DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-20 were previously pending. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 have been amended. Claims 4 and 14 have been cancelled. Claims 21-22 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-22 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the
references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the
references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as
the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is
reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the
language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant's definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 22 recites “a third selection corresponding to the fourth parameter” and this aspect appears to be new matter. The embodiment being recited in claims 21-22 appears to support selection information for first, second, and third parameters but does not appear to support selection information for the fourth parameter, because the fourth parameter is not included in the first or second configuration file (see Fig. 6 and [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 117601130 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 2/20/2026 and is being relied upon) in view of Kim (KR 10-2012-0050347 A, cited in the IDS dated 10/10/2024, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 2/20/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus for controlling a robot, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing at least one instruction (see at least [0130-0136] – a memory storing a computer program); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to (see at least [0131-0136] – processor 11 executing the computer program): store, based on determining that a first configuration file is received, the first configuration file, wherein the first configuration file comprises first setting information related to control of the robot (see at least [0050-0054] – Obtain and parse the configuration files, the configuration files include a platform configuration file which is provided by the robot system building platform, a customized configuration file determined based on the robot model, and a private configuration file which can be imported by users and are mainly used for personalized configurations of each machine (i.e., any one of these reads on the first configuration file)), and wherein each piece of the first setting information comprises a parameter name and a corresponding value (see at least [0074-0076] – configuration items… numeric data); determine a second configuration file received, wherein the second configuration file comprises second setting information related to control of the robot (see at least [0050-0054] – Obtain and parse the configuration files, the configuration files include a platform configuration file which is provided by the robot system building platform, a customized configuration file determined based on the robot model, and a private configuration file which can be imported by users and are mainly used for personalized configurations of each machine (i.e., any one of these reads on the second configuration file)), and wherein each piece of the second setting information comprises a parameter name and a corresponding value (see at least [0074-0076] – configuration items… numeric data); determine setting information identified from at least one of the first configuration file or the second configuration file (see at least [0074-0076] – configuration items for the configuration files); determine selection information corresponding to at least one piece of the first setting information and corresponding to at least one piece of the second setting information, wherein the selection information indicates whether corresponding setting information is to be applied (see at least [0074-0076] – configuration items for the configuration files to be merged); determine, based on the first configuration file and the second configuration file, a target file by selectively applying, based on the selection information, setting information identified from the first configuration file and the second configuration file (see at least [0074-0076]), wherein, in response to selection information corresponding to at least two pieces of selected setting information being an identical parameter, the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to apply a first piece of the at least two pieces of selected setting information prioritized over a second piece of the at least two pieces of selected setting information (see at least [0074-0076] – if both config1 and config2 are numeric data, then assign config2 to config1), and wherein, in response to selection information corresponding to at least two pieces of second selected setting information being different parameters, the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to apply each piece of the second selected setting information (see at least [0074-0078] - two files to be merged contain configuration items with the same configuration object, the configuration item in the first file to be merged can be designated as the first configuration item, denoted as config1, and the configuration item in the second file to be merged can be designated as the second configuration item, denoted as config2… both config1 and config2 are numeric data, then assign config2 to config1… if config1 and config2 are array types, the two arrays can be merged as needed, or elements with the same name can be overwritten based on a certain key, and the other elements can be merged); and control, based on the target setting information of the target file, the robot (see at least [0081, 0085] – Merge the configuration files according to their configuration priorities to obtain the target configuration file… the robot can operate efficiently and accurately in the current environment… apply to the robot system).
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first configuration file is received via communication with a first server; the second configuration file received via communication with a second server different from the first server.
However, Wang does disclose a first server and a second server in communication (see at least [0139] – a computing system may include clients and servers, clients and servers interact through a communication network).
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the first configuration file is received via communication with a first server (see at least Fig. 1, [0029] – software storage device 110 can store various robot software developed by robot software developers); the second configuration file received via communication with a second server different from the first server (see at least Fig. 1, [0030] – profile storage device 120 can store various profile information about the service robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the features of Kim into the invention of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing is to set or change the attribute values of the robot software to match the robot hardware platform specifications of each network robot, thereby having the effect of easily providing various application services (Kim – [0005-0023]). Furthermore, implementing different servers from which Wang’s platform configuration file, customized configuration file, and/or private configuration file would be obtained would be considered generally obvious since receiving files from different servers is something one of ordinary skill in the art would expect a robot to be capable of. This implementation would not change the end result of creating a target file configuration for controlling the robot. Instead, this implementation merely improves the capabilities of the apparatus by allowing different configuration files to be retrieved from different servers, and doing so would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine first selection information of the first setting information and second selection information of the second setting information, wherein each of the first selection information and the second selection information comprises information about permission of the setting (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: apply, based on the first selection information, the first setting information to the target file, wherein the first setting information is included in the first configuration file (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file.); and apply, based on the second selection information, the second setting information to the target file, wherein the second setting information is included in the second configuration file (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: based on the first selection information of the first setting information being the same as the second selection information of the second setting information, apply at least one of the first setting information or the second setting information to the target file by comparing a first priority of the first setting information with a second priority of the second setting information (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074-0076] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file… if both config1 and config2 are numeric data, then assign config2 to config1), wherein the first selection information of the first setting information comprises information about permission, and wherein the second selection information of the second setting information comprises information about permission (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074-0076] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine the first configuration file; determine the second configuration file received (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074-0076] – configuration items of configuration files).
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose determine the first configuration file received from the first server; determine the second configuration file received from the second server.
However, Wang does disclose a first server and a second server (see at least [0139] – a computing system may include clients and servers, clients and servers interact through a communication network).
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: determine the first configuration file (see at least Fig. 1, [0029] – software storage device 110 can store various robot software developed by robot software developers); determine the second configuration file received (see at least Fig. 1, [0030] – profile storage device 120 can store various profile information about the service robot).
The motivation to combine Wang and Kim is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: store, based on identifying a notification regarding a change in the first configuration file an updated first configuration file in the at least one memory.
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: store, based on identifying a notification regarding a change in the first configuration file an updated first configuration file in the at least one memory (see at least [0032, 0038, 0045, 0059-0060] – The software management device 130 can provide various robot software to a number of service robots, periodically searches for various robot software stored in the software storage device 110, and downloads robot software that needs to be installed or updated based on the search results… The service robot 140 installs or updates various robot software from the software management device 130. When a service robot 140 receives robot software from a software management device 130, it checks whether the attribute values included in the received robot software match the specifications of the corresponding hardware platform and then installs or updates the robot software.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the features of Kim into the invention of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing is to update the robot software when necessary, for example when the hardware platform specifications are changed (Kim – [0032, 0060]). This modification would ensure that the robot has the most updated software in the platform or customized configuration files for safe and smooth operation, and doing so would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine a third configuration file pre-stored in the at least one memory; identify the target setting information from the third configuration file; and determine whether the target setting information is included in the first configuration file (see at least [0052, 0067, 0074-0076] - The platform configuration can be provided by the robot system building platform. The configuration items are set according to the computing platform that the robot is paired with. They mainly record parameters such as the robot's CPU computing power, memory size, and hard disk size. They can be used to set the robot's mapping area, the amount of computing resources, whether computing power-consuming functions are enabled, and so on. The platform configuration can be included in the robot firmware package, and each firmware upgrade can cover the latest platform configuration…Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file.).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: based on the target setting information being included in the first configuration file, determine the target file based on the first configuration file; and based on the target setting information not being included in the first configuration file, determine the target file based on the third configuration file (see at least [0055-0058, 0065-0067, 0074-0076] - Specifically, the configuration priority of private configuration, custom configuration, and platform configuration is from high to low. Private configurations have the highest priority, and their configuration items will not be overwritten by updates to custom configurations and platform configurations. Custom configurations have the second highest priority, and their configuration items will not be updated or overwritten by platform-configured items… For each second configuration item in the second file to be merged; if a first configuration item with the same configuration object as the second configuration item exists in the first file to be merged, the second configuration item will overwrite the first configuration item; otherwise, the second configuration item will be added to the first file to be merged; the merged first file to be merged will be determined as the configuration merged file… if config2 is empty, do not modify the contents of config1… If config1 is empty, or if both config1 and config2 are numeric data, then assign config2 to config1.).
