (¶ 34).
Claim 4: ‘770 does not teach a specific concentration of the collagen hydrolysate in the final coating solution.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a concentration within the claimed range because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 5: 770 does not teach a specific concentration of the collagen hydrolysate in the final coating solution.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a concentration within the claimed range because differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 6: The collagen hydrolysate is produced by chemical hydrolysis of collagen-containing starting materials (¶ 16).
Claim 7: The collagen hydrolysate has an average molecular weight of 500-9000 Da (¶ 15).
Claim 8: The solution also comprises gelatin (abstract).
Gelatin is an amphoteric molecule which inherently acts as a amphoteric surfactant.
Claim 9: The solution also comprises gelatin (abstract).
Gelatin is an amphoteric molecule which inherently acts as a amphoteric surfactant.
Claim 10: The coating solution can comprise silver nanoparticles (i.e. a preservative; ¶ 31).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of ‘770 and ‘462 as applied above, and further in view of Baumgart et al. (US PG Pub 2011/0094417; hereafter ‘417).
Claims 11-12: As noted above, the coating of ‘770 is an aqueous self-cleaning coating.
‘770 does not teach repeated application of the coating or cleaning prior to each application.
However, ‘417, which is also directed towards self-cleaning compositions (title), teaches that it is known in the art of these types of coatings to remove (i.e. cleaning the substrate) and reapply them to maintain the self-cleaning properties of the coatings (¶ 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to clean and reapply the coating of ‘770 multiple times because it is art recognized to remove and reapply self-cleaning coatings to maintain the self-cleaning properties of the coatings.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759