Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4-5, 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the prior art purposes, the limitations following the phrase have not been considered as part of the claimed invention.
Claims 7 and 17 recite the limitation "the receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals" in lines 3 and 2-3, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For the prior art purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as a receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected for their dependencies to claims 7 and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 9-13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by jp patent application publication no. 2014-128423 to Motoo.
For claim 1, Motoo as applied discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware (see, e.g., par. 136 and FIG. 4) , the one or more processors being configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, each of the first image information signals corresponding to one of a plurality of input frames (see, e.g., pars. 134, 138-139 and 144-145 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach continuously capturing an image of the subject in a frame-sequential manner);
output a second image information signal to a first route, the second image information signal based on one of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 144-146, 149 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach routing the image signal input from the endoscope to the imaging processing server; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the image processing server and becomes the second image signal as the claimed second image information signal);
continuously output third image information signals to a second route, each of the third image information signals based on each of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 144-146 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach routing the image signal input from the endoscope to the local image processing unit; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the local image processing unit and becomes the first image signal as the claimed third image information signal);
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis applied to the second image information signal (see, e.g., pars. 44-45, 48, 53, and 150-153 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach processing the received image signals to generate the second image signal and receiving the second image signal at the processing result combining unit); and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 47-48, 56-58, 154-155 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach acquiring the first and second image signals and displaying the second image signal on top of the first image signal; the examiner interprets the displayed signals as the claimed fourth image information signals);,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to superimpose an information generated based on the analysis result corresponding to a first frame of the first image information signals on the fourth image information signals corresponding to a second frame of the first image information signals, the second frame is outputted after the first frame (see, e.g., pars. 154-155, which teach superimposing the second image signal from the image processing server on the first image signal from the local image processing unit without delaying the first image signal so that the second image signal has a photographing time that is subsequent to that of the first image signal).
For claim 2, Motoo as applied discloses that the one or more processors are configured to apply the predetermined analysis to the second image information signal (see, e.g., pars. 44-45, 48, 53, and 150-153 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach processing the received image signals to generate the second image signal).
For claim 4, Motoo as applied discloses that the information includes a detection information, such as a mark surrounding a detected region (see, e.g., pars. 45, 59, and 151, which teach providing a detection information specifying the region of the lesion by changing pixel values around the region).
For claim 7, Motoo as applied discloses that a delay of output of each of the fourth image information signals relative to the receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals is less than one frame of the plurality of input frames (see, e.g., pars. 154-155, which teach that the second image signals are displayed as without delay as they are received at the processing result combining unit).
For claim 9, Motoo as applied discloses that the one or more processors are configured to:
generate a synchronization signal synchronized with the first image information signals corresponding to one of the plurality of the input frames (see, e.g., pars. 51, 56-58, 145, and 154-155, which teach generating a synchronization signal for driving the imager that capture images);and
generate a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals according to a timing reference based on the synchronization signal (see, e.g., pars. 56-58 and 154-155, which teach generating the composite image signal based on the time the first image signal is captured).
For claim 10, Motoo as applied discloses that the one or more processors are configured to generate, every time the one or more processor outputs the analysis result, an analysis completion notification signal indicating the predetermined analysis is completed (see, e.g., pars. 44, 48, 53, and 151 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach generating a second image signal, which indicates that the image signal received from the image processor has been subjected to the second image processing).
For claim 11, Motoo as applied discloses an endoscope system (see, e.g., FIGS. 1-4) comprising:
an endoscope configured to observe a subject and continuously output the first image information signals (see e.g., pars. 37-42 and 134-138 and FIGS. 1 and 4); and
the image processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1).
