Claims 1, 4-6 and 8-9 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 0220827. Disclosed is a greeting card system comprising a greeting card (defined package), wherein the greeting card comprises a planar greeting card portion (12 and/or 22), wherein the system further comprises a gift storage compartment (10) and wherein the gift storage compartment comprises a volume and depth for storing an item, and wherein the gift storage compartment further comprises a gift storage compartment surface (14), wherein the gift storage compartment surface (at 14) comprises a window (20) covered by a transparent covering (see column 3, lines 23-25) to render a transparent window located on a front side (14; the face 12 identified as the front face and the face 14 identified as the rear face being arbitrary in the context of the claim and in context may be nomenclaturally reversed) of the greeting card system, wherein the greeting card further comprises a greeting card cover (16 or 18) coupled to the greeting card, and wherein the greeting card cover is movably coupled to the planar greeting card portion to move from an open position to a closed position adjacent the planar greeting card portion, and wherein the transparent window is visible when the greeting card cover is in the open position and when the greeting card cover is in the closed position.
As to claim 4, EP 0220827 discloses a flap (outermost foldable portion of 16 or 18) located on the greeting card cover (16 or 18).
As to claim 5, EP 0220827 discloses the greeting card cover (16 or 18) can be opened and closed relative to the planar greeting card portion (12) without moving the gift storage compartment (10).
As to claim 6, in a disposition of the card system EP 0220827 discloses the gift storage compartment (10) coupled below the planar greeting card portion (12).
As to claim 8, EP 0220827 is made of thin paper product, and accordingly of an inherently expandable nature to some degree.
As to claim 9, EP 0220827 discloses the gift storage compartment (10) hingedly and releasably coupled to the planar greeting card portion (22).
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8-9 are finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0220827. Disclosed is a greeting card system comprising a greeting card (defined package), wherein the greeting card comprises a planar greeting card portion (12 and/or 22), wherein the system further comprises a gift storage compartment (10) and wherein the gift storage compartment comprises a volume and depth for storing an item, and wherein the gift storage compartment further comprises a gift storage compartment surface (14), wherein the gift storage compartment surface (at 14) comprises a window (20) covered by a transparent covering (see column 3, lines 23-25) to render a transparent window located on a side (14; the face 12 identified as the front face and the face 14 identified by EP 0220827 as the rear face being obviously arbitrary in the context of the claim) of the greeting card system, wherein the greeting card further comprises a greeting card cover (16 or 18) coupled to the greeting card, and wherein the greeting card cover is movably coupled to the planar greeting card portion to move from an open position to a closed position adjacent the planar greeting card portion, and wherein the transparent window is visible when the greeting card cover is in the open position and when the greeting card cover is in the closed position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the greeting card system of EP 0220827 with sides of reverse nomenclature from the prior art of EP 0220827 as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide the same structure but reversely claimed.
As to claim 4, EP 0220827 discloses a flap (outermost foldable portion of 16 or 18) located on the greeting card cover (16 or 18).
As to claim 5, EP 0220827 discloses the greeting card cover (16 or 18) can be opened and closed relative to the planar greeting card portion (12) without moving the gift storage compartment (10).
As to claim 6, in a disposition of the card system EP 0220827 discloses the gift storage compartment (10) coupled below the planar greeting card portion (12).
As to claim 8, EP 0220827 is made of thin paper product, and accordingly of an inherently expandable nature to some degree.
As to claim 9, EP 0220827 discloses the gift storage compartment (10) hingedly and releasably coupled to the planar greeting card portion (22).
Claim 3 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0220827 in view of either one of Pruett (8,899,413) and Pollock (6,070,719). EP 0220827 does not disclose a fastener to secure the greeting card cover to the greeting card portion. However, Pruett and Pollock each disclose a greeting card cover (6 or 11; 106) further comprising a fastener (15 or 16; 87) to secure the greeting card cover to a greeting card portion (5; 98 or 102). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the greeting card system of EP 0220827 with a fastener to secure the greeting card cover to a greeting card portion in the manner of either one of Pruett and Pollock as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a better closed condition of the greeting card system.
Claim 7 is finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0220827 in view of Pruett (8,899,413). EP 0220827 does not disclose the greeting card comprising a hanger. However, Pruett discloses a hanger (31 or 32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the greeting card system of EP 0220827 with a hanger in the manner of Pruett as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide a suspension capability to the greeting card system.
Claims 1-9 are finally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12,116,200. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference now added, “a transparent window located on a front side of said greeting card system” is encompassed by the previously claimed “gift storage compartment surface” and whether disclosed as such, such is merely a change in nomenclature or a change in surface identification, not a structural change in structure.
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. While EP 0220827 recites the disclosed structure of element 12 as a “front face” and element 14 as a “rear face”, to switch these purely nomenclature designations in the reverse would fail to render any different structural difference from that of EP 0220827, as the claim 1 only defines a “front side” per se and does not distinguish from the arbitrarily designated “front face” and “rear face” of EP 0220827, which could be reversely named and not be an actual structural difference.
As to the double patenting rejection, the claim amendment has rendered such an obvious-type double patenting and no longer a 101 type double patenting. A terminal disclaimer may be necessary.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the additional references listed on the attached PTO-892, which, while not relied upon for the claim rejection, these references are deemed relevant to the claimed invention as a whole.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
BRYON P. GEHMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG