DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The status of the claims stands as follows:
Claims currently under consideration: 1-15
Currently rejected claims: 1-15
Allowed claims: None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gierhart et al. (U.S. 5,186,964) in view of Cox et al. (U.S. 2005/0123585 A1) and Scaglione et al. (U.S. 5,000,973).
Regarding claim 1, Gierhart et al. discloses a dry pet food composition (C2, L29-L32, L48-L49) comprising about 0.01-2 wt.% (C3, L48-L52) of a polyphosphoric acid salt (C2, L51-L53, L66 – C3, L6) that may be incorporated into a coating applied to the dry pet food composition (C3, L35-L47).
Gierhart et al. does not disclose the polyphosphoric acid salt as being pentaphosphate.
However, Cox et al. discloses an edible pet product ([0001]) that may comprise a phosphate component ([0045]) that is a polyphosphate having an “average chain length of 3 or greater“, including average chain lengths of 7 phosphorus atoms ([0048]). Scaglione et al. discloses a pet food product containing a pyrophosphate salt (Abstract) and suggests the phosphate salt may be pentaphosphate (specifically, Mn+2PnO3n+1, where n is 5) (C10, L61 - C11, L24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the composition of Gierhart et al. comprising pentaphosphate as the polyphosphoric acid salt. Since Gierhart et al. discloses generally that preferred components are “polyphosphoric acid salts, including but not limited to sodium acid pyrophosphate” (C3, L1-L6), a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Cox et al. and Scaglione et al. to determine other polyphosphoric acid salts suitable for use in pet foods. Since Cox et al. discloses that polyphosphate chains beyond three phosphorous atoms generally consist of a mixture of chain lengths, including 3 and 7 atoms on average as examples ([0048]) and Scaglione et al. discloses pentaphosphate in particular for use in a pet food product (Abstract, C11, L23-L24), a skilled practitioner would find the incorporation of pentaphosphate into the product of Gierhart et al. to be obvious.
As for claim 2, Gierhart et al. discloses the composition as further comprising protein, fat, and carbohydrates (C3, L22-L26).
As for claim 6, Gierhart et al. discloses that the compositions are nutritionally balanced and “commercially sold” (C3, L31-L32), where commercially available pet foods most typically are complete food products, which renders such a formulation obvious.
As for claim 7, Gierhart et al. discloses the composition is formulated for a feline (C4, L15 – L29).
As for claim 8, Gierhart et al. discloses the polyphosphoric acid salt may comprise about 0.05-2 wt.% of the composition (C3, L48-L56), which renders inclusion of pentaphosphate at concentrations ranging from about 0.1-1 wt.% obvious.
As for claim 9, Gierhart et al. discloses the polyphosphoric acid salt is present in the coating (C3, L35-L47).
Regarding claim 10, Gierhart et al. discloses a method for increasing the palatability of dry pet food (C6, L53-L60) comprising incorporating about 0.01-2 wt.% (C3, L48-L52) of a polyphosphoric acid salt (C2, L51-L53, L66 – C3, L6) that may be incorporated into a coating applied to the dry pet food composition (C3, L35-L47).
Gierhart et al. does not disclose the polyphosphoric acid salt as being pentaphosphate.
However, Cox et al. discloses an edible pet product ([0001]) that may comprise a phosphate component ([0045]) that is a polyphosphate having an “average chain length of 3 or greater“, including average chain lengths of 7 phosphorus atoms ([0048]). Scaglione et al. discloses a pet food product containing a pyrophosphate salt (Abstract) and suggests the phosphate salt may be pentaphosphate (specifically, Mn+2PnO3n+1, where n is 5) (C10, L61 - C11, L24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to perform the process of Gierhart et al. comprising incorporating pentaphosphate as the polyphosphoric acid salt into the pet food composition. Since Gierhart et al. discloses generally that preferred components are “polyphosphoric acid salts, including but not limited to sodium acid pyrophosphate” (C3, L1-L6), a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Cox et al. and Scaglione et al. to determine other polyphosphoric acid salts suitable for use in pet foods. Since Cox et al. discloses that polyphosphate chains beyond three phosphorous atoms generally consist of a mixture of chain lengths, including 3 and 7 atoms on average as examples ([0048]) and Scaglione et al. discloses pentaphosphate in particular for use in a pet food product (Abstract, C11, L23-L24), a skilled practitioner would find the incorporation of pentaphosphate into the process of Gierhart et al. to be obvious.
As for claim 11, Gierhart et al. discloses the composition as being extruded (C6, L53-L54).
As for claim 12, Gierhart et al. discloses the polyphosphoric acid salt is present in the coating (C3, L35-L47).
As for claim 13, Gierhart et al. discloses the composition is a cat food (C4, L15 – L29).
As for claim 14, Gierhart et al. discloses that the compositions are nutritionally balanced and “commercially sold” (C3, L31-L32), where commercially available pet foods most typically are complete food products, which renders such a formulation obvious.
As for claim 15, Gierhart et al. discloses the polyphosphoric acid salt may comprise about 0.05-2 wt.% of the composition (C3, L48-L56), which renders inclusion of pentaphosphate at concentrations ranging from about 0.1-1 wt.% obvious.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gierhart et al. (U.S. 5,186,964) in view of Cox et al. (U.S. 2005/0123585 A1) and Scaglione et al. (U.S. 5,000,973) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Mao et al. (U.S. 2016/0235094 A1).
Regarding claims 3-5, Gierhart et al., Cox et al., and Scaglione et al. effectively disclose the dry pet food composition of claim 2.
The cited prior art does not disclose the composition as comprising about 5-70 wt.% protein (claim 3), about 5-50 wt.% fat (claim 4), or about 5-60 wt.% carbohydrate (claim 5).
However, Mao et al. discloses a dry pet food composition comprising 20-90 wt.% carbohydrates, 10-50 wt.% protein, and 0-40 wt.% fat ([0022]-[0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to produce the dry pet food composition of Gierhart et al. having macronutrient concentrations that fall within the claimed ranges. Since Gierhart et al. discloses that the composition comprises protein, fat, and carbohydrates (C3, L22-L26) but does not disclose suitable concentrations, a skilled practitioner would be motivated to consult Mao et al. to determine suitable concentrations for the disclosed macronutrients. Since the disclosed concentration ranges overlap the claimed concentration ranges, the claimed ranges of about 5-70 wt.% protein (claim 3), about 5-50 wt.% fat (claim 4), and about 5-60 wt.% carbohydrate (claim 5) would be obvious to a skilled practitioner.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY P MORNHINWEG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793