For claim 12, Motoo as applied discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware (see, e.g., par. 136 and FIG. 4) , the one or more processors being configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, each of the first image information signals corresponding to one of a plurality of input frames (see, e.g., pars. 134, 138-139 and 144-145 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach continuously capturing an image of the subject in a frame-sequential manner);
output a second image information signal to a first route, the second image information signal based on one of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 144-146, 149 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach routing the image signal input from the endoscope to the imaging processing server; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the image processing server and becomes the second image signal as the claimed second image information signal);
generate third image information signals by applying predetermined image processing to the first image information signals, each of the third image information signals based on the each of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 141, 146-147 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach performing the first image processing on the input image signals to generate the first image signal; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the local image processing unit and becomes the first image signal as the claimed third image information signal);
continuously output the third image information signals to a second route (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 144-146 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach routing the first image signal to the processing result combining unit);
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis applied to the second image information signal (see, e.g., pars. 44-45, 48, 53, and 150-153 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach processing the received image signals to generate the second image signal and receiving the second image signal at the processing result combining unit); and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 47-48, 56-58, 154-155 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach acquiring the first and second image signals and displaying the second image signal on top of the first image signal; the examiner interprets the displayed signals as the claimed fourth image information signals);,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to superimpose an information generated based on the analysis result corresponding to a first frame of the first image information signals on the fourth image information signals corresponding to a second frame of the first image information signals, the second frame is outputted after the first frame (see, e.g., pars. 154-155, which teach superimposing the second image signal from the image processing server on the first image signal from the local image processing unit without delaying the first image signal so that the second image signal has a photographing time that is subsequent to that of the first image signal).
For claim 13, Motoo as applied discloses that the predetermined image processing includes color adjustment (see, e.g., par. 41, which teaches that the first image processing includes color adjustment).
For claim 15, Motoo as applied discloses that the one or more processors are configured to apply the predetermined analysis to the second image information signal (see, e.g., pars. 44-45, 48, 53, and 150-153 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach processing the received image signals to generate the second image signal).
For claim 17, Motoo as applied discloses that a delay of output of each of the fourth image information signals relative to the receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals is less than one frame of the plurality of input frames (see, e.g., pars. 154-155, which teach that the second image signals are displayed as without delay as they are received at the processing result combining unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoo in view of Us patent application publication no. 2018/0357762 to Kobayashi et al. (hereinafter Kobayashi).
For claim 5, while Motoo as applied does not explicitly, Nakagawa in the analogous art teaches that the information includes a diagnosis information, such as a numerical value based on the analysis result (see, e.g., pars. 70-79 and FIGS. 3 and 9-10 of Kobayashi, which teach superimposing diagnosis information, e.g., accompanying information and geometric parameters, on the image based on the analysis of the image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoo to superimpose the accompanying information as taught by Kobayashi because doing so would prove useful in making a diagnosis (see pars. 71-76 of Kobayashi).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoo in view of Us patent application publication no. 2002/0175993 to Ueno et al. (hereinafter Ueno).
For claim 14, while Motoo as applied does not explicitly teach, Ueno in the analogous art teaches that the predetermined image processing includes highlighting processing (see, e.g., pars. 326 and 340 and FIGS. 35 and 37 of Ueno, which teach performing highlighting processing before superimposing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Motoo to perform highlight processing as taught by Ueno because doing so would yield predictable results of improving visibility/noticeability of a specific region/portion of an image (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Double Patenting
Us patent application publication no. 17/882208
Us patent no. 12137869
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware, the one or more processors being configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, each of the first image information signals corresponding to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal to a first route, the second image information signal based on one of the first image information signals;
continuously output third image information signals to a second route, each of the third image information signals based on the each of the first image information signals;
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis applied to the second image information signal; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to superimpose an information generated based on the analysis result corresponding to a first frame of the first image information signals on the fourth image information signals corresponding to a second frame of the first image information signals, the second frame is outputted after the first frame.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
2. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply the predetermined analysis to the second image information signal.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
3. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the second frame is outputted at least one frame after the first frame.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. An image processing method comprising:
outputting a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
outputting a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receiving an analysis result based on an application of a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generating a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
starting superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
4. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the information includes a detection information, such as a mark surrounding a detected region.
2. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate image data for analysis based on the first image information signal corresponding to the first input frame; and
output the image data for analysis to the first route as the second image information signal.
3. The image processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is configured to:
segment a predetermined region in the first image information signal corresponding to the first input frame;
generate the image data for analysis relating to the predetermined region; and
output the image data for analysis to the first route as the second image information signal.
5. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the information includes a diagnosis information, such as a numerical value based on the analysis result.
2. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate image data for analysis based on the first image information signal corresponding to the first input frame; and
output the image data for analysis to the first route as the second image information signal.
4. The image processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate the image data for analysis by leveling a predetermined physical characteristic relating to the first image information signal; and
output the image data for analysis to the first route as the second image information signal.
7. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein a delay of output of each of the fourth image information signals relative to the receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals is less than one frame of the plurality of input frames.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
8. The image processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to start the superimposing more than one frame after the outputting the fourth image information signals.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. An image processing method comprising:
outputting a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
outputting a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receiving an analysis result based on an application of a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generating a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
starting superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
9. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
generate a synchronization signal synchronized with the first image information signals corresponding to one of the plurality of the input frames; and
generate a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals according to a timing reference based on the synchronization signal.
6. The image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate a synchronization signal synchronized with the first image information signal corresponding to the first input frame; and
generate the subsequent one of the fourth image information signal according to a timing reference based on the synchronization signal.
10. The image processing apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate, every time the one or more processor outputs the analysis result, an analysis completion notification signal indicating the predetermined analysis is completed.
8. The image processing apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the processor is configured to:
generate, every time the processor outputs the result of the predetermined analysis relating to the second image information signal, an analysis completion notification signal indicating that the predetermined analysis is completed; and
generate the subsequent one of fourth image information signal using, as the timing reference, a temporal difference from the synchronization signal every time the processor generates the analysis completion notification signal.
11. An endoscope system comprising:
an endoscope configured to observe a subject and continuously output the first image information signals; and
the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
11. An endoscope system comprising:
an endoscope configured to observe a subject and continuously output first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of the plurality of input frames; and
the image processing apparatus according to claim 1.
12. An image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware, the one or more processors configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, each of the first image information signals corresponding to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal to a first route, the second image information signal based on one of the first image information signals;
generate third image information signals by applying predetermined image processing to the first image information signals, each of the third image information signals based on the each of the first image information signals;
continuously output the third image information signals to a second route;
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis applied to the second image information signal; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals,
wherein the one or more processors are configured to superimpose an information generated based on the analysis result corresponding to a first frame of the first image information signals on the fourth image information signals corresponding to a second frame of the first image information signals, the second frame is outputted after the first frame.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
13. The image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the predetermined image processing includes color adjustment.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. The image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the predetermined image processing includes highlighting processing.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
15. The image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply the predetermined analysis to the second image information signal.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
17. The image processing apparatus according claim 12, wherein a delay of output of each of the fourth image information signals relative to the receipt of corresponding one of the first image information signals is less than one frame of the plurality of input frames.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
18. The image processing apparatus according claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to start the superimposing more than one frame after the outputting the fourth image information signals.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. An image processing method comprising:
outputting a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
outputting a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receiving an analysis result based on an application of a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generating a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
starting superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
19. An image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors comprising hardware, the one or more processors configured to:
output a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
output a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generate a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
start superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. An image processing method comprising:
outputting a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
outputting a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receiving an analysis result based on an application of a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generating a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
starting superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
20. The image processing apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the one or more processors are configured to apply the predetermined analysis to the second image information signal.
1. An image processing apparatus comprising:
a processor comprising hardware, wherein the processor is configured to:
continuously receive first image information signals, where each of the first image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of input frames;
output a second image information signal, based on one of the first image information signals corresponding to a first input frame of the plurality of input frames, to at least a first route;
continuously output third image information signals, where each of the third image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals, to a second route;
apply a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal and output a result of the predetermined analysis; and
generate and continuously output fourth image information signals, where each of the fourth image information signals corresponds to one of a plurality of output frames,
wherein each of the fourth image information signals is based on a corresponding one of the first image information signals,
wherein, where a period of each of the plurality of input frames is f, output of the each of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the corresponding one of the first image information signals by xf, where x is less than 1,
wherein one of the fourth image information signals is based on one of the third image information signals based on the one of the first image information signals corresponding to the first input frame, and
wherein a subsequent one of the fourth image information signals outputted is based on a subsequent one of the third image information signals with information based on the result of the predetermined analysis superimposed thereon, with superimposition of the information based on the result of the predetermined analysis being started in the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals and the generation of the subsequent one of the fourth image information signals is delayed relative to the receipt of the one of the first image information signals by yf, where y is greater than 1.
14. An image processing method comprising:
outputting a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
outputting a third image information signal based on the first image information signal to a second route;
receiving an analysis result based on an application of a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generating a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
starting superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.
Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12137869 (hereinafter the patent).
Claims 3, 8, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claims 1 and 14.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claims 1-3.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claims 1, 2 and 4.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patent claims 1 and 6.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claims 1 and 8.
Claim 11 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claims 1 and 11.
Claim 12, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claim 1 in view of Motoo.