With respect to claims 11-15 and 17-20, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claims 1-5 and 7-10, and it has been determined that claims 11-15 and 17-20 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claims 1-5 and 7-10; therefore, claims 11-15 and 17-20 are also rejected over the same rationale as claims 1-5 and 7-10.
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses an apparatus for controlling a robot, the apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing at least one instruction (see at least [0130-0136] – a memory storing a computer program); and at least one processor operatively coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to (see at least [0131-0136] – processor 11 executing the computer program): store, based on determining that a first configuration file is received, the first configuration file (see at least [0050-0054, 0067, 0074-0076] – Obtain and parse the configuration files, the configuration files include a platform configuration file which is provided by the robot system building platform, a customized configuration file determined based on the robot model, and a private configuration file which can be imported by users and are mainly used for personalized configurations of each machine (i.e., any one of these reads on the first configuration file)), wherein the first configuration file comprises a first value for a first parameter related to control of the robot and a second value for a second parameter related to control of the robot (see at least [0056-0058, 0074-0079] – configuration items of each configuration file… all configuration items having corresponding data structures defined in the code… numeric data… arrays… object type… data type (i.e., the first configuration file includes multiple configuration items corresponding to parameters having values)); determine a second configuration file received (see at least [0050-0054] – Obtain and parse the configuration files, the configuration files include a platform configuration file which is provided by the robot system building platform, a customized configuration file determined based on the robot model, and a private configuration file which can be imported by users and are mainly used for personalized configurations of each machine (i.e., any one of these reads on the second configuration file)), wherein the second configuration file comprises a third value for the first parameter and a fourth value for a third parameter related to control of the robot (see at least [0056-0058, 0074-0079] – configuration items of each configuration file… all configuration items having corresponding data structures defined in the code… numeric data… arrays… object type… data type (i.e., the second configuration file includes multiple configuration items corresponding to parameters having values)); determine setting information identified from at least one of the first configuration file or the second configuration file (see at least [0056-0058, 0074-0079] - configuration items of each configuration file); determine selection information comprising a first selection corresponding to the first parameter and a second selection corresponding to the second parameter (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074-0076] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file. (i.e., determine corresponding configuration items in the configuration files for merging)); determine, based on the first configuration file and the second configuration file, a target file (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file) by selectively applying, based on the first selection and based on priorities associated with the first parameters of the first configuration file and the second configuration file, the first value identified from the first configuration file or the third value identified the second configuration file (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file… if both config1 and config2 are numeric data, then assign config2 to config1 (i.e., the first value and third value correspond to the same configuration item, and the one with higher priority will be selected for the target file)), or applying, based on the second selection and based on the second parameter not included in the second configuration file, the second value identified from the first configuration file (see at least [0020, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – if the configuration parameters of the second configuration item are empty, then retain the configuration parameters of the first configuration item… if config2 is empty, do not modify the contents of config1… if config1 is empty then assign config2 to config1 (i.e., if the corresponding configuration item in the second configuration file is empty, the second parameter of the first configuration file will be selected for the target file)); and control, based on target setting information of the target file, the robot (see at least [0081, 0085] – Merge the configuration files according to their configuration priorities to obtain the target configuration file… the robot can operate efficiently and accurately in the current environment… apply to the robot system).
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first configuration file is received via communication with a first server; the second configuration file received via communication with a second server different from the first server; and applying, based on the second selection and based on the second parameter not included in the second configuration file, the second value identified from the first configuration file.
However, Wang does disclose a first server and a second server in communication (see at least [0139] – a computing system may include clients and servers, clients and servers interact through a communication network).
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: wherein the first configuration file is received via communication with a first server (see at least Fig. 1, [0029] – software storage device 110 can store various robot software developed by robot software developers); the second configuration file received via communication with a second server different from the first server (see at least Fig. 1, [0030] – profile storage device 120 can store various profile information about the service robot).
The motivation to combine Wang and Kim is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
The details of three configuration files having parameters with corresponding values and priorities as recited in claims 21-22 corresponds to Fig. 6 in the instant application. Fig. 6 of the instant application is showing parameters with values of configuration files for convenience. The specification does not describe what these parameters are, why some parameters are included in certain configuration files but not others, or why certain parameters may have different priorities. These values, parameters, and values appear to be arbitrarily chosen as an example for explanation purposes. They do not appear to have any significant importance for the function of the robot. Similarly, Wang describes in detail how three configuration files are merged into a target file. Wang describes different scenarios for how to designate each corresponding configuration item of each corresponding configuration file according to priority and also how to designate when one of the configuration items is empty. Wang may not explicitly disclose a single scenario to (A) apply the first value for the first parameter of the first configuration file over the third value for the first parameter of the second configuration file based on priority and (B) apply the second value of the second parameter of the first configuration file because the second parameter of the second configuration file is empty. However, Wang does explicitly disclose a scenario to (A) apply the first value for the first parameter of the first configuration file over the third value for the first parameter of the second configuration file based on priority and another scenario to (B) apply the second value of the second parameter of the first configuration file because the second parameter of the second configuration file is empty. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Wang to include a single scenario including (A) and (B) as described above. The motivation of doing so is to apply Wang’s logic for merging three specific configuration files as recited in the claim. As described above, the claim (and Fig. 6) is merely describing an arbitrary example of specific configuration files that can be combined. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that, if provided with these specific configuration files, Wang’s logic would combine the configuration files in a way that reads on the claims (i.e., based on priority and based on which parameters are empty). Selecting these specific configuration files would yield predictable results when using Wang’s logic.
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: identify, from a third configuration file, information indicating multiple parameters including a fourth parameter related to control of the robot (see at least [0056-0058, 0074-0079] – configuration items of each configuration file… all configuration items having corresponding data structures defined in the code… numeric data… arrays… object type… data type (i.e., the third configuration file includes multiple configuration items corresponding to parameters having values)); based on the identified information indicating the fourth parameter, determine the selection information, wherein the selection information further comprises a third selection corresponding to the fourth parameter (see at least [0051, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074-0076] – configuration items of configuration files with different configuration priorities… to merge into a single target file… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file. (i.e., determine corresponding configuration items in the configuration files for merging)); and determine the target file by applying, based on the third selection and based on the fourth parameter not included in at least one other configuration file, a fifth value for the parameter identified from the third configuration file (see at least [0020, 0055-0058, 0067, 0074] – if the configuration parameters of the second configuration item are empty, then retain the configuration parameters of the first configuration item… if config2 is empty, do not modify the contents of config1… if config1 is empty then assign config2 to config1 (i.e., if the corresponding configuration item in the first or second configuration file is empty, the parameter of the third configuration file will be selected for the target file)).
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose identify, from a third configuration file, information indicating the first parameter, the second parameter, and a fourth parameter related to control of the robot based on the identified information indicating the first parameter, the second parameter, and the fourth parameter, determine the selection information, wherein the selection information further comprises a third selection corresponding to the fourth parameter; and determine the target file by applying, based on the third selection and based on the fourth parameter not included in the first configuration file and the second configuration file, a fifth value for the fourth parameter identified from the third configuration file.