For the difference between claims 12, 13, 15, and 17 and patent claim 1, Motoo as applied teaches generate third image information signals by applying predetermined image processing to the first image information signals, each of the third image information signals based on the each of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 141, 146-147 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach performing the first image processing on the input image signals to generate the first image signal; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the local image processing unit and becomes the first image signal as the claimed third image information signal);
It would have been obvious to modify the teaching of claim 1 to perform the image processing as taught by Motoo because doing so would yield predictable results of reducing the processing workload in the other route (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Claim 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claim 1 in view of Motoo and Ueno.
For the difference between claims 14 and patent claim 1 in view of Motoo, Ueno in the analogous art teaches that the predetermined image processing includes highlighting processing (see, e.g., pars. 326 and 340 and FIGS. 35 and 37 of Ueno, which teach performing highlighting processing before superimposing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of patent claim 1 and Motoo to perform highlight processing as taught by Ueno because doing so would yield predictable results of improving visibility/noticeability of a specific region/portion of an image (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the patent claims 1 and 14 in view of Motoo.
For the difference between claim 18 and patent claims 1 and 14, Motoo as applied teaches generate third image information signals by applying predetermined image processing to the first image information signals, each of the third image information signals based on the each of the first image information signals (see, e.g., pars. 37, 40-41, 141, 146-147 and FIGS. 1 and 4, which teach performing the first image processing on the input image signals to generate the first image signal; the examiner interprets the image signal input routed to the local image processing unit and becomes the first image signal as the claimed third image information signal);
It would have been obvious to modify the teaching of claim 1 to perform the image processing as taught by Motoo because doing so would yield predictable results of reducing the processing workload in the other route (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if the double pending rejection can be overcome.
In regard to claim 19, when considered as a whole, prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious, alone or in combination:
“An image processing apparatus comprising:
…
output a second image information signal based on a first image information signal to at least a first route;
…
receive an analysis result based on a predetermined analysis to the second image information signal;
generate a fourth image information signal based on the third image information signal; and
start superimposing an information generated based on the analysis result on the fourth image information signal with delay for at least equal to or more than one period of one frame of the first image information signal after starting the generation of the fourth image information signal.”
In regard to claim 20, it depends on objected claim 19. Therefore, by virtue of its dependency, claim 20 is also indicated as objected subject matter.
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim. These claims would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claims 6 and 16, when considered as a whole, prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious, alone or in combination:
“the one or more processors are configured to:
correct the analysis result based on at least two other results of the predetermined analysis, the at least two other results being continuous in time series; and
assume a proper location of the superimposition the information based on the corrected analysis result.”
Claims 3, 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and as being rejected under the double patenting. These claims would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the double patenting can be overcome.
In regard to claim 3, when considered as a whole, prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious, alone or in combination:
“the second frame is outputted at least one frame after the first frame.”
In regard to claims 8 and 18, when considered as a whole, prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious, alone or in combination:
“the one or more processors are configured to start the superimposing more than one frame after the outputting the fourth image information signals.”
Additional Citations
The following table lists several references that are relevant to the subject matter claimed and disclosed in this Application. The references are not relied on by the Examiner, but are provided to assist the Applicant in responding to this Office action.
Citation
Relevance
Nakagawa et al. (us pat. 10568497)
Describes a first signal processing apparatus. One embodiment includes: an image processing unit configured to at least execute a composition process of generating composed image information in which first image information or second image information and textual information are superimposed; and a control unit configured to control the process of the image processing unit in accordance with communication with a second signal processing apparatus. The control unit selects either one of the first image information and the second image information, and when the second image information is selected, the control unit outputs a first command for instructing the second signal processing apparatus not to superimpose the second image information and the textual information related to the second image information, and causes the image processing unit to generate composite image information in which the second image information and the textual information related to the second image information are superimposed.
Pinho (jp pat. pub. 2018057873)
describes spectral imaging apparatus. One embodiment includes: an image sensor positioned to capture a plurality of images of a target; a rotating color wheel aligned with the image sensor; and a projector 16 positioned to project a plurality of overlay images onto the target. The color wheel includes one or more filter segments, each allowing light of a different range of wavelengths to pass. The color wheel further includes a blocking or opaque segment. A set of captured images of the different wavelengths is processed to generate a false-color overlay image for projection onto the target. Processing of the plurality of overlay images is performed when the blocking or opaque segment is in front of the image sensor. A multi-spectral imaging apparatus determines and indicates tissue oxygenation. Video rates can be achieved.
Table 1
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Table 1 and form 892.
/WOO C RHIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2676