The motivation to modify Wang is the same as in the rejection of claim 21 above. Additionally, Wang may not explicitly disclose a single scenario where (C) the third configuration file has a first, second, and fourth parameters and (D) apply a fifth value of the fourth parameter identified from the third configuration file when the fourth parameter is not included in the first and second configuration files. However, Wang does explicitly disclose a scenario where (C) the third configuration file includes multiple parameters and (D) apply the fifth value of the fourth parameter of the third configuration file when the fourth parameter is empty in another configuration file. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Wang to include a single scenario as described above. The motivation of doing so is to apply Wang’s logic for merging three specific configuration files as recited in the claim. As described above, the claim (and Fig. 6) is merely describing an arbitrary example of specific configuration files that can be combined. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that, if provided with these specific configuration files, Wang’s logic would combine the configuration files in a way that reads on the claims (i.e., based on priority and based on which parameters are empty). Selecting these specific configuration files would yield predictable results when using Wang’s logic.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim and Zhu (CN 113076128 A, a machine translation was provided with the Office action dated 2/20/2026 and is being relied upon).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the apparatus to: determine whether requested second setting information is included in the second configuration file; transmit, a request for the requested setting information; and apply the requested setting information to the target file (see at least [0054-0058, 0065-0067, 0074-0076] - Private configurations can be imported by users and are mainly used for personalized configurations of each machine. Users can set these through the SDK interface, such as calibrated radar extrinsic parameters and actively set motion strategies… Specifically, different configuration items of the same configuration object in two files to be merged can be merged. The merging principle is to overwrite the configuration items with higher configuration priority with those with lower configuration priority, and import the configuration items of different configuration objects into one file to obtain the configuration merged file.).
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose based on the requested setting information not being determined from the second configuration file, transmit, to the second server, a request for the requested setting information; receive the requested setting information in response to the request.
However, Wang does disclose a second server (see at least [0139] – a computing system may include clients and servers, clients and servers interact through a communication network).
Kim, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: receiving the second configuration file from the second server (see at least Fig. 1, [0030] – profile storage device 120 can store various profile information about the service robot).
The motivation to combine Wang and Kim is the same as in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations: based on the requested setting information not being determined from the second configuration file, transmit, to the second server, a request for the requested setting information; receive the requested setting information in response to the request (see at least [0092-0094] - S21, when configuring robot resource files, a data request is sent to the server. The data request carries the identifier of the target functional module to be configured in the robot. The robot configuration method in this application is applied to the robot end, so it can be implemented through the robot's controller (or processor), or through an electronic device connected to the robot, such as a personal computer or smartphone. When it is necessary to configure the robot's resource files, a data request carrying the identifier of the target functional module to be configured in the robot is sent to the server. For example, users can use the robot's web interface to input configuration parameters, select the functional modules to be configured, or select the robot type. The robot then generates a data request based on the user's input and sends the data request to the server. S22, receive the resource file package corresponding to the data request returned by the server, wherein the resource file package includes the target resource files corresponding to each target functional module.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the features of Zhu into the invention of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation of doing is to request configuration when necessary of the robot’s resource files by user input (Zhu – [0093]). This would ensure that all necessary parameters in the private configuration file are set by the user. This modification would yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, all the limitations have been analyzed in view of claim 6, and it has been determined that claim 16 does not teach or define any new limitations beyond those previously recited in claim 6; therefore, claim 16 is also rejected over the same rationale as claim 6.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments to the claims, claim limitations no longer invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12 filed 6/22/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-15 filed 6/22/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Wang’s configuration priority scheme is a fixed hierarchy based on file type, not a determination of selection information that indicates whether corresponding setting information is to be applied. Wang's merging process simply overwrites lower-priority items with higher-priority items based on a fixed file-type hierarchy. Wang, paras. [0055]-[0067]. Wang does not teach or suggest selectively applying setting information based on selection information that indicates whether setting information is to be applied, nor does Wang distinguish between identical parameters (resolved by priority) and different parameters (each applied).
Wang does disclose an embodiment where configuration files and corresponding configuration items having fixed priorities, but the claim does not preclude this. The claim does not require individual setting information of the same configuration file to have different priorities (for example, parameter A of file 1 having first priority, parameter B of file 1 having second priority). The claim also does not recite how the selection information is determined. In Wang, each configuration item of each configuration file has a corresponding priority (see at least Wang – [0067, 0074]). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, Wang does disclose prioritizing between the same configuration items of different configuration files (see at least Wang – [0067, 0074]). Finally, Wang does disclose multiple different configuration items are merged into the target file, and therefore applying different parameters (see at least Wang – [0067, 0074-0079]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAITLIN R MCCLEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669